Response to Arguments
2. Applicant’s arguments on filed 06/16/2026, with respect to the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of claims 1, 3, 4, 9, 10, 11, 13, 14, 19 and 20 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 20210336959 hereinafter Shah in view of U.S. Patent No. US 9763078 hereinafter Zheng have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of arguments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claims 1, 3, 4, 9, 10, 11, 13, 14, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as
being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. US 20240386098 hereinafter Sawant in view of U.S. Patent No. 9763078 hereinafter Zheng, and further in view of U.S. Publication No. 20210168082 hereinafter Hammam.
As per claim 1, Sawant discloses:
A method for policy-based transparent packet inspection for last mile zero-
trust workload protection (para 0003 "The present disclosure relates to systems
and methods for application server protection by maintaining cross-session
inspection context." Para 0028 "ZPA is a cloud service that provides
seamless, zero trust access to private applications running on the public cloud,
within the data center, within an enterprise network, etc."), comprising:
receiving a packet (Fig. 10, para 0091 "With the
application 350 executing on the user device, the user 102 makes a request to
the enterprise file share and application 402, 404, e.g., intranet.company.com,
crm.company.com. etc. (step 752). ");
determining, whether to inspect the packet based on rules received from a
control plane of the network (para 0092 "This request is intercepted by the
enforcement node 150A and redirected to the central authority 152, which
performs a policy lookup for the user 102 and the user device 300 (step 754),
transparent to the user 102. The central authority 152 determines if the
user 102 and the user device 300 are authorized for the enterprise file share and
application 402, 404.")
selectively invoking a deep packet inspection of the packet based on
inspection of the packet by the first intercepting agent using the rules from the
control plane (para 0160 "FIG. 18 is a flow diagram of a system for server
protection with cross-session inspection context. With the present systems and
methods in place, when a user 102 performs clipboard access or uploads a file,
the contents are sent for inspection to the inspection engine (DPI engine) 1852,
i.e., the user traffic is monitored and sent to the DPI engine 1852 for inspection.
The DPI engine 1852 is adapted to provide a verdict (label) for the contents. In
an embodiment, the verdict can be any of no match, partial match, or full match.
The central processing module 1854 acts as a deep learning module that builds
the context database 1856 for storing context entries. The deep learning uses
matched offsets from the DPI engine 1852. Various embodiments rely on
the DPI engine 1852 for signature matching. For example, the engine capability
to detect the match will decide the accuracy of the threat detection. Typical
cases, other than splitting files into chunks, include an attacker adding padded
data or scramble and reordering the packets while sending it to the target
server 1858. In embodiments, the DPI engine 1852 supports TCP streaming and
IP-reassembly before regex matching, this helps to provide accurate results.");
and blocking the packet at the network interface based on the deep packet
inspection identifying malicious content within the packet (para 0161 "In the case
of a no match verdict, no context is created and stored, and the content is
allowed. In response to a full match verdict, the content is treated as a threat,
and the content is blocked and an alert is reported. The blocking of content can
also include removing the content, or combination of content (chunks), from the
server, database, etc. In embodiments, the blocking and alerting can be based
on the various policies/rules described herein, and the high level example
described in the present section shall be construed as a non-limiting example.").
