DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 10/30/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements have been considered by the examiner.
Specification
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d). Therefore, the following must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim 1 - wherein the bobbin comprises a first groove formed on the upper surface of the bobbin, wherein the first groove is overlapped with the connecting part of the upper spring in an optical axis direction;
Claim 3 - wherein the stepped part of the housing is overlapped with the first groove of the bobbin in the optical axis direction;
Claim 19 - wherein the bobbin comprises a first groove formed on the upper surface of the bobbin, wherein the first groove is overlapped with the connecting part of the upper spring in an optical axis direction.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 1, claim 1 comprises limitation/term of “wherein the bobbin comprises a first groove formed on the upper surface of the bobbin” (line 16), which is not described/defined in the specification disclosure. The claimed limitation/term do not have corresponding parts specified in the specification disclosure. Instant disclosure teaches the bobbin 210 have magnet grooves 211 on side surfaces of bobbin 210 (fig. 1);, but nowhere teaches that the bobbin comprises a first groove formed on the upper surface of the bobbin.
Claims 2-18 are rejected as containing the deficiencies of claim 1 through their dependency from claim 1.
Claim 19 has same undefined issue as that of claim 1 in line 15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, as instant specification disclosure does not teach the limitation term of “wherein the bobbin comprises a first groove formed on the upper surface of the bobbin” (line 16, see above). It is unclear that how the first groove is overlapped with the connecting part of the upper spring in an optical axis direction (line 17-18).
Further, cited term of “wherein an upward moving distance of the bobbin from the initial position is greater than a downward moving distance of the bobbin from the initial position” (line 21-22) is vague and renders the claims indefinite. As the moving distance of the bobbin may vary depending on the amount of current of the first coil (claim line 19-20; fig. 9 and ¶[0104] of instant application publication), without specifying the amount of current of the first coil, the moving distances of the bobbin become undefined.
Claims 2-18 are rejected as containing the deficiencies of claim 1 through their dependency from claim 1.
Claim 19 has same undefined issues as those of claim 1 in line 15-20.
Therefore proper amendments are required in order to clarify the scopes of the claims and overcome the rejections.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Chen et al (US 20140327965).
Regarding Claim 20, Chen teaches a lens driving motor (abstract; figs, 1-7 fig. 11 and figs. 16-17), comprising:
a base (fig. 1, 21);
a cover can disposed on the base and comprising an upper plate and a lateral plate extending from the upper plate (fig. 1, 20, -- top plate and side walls);
a bobbin disposed in the cover can (fig. 1, 11, 20);
a housing disposed between the cover can and the bobbin (fig. 1, 12, 11, 20);
a magnet disposed in the cover can (fig. 1, 132 or 133);
a first coil disposed in the cover can and facing the magnet to perform a focusing operation (fig. 1, 131; ¶[0061], line 1-15, when applying a current to the driving coil 131 of the electromagnetic driving module 13, a magnetic pushing force along the Z-axis direction will be generated among the driving coil 131 and these driving magnets 132, 133, such that the lens holder 11 together with the lens therein side will be moved by the force along the Z-axis linearly respective to the movable frame 12, so as to achieve the functions of auto-focusing and/or zooming); and
a second coil disposed on the base and facing the magnet to perform optical image stabilization operation (fig. 1, 141, 142; ¶[0062], line 1-8, moving the lens holder 11 together with the lens along the X-Y plane in order to compensate the biased position of the lens caused by shakings).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 12-14 and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al (US 20140327965).
