DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (US 2006/0028961 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kim teaches a light source (20, figure 3);
A diffractive optical element (24 and 26, figure 3) on which light form the light source is incident; and
A display (28, figure 3) on which the light diffracted by the diffractive optical element is incident;
Wherein the diffractive optical element projects the light emitted therefrom onto the display in a dot pattern (27, 27a, figure 4), and wherein
The display (28, figure 3) generates image light using at least a portion f the light projected in a dot pattern (paragraph 0042).
Regarding claim 2, Kim teaches the display comprises a liquid crystal display element (paragraph 0040).
Regarding claim 3, Kim teaches a projection opening (30, figure 3) configured to project the image light generated by the display onto a projection target,
Wherein the image light generate by the display is projected from the projection opening onto the projection target directly (see 32, figure 3).
Regarding claim 4, Kim teaches the diffractive optical element projects the light emitted therefrom directly onto the display (see 26, 28, figure 3).
Regarding claim 5, Kim teaches the light source comprises a first light source configured to emit light in a first wavelength band, a second light source configured to emit light in a second wavelength band, and a third light source configured to emit light in a third wavelength band (paragraph 0043).
Regarding claim 6, Kim teaches a moving mechanism (22, figure 3) configured to move the diffractive optical element along an optical path of the light form the light source,
Wherein the light from each of the first light source, the second light source and the third light source is incident on the diffractive optical element at different positions (paragraph 0036).
Regarding claim 10, Kim teaches the light source comprises a laser light source (paragraph 0043).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-9 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 7, closest prior art (Kim) does not teach the diffraction element has different regions corresponding to the different color light sources and that each of these different regions has different grating spacings corresponding to the wavelength of light.
Claim 8 contains allowable subject matter at least inasmuch as it depends from claim 7.
Regarding claim 9, closest prior art (Kim) does not each the dichroic combiner for the different light sources wherein each light source is combined in such a way that their positions do not overlap on the diffraction grating
Conclusion
/RYAN D HOWARD/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2882 6/11/2026