Sawant does not disclose:
receiving a packet on a network interface of a provisioned resource in a
data center or a user device within a network
determining, by a first intercepting agent provisioned within the network
interface, whether to inspect the packet based on rules received from a control
plane of the network
wherein the network interface comprises a smart network interface card
(SmartNIC) or a data processing unit (DPU) and is configured with the first
intercepting agent based on the control plane
Zheng discloses:
determining, by a first intercepting agent provisioned within the network
interface, whether to inspect the packet based on rules received from a control
plane of the network,(Col. 6 Lines 26-51 " In accordance with various embodiments, PGW 110 intercepts a PMIPv6 proxy binding update (PBU) message received from a particular MAG 104a-104c, inserts subscriber session information needed by LMA 114 and sends the subscriber session information to LMA 114. A PBU message is a PMIPv6 control plane request message sent by a mobile access gateway, such as one or more of MAG 104a-104c, to LMA 114 for establishing a binding between the mobile node's home network prefix(es) assigned to a given interface of a mobile node and its current care-of address (Proxy-CoA). In an example operation of PGW 110 according to at least one embodiment, when configured for subscriber continuity, PGW 119 performs Deep Packet Inspection (DPI) on the packets sent by one or more of MAG 104a in order to identify the PBU message. In a particular embodiment, the native IPv6 PBU is identified as having a Next Header field=135 in the IPv6 header and IPv4 PBU is identified as having UDP port=5436. Once the PBU message is intercepted, if authorized by the wireless operator's policy, PGW 110 constructs and appends a new Vendor Specific Mobility Option to the original PBU. This option may include the MAG's International Mobile Subscriber Identity (IMSI), Mobile Station International Subscriber Directory Number (MSISDN), Mobile Directory Number (MDN), Access Point Name (APN), Virtual Routing and Forwarding (VRF) name and other relevant information." Col. 7 Lines 31-50 "Referring now to FIGS. 2A-2C, FIGS. 2A-2C illustrate a simplified flow diagram depicting a flow 200 associated with providing subscriber awareness for a mobile private network routing service in a network environment in accordance with one
embodiment of the present disclosure. In 202, first MAG 104a (MAG A)
constructs an original proxy binding update (O-PBU) message and sends the
original PBU (O-PBU) message addressed to LMA 114 via PGW 110 as control
plane traffic. In 204, PGW 110 performs packet inspection and intercepts the O-
PBU message. In one or more embodiments, PGW 110 is configured to intercept
PMIP control plane traffic having a destination address matching a set of LMA IP
addresses associated with LMA 114. In a particular embodiment, PGW 110 intercepts IP user datagram protocol (UDP) packets to a particular
destination port (e.g., destination port 5436) and matching a particular destination
IP address. In particular embodiments in which an IPv6 protocol is used,
PGW 110 may determine whether the packets match a IPv6 Mobility Header
packets having a mobility header (MH) type of PBU.")
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art
before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify systems and
methods for application server protection by maintaining cross-session inspection
context of Sawat to include determining, by a first intercepting agent provisioned
within the network interface, whether to inspect the packet based on rules
received from a control plane of the network, as taught by Zheng.
The motivation would have been to properly inspect a packet to properly
route a packet.
Sawant in view of Zheng does not disclose:
receiving a packet on a network interface of a provisioned resource in a
data center or a user device within a network
wherein the network interface comprises a smart network interface card
(SmartNIC) or a data processing unit (DPU) and is configured with the first
intercepting agent based on the control plane
Hammam discloses:
receiving a packet on a network interface of a provisioned resource in a
data center or a user device within a network (Fig. 1, para 0019 “Briefly described, a solution is provided that enables a data processing unit to obtain and use state information in an easy manner for processing an incoming traffic flow, regardless of whether the state information already exists in the data processing unit or must be acquired otherwise. FIG. 1 illustrates a communication scenario where the solution could be employed for handling traffic in a communication network when the traffic, i.e. packets, is distributed across multiple traffic processing units 100.”)
wherein the network interface comprises a smart network interface card (SmartNIC) or a data processing unit (DPU) and is configured with the first intercepting agent based on the control plane (Fig. 2, Para 0068 “In the example of a multi-CPU scalable stateful firewall used for high capacity (line-rate) traffic interception, which firewall could be deployed in a so-called “bump-in-the-wire” configuration, the embodiments herein enable scaling-in and scaling-out of stateful firewall processing capacity. This can be done by spreading the traffic to be intercepted over a set of available CPUs by using a simple stateless flow-based packet distribution device which could be achieved by an ordinary layer-3 Ethernet switch or similar, which is based on a low cost component, e.g. an application-specific standard product, ASSP.” Para 0069 “The embodiments herein can advantageously be realized in a range of products where there is a need for high throughput and dynamical scalability of processing capacity in conjunction with complex processing of state information acquired on-the-fly through deep packet inspection of the traffic. ”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art
before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify systems and
methods for application server protection by maintaining cross-session inspection
context of Sawat in view of Zheng to include d receiving a packet on a network interface of a provisioned resource in a data center or a user device within a network and wherein the network interface comprises a smart network interface card (SmartNIC) or a data processing unit (DPU) and is configured with the first
intercepting agent based on the control plane, as taught by Hammam.
