Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(As a preliminary note, Claims 1-19 remain rejected under 35 USC in view of Murakami, and Holper, for the reasons explained in the response to arguments section below. Claims 1-4, 6-15, 17-19 and 20-25 are now rejected under 35 USC 103 over Murakami in view of Fukinuki, with claims 1-4, 6-15, 17-19 being rejected in the alternative, in order to properly address newly added claims 20-25, while also addressing the claims from which they depend.)
Claims 1, 5-6, and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over USPGPUB 20190193174, Murakami, in view of USPN, 3168665, to Holper.
Regarding Claims 1, 5 and 10, Murakami discloses:
a miter saw (abstract) comprising:
a base assembly (2);
a rotatable table 22 rotatably connected to the base assembly (par 0075-0076);
a pivot arm 6 pivotally attached to the rotatable table (fig. 2, par 0081-0082; at pivot shaft 25A); and
a saw assembly (64, 67, and 650) supported by the pivot arm, wherein the saw assembly includes: a drive unit (65 and 650), a transmission 60 coupled to the drive unit through a master gear 4605 (fig, 23A-B), and a blade 4061 that is rotatably driven by the drive unit and the transmission (par 0248).
Murakami lacks: the said drive unit having a plurality of electric motors, said dual motor drive unit also having a transmission coupled to the drive unit through a master gear, and a rotary output/blade that is rotatably driven by the drive unit and the transmission (Claim 1), and wherein a rotation of rotors within the plurality of electric motors is in a direction opposite a rotation of the blade (Claim 5), wherein the plurality of electric motors includes a first motor and a second motor, wherein a first motor pinion and a second motor pinion are coupled to the master gear (Claim 10).
Holper discloses a Multiple motor induction unit for a motor driven rotary driving tool, in the same field of endeavor as the electric motor driven rotary driving tool of the present invention and discloses that such a system includes a drive unit (motor unit and parts 10-15) having a plurality of electric motors (“motors”, parts 41-46, and see fig 1-6, showing four motors), a dual motor drive unit (parts 33 and 10-15) having a transmission (parts 10-15) coupled to the drive unit through a master gear (12), and a rotary output that is rotatably driven by the drive unit and the transmission (col. 2, 10-30) (Claim 1), and wherein a rotation of rotors within the plurality of electric motors is in a direction opposite a rotation of the blade (since the output gears 15 rotate in one direction and act to rotate the gear 12 and the output shaft 10 in an opposite direction, fig 1) (Claim 5), wherein the plurality of electric motors includes a first motor and a second motor (top two motors, fig 1), wherein a first motor pinion and a second motor pinion (pinions 15 on the top right and left fig 1) are coupled to the master gear (12, as seen in: fig 1) (Claim 10) in order to provide exceptional high torque in a space and cost saving manner/configurations.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Murakami by replacing the single motor drive unit thereof with a drive unit having a plurality of electric motors, said dual motor drive unit also having a transmission coupled to the drive unit through a master gear, and a rotary output (which can drive the blade of Murakami) that is rotatably driven by the drive unit and the transmission (Claim 1), and wherein a rotation of rotors within the plurality of electric motors is in a direction opposite a rotation of the blade (Claim 5), wherein the plurality of electric motors includes a first motor and a second motor, wherein a first motor pinion and a second motor pinion are coupled to the master gear (Claim 10), in order to provide exceptional high torque in a space and cost saving manner/configurations, as taught through Holper.
Regarding Claim 6, in Murakami, the miter saw further comprises: a pulley assembly (par 0245-0246) that couples to and receives rotational force from the transmission and imparts rotational force to the blade (par 0246 and 0248) and a toothed belt 4607 (par 0245-46) disposed around the pulley assembly to impart the rotational force to the blade (fig. 22. par 0248).
Regarding Claim 11, in Murakami, the miter saw further comprises a blade housing 67 covering the blade (par 0083), the blade housing having a first width, and the drive unit (650) having a second width, wherein the second width is equal to or smaller than the first width (annotated fig 3).
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murakami in view of Holper, as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of USPGPUB 20180034298, Clack.
Regarding Claims 2-3, In Murakami the pivot arm includes a handle 67 having a trigger 67A, (Claim 2) and the miter saw further comprises: a blade housing disposed at least partially around the blade, wherein a profile of the blade housing is aligned within a profile of the drive unit. (See annotated fig 22 below) (Claim 3).
Murakami lacks a motor control module disposed within the handle- (Claim 2) and the pivot arm including a battery receptacle for receiving a battery pack (Claim 3).
