DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 20-28 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fan (US 2026/0173158).
Regarding claim 20, Fan teaches an apparatus for wireless communication at a network entity, comprising: at least one memory comprising computer-executable instructions (typical feature of communication device); and one or more processors configured to execute the computer-executable instructions (typical feature of communication device) and cause the apparatus to: output first signaling configuring a user equipment (UE) with a set of candidate cells for cell switching (i.e., terminal device receives indication information from a network device, where the indication information includes a first field, and the first field indicates a cell in a first cell set, or indicates a cell in a second cell set… the cell set for cell switching triggered by lower layer signaling includes at least one serving cell and at least one candidate cell [0007]-[0009]); and participate in a cell switch procedure, wherein the UE switches from a source cell to a target cell, from the set of candidate cells (i.e., the terminal device can determine whether a cell to which a random access procedure is to be initiated belongs to the first cell set or the second cell set. That is, a problem that the terminal device is unaware of whether to initiate the random access procedure to the cell in the first cell set or initiate the random access procedure to the cell in the second cell set is avoided [0013], [0022]), during a procedure in which the UE transmits data while the UE is in an inactive state (i.e., One RAN node may transmit data, control signaling, or the like to one or more terminals, as shown in (1) in FIG. 4. Alternatively, a plurality of RAN nodes may transmit data, control signaling, or the like to one terminal, as shown in (2) in FIG. 4).
Regarding claim 21, Fan teaches transmit reference signals (RSs) associated with the source cell and one or more of the candidate cells; and receive a measurement report based on measurements of the RSs, wherein the cell switch procedure is based on the measurements (i.e., a network device may obtain quality of a cell (for example, a serving cell and/or a candidate cell) by using a layer 1 (namely, physical layer) measurement reporting procedure; and the network device indicates, by using layer 2 (namely, medium access control layer) signaling, the terminal device to switch to the candidate cell [0146]).
Regarding claim 22, Fan teaches receive an indication of a capability of the UE to support cell switching during the procedure (i.e., the terminal device may send capability information to the network device, where the capability information indicates whether initiation of a random access procedure to an additional cell in the inactive state is supported. Accordingly, the network device receives the capability information, and determines the second cell set based on the capability information [0195]).
Regarding claim 23, Fan teaches transmit second signaling indicating that the UE is to perform the cell switch (in function of cell switching [0232]).
Regarding claim 24, Fan further teaches the second signaling comprises a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) (i.e., A protocol layer may include a control plane protocol layer which may include at least one of the following: a radio resource control (RRC) layer, a radio link control (RLC) layer, a medium access control (MAC) layer [0135])
Regarding claim 25, Fan further teaches wherein the MAC CE includes a header that indicates control information associated with the cell switch (i.e., the indication information may alternatively be MAC CE signaling. The indication information may indicate a cell in a first cell set, or indicate a cell in a second cell set [0161], [0183]).
Regarding claim 26, Fan further teaches wherein the control information comprises at least one of a cell ID of the target cell, a configuration for the procedure in the target cell, a random access resource configuration, or an uplink grant (i.e., the network device may send the indication information to the terminal device, to trigger the terminal device to initiate a random access procedure [0183]).
Regarding claim 27, Fan further teaches wherein the second signaling comprises downlink control information (DCI) transmitted in a search space associated with the procedure (i.e., The indication information may be DCI, the indication information may include DCI, or the indication information is included in DCI. This is not limited. Optionally, the indication information may alternatively be MAC CE signaling. The indication information may indicate a cell in a first cell set, or indicate a cell in a second cell set [0183]).
Regarding claim 28, Fan further teaches the DCI indicates information for performing the procedure in the target cell, wherein the information comprises at least one of a timing advance (TA) command, a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state, a waveform indication, a coverage enhancement, or scheduling information (i.e., information indicating an association relationship between the at least one additional cell and at least one TCI-state, where one additional cell is associated with one TCI-state; information indicating to perform inter-cell multi-station transmission by using two timing advances [0220]-[0223]).