The motivation would have been to properly inspect by handling traffic in a communication network when the traffic is distributed across a set of traffic processing units.
As per claim 3, Sawant in view of Zheng and Hammam discloses:
The method of claim 1, further comprising: based on the inspection of the
packet by the first intercepting agent, updating a state associated with a policy;
and invoking an event based on a condition in the policy being satisfied by the
state (Sawant para 0092 "This request is intercepted by the enforcement
node 150A and redirected to the central authority 152, which performs a policy
lookup for the user 102 and the user device 300 (step 754), transparent to the
user 102. The central authority 152 determines if the user 102 and the user
device 300 are authorized for the enterprise file share and application 402, 404.
Once authorization is determined, the central authority 152 provides information
to the enforcement nodes 150A, 150B, 150C, the application 350, and the
lightweight connectors 400 at the enterprise file share and application 402, 404,
and the information can include the certificates 720 and other details necessary
to stitch secure connections between the various devices. Specifically, the
central authority 152 can create connection information with the best
enforcement nodes 150 for joint connections, from the user 102 to the enterprise
file share and application 402, 404, and the unique tokens (step 756). With the
connection information, the enforcement node 150A connects to the user 102,
presenting a token, and the enforcement node 150C connects to the lightweight
connector 400, presenting a token (step 758). Now, a connection is stitched
between the user 102 to the enterprise file share and application 402, 404,
through the application 350, the enforcement nodes 150A, 150B, 150C, and the
lightweight connector 400." Para 0142 " The enforcement node 150 evaluates the request against defined policies, and upon a match, the enforcement
node 150 redirects the request to a remote browser isolation service 2000 with
the original URL appended as a query string (step 2004). The native
browser 1402 follows the redirect and make a connection to a browser isolation
endpoint, for the remote browser isolation service 2000 (step 2006). The remote
browser isolation service 2000 spins up an isolated browser, such as in a
container, and makes a connection to the originally requested webpage
(step 2008). Note, this can be direct or via the enforcement node 150.").
As per claim 4, Sawant in view of Zheng and Hammam discloses:
The method of claim 1, further comprising: determining a second
intercepting agent is associated with a source of the packet; and configuring an
encrypted network connection between the first intercepting agent and the
second intercepting agent (Sawant para 0047 "FIG. 2 is a network diagram of an
example implementation of the cloud-based system 100. In an embodiment, the
cloud-based system 100 includes a plurality of enforcement nodes (EN) 150,
labeled as enforcement nodes 150-1, 150-2, 150-N, interconnected to one
another and interconnected to a central authority (CA) 152. The nodes 150 and
the central authority 152, while described as nodes, can include one or more
servers, including physical servers, virtual machines (VM) executed on physical
hardware, etc." Para 0077 "In general, the VPN device 420 can be implemented
as software instances on the enforcement nodes 150, as a separate virtual
machine on the same physical hardware as the enforcement nodes 150, or a
separate hardware device such as the server 200, but part of the cloud-based
system 100. The VPN device 420 is the first point of entry for any client wishing
to connect to the Internet 104, SaaS apps, or the enterprise private network. In
addition to doing traditional functions of a VPN server, the VPN device 420 works
in concert with the topology controller 450 to establish on-demand routes to the
on-premises redirection proxy 430. These routes are set up for each user on
demand. When the VPN device 420 determines that a packet from the
user 102 is destined for the enterprise private network, it encapsulates the packet
and sends it via a tunnel between the VPN device 420 and the on-premises
redirection proxy 430. For packets meant for the Internet 104 or SaaS clouds, the
VPN device 420 can forwards it to the enforcement nodes 150-to continue
processing as before or send directly to the Internet 104 or SaaS clouds." Para
0086 "The connection is established through the enforcement nodes 150, and is
encrypted with a combination of the customer's client and server-side
certificates." Para 0090 "Note, there can be direct connectivity between the
enforcement nodes 150A, 150C, the enforcement nodes 150A, 150C can
connect through the enforcement node 150B, or both the user 102 and the
enterprise file share and application 402, 404 can be connected to the same
node 150. That is, the architecture of the cloud-based system 100 can include
various implementations." Para 0092 "Once authorization is determined, the
central authority 152 provides information to the enforcement
nodes 150A, 150B, 150C, the application 350, and the lightweight
connectors 400 at the enterprise file share and application 402, 404, and the
information can include the certificates 720 and other details necessary to stitch
secure connections between the various devices.").