Clack discloses a miter saw, in the same field of endeavor as the mitre saw tool of the present invention and discloses that such a system includes an electric motor drive (par 0015) and a wake up circuit (360) which includes a motor control module (210, 214) disposed within a handle (par 0017, 132)- (Claim 2) and a pivot arm (130 132) including a battery receptacle (140) for receiving a battery (142, par 0015-0016) pack (Claim 3) in order to allow an operator to operate the tool in a manner in which a battery may be woken up and then controlled (par 0012).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Murakami by including a motor control module and a wake up circuit, the control module disposed within the handle- (Claim 2) and the pivot arm including a battery receptacle for receiving a battery pack (Claim 3) in order to allow an operator to operate the tool in a manner in which a battery may be woken up and then controlled as taught in Clack.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murakami, in view of Holper as applied to Claim 1, and further in view of USPGPUB 20210111647, Kalygin.
Murakami lacks wherein a start of rotation of the blade is less than one second from a time when a user initiates operation of the miter saw.
Kalygin discloses a motorized rotary driven machine where a motor energizes a rotor assembly, in the same field of endeavor as the motorized rotary driven machine where a motor energizes a rotor assembly of the present invention and discloses that such a system includes an oscillation damping system (limit controller 136, par. 0053) which ensures a fast startup time, from an energization/initiation of operation to a rotor beginning rotation of the rotor, said time being less than one second in order to minimize said time, par 0081, par 0002-0005.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Murakami by including an oscillation damping system which ensures a fast startup time, from an energization/initiation of operation to a beginning of a rotor beginning rotation, said time being less than one second in order to minimize said time in order to minimize said time as taught by Kalygin.
Claim 7-9, 12, 16 and 17-19, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murakami and Holper as applied to claim 1, and further in view of US 7172375, Tanoue.
Regarding Claims 7-9, Modified Murakami discloses all of the limitations of Claim 1 as discussed above, Murakami also includes, per claim 8, wherein the pivot arm comprises first and second sliding rails connected to the saw assembly.
Murakami lacks wherein a center of gravity of the miter saw is coplanar with the blade (Claim 7), wherein a plane including the blade is equidistant with the first and second sliding rails (Claim 8), wherein a center of gravity of the miter saw is centered about the pivot arm (Claim 9).
Tanoue discloses a rail supported sliding motorized machining assembly (machine tool 3, slid on rails 30, and spindle 2 which is said to machine a workpiece in a slideable fashion), in the same field of endeavor as the rail supported sliding motorized machining assembly/tool of the present invention and discloses that such a system includes wherein a center of gravity of the cutting device is coplanar with a machining blade 2 thereof, (fig 6, fig 1, and col 11, 5-20) (Claim 7), and Tanoue discloses that center of gravity of the machining apparatus being centered in between the guide rails (fig 6, fig 1, and col 11, 5-20) where a center of gravity of the miter saw is centered about the pivot arm (fig 6 and 10, since the tool is said to be in the centered of gravity and the part 13 pivots said tool as shown in figs 6 and 13 also on said center of gravity) (Claim 9), in order to enhance the machining accuracy while realizing higher speed of the spindle, col 11, 5-25).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Murakami by making/having the miter saw of claim 1, wherein a center of gravity of the miter saw is coplanar with the blade (Claim 7), wherein a plane including the blade is equidistant with the first and second sliding rails (Claim 8), wherein a center of gravity of the miter saw is centered about the pivot arm (Claim 9), in order to enhance the machining accuracy while realizing higher speed of the cutter as taught by/ in Tanoue.
Regarding Claims 12, 16, and 18 Murakami discloses, a miter saw (abstract) comprising:
a base assembly 2;
a rotatable table 22 rotatably connected to the base assembly (par 0022);
a pivot arm 6 pivotally attached to the rotatable table (par 0076); and
a saw assembly (64, 67, and 650) supported by the pivot arm, wherein the saw assembly includes: a drive unit (65 and 650), a transmission 60 coupled to the drive unit through a master gear 4605 (fig, 23A-B), and a blade 4061 that is rotatably driven by the drive unit and the transmission (par 0248),
Murakami lacks feature (I) Murakami lacks: the said drive unit having a plurality of electric motors, said dual motor drive unit also having a transmission coupled to the drive unit through a master gear, and a rotary output/blade that is rotatably driven by the drive unit and the transmission (Claim 12), and wherein a rotation of rotors within the plurality of electric motors is in a direction opposite a rotation of the blade (since the output gears 15 rotate in one direction and act to rotate the gear 12 and the output shaft 10 in an opposite direction, fig 1) (Claim 16), and feature (II) wherein a center of gravity of the miter saw is coplanar with the blade and centered about the pivot arm, (Claim 12), wherein a plane including the blade is equidistant with the first and second sliding rails (Claim 18).
