Claims 1-20 are pending in this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The claims are generally narrative and indefinite, failing to conform with current U.S. practice. They appear to be a literal translation into English from a foreign document and are replete with grammatical and idiomatic errors.
For example:
Regarding independent claim 1:
the phrase “the second resource picture being at least one of the plurality of resource pictures” renders the claim vague and indefinite. The “second resource picture” (emphasis added) is recited in a singular from so it means one picture, so the meaning of “at least” in the context of the claim is not clear.
the phrases “selected resource picture in the second resource picture” (emphasis added) also renders the claim vague and indefinite. Both occurrences of the word “picture” appear in singular form, so the metes and bounds of “a selected resource picture in the second resource picture” (one selected picture in one picture) is not defined.
Independent claims 13 and 20 are rejected on the same rationale.
Dependent claims 2-12, 14-19 inherit the deficiency of the independent claims, and are rejected on the same rationale.
Under the principle of compact prosecution, for prior art purpose, the claims are rejected as they can be best understood.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-6, 10-11, 13, 15-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Brown (US 20170169039).
Regarding claims 1, 13, and 20, Brown teaches device, medium, and multimedia resource processing method, the method comprising:
displaying a first resource display page, a sharing control and a first resource picture being displayed on the first resource display page, the sharing control being configured to share a target multimedia resource, the target multimedia resource having a plurality of resource pictures, and the first resource picture being one of the plurality of resource pictures, or the first resource picture being one resource picture representing the target multimedia resource (Fig. 1, Fig. 4, para. 37 and 45 teach video being concurrently displayed on the first device 402 and display device 112) (Para. 49 and Fig. 11 teach displaying sharing control)
displaying a resource segment selection control in the first resource display page in response to a trigger operation for the sharing control, a second resource picture being displayed on the resource segment selection control, and the second resource picture being at least one of the plurality of resource pictures of the target multimedia resource (para. 49 and Fig.11 teach, in response to button 1106 being triggered, frames are displayed)
obtaining a selected resource picture in the second resource picture, and determining a first resource segment according to the selected resource picture in the second resource picture; and
transmitting the first resource segment to another terminal device, the first resource segment comprising the selected resource picture in the second resource picture (Para. 37, Fig. 7 teach selected frames are transmitted to second device)
Regarding claims 3 and 15, Brown teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein a resource segment adding control is further displayed on the resource segment selection control, and the resource segment adding control is configured to instruct to determine, based on that the first resource segment is determined, a second resource segment to be shared in the plurality of resource segments comprised in the target multimedia resource; the method further comprising:
changing, in response to a trigger operation for the resource segment adding control, a selected resource picture in the resource segment selection control from the resource picture comprised in the first resource segment to a resource picture comprised in the second resource segment, wherein a correlation degree between the second resource segment and the first resource segment satisfies a correlation degree requirement (Fig. 15, para. 79 teaches adding control for adding segments to be shared) (the adding segments is before or after the current segment (time correlation))
and transmitting the first resource segment to another terminal device comprises:
transmitting the first resource segment and the another resource segment to the second terminal device (Para. 39 teaches more than one segment can be delivered to the second device), (para 79 teaches option to add more segments to the to be shared clip).
Regarding claims 4 and 16, Brown teaches the method according to claim 3, further comprising:
displaying, in response to the trigger operation for the resource segment adding control, a resource picture comprised in the first resource segment and displayed on the resource segment selection control into a first form, wherein the first form is configured for indicating that a start time of the first resource segment and an end time of the first resource segment remain unchanged (Fig. 12, Fig. 14).
Regarding claims 5 and 17, Brown teaches the method according to claim 3, further comprising:
obtaining a first feature vector of the first resource segment in response to the trigger operation for the resource segment adding control, wherein the first feature vector is configured for representing the resource picture comprised in the first resource segment;
obtaining a second feature vector of each reference resource segment, wherein the reference resource segment is at least one of the plurality of resource segments comprised in the target multimedia resource, a resource picture comprised in the reference resource segment is not duplicated with the resource picture comprised in the first resource segment, and a second feature vector of any reference resource segment is configured for representing a resource picture comprised in the any reference resource segment;
determining a correlation degree between each reference resource segment and the first resource segment according to the second feature vector of the reference resource segment and the first feature vector of the first resource segment; and
using a reference resource segment whose correlation degree satisfies the correlation degree requirement as the second resource segment (para 39-40, 50-52).
