DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because Figure 3 has the outlet 26 pointing to a closed end and numeral 22 which is supposed to be the burst disc is pointing to empty space.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the burst disc must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 3, the limitation “a burst disc” is line 3 is unclear and indefinite. It is unclear and indefinite if the burst disc in line 3 is the same as the burst disc in line 2. For examination purposes, the limitation will be read as the same burst disc.
Claims not specifically mentioned are rejected as being dependent on a rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Aguilar (U.S. Patent No. 9,841,114).
Regarding claim 1, Aguilar discloses:
A check valve (100, 110) comprising:
a housing (100) and a burst disc 110 (Col. 4, line 60 - Col. 5, line 25; see Figure 3AA)
wherein the check valve (100, 110) is configured to prevent fluid from passing through the check valve (100, 110) when the burst disc (110) is in an unruptured state (Col. 4, line 60 - Col. 5, line 25)
wherein the burst disc (110) is configured to burst upon the application of a pre-set amount of pressure to the burst disc 110 (Col. 4, line 60 - Col. 5, line 25)
wherein the check valve (100, 110) is configured to allow fluid to pass through the check valve (100, 110) when the burst disc (110) is in the ruptured state (Col. 4, line 60 - Col. 5, line 25)
Regarding claim 2, Aguilar discloses:
wherein the fluid is gas (Col. 4, line 60 - Col. 5, line 25)
Regarding claim 3, Aguilar discloses:
A method of providing artificial gas lift comprising:
determining an amount of pressure that will cause a burst disc (110) to rupture (Col. 4, line 60 - Col. 5, line 25)
integrating the burst disc (110) configured to rupture at the determined amount of pressure into a check valve (100, 110) wherein the burst disc (110) is initially in an unruptured state (Col. 4, line 60 - Col. 5, line 25)
wherein the check valve (100, 110) prevents the flow of fluid through the check valve (100, 110) when the burst disc (110) is in an unruptured state (Col. 4, line 60 - Col. 5, line 25)
rupturing the burst disc (110) by applying the determined amount of pressure that will cause the burst disc (110) to rupture to the burst disc (Col. 4, line 60 - Col. 5, line 25)
wherein the check valve (100, 110) allows fluid to flow through the check valve (100, 110) when the burst disc (110) is in a ruptured state (Col. 4, line 60 - Col. 5, line 25)
Regarding claim 4, Aguilar discloses:
wherein the fluid is gas (Col. 4, line 60 - Col. 5, line 25)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Banks et al. (U.S. 2013/0126152) and Ross et al. (U.S. 2022/0154552) disclose a check valve having a burst disc which blocks flow until the disc is ruptured by a predetermined amount of pressure.
/KELSEY E CARY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753