Regarding Feature (I) Holper discloses a Multiple motor induction unit for a motor driven rotary driving tool, in the same field of endeavor as the electric motor driven rotary driving tool of the present invention and discloses that such a system includes a drive unit (motor unit and parts 10-15) having a plurality of electric motors (“motors”, parts 41-46, and see fig 1-6, showing four motors), a dual motor drive unit (parts 33 and 10-15) having a transmission (parts 10-15) coupled to the drive unit through a master gear (12), and a rotary output that is rotatably driven by the drive unit and the transmission (col. 2, 10-30) (Claim 1), and wherein a rotation of rotors within the plurality of electric motors is in a direction opposite a rotation of the blade (since the output gears 15 rotate in one direction and act to rotate the gear 12 and the output shaft 10 in an opposite direction, fig 1) (Claim 16), in order to provide exceptional high torque in a space and cost saving manner/configurations.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Murakami by replacing the single motor drive unit thereof with a drive unit having a plurality of electric motors, said dual motor drive unit also having a transmission coupled to the drive unit through a master gear, and a rotary output (which can drive the blade of Murakami) that is rotatably driven by the drive unit and the transmission) Claim 12) and wherein a rotation of rotors within the plurality of electric motors is in a direction opposite a rotation of the blade (since the output gears 15 rotate in one direction and act to rotate the gear 12 and the output shaft 10 in an opposite direction, fig 1) (Claim 16), in order to provide exceptional high torque in a space and cost saving manner/configurations as taught by Holper.
Regarding Feature (II) Tanoue discloses a rail supported sliding motorized machining assembly (machine tool 3, slid on rails 30, and spindle 2 which is said to machine a workpiece in a slideable fashion, and which is pivotally supported on the rails via pivot 13), in the same field of endeavor as the rail supported sliding motorized machining assembly/tool of the present invention and discloses that such a system includes wherein a center of gravity of the miter saw is coplanar with a machining blade 2 thereof, (fig 6, fig 1, and col 11, 5-20) (Claim 12) and centered about the pivot arm of the machining tool 2, (fig 10 and fig 6) and Tanoue discloses that center of gravity of the machining apparatus being centered in between the guide rails (claim 18) (fig 6, fig 1, and col 11, 5-20) in order to enhance the machining accuracy while realizing higher speed of the spindle, col 11, 5-25).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Murakami by making/having the miter saw of claim 1, wherein a center of gravity of the miter saw is centered about the pivot arm in order to enhance the machining accuracy while realizing higher speed of the cutter as taught by/ in Tanoue.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Murakami by having the wherein a center of gravity of the miter saw is coplanar with the blade and centered about the pivot arm (claim 12), wherein a plane including the blade is equidistant with the first and second sliding rails (claim 18) in order to enhance the machining accuracy while realizing higher speed of the cutter, as taught via Tanoue.
Regarding Claim 17, in Murakami, the miter saw further comprises: a pulley assembly (par 0245-0246) that couples to and receives rotational force from the transmission and imparts rotational force to the blade (par 0246 and 0248) and a toothed belt 4607 (par 0245-46) disposed around the pulley assembly to impart the rotational force to the blade (fig. 22. par 0248).
Regarding Claim 19, in Murakami, the miter saw further comprises a blade housing 67 covering the blade (par 0083), the blade housing having a first width, and the drive unit (650) having a second width, wherein the second width is equal to or smaller than the first width (annotated fig 3).
Claims 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murakami, in view of Tanoue and Holper, as applied to Claim 12 above, and further in view of Clack.
Regarding Claims 13-14, In Murakami the pivot arm includes a handle 67 having a trigger 67A, (claim 13) and the miter saw further comprises: a blade housing disposed at least partially around the blade, wherein a profile of the blade housing is aligned within a profile of the drive unit. (See annotated fig 22 below) (claim 14).
Murakami lacks a motor control module disposed within the handle- (claim 13) and the pivot arm including a battery receptacle for receiving a battery pack (claim 14).
Clack discloses a miter saw, in the same field of endeavor as the mitre saw tool of the present invention and discloses that such a system includes an electric motor drive (par 0015) and a wake up circuit (360) which includes a motor control module (210, 214) disposed within a handle (par 0017, 132)- (claim 13) and a pivot arm (130 132) including a battery receptacle (140) for receiving a battery (142, par 0015-0016) pack (claim 14) in order to allow an operator to operate the tool in a manner in which a battery may be woken up and then controlled (par 0012).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Murakami by including a motor control module and a wake up circuit, the control module disposed within the handle- (claim 13) and the pivot arm including a battery receptacle for receiving a battery pack (claim 14) in order to allow an operator to operate the tool in a manner in which a battery may be woken up and then controlled as taught in Clack.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murakami, in view of Holper and Tanoue as applied to Claim 12, and further in view of Kalygin.