Regarding Claim 1, Chen teaches a lens driving motor (abstract; figs, 1-7 fig. 11 and figs. 16-17), comprising:
a base (fig. 1, 21);
a cover can disposed on the base and comprising an upper plate and a lateral plate extending from the upper plate (fig. 1, 20, -- top plate and side walls);
a bobbin disposed in the cover can (fig. 1, 11, 20);
a housing disposed between the cover can and the bobbin (fig. 1, 12, 11, 20);
a magnet disposed in the cover can (fig. 1, 132 or 133);
a first coil disposed in the cover can and facing the magnet to perform a focusing operation (fig. 1, 131; ¶[0061], line 1-15, when applying a current to the driving coil 131 of the electromagnetic driving module 13, a magnetic pushing force along the Z-axis direction will be generated among the driving coil 131 and these driving magnets 132, 133, such that the lens holder 11 together with the lens therein side will be moved by the force along the Z-axis linearly respective to the movable frame 12, so as to achieve the functions of auto-focusing and/or zooming);
a second coil disposed on the base and facing the magnet to perform an optical image stabilization operation (fig. 1, 141, 142; ¶[0062], line 1-8, moving the lens holder 11 together with the lens along the X-Y plane in order to compensate the biased position of the lens caused by shakings); and
an upper spring (fig. 1, 18, 181, 183) coupled with an upper surface of the bobbin (fig. 1, 11) and an upper surface of the housing (see figs. 3 and 4; ¶[0066], line 1-39, each one of the first spring members 1811 of first spring plate 181 comprises: a first outer rim 1814 connected to the movable frame 12, a first inner rim 1812 connected to the lens holder 11, at least one first inner string 1815 extending and connecting between the first outer rim 1814 and the first inner rim 1812, and a first contact 1813 located at the first outer rim 1814),
wherein the upper spring comprises an inner part (fig. 4, 1812) coupled with the upper surface of the bobbin (fig. 4, 11), an outer part (fig. 4, 1814) coupled with the upper surface of the housing, and a connecting part (fig. 4, 1815) connecting the outer part and the inner part (see cited ¶[0066], line 1-39 above),
wherein the bobbin comprises a first groove formed on the upper surface of the bobbin, wherein the first groove is overlapped with the connecting part of the upper spring in an optical axis direction (this portion has 112 issue, see above; fig. 3, 11, 1815; grooves on upper surface of the bobbin 11),
wherein the bobbin is spaced apart from the base at an initial position when no current is supplied to the first coil (fig. 1, 11, 21).
But Chen does not specifically disclose that wherein an upward moving distance of the bobbin from the initial position is greater than a downward moving distance of the bobbin from the initial position (Note: this portion has 112 issue, see above).
However, Chen teaches in ¶[0061], line 1-15, that “when applying a current to the driving coil 131 of the electromagnetic driving module 13, a magnetic pushing force along the Z-axis direction will be generated among the driving coil 131 and these driving magnets 132, 133, such that the lens holder 11 together with the lens therein side will be moved by the force along the Z-axis linearly respective to the movable frame 12, so as to achieve the functions of auto-focusing and/or zooming”; ----by choosing the current amounts, claimed moving distances of the bobbin can be achieved. (---further, this claim portion referring to an operational process, and is of a product-by-process claim, even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process. In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). See MPEP 2113).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the lens driving motor of Chen to have wherein an upward moving distance of the bobbin from the initial position is greater than a downward moving distance of the bobbin from the initial position, for a purpose to achieve the goal of tri-axis close-loop feedback controlling for the electromagnetic lens driving device (abstract; line 1-16).
Regarding Claim 2, Chen teaches the lens driving motor of claim 1,
wherein the housing (fig. 3, 12) comprises a stepped part formed on the upper surface of the housing (see fig. 3 and fig. 11, illustrates housing 12 having step part where spring 181 is mounted), and
wherein the stepped part of the housing is formed at a position corresponding to the connecting part of the upper spring (as in fig. 11, the spring 181 is fixed on a recessed part of the housing) by being recessed from the upper surface of the housing in the optical axis direction (fig. 3, 1815 and steps on 12).
Regarding Claim 12, Chen teaches the lens driving motor of claim 1, wherein the upward moving distance of the bobbin is more than twice the downward moving distance of the bobbin (¶[0061], line 1-15, when applying a current to the driving coil 131 of the electromagnetic driving module 13, a magnetic pushing force along the Z-axis direction will be generated among the driving coil 131 and these driving magnets 132, 133, such that the lens holder 11 together with the lens therein side will be moved by the force along the Z-axis linearly respective to the movable frame 12, so as to achieve the functions of auto-focusing and/or zooming; ----by choosing the current amounts, claimed moving distances of the bobbin can be achieved; further, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art, In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (C.C.P.A. 1955)).