Regarding claim 30, Fan teaches a method for wireless communication at a network entity, comprising: outputting first signaling configuring a user equipment (UE) with a set of candidate cells for cell switching (i.e., terminal device receives indication information from a network device, where the indication information includes a first field, and the first field indicates a cell in a first cell set, or indicates a cell in a second cell set… the cell set for cell switching triggered by lower layer signaling includes at least one serving cell and at least one candidate cell [0007]-[0009]); and participating in a cell switch procedure, wherein the UE switches from a source cell to a target cell, from the set of candidate cells (i.e., the terminal device can determine whether a cell to which a random access procedure is to be initiated belongs to the first cell set or the second cell set. That is, a problem that the terminal device is unaware of whether to initiate the random access procedure to the cell in the first cell set or initiate the random access procedure to the cell in the second cell set is avoided [0013], [0022]), during a procedure in which the UE transmits data while the UE is in an inactive state (i.e., One RAN node may transmit data, control signaling, or the like to one or more terminals, as shown in (1) in FIG. 4. Alternatively, a plurality of RAN nodes may transmit data, control signaling, or the like to one terminal, as shown in (2) in FIG. 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-19, and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fan (US 20260173158) in view of Agiwal (US 2026/0012952).
Regarding claim 1, Fan teaches an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising: at least one memory comprising computer-executable instructions (typical feature of communication device); and one or more processors configured to execute the computer-executable instructions (typical feature of communication device) and cause the apparatus to: receive first signaling configuring the UE with a set of candidate cells for cell switching (i.e., terminal device receives indication information from a network device, where the indication information includes a first field, and the first field indicates a cell in a first cell set, or indicates a cell in a second cell set… the cell set for cell switching triggered by lower layer signaling includes at least one serving cell and at least one candidate cell [0007]-[0009]); perform a cell switch from a source cell to a target cell, from the set of candidate cells, during the procedure (i.e., the terminal device can determine whether a cell to which a random access procedure is to be initiated belongs to the first cell set or the second cell set. That is, a problem that the terminal device is unaware of whether to initiate the random access procedure to the cell in the first cell set or initiate the random access procedure to the cell in the second cell set is avoided [0013], [0022]); and transmit at least some of the data to the target cell after the cell switch (i.e., receives a random access request message from the terminal device by using the cell indicated by the indication information… The first cell set is a cell set for cell switching triggered by lower layer signaling. Optionally, the cell set for cell switching triggered by lower layer signaling includes at least one serving cell and at least one candidate cell [0051]-[0052]).
Fan does not specifically teach initiate a procedure to transmit data while the UE is in an inactive state.
However, preceding limitation is known in the art of communications. Agiwal teaches In the next generation wireless communication system (e.g., 5G, beyond 5G, 6G), mobile originated small data transmission (SDT) procedure is also supported in the RRC_INACTIVE state. SDT is a procedure allowing data and/or signaling transmission while remaining in the RRC_INACTIVE state (i.e., without transitioning to the RRC_CONNECTED state). SDT is enabled on a radio bearer basis and can be initiated either by the UE in case of Mobile Originated SDT (MO-SDT) or by the network in case of Mobile Terminated SDT (MT-SDT). MO-SDT is initiated by the UE only if less than or equal to a configured amount of UL data awaits transmission across all radio bearers for which SDT is enabled, the DL RSRP is above a configured threshold, and a valid SDT resource is available ([0101]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to have implemented the technique of Fan in order to allow a device to send or receive small amounts of data without "waking up" fully. Instead of going through a slow, power-hungry setup, the device sends its data in one quick step and stays asleep.
Regarding claim 2, Fan in view of Agiwal teaches all the limitations above. Agiwal further teaches the procedure comprises a small data transmission (SDT) procedure to transmit less than a configured amount of data (i.e., initiating the small data (SDT) is met [0008]. MO-SDT is initiated by the UE only if less than or equal to a configured amount of UL data awaits transmission across all radio bearers for which SDT is enabled [0101]-[0102]).
Regarding claim 3, Fan in view of Agiwal teaches all the limitations above. In combination switching cell of Agiwal, Fan teaches the one or more processors are further configured to cause the apparatus to: measure reference signals (RSs) from the source cell and one or more of the candidate cells, wherein the cell switch is based on the measuring (i.e., the first configuration information may include one or more of the following: information indicating to enable the function of cell switching triggered by lower layer signaling, identification information of at least one candidate cell, beam information of the at least one candidate cell, a related parameter for measuring the at least one candidate cell [0092]-[0093]).
Regarding claim 4, Fan in view of Agiwal teaches all the limitations above. In combination switching cell of Agiwal, Fan teaches transmit a measurement report to the source cell based on the measuring (i.e., a network device may obtain quality of a cell (for example, a serving cell and/or a candidate cell) by using a layer 1 (namely, physical layer) measurement reporting procedure; and the network device indicates, by using layer 2 (namely, medium access control layer) signaling, the terminal device to switch to the candidate cell [0145]-[0146]).