Murakami lacks wherein a start of rotation of the blade is less than one second from a time when a user initiates operation of the miter saw.
Kalygin discloses a motorized rotary driven machine where a motor energizes a rotor assembly, in the same field of endeavor as the motorized rotary driven machine where a motor energizes a rotor assembly of the present invention and discloses that such a system includes an oscillation damping system (limit controller 136, par. 0053) which ensures a fast startup time, from an energization/initiation of operation to a rotor beginning rotation of the rotor, said time being less than one second in order to minimize said time, par 0081, par 0002-0005.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Murakami by including an oscillation damping system which ensures a fast startup time, from an energization/initiation of operation to a beginning of a rotor beginning rotation, said time being less than one second in order to minimize said time in order to minimize said time as taught by Kalygin.
Claims 1, 6, 10-11 and 20-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable (Claims 1, 5-6, 10-11 being rejected in the alternative) over Murakami, in view of USPGPUB 20080127795, Fukinuki.
Regarding Claims 1, 10, and 20-22, Murakami discloses:
a miter saw (abstract) comprising:
a base assembly (2);
a rotatable table 22 rotatably connected to the base assembly (par 0075-0076);
a pivot arm 6 pivotally attached to the rotatable table (fig. 2, par 0081-0082; at pivot shaft 25A); and
a saw assembly (64, 67, and 650) supported by the pivot arm, wherein the saw assembly includes: a drive unit (65 and 650), a transmission 60 coupled to the drive unit through a master gear 4605 (fig, 23A-B), and a blade 4061 that is rotatably driven by the drive unit and the transmission (par 0248).
Murakami lacks: the said drive unit having a plurality of electric motors, said dual motor drive unit also having a transmission coupled to the drive unit through a master gear, and a rotary output/blade that is rotatably driven by the drive unit and the transmission (Claim 1), wherein the plurality of electric motors includes a first motor and a second motor, wherein a first motor pinion and a second motor pinion are coupled to the master gear (Claim 10), wherein the plurality of electric motors is located around an outer circumference of the blade and is intersected by a plane of the blade (Claim 20), wherein the plurality of electric motors is aligned along an axis that is tangential to a peripheral body of the blade (Claim 21), further comprising a blade housing that partially surrounds the blade, wherein a front cover that captures the drive unit is mounted on the blade housing (Claim 22).
Fukinuki discloses a multiple motor cutting tool, in the same field of endeavor as the multiple motor cutting tool of the present invention and discloses that such a system includes a drive unit (motor unit 13 and 13a and pulley 14 and gear 14a) having a plurality of electric motors (“motors”, 13 and 13a), a dual motor drive unit (14 and 14a) having a transmission (14 and 14a) coupled to the drive unit through a master gear (par 0014, “The belt transmission mechanism is subsequently connected to a shaft 14a of the saw blade 16 via a gear mechanism”), and a rotary output (14a) that is rotatably driven by the drive unit and the transmission (See: Par. 0014) (Claim 1), wherein the plurality of electric motors includes a first motor 13 and a second motor (13a), wherein a first motor pinion 13c and a second motor pinion 13b are coupled to the master gear (via the pulley 14, par 0014) (Claim 10), wherein the plurality of electric motors is located around an outer circumference of the blade (fig 3) and is intersected by a plane of the blade (see annotated fig 4 below) (Claim 20), wherein the plurality of electric motors is aligned along an axis that is tangential to a peripheral body of the blade (see annotated fig 3 below, where the annotated line corresponds to Line C in fig 4 of the present invention) (Claim 21), further comprising a blade housing 15 that partially surrounds the blade (figs. 3-4), wherein a front cover (portion of drive pulley 14 which covers the blade, fig 3) that captures the drive unit (since the pulley 14 also surrounds the portions 13c and 13b of the drive unit) is mounted on the blade housing (fig 4) (Claim 22), in order to reduce the overall size of the driving motor portion of the tool and thus avoid interference between the driving motor portion and the workpiece (par 0008).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Murakami by replacing the single motor drive unit thereof with a drive unit having a plurality of electric motors, said dual motor drive unit also having a transmission coupled to the drive unit through a master gear, and a rotary output (which can drive the blade of Murakami) that is rotatably driven by the drive unit and the transmission (Claim 1), wherein the plurality of electric motors includes a first motor and a second motor, wherein a first motor pinion and a second motor pinion are coupled to the master gear (Claim 10), wherein the plurality of electric motors is located around an outer circumference of the blade and is intersected by a plane of the blade (Claim 20), wherein the plurality of electric motors is aligned along an axis that is tangential to a peripheral body of the blade (Claim 21), further comprising a blade housing that partially surrounds the blade, wherein a front cover that captures the drive unit is mounted on the blade housing (Claim 22), in order to reduce the overall size of the driving motor portion of the tool and thus avoid interference between the driving motor portion and the, as taught through Fukinuki.