Regarding Claim 13, Chen teaches the lens driving motor of claim 1,
wherein the bobbin is spaced from the upper plate of the cover can and the base at the initial position when no current is supplied to the first coil (fig. 1, 11, 21),
wherein the bobbin upwardly moves from the initial position to a macro focus position when one direction driving current is supplied to the first coil, and wherein the bobbin downwardly moves from the initial position to an infinite focus position when another direction driving current is supplied to the first coil (¶[0061], line 1-15, when applying a current to the driving coil 131 of the electromagnetic driving module 13, a magnetic pushing force along the Z-axis direction will be generated among the driving coil 131 and these driving magnets 132, 133, such that the lens holder 11 together with the lens therein side will be moved by the force along the Z-axis linearly respective to the movable frame 12, so as to achieve the functions of auto-focusing and/or zooming; ----by choosing the current amounts, claimed moving distances of the bobbin can be achieved; further, this claim portion referring to an operational process, and is of a product-by-process claim, even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process. In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). See MPEP 2113).
Regarding Claim 14, Chen teaches the lens driving motor of claim 13,
wherein the upward moving distance of the bobbin is a distance from the initial position to a position where the bobbin is contacted to the upper plate of the cover can, and wherein the downward moving distance of the bobbin is distance from the initial position to a position wherein the bobbin is contacted to the base (¶[0061], line 1-15, when applying a current to the driving coil 131 of the electromagnetic driving module 13, a magnetic pushing force along the Z-axis direction will be generated among the driving coil 131 and these driving magnets 132, 133, such that the lens holder 11 together with the lens therein side will be moved by the force along the Z-axis linearly respective to the movable frame 12, so as to achieve the functions of auto-focusing and/or zooming; ----by choosing the current amounts, claimed moving distances of the bobbin can be achieved; further, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art, In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (C.C.P.A. 1955)).
Regarding Claim 16, Chen teaches the lens driving motor of claim 13,
wherein the bobbin is spaced apart from the upper plate of the cover can at the macro focus position, and wherein the bobbin is spaced apart from the base at the infinite focus position (¶[0061], line 1-15, when applying a current to the driving coil 131 of the electromagnetic driving module 13, a magnetic pushing force along the Z-axis direction will be generated among the driving coil 131 and these driving magnets 132, 133, such that the lens holder 11 together with the lens therein side will be moved by the force along the Z-axis linearly respective to the movable frame 12, so as to achieve the functions of auto-focusing and/or zooming; ----by choosing the current amounts, claimed moving distances of the bobbin can be achieved; further, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art, In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (C.C.P.A. 1955)).
Regarding Claim 17, Chen teaches the camera module, comprising:
a printed circuit board (fig. 1, 17+171);
an image sensor disposed on the printed circuit board (¶[0005], line 1-31, various camera functions such as thousand pixels (–inherently comprising image element of pixels with electric circuitry); an optical system composed of an optic lens module, such as a camera system or a video recorder system (--comprising image sensor));
the lens driving motor of claim 1 disposed on the printed circuit board (fig. 1, 11. 12, 13, 14, 17; ¶[0061], line 1-15, The driving coil 131 is furnished on the lens holder 11 by means of having the driving coil 131 winding around the outer rim of the lens holder 11. The at least two driving magnets 132, 133 comprises four magnets which are respectively mounted on four sides of the movable frame 12 corresponding to the driving coil 131 and are equally spaced apart from each other. Thereby, when applying a current to the driving coil 131 of the electromagnetic driving module 13, a magnetic pushing force along the Z-axis direction will be generated among the driving coil 131 and these driving magnets 132, 133, such that the lens holder 11 together with the lens there inside will be moved by the force along the Z-axis linearly respective to the movable frame 12, so as to achieve the functions of auto-focusing and/or zooming); and
a lens coupled to the bobbin of the lens driving motor (fig. 1, 11; ¶[0010], line 1, a lens holder for holding a lens).
Regarding Claim 18, 18. A mobile phone, comprising the camera module of claim 17 (¶[0005], line 1-31, cellular phones; various camera functions such as thousand pixels).
