DETAILED ACTION
This Final Office action is based on the 18/932241 application originally filed October 30, 2024.
Amended claims 1, 3, 5-10 and 21-30, filed May 19, 2026, are pending and have fully considered. Claims 2, 4, 11-20 have been canceled. Claims 27-30 are new. Claims 10 and 21-26 are withdrawn from consideration due to being drawn to a nonelected invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5-9 and 27-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bucher et al. (US 2014/0039229) hereinafter “Bucher” in view of Quintero et al. (US 2012/0015852) hereinafter “Quintero” and Jovancicevic et al. (US 2002/0183214) hereinafter “Jovancicevic”.
Regarding Claims 1, 3, 5, 6, 9 and 27-30
Bucher discloses in the abstract, a drag reducing composition and method of use wherein the drag reducing composition comprises a polyolefin, drag reducing polymer, a carrier or suspending medium, and a polycarboxylate dispersion agent.
Bucher discloses in paragraph 0008, polymers which are used to prepare the finely divided polymer particles used in the drag reducing compositions are obtained by polymerizing or copolymerizing mono-olefins containing from about 2 to about 30 carbon atoms. More usually, the mono-olefins, which are preferably alpha olefins, used in the preparation of the friction-reducing polymers used in the drag reducing compositions contain from about 4 to about 20 carbon atoms.
Bucher discloses in paragraph 0035, the hydrocarbon fluids in which friction loss may be reduced by addition of the drag reducing compositions of the present invention include such materials as crude oils, gas oils, diesel oils, fuel oils, refined liquid hydrocarbon stream, asphaltic oils, and the like, varying from materials with relatively low viscosity, pure materials to high viscosity hydrocarbon containing fractions.
Bucher further discloses in paragraph 0027, the terms “carrier” or “suspending medium” mean a liquid, primarily aqueous in nature, in which the polymeric component is insoluble but which can contain water soluble compounds such as alcohols, glycols, etc.
Bucher discloses in paragraph 0036, the amount of a polyolefin friction reducing agent required to produce the desired drag reduction will vary depending upon the physical properties and composition of the hydrocarbon fluid.
It is to be noted, Bucher discloses the addition of olefin monomers to a drag reducing composition but fails to specifically teach the addition of magnetic nanoparticles wherein the particle comprises a magnetic particle and fatty acid.
However, it is known in the art to disperse magnetic nanoparticles in a mixture for a drag reducing composition aiding in the improvement of dispersion of the drag reducing composition, as taught by Quintero.
Quintero discloses in the abstract, nanomaterial compositions are useful for applications in drilling and completion fluids as enhancers of electrical and thermal conductivity, emulsion stabilizers, wellbore strength improvers, drag reduction agents, wettability changers, corrosion coating compositions and the like.
Quintero discloses in paragraph 0011, a drilling fluid that includes a base fluid which may be an aqueous fluid, a non-aqueous fluid and/or combinations thereof. The drilling fluid also includes nanoparticles having a size less than 999 nm. Suitable nanoparticles include, but are not necessarily limited to, nano-silica, nano magnesium oxide, nano-iron oxide, nano-manganese oxide, nano-copper oxide, nano-zinc oxide, nano-nickel oxide, nano-alumina, nano-boron, carbon black, nano-graphene, carbon nanotube, ferromagnetic nanoparticles, nanoplatelets of these materials, surface-modified nanoparticles, halloysite clay nanotubes, polymer-based nanoparticles, degradable nanoparticles, nanocapsules, mesoporous nanoparticles, multistimuli-responsive nanospheres, core/shell nanoparticles and combinations of these. The drilling fluid may also include a surfactant in an amount effective to suspend the nanoparticles in the base fluid.
Quintero discloses in paragraph 0028, functionalized nanoparticles are defined herein as those which have had their edges or surfaces modified to contain at least one functional group including, but not necessarily limited to, sulfonate, sulfate, sulfosuccinate, thiosulfate, succinate, carboxylate, hydroxyl, glucoside, ethoxylate, propoxylate, phosphate, ethoxylate, ether, amines, amides, and combinations thereof.