Regarding Claim 6, in Murakami, the miter saw further comprises: a pulley assembly (par 0245-0246) that couples to and receives rotational force from the transmission and imparts rotational force to the blade (par 0246 and 0248) and a toothed belt 4607 (par 0245-46) disposed around the pulley assembly to impart the rotational force to the blade (fig. 22. par 0248).
Regarding Claim 11, in Murakami, the miter saw further comprises a blade housing 67 covering the blade (par 0083), the blade housing having a first width, and the drive unit (650) having a second width, wherein the second width is equal to or smaller than the first width (annotated fig 3).
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murakami and Fukinuki, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Clack.
Regarding Claims 2-3, In Murakami the pivot arm includes a handle 67 having a trigger 67A, (Claim 2) and the miter saw further comprises: a blade housing disposed at least partially around the blade, wherein a profile of the blade housing is aligned within a profile of the drive unit. (See annotated fig 22 below) (Claim 3).
Murakami lacks a motor control module disposed within the handle- (Claim 2) and the pivot arm including a battery receptacle for receiving a battery pack (Claim 3).
Clack discloses a miter saw, in the same field of endeavor as the mitre saw tool of the present invention and discloses that such a system includes an electric motor drive (par 0015) and a wake up circuit (360) which includes a motor control module (210, 214) disposed within a handle (par 0017, 132)- (Claim 2) and a pivot arm (130 132) including a battery receptacle (140) for receiving a battery (142, par 0015-0016) pack (Claim 3) in order to allow an operator to operate the tool in a manner in which a battery may be woken up and then controlled (par 0012).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Murakami by including a motor control module and a wake up circuit, the control module disposed within the handle- (Claim 2) and the pivot arm including a battery receptacle for receiving a battery pack (Claim 3) in order to allow an operator to operate the tool in a manner in which a battery may be woken up and then controlled as taught in Clack.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murakami, in view of Fukinuki as applied to Claim 1, and further in view of USPGPUB 20210111647, Kalygin.
Murakami lacks wherein a start of rotation of the blade is less than one second from a time when a user initiates operation of the miter saw.
Kalygin discloses a motorized rotary driven machine where a motor energizes a rotor assembly, in the same field of endeavor as the motorized rotary driven machine where a motor energizes a rotor assembly of the present invention and discloses that such a system includes an oscillation damping system (limit controller 136, par. 0053) which ensures a fast startup time, from an energization/initiation of operation to a rotor beginning rotation of the rotor, said time being less than one second in order to minimize said time, par 0081, par 0002-0005.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Murakami by including an oscillation damping system which ensures a fast startup time, from an energization/initiation of operation to a beginning of a rotor beginning rotation, said time being less than one second in order to minimize said time in order to minimize said time as taught by Kalygin.
Claim 7-9, 12, 17-19, and 23-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murakami in view of Fukinuki, and in view of Tanoue (with Claims 7-9, 12, and 17-19 being rejected in the alternative to the rejection in view of Holper).
Regarding Claims 7-9, Modified Murakami discloses all of the limitations of Claim 1 as discussed above.
Murakami also includes, per claim 8, wherein the pivot arm comprises first and second sliding rails connected to the saw assembly.
Murakami lacks wherein a center of gravity of the miter saw is coplanar with the blade (Claim 7), wherein a plane including the blade is equidistant with the first and second sliding rails (Claim 8), wherein a center of gravity of the miter saw is centered about the pivot arm (Claim 9).
Tanoue discloses a rail supported sliding motorized machining assembly (machine tool 3, slid on rails 30, and spindle 2 which is said to machine a workpiece in a slideable fashion), in the same field of endeavor as the rail supported sliding motorized machining assembly/tool of the present invention and discloses that such a system includes wherein a center of gravity of the miter saw is coplanar with a machining blade 2 thereof, (fig 6, fig 1, and col 11, 5-20) (Claim 7), and Tanoue discloses that center of gravity of the machining apparatus being centered in between the guide rails (fig 6, fig 1, and col 11, 5-20) where a center of gravity of the miter saw is centered about the pivot arm (fig 6 and 10, since the tool is said to be in the centered of gravity and the part 13 pivots said tool as shown in figs 6 and 13 also on said center of gravity) (Claim 9), in order to enhance the machining accuracy while realizing higher speed of the spindle, col 11, 5-25).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Marakumi by making/having the miter saw of claim 1, wherein a center of gravity of the miter saw is coplanar with the blade (Claim 7), wherein a plane including the blade is equidistant with the first and second sliding rails (Claim 8), wherein a center of gravity of the miter saw is centered about the pivot arm (Claim 9), in order to enhance the machining accuracy while realizing higher speed of the cutter as taught by/ in Tanoue.