As per claim 9, Sawant in view of Zheng and Hammam discloses:
The method of claim 1, wherein determining whether to inspect the packet
comprises: identifying a corresponding flow associated with the packet, wherein
the packet is designated for the deep packet inspection based on the flow not
existing (Hammam para 0033 “A first action 300 illustrates that the traffic processing unit 200 receives a packet of a traffic flow distributed to said traffic processing unit, which corresponds to action 2:1 above. In a next action 302, the traffic processing unit 200 assigns a packet class to the received packet, out of a set of predefined classes, based on information derived from the received packet, which corresponds to action 2:2 above. In another action 304, the packet class may be detected or noted or in any way observed, as being either active or inactive in the traffic processing unit based on an activity indicator of the packet class maintained in the traffic processing unit, which corresponds to action 2:3 above.” Para 0034 “In a further action 306, the traffic processing unit 200 obtains state information pertaining to said assigned packet class, which can be made as follows. If the packet class is detected or noted as active, this indicates that the state information is maintained locally in the traffic processing unit 200 which therefore can retrieve the state information from a local storage 200C in the traffic processing unit, which corresponds to action 2:4A above. On the other hand, if the packet class is detected or noted as inactive, this indicates that the state information is not maintained locally in the traffic processing unit 200 which therefore needs to fetch the state information from a central storage 204 where state information of different packet classes is maintained.” Para 0069 “The embodiments herein can advantageously be realized in a range of products where there is a need for high throughput and dynamical scalability of processing capacity in conjunction with complex processing of state information acquired on-the-fly through deep packet
inspection of the traffic.” Though Sawant discloses deep packet inspection, Hammam discloses wherein determining whether to inspect the packet
comprises: identifying a corresponding flow associated with the packet, wherein the packet is designated for the deep packet inspection based on the flow not existing. The motivation would have been to properly inspect by handling traffic in a communication network when the traffic is distributed across a set of traffic processing units.)
As per claim 10, Sawant in view of Zheng and Hammam discloses:
The method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving a local packet from a
first application on a localhost interface directed to a second application; and
inspecting, by the first intercepting agent, the local packet based on the rules
received from the control plane (Sawant para 0036 "There are various techniques to forward traffic between the users 102 at the locations 112, 114, 118, and via the devices 110, 116, and the cloud-based system 100. Typically, the locations 112, 114, 118 can use tunneling where all traffic is forward through the cloud-based system 100. For example, various tunneling protocols are
contemplated, such as Generic Routing Encapsulation (GRE), Layer Two
Tunneling Protocol (L2TP), Internet Protocol (IP) Security (IPsec), customized
tunneling protocols, etc. The devices 110, 116, when not at one of the
locations 112, 114, 118 can use a local application that forwards traffic, a proxy
such as via a Proxy Auto-Config (PAC) file, and the like. An application of the
local application is the application 350 described in detail herein as a connector
application. A key aspect of the cloud-based system 100 is all traffic between the
users 102 and the Internet 104 or the cloud services 106 is via the cloud-based
system 100. As such, the cloud-based system 100 has visibility to enable various
functions, all of which are performed off the user device in the cloud." Sawat
para 0091 "The virtual private access process 750 is described with reference to
both the user 102, the cloud-based system 100, and the enterprise file share and
application 402, 404. First, the user 102 is executing the application 350 on the
user device 300, in the background. The user 102 launches the
application 350 and can be redirected to an enterprise ID provider or the like to
sign on, i.e., a single sign on, without setting up new accounts. Once
authenticated, Public Key Infrastructure (PKI) certificate 720 enrollment occurs,
between the user 102 and the enforcement node 150A. With the
application 350 executing on the user device, the user 102 makes a request to
the enterprise file share and application 402, 404, e.g., intranet.company.com,
crm.company.com. etc. (step 752). Note, the request is not limited to web
applications and can include anything such as a remote desktop or anything
handling any static Transmission Control Protocol (TCP) or User Datagram
Protocol (UDP) applications.").