Regarding Claim 19, Chen teaches a lens driving motor (abstract; figs, 1-7 fig. 11 and figs. 16-17), comprising:
a base (fig. 1, 21);
a cover can disposed on the base and comprising an upper plate and a lateral plate extending from the upper plate (fig. 1, 20, -- top plate and side walls);
a bobbin disposed in the cover can (fig. 1, 11, 20);
a housing disposed between the cover can and the bobbin (fig. 1, 12, 11, 20);
a magnet disposed in the cover can (fig. 1, 132 or 133);
a first coil disposed in the cover can and facing the magnet to perform a focusing operation (fig. 1, 131; ¶[0061], line 1-15, when applying a current to the driving coil 131 of the electromagnetic driving module 13, a magnetic pushing force along the Z-axis direction will be generated among the driving coil 131 and these driving magnets 132, 133, such that the lens holder 11 together with the lens therein side will be moved by the force along the Z-axis linearly respective to the movable frame 12, so as to achieve the functions of auto-focusing and/or zooming); and
an upper spring (fig. 1, 18, 181, 183) coupled with an upper surface of the bobbin (fig. 1, 11) and an upper surface of the housing (see figs. 3 and 4; ¶[0066], line 1-39, each one of the first spring members 1811 of first spring plate 181 comprises: a first outer rim 1814 connected to the movable frame 12, a first inner rim 1812 connected to the lens holder 11, at least one first inner string 1815 extending and connecting between the first outer rim 1814 and the first inner rim 1812, and a first contact 1813 located at the first outer rim 1814),
wherein the upper spring comprises an inner part (fig. 4, 1812) coupled with the upper surface of the bobbin (fig. 4, 11), an outer part (fig. 4, 1814) coupled with the upper surface of the housing, and a connecting part (fig. 4, 1815) connecting the outer part and the inner part (see cited ¶[0066], line 1-39 above),
wherein the bobbin comprises a first groove formed on the upper surface of the bobbin, wherein the first groove is overlapped with the connecting part of the upper spring in an optical axis direction (this portion has 112 issue, see above; fig. 3, 11, 1815; grooves on upper surface of the bobbin 11),
wherein the bobbin is spaced apart from the base at an initial position when no current is supplied to the first coil (fig. 1, 11, 21).
But Chen does not specifically disclose that wherein an upward moving distance of the bobbin from the initial position is greater than a downward moving distance of the bobbin from the initial position (Note: this portion has 112 issue, see above).
However, Chen teaches in ¶[0061], line 1-15, that “when applying a current to the driving coil 131 of the electromagnetic driving module 13, a magnetic pushing force along the Z-axis direction will be generated among the driving coil 131 and these driving magnets 132, 133, such that the lens holder 11 together with the lens therein side will be moved by the force along the Z-axis linearly respective to the movable frame 12, so as to achieve the functions of auto-focusing and/or zooming”; ----by choosing the current amounts, claimed moving distances of the bobbin can be achieved. (---further, this claim portion referring to an operational process, and is of a product-by-process claim, even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process. In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). See MPEP 2113).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the lens driving motor of Chen to have wherein an upward moving distance of the bobbin from the initial position is greater than a downward moving distance of the bobbin from the initial position, for a purpose to achieve the goal of tri-axis close-loop feedback controlling for the electromagnetic lens driving device (abstract; line 1-16).
Claims 4-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al (US 20140327965) in a view of Sugawara et al (US 20130016428).
Regarding Claim 4, Chen teaches the lens driving motor of claim 1, comprising
a substrate disposed on the base (fig. 1, 17, 21),
wherein the substrate comprises a body part disposed on an upper surface of the base (fig. 1, 17, 21), and a terminal part configured to be supplied with electric power from an external source (¶[0065], line 1-15, the first circuit board 17 is a flexible printed circuit (FPC) board; a flat cable 171 extending out of the casing 20 of the electromagnetic lens driving device 1 for connecting to a connecting cable or a connecting socket) and
wherein the second coil is disposed on the body part of the substrate (fig. 1, 141, 142, 17).
But Chen does not specifically disclose that wherein terminal part bent downward from a lateral surface of the body part.
However, Sugawara teaches a lens holder driving device (abstract; figs. 1-3), wherein terminal part bent downward from a lateral surface of the body part (figs. 1-3, 44; fig. 2 shows that terminal 44 bent downward from a lateral surface of the body part; fig. 24, 44; fig. 25, terminals of 44).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the lens driving motor of Chen by the lens holder driving device of Sugawara for a purpose to provide a lens holder driving device which is capable of increasing impact resistance (¶[0040], line 1-3).