Regarding Claims 12, 18 and 23-25 Murakami discloses, a miter saw (abstract) comprising:
a base assembly 2;
a rotatable table 22 rotatably connected to the base assembly (par 0022);
a pivot arm 6 pivotally attached to the rotatable table (par 0076); and
a saw assembly (64, 67, and 650) supported by the pivot arm, wherein the saw assembly includes: a drive unit (65 and 650), a transmission 60 coupled to the drive unit through a master gear 4605 (fig, 23A-B), and a blade 4061 that is rotatably driven by the drive unit and the transmission (par 0248),
Marakami lacks:
feature (I) Murakami lacks: the said drive unit having a plurality of electric motors, said dual motor drive unit also having a transmission coupled to the drive unit through a master gear, and a rotary output/blade that is rotatably driven by the drive unit and the transmission (Claim 12), wherein the first electric motor and the second electric motor are located around an outer circumference of the blade and are intersected by a plane of the blade (Claim 23), wherein the first electric motor and the second electric motor are aligned along an axis that is tangential to a peripheral body of the blade (Claim 24), , further comprising a blade housing that partially surrounds the blade, wherein a front cover that captures the drive unit is mounted on the blade housing (Claim 25), and
feature (II) wherein a center of gravity of the miter saw is coplanar with the blade and centered about the pivot arm, (Claim 12), wherein a plane including the blade is equidistant with the first and second sliding rails (Claim 18).
Regarding feature (I) Fukinuki discloses a multiple motor cutting tool, in the same field of endeavor as the multiple motor cutting tool of the present invention and discloses that such a system includes a drive unit (motor unit 13 and 13a and pulley 14 and gear 14a) having a plurality of electric motors (“motors”, 13 and 13a), a dual motor drive unit (14 and 14a) having a transmission (14 and 14a) coupled to the drive unit through a master gear (par 0014, “The belt transmission mechanism is subsequently connected to a shaft 14a of the saw blade 16 via a gear mechanism”), and a rotary output (14a and blade 16) that is rotatably driven by the drive unit and the transmission (See: Par. 0014) (Claim 12), wherein the plurality of electric motors includes a first motor 13 and a second motor (13a), wherein a first motor pinion 13c and a second motor pinion 13b are coupled to the master gear (via the pulley 14, par 0014) (Claim 10), wherein the plurality of electric motors is located around an outer circumference of the blade (fig 3) and is intersected by a plane of the blade (see annotated fig 4 below) (Claim 23), wherein the plurality of electric motors is aligned along an axis that is tangential to a peripheral body of the blade (see annotated fig 3 below, where the annotated line corresponds to Line C in fig 4 of the present invention) (Claim 24), further comprising a blade housing 15 that partially surrounds the blade (figs. 3-4), wherein a front cover (portion of drive pulley 14 which covers the blade, fig 3) that captures the drive unit (since the pulley 14 also surrounds the portions 13c and 13b of the drive unit) is mounted on the blade housing (fig 4) (Claim 25), in order to reduce the overall size of the driving motor portion of the tool and thus avoid interference between the driving motor portion and the workpiece (par 0008).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Murakami by replacing the single motor drive unit thereof with a drive unit having a plurality of electric motors, said dual motor drive unit also having a transmission coupled to the drive unit through a master gear, and a rotary output (which can drive the blade of Murakami) that is rotatably driven by the drive unit and the transmission) Claim 12) wherein the first electric motor and the second electric motor are located around an outer circumference of the blade and are intersected by a plane of the blade (Claim 23), wherein the first electric motor and the second electric motor are aligned along an axis that is tangential to a peripheral body of the blade (Claim 24), , further comprising a blade housing that partially surrounds the blade, wherein a front cover that captures the drive unit is mounted on the blade housing (Claim 25), in order to reduce the overall size of the driving motor portion of the tool and thus avoid interference between the driving motor portion and the, as taught through Fukinuki.
Regarding Feature (II) Tanoue discloses a rail supported sliding motorized machining assembly (machine tool 3, slid on rails 30, and spindle 2 which is said to machine a workpiece in a slideable fashion, and which is pivotally supported on the rails via pivot 13), in the same field of endeavor as the rail supported sliding motorized machining assembly/tool of the present invention and discloses that such a system includes wherein a center of gravity of the miter saw is coplanar with a machining blade 2 thereof, (fig 6, fig 1, and col 11, 5-20) (Claim 12) and centered about the pivot arm of the machining tool 2, (fig 10 and fig 6) and Tanoue discloses that center of gravity of the machining apparatus being centered in between the guide rails (claim 18) (fig 6, fig 1, and col 11, 5-20) in order to enhance the machining accuracy while realizing higher speed of the spindle, col 11, 5-25).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Murakami by making/having the miter saw of claim 1, wherein a center of gravity of the miter saw is centered about the pivot arm in order to enhance the machining accuracy while realizing higher speed of the cutter as taught by/ in Tanoue.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Murakami by having the wherein a center of gravity of the miter saw is coplanar with the blade and centered about the pivot arm (claim 12), wherein a plane including the blade is equidistant with the first and second sliding rails (claim 18) in order to enhance the machining accuracy while realizing higher speed of the cutter, as taught via Tanoue.
