Procedural Summary
This is responsive to the claims 10/30/2024.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Signed copies of the IDS’ are attached.
The Drawings filed 10/30/2024 are noted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 5, 7-10, 13, 14, 16 & 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Caballero et al. (U.S. Patent. No.: 10,701,394 B1) in view of “Basic VSR”1.
Regarding Claims 1, 10 & 17: Caballero discloses an apparatus, (Col. 14. Lines 22-24), comprising: a computer processor for executing computer program instructions, (Col. 8. Lines 20-54); and a non-transitory computer-readable memory storing computer program instructions executable by the computer processor to perform operations, (Col. 52. Lines 41-50).
Caballero discloses receiving, at an input channel, input video including a current image frame and a previous image frame, (Fig. 9, 910, 920 and related descriptions); performing, at a first convolution layer, a first set of convolution operations on the current image frame, (Fig. 6, 250 and related descriptions, noting e.g., Col. 9. Lines 5-20 showing multiple convolution layers).
Caballero discloses the invention substantially but does make explicit, generating subsets of intermediate convolution outputs including the first subset of intermediate convolution outputs and a previous subset of intermediate convolution outputs from the previous image frame. In a related invention, Basic VSR teaches “video super-resolution” with b-directional frame propagation, (e.g., Pages 1 & 2, Abstract and Introduction; the propagated features showing intermediate outputs.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the second-order grid propagation taught by Basic VSR in Caballero’s system for the purpose of ameliorating information flow in the network and improving robustness of image regeneration, (e.g., Basic VSR, Page 2.) Caballero and Basic VSR teach performing, at a second convolution layer, a second set of convolution operations on the first set of intermediate convolution outputs; and outputting a high-resolution image frame, (Caballero, Fig. 6, 250 and related description noting multiple convolution layers/operations for example, hierarchical Col. 9. Lines 10-20.)
Regarding Claims 4, 13: Caballero and Basic VSR teach wherein outputting the high-resolution image includes outputting a super-sampled image frame, (Fig. 7, 740, 750 and related descriptions.)
Regarding Claims 5, 14: Caballero and Basic VSR teach, further comprising accessing, at the second convolution layer, via a skip connection, information from the first convolution layer. (e.g., Caballero, Fig. 6, 250 and related descriptions, Col. 9. Lines 10-20.)
Regarding Claims 7, 16: Caballero and Basic VSR teach further comprising dividing the input channel into a plurality of sections and stacking the sections in parallel to expand a spatial perceptual field of the first and second convolutional layers, (e.g., Caballero Col. 17. Lines 64-67-Col. 18. Lines 1-4).
Regarding Claim 8: Caballero and Basic VSR teach wherein performing the first set of convolution operations includes encoding the current image frame at an encoding layer, (e.g., Caballero Fig. 3 and related descriptions.)
Regarding Claim 9: Caballero and Basic VSR teach comprising performing preprocessing on the current image frame and the previous image frame and generating preprocessed image frame data, and wherein performing the first set of convolution operations includes performing the first set of convolution operations on the preprocessed image frame data, (Caballero, Fig. 6, 250 and related description noting multiple convolution layers/operations for example, hierarchical Col. 9. Lines 10-20.)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 3, 6, 11, 12, 15, 18-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The closest prior art, of record herein, namely Caballero and Basic VSR, fail to disclose, suggest or render obvious, in combination with the other claimed limitations:
Per Claims 2, 3, 11, 12, 18 & 19: wherein generating the first set of intermediate convolution outputs includes concatenating the previous subset of intermediate convolution outputs to the first subset of intermediate convolution outputs
Per Claims 6, 15 & 20: wherein the first subset of intermediate convolution outputs is a current first subset of intermediate convolution outputs, wherein the previous subset of intermediate convolution outputs from the previous image frame is a previous first subset of intermediate convolution outputs, wherein performing the second set of convolution operations includes generating a current second subset of intermediate convolution outputs, and further comprising: generating a second set of intermediate convolution outputs, including the current second subset of intermediate convolution outputs and a previous second subset of
intermediate convolution outputs from the previous image frame.
Conclusion
/OMKAR A DEODHAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715
1 “Basic VSR++: Improving Video Super-Resolution with Enhanced Propagation and Alignment” (NPL cited on attached 892 form, published and publicly accessible April 2021.)