DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
With respect to claim 1, the recitation “A substrate cart” is indefinite. Specifically, it is noted that “a cart” is normally used to move elements from one location to another location. The claims do not appear to be moving elements from one location to another therefore it is not clear how the claims could be considered to be a cart. It appears the claims are a type of a framing registration apparatus due to the structural elements that are recited in the claims. For purposes of furthering prosecution and until further clarification the examiner will treat the claims as a framing registration apparatus until further clarification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Flockhart (US Patent 1,892,268).
With respect to claim 1, Flockhart teaches a substrate cart (Page 1, Lines 40-45, Figure 1) comprising:
a base frame (9, Figure 1) having outer perimeter (outer perimeter of bars 9, Figure 1) and an inner perimeter (inner perimeter of bars, Figure 1);
at least one adaptor position and locator feature (8, Figure 1) disposed on the base frame outer perimeter (Figure 1); and
at least one registration system (left rail 1) coupled to the base frame inner perimeter (Figure 1).
With respect to claim 2, Flockhart teaches a rectangular outer and inner perimeter formed by a front member (inner and outer perimeter formed by bars 9, Figure 1), a rear member (bottom bar 9, Figure 1), and a pair of side members (9, left and right bars 9, Figure 1) wherein at least a first registration system (top rail 1) is coupled to an inner surface of the front member within the inner perimeter (Figure 1), and a second registration system (bottom rail) is coupled or to the an inner surface of the rear member within the inner perimeter (Figure 1).
With respect to claim 3, Flockhart teaches having at least one inner member (inner rail 1) coupled between the pair of side members (left and right bars 9) proximal the rear member (bottom bar 9), the inner member defining a rear first opening (top opening in right rail receiving screw 8, Figure 1) and a front second opening (bottom opening in right rail 1 receiving screw 8, Figure 1).
With respect to claim 18, Flockhart teaches having a first inner member (top right screw 8) coupled between the pair of side members (left and right side bars 9) proximal the rear member (bottom bar 9, Figure 1), a second inner member (bottom right screw 8, Figure 1) coupled between the pair of side members proximal the front member (Figure 1), a third inner member (right center screw 8, Figure 1) coupled between the first inner member and the second inner member proximal a second side member of the pair of side members (Figure 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over in view of Flockhart (US Patent 1,892,268) in view of Spiro (US Publication 20210276363).
With respect to claim 19, Flockhart teaches the claimed invention with the exception of having a unique identifier coupled to the base frame.
Spiro a unique identifier coupled to the base frame (Paragraph 0068, markings identified by shapes).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the present invention was made to modify the invention taught by Flockhart to provide a unique identifier coupled to a base frame as taught by Sprio for the purpose of improving speed and accuracy.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
With respect to claim 4, the prior art does not teach or render obvious at least first registration system comprising a spine member; a first transport wheel coupled to a proximal end of the spine member, a second transport wheel coupled to a distal end of the spine member; a registration alignment feature set disposed in the spine member; at least one hold down block coupled to the spine member; and a registration guide coupled to the spine member.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Losiewicz et al. (US 2020/0396843), Froio et al. (CA2716571) and Cronin (US Patent 4,404,903) teach framing structures.
/Marissa Ferguson-Samreth/Examiner, Art Unit 2853
/CHRISTOPHER E MAHONEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852