Regarding Claim 17, in Murakami, the miter saw further comprises: a pulley assembly (par 0245-0246) that couples to and receives rotational force from the transmission and imparts rotational force to the blade (par 0246 and 0248) and a toothed belt 4607 (par 0245-46) disposed around the pulley assembly to impart the rotational force to the blade (fig. 22. par 0248).
Regarding Claim 19, in Murakami, the miter saw further comprises a blade housing 67 covering the blade (par 0083), the blade housing having a first width, and the drive unit (650) having a second width, wherein the second width is equal to or smaller than the first width (annotated fig 3).
Claims 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murakami, in view of Tanoue and Fukinuki, as applied to Claim 12 above, and in view of Clack.
Regarding Claims 13-14, In Murakami the pivot arm includes a handle 67 having a trigger 67A, (claim 13) and the miter saw further comprises: a blade housing disposed at least partially around the blade, wherein a profile of the blade housing is aligned within a profile of the drive unit. (See annotated fig 22 below) (claim 14).
Murakami lacks a motor control module disposed within the handle- (claim 13) and the pivot arm including a battery receptacle for receiving a battery pack (claim 14).
Clack discloses a miter saw, in the same field of endeavor as the mitre saw tool of the present invention and discloses that such a system includes an electric motor drive (par 0015) and a wake up circuit (360) which includes a motor control module (210, 214) disposed within a handle (par 0017, 132)- (claim 13) and a pivot arm (130 132) including a battery receptacle (140) for receiving a battery (142, par 0015-0016) pack (claim 14) in order to allow an operator to operate the tool in a manner in which a battery may be woken up and then controlled (par 0012).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Murakami by including a motor control module and a wake up circuit, the control module disposed within the handle- (claim 13) and the pivot arm including a battery receptacle for receiving a battery pack (claim 14) in order to allow an operator to operate the tool in a manner in which a battery may be woken up and then controlled as taught in Clack.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murakami, in view of Fukinuki and Tanoue as applied to Claim 12, and further in view of Kalygin.
Murakami lacks wherein a start of rotation of the blade is less than one second from a time when a user initiates operation of the miter saw.
Kalygin discloses a motorized rotary driven machine where a motor energizes a rotor assembly, in the same field of endeavor as the motorized rotary driven machine where a motor energizes a rotor assembly of the present invention and discloses that such a system includes an oscillation damping system (limit controller 136, par. 0053) which ensures a fast startup time, from an energization/initiation of operation to a rotor beginning rotation of the rotor, said time being less than one second in order to minimize said time, par 0081, par 0002-0005.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Murakami by including an oscillation damping system which ensures a fast startup time, from an energization/initiation of operation to a beginning of a rotor beginning rotation, said time being less than one second in order to minimize said time in order to minimize said time as taught by Kalygin.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7-1-26 with regard to the drawing objections, as the drawings have been amended, have been fully considered and are persuasive. The drawings have been amended to now show reference number 1850, rendering the previous objection moot.
Applicant's arguments filed 7-1-2026 with regard to the prior art rejections, as previously filed, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant First argues that . Next, Applicant argues that there is no reason for a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine Murakami in view of Holper to arrive at the claim 1 and claim 12 inventions. Applicant supports this by arguing that
“A person of ordinary skill in the art designing a portable miter saw would have no reason to look to the industrial, automatically-clutching induction motor unit of Holper, which is explicitly intended for "fail-safe" redundancy in "critical applications" where a motor might burn out. Furthermore, the proposed modification of replacing Murakami's miter saw drive unit with the drive unit of Holper would destroy the intended function of the miter saw. Incorporating "four motor units" where the rotors physically shift "axially outwardly" to engage a gear train would completely destroy the compact profile, balance, and plunging operability required for a miter saw to function” .