As per claim 11, the implementation of the method of claim 1 will execute
the computing device of claim 11. The claim is analyzed with respect to
claim 2.
As per claim 13, the claim is analyzed with respect to claim 3.
As per claim 14, the claim is analyzed with respect to claim 4.
As per claim 19, the claim is analyzed with respect to claim 9.
As per claim 20, the claim is analyzed with respect to claim 10.
4. Claims 2, 5, 6, 12, 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being
unpatentable over Sawant in view of Zheng, and further in view of Hammam, and further in view of U.S. Patent No. 12537776 hereinafter Kwan.
As per claim 2, Sawant in view of Zheng and Hammam discloses:
The method of claim 1, further comprising: based on the inspection of the
packet by the first intercepting agent (Sawat para 0092)
Sawant in view of Zheng and Hammam does not disclose:
forwarding a duplicated version of the packet to a data recording system
for storing the packet
Kwan discloses:
forwarding a duplicated version of the packet to a data recording system
for storing the packet (Col. 46 Lines 45-52 "Block 320 comprises assigning the
packet (or one or more copies thereof) to a queue, such as a queue 142.
Block 320 may comprise, for instance, the buffer manager sending the packet, or
information indicating a location in memory where the packet has been stored, to
queue management logic, along with an indication of a queue that has been
selected for the processing of the packet (e.g. as provided by upstream logic,
such as packet processor 150A)."
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art
before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify systems and
methods for application server protection by maintaining cross-session inspection
context of Sawat in view of Zheng to include forwarding a duplicated version of
the packet to a data recording system for storing the packet, as taught by Kwan.
The motivation would have been to inspect and queue packets to route a
packet properly.
As per claim 5, Sawant in view of Zheng and Hammam discloses:
The method of claim 4, wherein the second intercepting agent (Sawat
Para 0086 "The connection is established through the enforcement nodes 150,
and is encrypted with a combination of the customer's client and server-side
certificates. " Para 0090 "Note, there can be direct connectivity between the
enforcement nodes 150A, 150C, the enforcement nodes 150A, 150C can
connect through the enforcement node 150B, or both the user 102 and the enterprise file share and application 402, 404 can be connected to the same
node 150. That is, the architecture of the cloud-based system 100 can include
various implementations." Para 0092 "Once authorization is determined, the
central authority 152 provides information to the enforcement
nodes 150A, 150B, 150C, the application 350, and the lightweight
connectors 400 at the enterprise file share and application 402, 404, and the
information can include the certificates 720 and other details necessary to stitch
secure connections between the various devices.")
Sawant in view of Zheng and Hammam does not disclose:
second intercepting agent is configured to inject metadata into packets
received at the first intercepting agent
Kwan discloses:
second intercepting agent is configured to inject metadata into packets
received at the first intercepting agent (Col. 53 Lines 53-61 "Block 1610
comprises receiving a packet. For instance, the packet may be received at pre-
event sampler 920 in a traffic manager and/or coupled to a queue manager.
Block 1620 comprises determining whether the packet is eligible for visibility
monitoring. If SO, then in block 1630, the packet is tagged as eligible for pre-event monitoring (e.g. by inserting a tag in a packet header, inserting associated
metadata, etc.) and considered to have been "sampled" for visibility-eligibility."
Col. 54 Lines 26-35 "Block 1670 comprises determining whether to sample the
visibility packet. Block 1670 may comprise processing the visibility packet with
one or more samplers, such as a single post-event sampler, or chain of
samplers, each configured to implement a different type of sampling logic.
Examples of sampling logic may include, without limitation, probability-based
sampling, rate-aware sampling, contextual sampling, flow-based sampling, class-
based sampling, priority-based sampling, or sampling based on other packet
attributes, as described elsewhere herein.")
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art
before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify systems and
methods for application server protection by maintaining cross-session inspection
context of Sawant in view of Zheng to include second intercepting agent is
configured to inject metadata into packets received at the first intercepting agent,
as taught by Kwan.