Regarding claim 5, Fan in view of Agiwal teaches all the limitations above. In combination switching cell of Agiwal, Fan teaches signal a capability of the UE to support cell switching during the procedure (i.e., the terminal device may send capability information to the network device, where the capability information indicates whether initiation of a random access procedure to an additional cell in the inactive state is supported. Accordingly, the network device receives the capability information, and determines the second cell set based on the capability information. If the terminal device supports the initiation of the random access procedure to the additional cell in the inactive state, the second cell set consists of the first serving cell and all additional cells corresponding to the first serving cell [0915]-[0197]).
Regarding claim 6, Fan in view of Agiwal teaches all the limitations above. In combination with Fan, Agiwal teaches receive, from the source cell, second signaling indicating that the UE is to perform the cell switch (i.e., The cell set for cell switching triggered by lower layer signaling includes at least one serving cell and at least one candidate cell [0185]-[0190]).
Regarding claim 7, Fan in view of Agiwal teaches all the limitations above. In combination with Fan, Agiwal teaches wherein the second signaling comprises a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) (i.e., The UE transmits an CG-SDT resource request to the second cell 706 in the UL grant received in the RAR (e.g., operation 745). In some embodiments, the CG-SDT resource request can be an RRC message or a MAC CE or an indication in a MAC CE [0195]).
Regarding claim 8, Fan in view of Agiwal teaches all the limitations above. Agiwal teaches wherein the MAC CE includes a header that indicates control information associated with the cell switch ) (i.e., The UE transmits an CG-SDT resource request to the second cell 706 in the UL grant received in the RAR (e.g., operation 745). In some embodiments, the CG-SDT resource request can be an RRC message or a MAC CE or an indication in a MAC CE [0195]).
Regarding claim 9, Fan in view of Agiwal teaches all the limitations above. In combination switching cell of Agiwal, Fan teaches the control information comprises at least one of a cell ID of the target cell, a configuration for the procedure in the target cell, a random access resource configuration, or an uplink grant (i.e., the network device may send downlink control information (DCI) to the terminal device in advance, where a field in the DCI indicates the candidate cell, to indicate, in advance, the terminal device to initiate a random access procedure to the candidate cell [0004], [claim 1]).
Regarding claim 10, Fan in view of Agiwal teaches all the limitations above. In combination with Fan, Agiwal teaches the second signaling comprises downlink control information (DCI) transmitted in a search space associated with the procedure ([0073]-[0074]).
Regarding claim 11, Fan in view of Agiwal teaches all the limitations above. In combination with Fan, Agiwal teaches the DCI indicates information for performing the procedure in the target cell ([0286], [0293]), wherein the information comprises at least one of a timing advance (TA) command, a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state, a waveform location, coverage enhancement, or scheduling information (i.e., UE 702 stores the current timing advance value for the second cell 706 and restarts cg-SDT-TimeAlignmentTimer. In the second cell 706, UE 702 uses the CG-SDT resources configured by the received configuration for small data transmission from the second cell 706 if the TA is valid [0191], [0197]).
Regarding claim 12, Fan in view of Agiwal teaches all the limitations above. In combination with Agiwal, Fan further teaches wherein the DCI indicates a random access resource configuration for UE to initiate a random access (RA) procedure on the target cell (i.e., When the indication information is the DCI, in the foregoing example, two fields (namely, the first field and the second field) in the DCI are needed to jointly indicate the cell in the first cell set or indicate the cell in the second cell set. For example, a field indicating the cell to which random access is performed in the DCI may be reused for one of the fields, and a format of the DCI is slightly changed [0235]).
Regarding claim 13, Fan in view of Agiwal teaches all the limitations above. In combination with Fan, Agiwal further teaches wherein the UE signals an ID of the UE to the target cell when transmitting at least one of: the at least some of the data; a random access (RA) message; a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH); or a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) (i.e., transmission of transmit power control (TPC) commands for the physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) and PUSCH; and initiating a random access procedure [0072]-[0074]).
Regarding claim 14, Fan in view of Agiwal teaches all the limitations above. In combination with Agiwal, Fan further teaches receive signaling indicating a minimum time gap between the second signaling indicating that the UE is to perform the cell switch and the transmitting of at least some of the data in the target cell ([0008], [0092], and [0094]).