This is not found persuasive. First, the Holper disclosure is generally directed to motor assemblies of fractional horsepower variety (col 1, 5-15), and not solely to a “’fail-safe’ redundancy in ‘critical applications’ where a motor might burn out” as argued by Applicant. An artisan tasked with improving a motor powered tool would be motivated to look at all motor tools, and all general motor assemblies/improvements to improve the motorized function of the motor driven power tool. To prevent such an artisan from exploring improvements in general motor assemblies would likely be considered unduly limiting, since improvements in motor assemblies are usually applicable to all motor driven tools. For instance, even though a motor or clutch of a car may power a different device (car) than a motorized power saw, it does not follow that improvements to car motors could not be applied to improvement of motors of power tools.
Also, Applicant’s argument that “the proposed modification of replacing Murakami's miter saw drive unit with the drive unit of Holper would destroy the intended function of the miter saw. Incorporating ‘four motor units’ where the rotors physically shift ‘axially outwardly’ to engage a gear train would completely destroy the compact profile, balance, and plunging operability required for a miter saw to function”, is not found persuasive. Looking at col. 1, lines 25-35, one of the benefits proposed by the motor solution of Holper is to provide a compact motor assembly, with a flatter shape, and having similar power to a single motor assembly.
As such, the rejections of Murakami in view of Holper is/are maintained.
Next, Applicant argues that:
“Tanoue does not disclose the recited features, and the combination relies on impermissible hindsight reconstruction of non-analogous art. First, Tanoue lacks the base claim elements recited in Claim 12. Claim 12 recites a "rotatable table rotatably connected to the base assembly" and a "pivot arm pivotally attached to the rotatable table." Tanoue does not possess a pivot arm. The Examiner points to part 13 of Tanoue as a pivot arm. However, Tanoue explicitly states: "the ram 11 includes a rotary index device 13 for driving the spindle 2 to be rotary indexed in an A-axis direction around a line perpendicular to the axis and in a C-axis direction around the axis, thereby enabling workpiece machining by five-axis control." Tanoue at col. 7, lines 18-22. Because Tanoue lacks a pivot arm, it is physically impossible for Tanoue to teach centering a tool's center of gravity about a pivot arm.
This is not found persuasive. The arm 13 of Tanoue is shown to rotate/pivot as admitted in Applicants own arguments (See above, and see fig 10 of Tanoue). Also, the cited portion of Tanoue discloses a centering of the center of gravity of the device about the pivot arm. (col. 7, lines 18-22). Also, as cited in the rejections above, Tanoue is directed to a machining tool that is slideable fashion, which is in the same field of endeavor as the rail supported sliding motorized machining assembly/tool of the present invention and discloses that such a system includes wherein a center of gravity of the cutting device itself is coplanar with a machining blade.
Next, Applicant argues that:
“Second, Tanoue is non-analogous art. Tanoue states: "This machining table 5 is a large- sized one having a length of 20 m to 30 m and a width of 3 m to 5 m." Tanoue at col. 6, lines 65- 67. A person of ordinary skill in the art designing a portable, hand-operated miter saw would have no reason to consult the structural mounting and gravity-center dynamics of a 30-meter- long 5-axis CNC industrial mill.”
This is not found persuasive. Although Tanoue’s center of gravity teachings apply to a tool that is larger than that disclosed by the present invention and disclosed by Murakami, this does not render the teachings of Tanoue inapplicable to the tool of Murakami.
Finally, Applicant argues that “the combination of Murakami, Holper, and Tanoue represents impermissible hindsight reconstruction. To arrive at the claimed invention, the Examiner proposes taking a conventional portable miter saw (Murakami), gutting its drive unit to bodily incorporate a 1965 stationary fail-safe multi-motor redundant plate (Holper), and then further modifying the tool's weight distribution based on the gantry layout of a massive industrial CNC mill (Tanoue). There is no rational motivation that would lead a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine three highly disparate references from completely different fields of endeavor other than the Examiner using the Applicant's own claims as a roadmap.”. This is not found persuasive. As discussed above, an artisan of ordinary skill in the art is free to look at numerous types of tool and to generalized motor improvements to improve the motor assembly of a motorized power tool. Also, the teachings of a center of gravity placement of a tool head for a sliding motorized tool is applicable to a placement of a center of gravity of a sliding cutting tool such as that of Murakami and the present invention.
As such, the rejections in view of Taneua and in view of Murakami and Holper are hereby maintained.
Also, as noted in the introductory paragraph above, Claims 1-4, 6-15, 17-19 and 20-25 are now rejected under 35 USC 103 over Murakami in view of Fukinuki, with claims 1-4, 6-15, 17-19 being rejected in the alternative, in order to properly address newly added claims 20-25, while also addressing the claims from which they depend.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. USPNs/USPGPUBs: 20240364185 and EP 3094462 B1, disclose state of the art saws with multiples drives, and, thus, each of these references disclose elements relevant to the present invention/application.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/FERNANDO A AYALA/Examiner, Art Unit 3724
/SUNIL K SINGH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3722