Regarding Claim 5, Chen - Sugawara combination teaches the lens driving motor of claim 4,
wherein the lateral surface of the body part comprises first and second lateral surfaces opposite to each other, and third and fourth lateral surfaces opposite to each other (fig. 25, 44; --4 side surfaces of 44, as disclosed in Sugawara), and
wherein the terminal part comprises a first terminal part bent from the first lateral surface of the body part, and a second terminal part bent from the third lateral surface of the body part (fig. 25, 44; --2 terminals of 44, as disclosed in Sugawara).
Regarding Claim 6, Chen - Sugawara combination teaches the lens driving motor of claim 5, wherein the first terminal part and the second terminal part form an angle of 90 degrees (fig. 25, 44; --2 terminals of 44, as disclosed in Sugawara).
Regarding Claim 7, Chen - Sugawara combination teaches the lens driving motor of claim 4, wherein the base comprises a terminal groove formed on a lateral surface of the base and accommodating the terminal part (fig. 2, --showing that terminal 44 bent downward from a lateral surface of the body part; fig. 24, 44, as disclosed in Sugawara).
Regarding Claim 8, Chen - Sugawara combination teaches the lens driving motor of claim 4, wherein the substrate comprises a first lug part electrically connected to the first coil and a second lug part electrically connected to the second coil (fig. 7, 183, 1813, as disclosed in Chen).
Regarding Claim 9, Chen - Sugawara combination teaches the lens driving motor of claim 4, comprising
a Hall sensor part configured to sense a position of the base by being disposed at a position corresponding that of the magnet (fig. 25, 50f, 50l, as disclosed in Sugawara);
wherein the second coil is disposed on an upper surface of the substrate (fig. 1, 141, 142, as disclosed in Chen),
wherein the Hall sensor part is disposed on a lower surface of the substrate (fig. 25, 50f, 50l, as disclosed in Sugawara), and
wherein the base comprises a Hall sensor accommodating groove formed on the upper surface of the base and accommodating the Hall sensor part (fig. 25, 14, 14b, as disclosed in Sugawara).
Regarding Claim 10, Chen - Sugawara combination teaches the lens driving motor of claim 1, comprising
a substrate disposed on the base (fig. 1, 17, 21, as disclosed in Chen),
wherein the substrate comprises first and second terminal parts (fig. 25, 44; --2 terminals of 44, as disclosed in Sugawara), and
wherein the base comprises a first terminal groove accommodating the first terminal part of the substrate and a second terminal groove accommodating the second terminal part of the substrate (fig. 2, --showing that terminal 44 bent downward from a lateral surface of the body part; fig. 24, 44, as disclosed in Sugawara),
wherein the first terminal groove is disposed opposite to the second terminal groove (fig. 25, 44; --2 terminals of 44, as disclosed in Sugawara).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11 and 15 are rejected as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims in case the 112 rejections of the independent claim is overcome by proper amendments.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: The prior art taken singularly or in combination fails to anticipate or fairly suggest the limitations of the independent claims, in such a manner that a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102 or 103 would be proper.
In regard to claims 11 and 15, the prior art taken either singly or in combination fails to anticipate or fairly suggest lens driving motor further comprise wherein the bobbin comprises a rotation prevention part protrusively formed from an outer circumferential surface of the bobbin, and wherein the rotation prevention part of the bobbin comprises four rotation prevention parts; and wherein a consumed current by moving the bobbin from the initial position to the macro focus position is greater than a consumed current by moving the bobbin from the initial position to an infinite focus position.
Examiner’s Note
Regarding the references, the Examiner cites particular figures, paragraphs, columns and line numbers in the reference(s), as applied to the claims above. Although the particular citations are representative teachings and are applied to specific limitations within the claims, other passages, internally cited references, and figures may also apply. In preparing a response, it is respectfully requested that the Applicant fully consider the references, in their entirety, as potentially disclosing or teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as fully consider the context of the passage as taught by the reference(s) or as disclosed by the Examiner.
Conclusion
/JIE LEI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872