DETAILED ACTION
This communication is responsive to the application, filed October 30, 2024. Claims 1-20 are pending in this application.
Examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA
The present application was filed on September 24, 2020, which is on or after March 16, 2013, and thus is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Double Patenting
Claim 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. US 12,153,818 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of present application are fully anticipated by the claims of issued patent. The issued US patent and the instant application are claiming common subject matter. The one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that they are obvious variants.
Claims 1-7 are compared to claims 1-7 of US patent US 12,153,818 B2 in the table below:
Instant Application
US Patent No : US 12,153,818 B2
1. A method comprising:
generating, by a processing device, a snapshot of a bucket that includes corresponding object versions of a plurality of objects stored in the bucket; and
generating a read-only copy of the bucket using the snapshot that comprises the corresponding object versions of the plurality of objects,
wherein generation of the read-only copy of the bucket prevents deletion of the snapshot.
1. A method comprising:
generating, by a processing device, a snapshot of the bucket, wherein the snapshot records the corresponding object version of each of the plurality of objects at a time associated with the generation of the snapshot; and
generating a read-only copy of the bucket using the snapshot, wherein the read-only copy of the bucket comprises the corresponding object version of each of the plurality of objects,
wherein generation of the read-only copy of the bucket prevents deletion of the snapshot.
2. The method of claim 1, further comprising: generating a subsequent snapshot of the bucket that captures subsequent corresponding object versions of the plurality of objects,
wherein at least one of the subsequent corresponding object versions in the subsequent snapshot is a different object version than the corresponding object versions in the snapshot.
2. The method of claim 1, further comprising: generating a second snapshot of the bucket, wherein the second snapshot captures the corresponding object version of each of the plurality of objects at a second time associated with the generation of the snapshot,
wherein at least one of the corresponding object versions in the second snapshot is a different object version than the corresponding object version in the snapshot.
3. The method of claim 2, further comprising:
reverting the plurality of objects back to the corresponding object versions of the plurality of objects captured in the snapshot upon receiving a request to revert the bucket.
3. The method of claim 2, further comprising:
reverting the plurality of objects back to the corresponding object version of each of the plurality of objects captured in the snapshot upon receiving a request to revert the bucket.
4. The method of claim 1, further comprising:
generating a deletion marker for an object of the plurality of objects upon receiving a request to delete the object,
wherein the deletion marker prevents display of the object in a subsequent snapshot of the bucket.
4. The method of claim 1, further comprising:
generating a deletion marker for an object of the plurality of objects upon receiving a request to delete the object,
wherein the deletion marker prevents display of the object in a subsequent snapshot of the bucket.
5. The method of claim 1, wherein the read-only copy of the bucket is associated with a recovery point retained for an amount of time.
5. The method of claim 1, wherein the read-only copy of the bucket is associated with a recovery point retained for a time period.
6. The method of claim 1, further comprising: generating a clone of the bucket using the snapshot, wherein the clone of the bucket comprises the corresponding object versions of the plurality of objects.
6. The method of claim 1, further comprising: generating a clone of the bucket using the snapshot, wherein the clone of the bucket comprises the corresponding object version of each of the plurality of objects at the time associated with the generation of the snapshot.
7. The method of claim 1, wherein deletion of the snapshot is available once the read-only copy of the bucket is destroyed.
7. The method of claim 1, wherein deletion of the snapshot is available once the read-only copy of the bucket is destroyed.
The table shows the method claims 1-7 compared to method claims 1-7 of U.S. Patent No. US 12,153,818 B2. The same rationale applies to the storage claims 8-14 and medium claims 15-20 because they are fully anticipated by system claims 14-20 and medium claims 8-13 of U.S. Patent No. US 12,153,818 B2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8-13, and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xing et al. (US 2020/0068038 A1) in view of Samprathi et al. (US 2019/0384678 A1) and further in view of Dillaman (US 2022/0035537 A1).
As per claim 1: A method comprising:
generating, by a processing device, a snapshot of a bucket that includes corresponding object versions of a plurality of objects stored in the bucket; and
Xing discloses [0016, 0048] snapshots allow applications to record object state and version information at specified points in time of the snapshots, but fails to explicitly disclose the snapshot records corresponding object version of each of the objects. Samparthi discloses a similar method, which further teaches [Fig. 4; 0044-0048] for each object of the snapshot, the backup and restore layer can store the unique ID of the object, the associated snapshot ID, the time of the snapshot, the version ID of the object stored in the bucket, and the size of the file.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teachings of Xing with that of Samparthi. One would have been motivated to record corresponding object version for each object because it allows to provide backup and restore capability [Samparthi; 0003].
generating a read-only copy of the bucket using the snapshot that comprises the corresponding object versions of the plurality of objects, wherein generation of the read-only copy of the bucket prevents deletion of the snapshot.
Xing and Samparthi disclose generating a bucket snapshot records corresponding object version of each of the objects, but fails to explicitly disclose generating a read-only snapshot bucket which prevents deletion of the snapshot. Dillaman discloses a similar method, which further teaches [0018] generating an object-based proxy bucket and further specify if a client is allowed to view-only (read-only), so the client cannot delete the snapshots stored.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teachings of Xing and Samparthi with that of Dillaman. One would have been motivated to generate a read-only copy of the bucket using snapshot because it allows the administrator to maintain client permissions [Dillaman; 0018].
As per claim 2: The method of claim 1, further comprising: generating a subsequent snapshot of the bucket that captures subsequent corresponding object versions of the plurality of objects, wherein at least one of the subsequent corresponding object versions in the subsequent snapshot is a different object versions than the corresponding versions in the snapshot.
Xing discloses [0055] a plurality of time-series snapshots that store the changes and versions of objects that were valid at any specified time. A time-series database snapshot allows to track when objects are created and updated (version changes), which enables roll-back to previous objects.
As per claim 3: The method of claim 2, further comprising: reverting the plurality of objects back to the corresponding object versions of the plurality of objects captured in the snapshot upon receiving a request to revert the bucket.
Xing discloses [0048] roll-backs allow applications to revert to an earliest set of objects (or a cloned set of objects) if desired.
As per claim 4: The method of claim 1, further comprising: generating a deletion marker for an object of the plurality of objects upon receiving a request to delete the object, wherein the deletion marker prevents display of the object in a subsequent snapshot of the bucket.
Xing discloses [0073] the garbage collection services can delete objects from their respective buckets, and then update the time-series database to reflect the changes.
As per claim 5: The method of claim 1, wherein the read-only copy of the bucket is associated with a recovery point retained for an amount of time.
Xing discloses [0048] roll-backs allow applications to revert to an earliest set of objects (recovery point) if desired.
As per claim 6: The method of claim 1, further comprising: generating a clone of the bucket using the snapshot, wherein the clone of the bucket comprises the corresponding object versions of the plurality of objects.
Xing discloses [0048] snapshots allow applications to record object state at specified points in time, while cloning creates a duplicate copy of a set of objections and the corresponding version at the specified time.
As per claims 8-13: Although claims 8-13 are directed towards a system claim, they are rejected under the same rationale as the method claims 1-6 above.
As per claims 15-20: Although claims 15-20 are directed towards a medium claim, they are rejected under the same rationale as the method claims 1-6 above.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7 and 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if they overcome the Double Patenting rejection above and are rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is cited to establish the level of skill in the applicant’s art and those arts considered reasonably pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. See MPEP 707.05(c).
· US 20160350325 A1 – Wang discloses a snapshot is a read-only copy of a client data object and it does not allow reclamation of space and deletion of data within snapshots.
/JIGAR P PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2114