Regarding claims 6 and 18, Brown teaches the method according to claim 5, further comprising: segmenting the target multimedia resource to obtain a plurality of resource segments comprised in the target multimedia resource; and using a resource segment in the plurality of resource segments other than a target resource segment as the reference resource segment, wherein a resource picture comprised in the target resource segment is duplicated with the resource picture comprised in the first resource segment (para. 50-52).
Regarding claim 10, Brown teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein a time display area is further displayed on the resource segment selection control, and the time display area is configured for displaying the start time of the first resource segment and the end time of the first resource segment (Fig. 11-17).
Regarding claim 11, Brown teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein a select-all control is further displayed on the resource segment selection control, and the select-all control is configured to instruct to share the target multimedia resource; and the method further comprises:
changing, in response to a trigger operation for the select-all control, the selected resource picture that is comprised in the first resource segment and that is in the resource segment selection control to the plurality of resource pictures of the target multimedia resource (para 50-52).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
rejections set forth in this Office action:
Claims 7-9 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brown in view of Ping (CN111651617A).
Regarding claims 7 and 19, Brown teaches wherein a confirmation control is further displayed on the first resource display page (Brown teaches the ability to confirm sharing (“Post” vs “Cancel”) (para. 81) (Fig. 16)). Brown further teaches entering username of the sharee (para. 83). Brown also teaches transmitting the resource sharing card to another terminal device used by the second object (sharee) (para. 39). Brown does not explicitly teaches after displaying the resource segment selection control in the first resource display page, the method further comprises: displaying a first page in response to a trigger operation for the confirmation control, wherein a resource sharing card and a plurality of sharing channel controls are displayed on the first page, and the resource sharing card is configured for sharing the resource picture comprised in the first resource segment; and determining, in response to a trigger operation for a target channel sharing control of the plurality of channel sharing controls, a second object based on that the target channel sharing control is triggered. Ping teaches that a sharing interface can include multiple sharing channels so that the user can select sharing object to send the segments (para 4 of page 13). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include Ping’s teaching in Brown’s interface to achieve the interface as claimed. This will provide Brown’s interface with the capability to display sharing channels so the user can quickly and conveniently select sharees.
Regarding claim 8, Brown in view of Ping teaches the method according to claim 7, wherein a progress bar is displayed on the resource sharing card, the progress bar is a progress bar of the target multimedia resource, and a first reference mark and a second reference mark are displayed on the progress bar; a time corresponding to the first reference mark on the progress bar is the first time, and a time corresponding to the second reference mark on the progress bar is the second time; and a progress bar between the first reference mark and the second reference mark is displayed in a target form, and the target form is configured for instructing to share a resource picture between the first time and the second time (Ping, para 10 of page 6).
Regarding claim 9, Brown in view of Ping teaches wherein at least one of first prompt information, a first image, a second image, or second prompt information is displayed on the resource sharing card, wherein the first prompt information is configured for indicating a position of the first resource segment in the target multimedia resource, the first image is any one of resource pictures comprised in the first resource segment, the second image is any one of the plurality of resource pictures of the target multimedia resource, the second prompt information is resource information of the target multimedia resource, and the resource information comprises at least one of a resource name, object information of a resource posting object, a resource posting time, or a resource posting address (Brown, Fig. 14-18) (Ping, para 16 of page 5, para 9 of page 6).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brown
in view of Ray (US 20180189668)
Regarding claim 12, Brown’s interface displays counts for user’s interaction on pictures/nabs (Fig. 20, item 2008, para 85). Brown does not teach wherein a waveform graph is further displayed on the resource segment selection control, and the waveform graph is configured for indicating sharing counts of the plurality of resource pictures of the target multimedia resource. However, Ray teaches using waveform graph in processing/illustrating media sharing-related information (Fig. 2-4, 16C, para 44, 53, 118). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include Ray’s teaching of displaying waveform graph in Brown’s interface. This will provide Brown’s interface with the capability to use graph to display sharing counts so the user can quickly and easily obtain the information.
Conclusion
Tang (US20220167024) and Kelley (US20150067739) teach creating video segments to be shared from viewed multimedia which relates to the instant application.
/KIEU D VU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2171