DETAILED ACTION
Receipt is acknowledged of IDS filed on 10/30/24, 12/18/24, 7/16/25 & 12/4/25.
This application is a CON of 18/469,390 09/18/2023 now PAT 12,481,850 which is a CON of 17/686,012 filed on 03/03/2022 now PAT 11,809,950 which is a CON of 16/879,957 filed on 05/21/2020 now PAT 11,308,299 which is a CON of 16/081,593 filed on 08/31/2018 now PAT 10,685,199 which is a 371 of PCT/US2017/021117 filed on 03/07/2017 which has PRO 62/305,173 filed on 03/08/2016.
Claim Objections
Claim 142 is objected to because of the following informalities:
There is no antecedent basis for the limitations “the number of elements…”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 130-134 and 136-149 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Merkle (US 2017/0316294) in view of Schepers et al. (US 2011/0099117).
Re Claims 130 and 144: Merkle teaches tag and seal employing a micromachine artifact, which includes a suspension medium (¶ 43+); and elements suspended in the suspension medium, wherein the elements define a distribution of element properties that is detectable by a scanner system and forms a unique identifier of the authentication marker, and the elements comprise: a first subset of elements {herein the first and second subsets of the particle may be randomly distribute in an adhesive matrix}; and a second subset of elements that is distinguishable, by the scanner system, from the first subset of elements (see ¶ 6-7+).
Merkle fails to specifically teach a unique identifier of the authentication marker.
Schepers et al. teaches device, system and method for verifying the authenticity integrity and/or physical conditions of an item, which includes a unique identifier of the authentication marker (¶ 44+, 60-61+).
In view of Schepers et al.’s teachings, it would have been obvious to an artisan of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ into the teachings of Merkle a unique identifier of the authentication marker so as to store verification/authentication data and provide a means for attempting to access and retrieve specific information.
Re Claims 131-132, 145 and 147-148: Merkle as modified by Schepers et al. teaches method and apparatus, wherein the first subset of elements and the second subset of elements have respective sizes that are detectable by the scanner system (see fig.# 1B), wherein the respective sizes of the elements of at least one of the first subset and the second subset are on the order of millimeter, micrometer, or nanometer scales (see ¶ 7+).
Re Claims 133 and 149: Merkle as modified by Schepers et al. teaches method and apparatus, wherein elements of the first subset of elements are different types of structures than elements of the second subset of elements (see fig.# 1B).
Re Claim 134: Merkle as modified by Schepers et al. teaches method and apparatus, wherein types of structures of the first and second subset of elements include a crystalline particle structure {herein the micromachine artifact 110 is a monocrystalline or polycrystalline semiconductor material, such a silicon, germanium, or group III and group V elements, and there alloys}, a magnetic particle structure, a nanorod structure, a flake structure, a foil structure, a molecular structure exhibiting electron paramagnetism, or a molecular structure with finite electric dipole moment (¶ 36-40+).
Re Claims 136 and 146: Merkle as modified by Schepers et al. teaches method and apparatus, wherein the element properties include relative spatial orientations of respective elements (¶ 47+).
Re Claim 137: Merkle as modified by Schepers et al. teaches method and apparatus, wherein the element properties include a magnetic field {herein teaches Merkle teaches the term “machine-readable storage medium” shall accordingly be taken to include, but not be limited to, solid-state memories, and optical and magnetic media} formed by the elements (¶ 56+).
Re Claim 138: Merkle as modified by Schepers et al. teaches method and apparatus, wherein the element properties include element shape (¶ 33+).
Re Claim 139: Merkle as modified by Schepers et al. teaches method and apparatus, wherein the authentication marker is formed on a surface of an object (¶ 48+).
Re Claim 140: Merkle as modified by Schepers et al. teaches method and apparatus, wherein the authentication marker is formed within an object (¶ 48+).
Re Claim 141: Merkle as modified by Schepers et al. teaches method and apparatus, wherein the suspension medium is made of material that includes silicon, glass, thermoplastic, or thermosetting polymer (¶ 36+).
Re Claim 142: Merkle as modified by Schepers et al. teaches method and apparatus, wherein the number of elements is greater than one hundred {herein Merkle teaches a plurality of particles 105} (see fig.# 1A-1C; ¶ 33+).
Re Claim 143: wherein at least one of the first or second subset of the elements is not visible to the naked eye {herein The micromachine artifact 110C may be processed to be non-reflective to mimic the physical appearance of the hex shaped void 507 and be somewhat hidden} (¶ 42-43+).
Claim(s) 135 and 150 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Merkle (US 2017/0316294) as modified Schepers et al. (US 2011/0099117) as applied to claim 130 above, and further in view of Janoff (US 2015/0060699).
The teachings of Merkle have been discussed above.
Merkle fails to specifically teach that elements of at least one of the first subset and the second subset are diamond particles.
Janoff teaches authentication system employing fluorescent diamond particles, wherein elements of at least one of the first subset and the second subset are diamond particles (¶ 69-79+).
In view of Janoff’s teachings, teachings, it would have been obvious to an artisan of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ into the teachings of Merkle that the elements of at least one of the first subset and the second subset are diamond particles so as to make it difficult to duplicate with substitute fluorescent materials. Such modification would be beneficial in authenticating the substrate by determining an infrared spectrum and thereby ascertaining the authentic nature of the substrate.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Bertranou et al. (US 2008/0128496) teaches method and apparatus for verification of items.
/EDWYN LABAZE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2876