Quintero discloses in paragraph 0030, these enormous surface areas per volume dramatically increase the interaction of the nanoparticles with the matrix or surrounding fluid. This surface area may serve as sites for bonding with functional groups, including polymerization, and can influence crystallization, chain entanglement, and morphology, and thus can generate a variety of properties in the matrix. In the present context, the matrix includes the base fluid of a drilling fluid or a completion fluid. For instance, it is anticipated that nanoparticles and conventional polymers may be linked or bonded together directly or through certain intermediate chemical linkages to combine some of the advantageous properties of each. Similarly, polymers may be connected with nanoparticles in particular ways, such as by spiral wrapping of a polymer around a carbon nanotube. It may be necessary to modify the nanotube surface to achieve such a structure. Suitable polymers include, but are not necessarily limited to, poly(m-phenylenevinylene-co-2,5-dioctoxy-p-phenylenevinylene) (PmPV), polyaniline, poly(para-phenylenevinylene) (PPV), poly(methyl methacrylate) (PMMA), polyvinyl alcohol (PVA), and the like. Such nanoparticle-polymer hybrids may use nanoparticles and nanotubes as polymer-type building blocks in conventional copolymer-type structures, such as block copolymers, graft copolymers, cross-linking at the side of a nanotube, e.g. and the like.
It is to be noted, Quintero discloses functionalized nanoparticles are defined herein as those which have had their edges or surfaces modified to contain at least one functional group including carboxylates, but fails to specifically teach the addition of fatty acids to form the carboxylates.
However, it is known in the art to add fatty acid drag reducing agents to hydrocarbon fluids in order to reduce drag that can rapidly develop in a flowing hydrocarbon emulsion, as taught by Jovancicevic.
Jovancicevic discloses in paragraph 0011, a method of reducing drag of a fluid involving first providing a fluid, and then adding to the fluid an amount of an additive effective to reduce the drag of the fluid. The additive is a fatty acid, an alkoxylated derivative of a fatty acid, an organic or inorganic salt of a fatty acid or an alkoxylated derivative thereof, or an ester of a fatty acid or an alkoxylated derivative thereof, and mixtures thereof.
Jovancicevic discloses in paragraph 0014, the drag reducing additives have the basic chemical structures of fatty acids, namely a hydrocarbon moiety having one or more carboxylic acid groups (—COOH). In one non-limiting embodiment, the number of carbon atoms in the carboxylic acid range from about 4 to about 100, preferably from about 8 to about 64 carbon atoms. In one non-limiting embodiment, linear and branched saturated and unsaturated carboxylic acids are included as additives. Such fatty acids may have a carbon number range of from 4 to 34, preferably from 8 to 20. Specific examples of such fatty acids include, but are not necessarily limited to, oleic acid, linoleic acid, stearic acid, palmitic acid, and the like.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to disperse the fatty acids of Jovancicevic in the nanomaterial composition of Quintero in order to functionalize the nanoparticles and aid in forming carboxylates due to Quintero specifically teaching forming functionalized nanoparticles (see paragraph 0028 of Quintero).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to disperse the nanomaterial of Quintero modified by Jovancicevic in the mixture for a drag reducing composition of Bucher. The motivation to do so is the nanomaterial compositions are useful for applications in drilling and completion fluids as enhancers of electrical and thermal conductivity, emulsion stabilizers, wellbore strength improvers, drag reduction agents, wettability changers, corrosion coating compositions and the like.
Regarding Claims 7-8
Bucher discloses in paragraph 0008, polymers which are used to prepare the finely divided polymer particles used in the drag reducing compositions are obtained by polymerizing or copolymerizing mono-olefins containing from about 2 to about 30 carbon atoms. More usually, the mono-olefins, which are preferably alpha olefins, used in the preparation of the friction-reducing polymers used in the drag reducing compositions contain from about 4 to about 20 carbon atoms.
Bucher further discloses in paragraph 0027, the terms “carrier” or “suspending medium” mean a liquid, primarily aqueous in nature, in which the polymeric component is insoluble but which can contain water soluble compounds such as alcohols, glycols, etc.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments directed to the newly submitted claimed amendments, filed May 19, 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 3, 5-9 and 27-30 under Bucher et al. (US 2014/0039229) hereinafter "Bucher" in view of Dai et al. (CN 113896820 A) hereinafter cited under English Translation "Dai" have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Bucher et al. (US 2014/0039229) hereinafter “Bucher” in view of Quintero et al. (US 2012/0015852) hereinafter “Quintero” and Jovancicevic et al. (US 2002/0183214) hereinafter “Jovancicevic”.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Sun et al. (US 10,683,412) discloses in the abstract, a drag reducing suspension capable of dissolving in cold hydrocarbon fluids at usage level. In one embodiment, the drag reducing composition comprises a drag reducing polymer, a partitioning agent comprises a one or more of a coal-tar resin, a C5 aliphatic petroleum resin, a C9 aromatic petroleum resin, C5/C9 aliphatic/aromatic petroleum resin, a cycloaliphatic diene-based petroleum resin, a pure monomer resin, a terpene resin, a terpene phenol resin, a styrenated terpene resin, a rosin resin, a rosin resin derivative, one or more of an alkylphenol resin, a modified alkylphenol resin, and fully or partially hydrogenated form thereof, and suspending fluid medium.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Latosha Hines/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771