Regarding claim 15, Fan in view of Agiwal teaches all the limitations above. In combination with Agiwal, Fan further teaches measure reference signals (RSs) from the source cell and one or more of the candidate cells; and initiate the cell switch based on the measuring (i.e., the terminal device can determine whether a cell to which a random access procedure is to be initiated belongs to the first cell set or the second cell set. That is, a problem that the terminal device is unaware of whether to initiate the random access procedure to the cell in the first cell set or initiate the random access procedure to the cell in the second cell set is avoided [0013], [0022]).
Regarding claim 16, Fan in view of Agiwal teaches all the limitations above. In combination with Agiwal, Fan further teaches receive information regarding one or more conditions, wherein the UE is configured to initiate the cell switch when at least one of the conditions is met (i.e., the terminal device can determine whether a cell to which a random access procedure is to be initiated belongs to the first cell set or the second cell set. That is, a problem that the terminal device is unaware of whether to initiate the random access procedure to the cell in the first cell set or initiate the random access procedure to the cell in the second cell set is avoided [0013], [0022], [claims 6, 8]).
Regarding claim 17, Fan in view of Agiwal teaches all the limitations above. In combination with Agiwal, Fan further teaches evaluate the one or more conditions based on the measuring ([0022], [0173]).
Regarding claim 18, Fan in view of Agiwal teaches all the limitations above. In combination with Agiwal, Fan further teaches initiating the cell switch comprises transmitting, to the source cell, a request for cell switching (i.e., the terminal device initiates a random access procedure to any one (an additional cell in an active state or an additional cell in an inactive state) of all the additional cells corresponding to the first serving cell. In other words, the second cell set consists of the first serving cell and all the additional cells corresponding to the first serving cell [0022], [0193]).
Regarding claim 19, Fan in view of Agiwal teaches all the limitations above. In combination with Agiwal, Fan further teaches wherein the request is conveyed via at least one of: radio resource control (RRC) signaling; a random access (RA) message; a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH); or a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) (i.e., the configuration of PUCCH resources for small data transmission can be received in an RRCRelease message (or an RRCRelease message with suspend config). In some embodiments, the configuration of PUCCH resources for small data transmission can be received in an RRC message [0128]).
Regarding claim 29, Fan teaches a method for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising: receiving first signaling configuring the UE with a set of candidate cells for cell switching (i.e., terminal device receives indication information from a network device, where the indication information includes a first field, and the first field indicates a cell in a first cell set, or indicates a cell in a second cell set… the cell set for cell switching triggered by lower layer signaling includes at least one serving cell and at least one candidate cell [0007]-[0009]); performing a cell switch from a source cell to a target cell, from the set of candidate cells, during the procedure (i.e., the terminal device can determine whether a cell to which a random access procedure is to be initiated belongs to the first cell set or the second cell set. That is, a problem that the terminal device is unaware of whether to initiate the random access procedure to the cell in the first cell set or initiate the random access procedure to the cell in the second cell set is avoided [0013], [0022]); and transmitting at least some of the data to the target cell after the cell switch (i.e., receives a random access request message from the terminal device by using the cell indicated by the indication information… The first cell set is a cell set for cell switching triggered by lower layer signaling. Optionally, the cell set for cell switching triggered by lower layer signaling includes at least one serving cell and at least one candidate cell [0051]-[0052]).
Fan does not specifically teach initiate a procedure to transmit data while the UE is in an inactive state.
However, preceding limitation is known in the art of communications. Agiwal teaches In the next generation wireless communication system (e.g., 5G, beyond 5G, 6G), mobile originated small data transmission (SDT) procedure is also supported in the RRC_INACTIVE state. SDT is a procedure allowing data and/or signaling transmission while remaining in the RRC_INACTIVE state (i.e., without transitioning to the RRC_CONNECTED state). SDT is enabled on a radio bearer basis and can be initiated either by the UE in case of Mobile Originated SDT (MO-SDT) or by the network in case of Mobile Terminated SDT (MT-SDT). MO-SDT is initiated by the UE only if less than or equal to a configured amount of UL data awaits transmission across all radio bearers for which SDT is enabled, the DL RSRP is above a configured threshold, and a valid SDT resource is available ([0101]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to have implemented the technique of Fan in order to allow a device to send or receive small amounts of data without "waking up" fully. Instead of going through a slow, power-hungry setup, the device sends its data in one quick step and stays asleep.
Claim 1-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over XU et al. (US 2023/0217288) in view of Agiwal (US 2026/0173199).