The motivation would have been to inspect and queue packets to route a
packet properly.
As per claim 6, Sawant in view of Zheng, Hammam and Kwan discloses:
The method of claim 5, wherein the metadata includes at least one of user
authentication information, network address information, or application entry
point information (Kwan Col. 26 Line 66 - Col. 67 Line 7 "According to an
embodiment, a visibility subsystem such as visibility subsystem 160 may be
configured to generate visibility reports based on the visibility packets it receives.
A visibility report may include metadata related to one or more visibility events,
such as one or more dropped packets, contents of a queue related to the
event(s), a delay value indicating the delay experienced by the queue(s), a
queue size, a queue size acceleration value, a flow identifier, a heavy flow
indicator, and so forth." The motivation would have been to inspect and queue packets to route a packet properly.).
As per claim 12, the claim is analyzed with respect to claim 2.
As per claim 15, the claim is analyzed with respect to claim 5.
As per claim 16, the claim is analyzed with respect to claim 6.
5. Claims 7, 8, 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable
over Sawant in view of Zheng, and further in view of Hammam, and further in view of U.S. Publication No. 20040015905 hereinafter Huima.
As per claim 7, Sawant in view of Zheng and Hammam discloses:
The method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving a policy update from
the control plane (Sawat para 0041 and 0047)
Sawant in view of Zheng and Hammam does not disclose:
reinitiating the first intercepting agent based on the policy update
Huima discloses:
reinitiating the first intercepting agent based on the policy update (para
0031 "FIG. 1 shows a flow diagram of a method according to an advantageous
embodiment of the invention. In step 110, a new or a modified rule for processing
packets is compiled by the rule compiling entity, i.e. the entity responsible for
compiling rules. In step 120, the compiled code is sent to the packet processing
entity. After receiving the compiled code, the packet processing
entity pauses 130 processing of packets at a suitable instant in time. Such a
suitable instant may be for example such a time, when the execution point or
execution points in the code regarding any packet or packets are not within the
piece of code or pieces of code, which were sent in step 120. The packet
processing entity may also block jumps to such pieces of code and wait until any
execution point or points leaves the code to be deleted or replaced. In the next
step 140 the packet processing entity inserts the new code within the compiled
code used for processing, and continues 150 processing of packets. If the new
code is intended to replace some of the existing code, the packet processing
entity can for example simply overwrite the existing code in step 140, or delete
the affected part or parts of the existing code.")
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art
before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify systems and
methods for application server protection by maintaining cross-session inspection
context of Sawat in view of Zheng to include reinitiating the first intercepting
agent based on the policy update, as taught by Huima.
The motivation would have been to update rules and update processing
packet agents accordingly.
As per claim 8, Sawant in view of Zheng, Hammam and Huima discloses:
The method of claim 7, wherein the network interface is configured to
pause acceptance of packets while reinitiating the first intercepting agent (Huima
para 0031 "FIG. 1 shows a flow diagram of a method according to an
advantageous embodiment of the invention. In step 110, a new or
a modified rule for processing packets is compiled by the rule compiling entity,
i.e. the entity responsible for compiling rules. In step 120, the compiled code is
sent to the packet processing entity. After receiving the compiled code,
the packet processing entity pauses 130 processing of packets at a suitable
instant in time. Such a suitable instant may be for example such a time, when the
execution point or execution points in the code regarding any packet or packets
are not within the piece of code or pieces of code, which were sent in step 120.
The packet processing entity may also block jumps to such pieces of code and
wait until any execution point or points leaves the code to be deleted or replaced.
In the next step 140 the packet processing entity inserts the new code within the
compiled code used for processing, and continues 150 processing of packets. If
the new code is intended to replace some of the existing code, the packet
processing entity can for example simply overwrite the existing code in step 140,
or delete the affected part or parts of the existing code." Though Sawant in view
of Zheng discloses policy updates, Huima discloses wherein the network
interface is configured to pause acceptance of packets while reinitiating
the first intercepting agent. The motivation would have been to update
rules and update processing packet agents accordingly.")
As per claim 17, the claim is analyzed with respect to claim 17.
As per claim 18, the claim is analyzed with respect to claim 18.
Conclusion
/GARY S GRACIA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2499