DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 21 of U.S. Patent No. 12,133,716. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims are arguably broader than claims 1, 21, of U.S. Patent No. 12,133,716 which encompasses the same metes, bounds and limitations. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was first filed to eliminate the limitations of the narrower claims, since it has been held that omission of an element and its function and a combination where the remaining elements perform the same functions as before involves only routine skill in the art. See in re Karlson, 136 USPQ 184.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 18, of U.S. Patent No. 11,439,310. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims are arguably broader than claims 1, 21, of U.S. Patent No. 11,439,310 which encompasses the same metes, bounds and limitations. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was first filed to eliminate the limitations of the narrower claims, since it has been held that omission of an element and its function and a combination where the remaining elements perform the same functions as before involves only routine skill in the art. See in re Karlson, 136 USPQ 184.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murphy et. Al. (US 2014/0128239) in view of Wanders (US 2016/0109372).
Regarding claim 1, Murphy discloses a method for approximating blood volume in a fluid collected from a subject (page 1, [0004]) comprising: providing a volume of the collected fluid into a container (ensure that a sufficient volume of anticoagulated whole blood remains within the draw bag 530 in page 5, [0054]); determining a volume of sedimented red blood cells in the container from the collected
Fluid (page 1, [0004]; page 6, [0056]); and wherein the volume of sedimented red blood cells correlates with the approximate blood volume in the collected fluid from the subject (page 1, [0003-0004]; page 5, [0054-0056]).
Murphy discloses all the limitations set forth above but fails to explicitly disclose determining a volume of blood in the fluid.
However, Wanders discloses determining a volume of blood in the fluid (determined volume of the blood fluid portion in page 2, [0035]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was first filed to incorporate the features of Wanders within the system of Murphy in order to fill the bowl until the plasma interface reaches a certain position thereby improving the reliability of the system.
Regarding claim 2, Murphy discloses wherein an amount of a red blood cell flocculant is added to the
collected fluid, provided in the container, or both (page 1, [0004]; page 6, [0056]).
Regarding claim 3, Murphy and Wanders disclose all the limitations set forth in claim 1 and Wanders further discloses wherein the red blood cell flocculant is combined with saline (saline solution in page 6, [0077]).
Regarding claim 4, Murphy discloses wherein the red blood cell flocculant comprises polyDADMAC PEI, PAM or a mixture thereof (plasma in page 5, [0054]),
Regarding claims 5-6, Murphy discloses wherein the red blood cell flocculant comprises polyDADMAC (plasma in page 5, [0054])
Regarding claim 7, Murphy discloses solution, a water-in-oil emulsion, or as a dispersion in water (plasma in page 5, [0054]).
Regarding claim 8, Murphy discloses wherein the polyDADMAC comprises a high-molecular weight
polyDADMAC having a molecular weight of about 100 kDa, 200 kDa, 300 kDa, 350 kDa, 400
kDa, 450 kDa, or a combination of the about 100 kDa, 200 kDa, 300 kDa, 350 kDa, 400 kDa and
and 450 kDa polyDADMAC (page 5, [0054]).
Regarding claim 9, Murphy discloses wherein the polyDADMAC has a molecular weight of about 200
kDa, about 350 kDa, or a mixture of the about 200 kDa and about 350 kDa molecular weight
polyDADMAC (page 5, [0054]).
Regarding claim 10, Murphy and Wanders disclose all the limitations set forth in claim 1 and Wanders further discloses wherein the red blood cell flocculant comprises a pre-mixed preparation of the red blood cell flocculant and saline (page 6, [0077]).
Regarding claim 11, Murphy discloses wherein a volume of saline is added to the collected fluid in the
Canister (fig. 6).
Regarding claim 12, Murphy discloses wherein the container is a canister having a volume capacity of
about 1.2 liters, about 3 liters, or about 6 liters (fig. 6).
Regarding claim 13, Murphy discloses wherein the polyDADMAC is provided in an amount of about 320
mg or about 600 mg in a container having a volume capacity of about 1.2 liters (page 5, [0054]).
Regarding claim 14, Murphy discloses wherein the collected fluid from the subject comprises an anti-coagulant (page 5, [0054]).
Regarding claim 15, Murphy discloses wherein the collected fluid from the subject comprises about 40%
blood by volume (page 5, [0054-0056]).
Regarding claim 16, Murphy discloses wherein the collected fluid comprises blood (page 5, [0054]).
Regarding claim 17, Murphy discloses wherein the collected fluid comprises urine, bile, saliva, lymph,
amniotic fluid, peritoneal fluid, or any combination thereof (page 6, [0058]).
Regarding claim 18, Murphy discloses wherein the container comprises a cap or covering (fig. 6).
Regarding claim 19, Murphy discloses wherein the volume of blood in the fluid collected from the subject is a volume in milliliters, Vb, calculated according to the formula: wherein Vb is an estimated blood volume measured in milliliters, Vₘ is an estimated sedimented red blood cell volume measured in milliliters, Hct is an average blood hematocrit, and n is the red blood cell packing ratio of the container (page 5, [0054]).
Regarding claim 20, Murphy discloses where sedimentation of red blood cells from the collected fluid
occurs in about 5 minutes in the container in the presence of the red blood cell flocculant (page 5, [0054-0056]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Felt et al. (US 2007/0203444) discloses apparatus…..components.
James et al. (US 2015/0140546) discloses detecting…..fluid.
Vishnoi et al. (US 2002/0128581) discloses automated…..from blood.
Donart (US 2004/0078022) discloses container….fluid.
Kluck (US 2008/0181828) discloses ultrasound……centrifuge.
Langley et al. (US 2009/0043237) discloses method and devices for processing blood.
DP
February 20, 2026
/DANIEL PREVIL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2685