Regarding claim 1, XU et al. (US 2023/0217288) an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising: at least one memory comprising computer-executable instructions (typical feature of communication device); and one or more processors configured to execute the computer-executable instructions (typical feature of communication device) and cause the apparatus to: receive first signaling configuring the UE with a set of candidate cells for cell switching (i.e., user equipment (UE) capable of measuring one or more of a plurality of cells during an SDT procedure at the UE [0001]; The network 104 then sends the RRCRelease with Suspendconfig message 108. The RRCRelease with Suspendconfig message 108 may include a Next Hop Chaining Counter (NCC) value and SDT configuration information [0043]-[0044]); initiate a procedure to transmit data while the UE is in an inactive state (i.e., the UE 102 may then send a MAC PDU 116 to the network 104 that contains an RRCResumeRequest message and the UP data to be sent according to the SDT procedure 112. The presence of the UP data within the MAC PDU 116 may be indicative to the network 104 that the UE 102 is attempting to initiate the SDT procedure 112, allowing the network 104 to respond according to the SDT procedure 112 as illustrated [0046]-[0047]); perform a cell switch for cell selection/reselection, during the procedure (i.e., cell change 812 may be due to a cell reselection made by the UE 802 [0081]-[0083]); and transmit at least some of the data to the target cell after the cell switch (i.e., the UE 102 sends a MAC PDU 116 to the network 104 that contains an RRCResumeRequest message and the UP data to be sent according to the SDT procedure 112 [0046], [0058]. To perform such cell selections and/or reselections at the UE while in the INACTIVE or IDLE state, the UE may measure the power of a neighbor cell and reselect to the new cell if, for example, the measured power level of the neighbor cell is better than the measured power level of the current serving cell by a threshold [0031]-[0034], and [0081)-[0083]).
Xu does not specifically teach perform a cell switch from a source cell to a target cell, from the set of candidate cells, during the procedure.
However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of communications. Agiwal teaches receiving a configuration message including information on a contention free random access (CFRA) resource, receiving a lower layer triggered mobility (LTM) cell change command to switch to a target cell, initiating a random access procedure for the target cell using the CFRA resource, and upon completion of the random access procedure, maintaining the CFRA resource ([abstr.], [0009]-[0010], [0065], [0124], [0158]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to have implemented the technique of Agiwal within the system of Xu in order to enable nearly seamless 5G handover by pre-assigning resources and triggering the cell switch with lower-layer commands, the device drastically cuts handover delays. Maintaining the Contention-Free Random Access (CFRA) resource further ensures priority access and eliminates the back-off times associated with data collisions.
Regarding claim 2, Xu in view of Agiwal teaches all the limitations above. Xu further teaches wherein the procedure comprises a small data transmission (SDT) procedure to transmit less than a configured amount of data ([0038]-[0039]). See also Agiwal Small Data Transmission (SDT) is a procedure allowing data and/or signalling transmission while remaining in RRC_INACTIVE state (i.e., without transitioning to RRC_CONNECTED state) ([0124]).
Regarding claim 3, Xu in view of Agiwal teaches all the limitations above. Agiwal further teaches measure reference signals (RSs) from the source cell and one or more of the candidate cells, wherein the cell switch is based on the measuring (i.e., the UE may start to report the L1 beam measurement of the serving cell and candidate target cells in operation 213. Based on the measurements, the serving cell may decide to trigger a cell change command in operation 214 [0059], [0065]).
Regarding claim 4, Xu in view of Agiwal teaches all the limitations above. Agiwal further teaches transmit a measurement report to the source cell based on the measurement (i.e., A UE may send measurement report(s) containing the measurements of serving and target cell(s) in operations 301 and 302 [0081]).
Regarding claim 5, Xu in view of Agiwal teaches all the limitations above. Agiwal further teaches signal a capability of the UE to support cell switching during the procedure (0070], [0087], [0091]-[0096]).
Regarding claim 6, Xu in view of Agiwal teaches all the limitations above. Agiwal further teaches the one or more processors are further configured to cause the apparatus to: receive, from the source cell, second signaling indicating that the UE is to perform the cell switch ([0070], [0087], [0091]-[0096]).
Regarding claim 7, Xu in view of Agiwal teaches all the limitations above. Agiwal further teaches wherein the second signaling comprises a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) (i.e., One of the TCI state in TCI state list is activated and indicated to UE by gNB via a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE [0044], [0065]).
Regarding claim 8, Xu in view of Agiwal teaches all the limitations above. Agiwal further teaches the MAC CE includes a header that indicates control information associated with the cell switch (i.e., One of the TCI state in TCI state list is activated and indicated to UE by gNB via a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE [0044]).
Regarding claim 9, Xu in view of Agiwal teaches all the limitations above. Agiwal further teaches the control information comprises at least one of a cell ID of the target cell, a configuration for the procedure in the target cell, a random access resource configuration, or an uplink grant (indicating uplink grant [0046], RRCReconfiguration message may include at least cell identifier (ID) [0050]).
Regarding claim 10, Xu in view of Agiwal teaches all the limitations above. Agiwal further teaches downlink control information (DCI) transmitted in a search space associated with the procedure (i.e., monitoring occasions of a search space [0044]).
Regarding claim 11, Xu in view of Agiwal teaches all the limitations above. Agiwal further teaches the DCI indicates information for performing the procedure in the target cell, wherein the information comprises at least one of a timing advance (TA) command, a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state, a waveform indication, a coverage enhancement, or scheduling information (i.e., The cell switch/change command (MAC CE or DCI) may include a TCI state for monitoring a PDCCH in target cell [0065]. [0087]).
Regarding claim 12, Xu in view of Agiwal teaches all the limitations above. Agiwal further teaches the DCI indicates a random access resource configuration for UE to initiate a random access (RA) procedure on the target cell (i.e., the UE may initiate a random access (RA) procedure towards the target cell indicated in the L1 or L2 cell change/switch command [0066]).
Regarding claim 13, Xu in view of Agiwal teaches all the limitations above. Agiwal further teaches the UE signals an ID of the UE to the target cell when transmitting at least one of: the at least some of the data; a random access (RA) message; a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH); or a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) ([0040]).
Regarding claim 14, Xu in view of Agiwal teaches all the limitations above. Agiwal further teaches the one or more processors are further configured to cause the apparatus to: receive signaling indicating a minimum time gap between the second signaling indicating that the UE is to perform the cell switch and the transmitting of at least some of the data in the target cell ([0009]-[0010], 0124], [0126]-[0127], [0132]).
Regarding claim 15, Xu in view of Agiwal teaches all the limitations above. Agiwal further teaches the one or more processors are further configured to cause the apparatus to: measure reference signals (RSs) from the source ([0009]-[0010], 0124], [0126]-[0127], [0132]).
Regarding claim 16, Xu in view of Agiwal teaches all the limitations above. Agiwal further teaches the one or more processors are further configured to cause the apparatus to: receive information regarding one or more conditions, wherein the UE is configured to initiate the cell switch when at least one of the conditions is met (0070]-[0074], [0091]-[0094]).
Regarding claim 17, Xu in view of Agiwal teaches all the limitations above. Agiwal further teaches the one or more processors are further configured to cause the apparatus to: evaluate the one or more conditions based on the measuring (conditional handover [0050], [0070], [0091]).
Regarding claim 18, Xu in view of Agiwal teaches all the limitations above. Agiwal further teaches initiating the cell switch comprises transmitting, to the source cell, a request for cell switching (i.e., receive, via the transceiver, an LTM cell change command to switch to a target cell, initiate a random access procedure for the target cell using the CFRA resource [0009]-[0010]).
Regarding claim 19, Xu in view of Agiwal teaches all the limitations above. Agiwal further teaches the request is conveyed via at least one of: radio resource control (RRC) signaling; a random access (RA) message; a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH); or a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) (i.e., the target gNB may provide a new RRC configuration as part of a HANDOVER REQUEST ACKNOWLEDGE. In operation 104, the source gNB may provide the RRC configuration to a UE by forwarding an RRCReconfiguration message received in the HANDOVER REQUEST ACKNOWLEDGE [0050]).
Regarding claim 20, Xu teaches an apparatus for wireless communication at a network entity, comprising: at least one memory comprising computer-executable instructions (typical feature of communication device); and one or more processors configured to execute the computer-executable instructions (typical feature of communication device) and cause the apparatus to: output first signaling configuring a user equipment (UE) with a set of candidate cells for cell switching (i.e., user equipment (UE) capable of measuring one or more of a plurality of cells during an SDT procedure at the UE [0001]; The network 104 then sends the RRCRelease with Suspendconfig message 108. The RRCRelease with Suspendconfig message 108 may include a Next Hop Chaining Counter (NCC) value and SDT configuration information [0043]-[0044]); and participate in a cell switch procedure, wherein the UE switches from a source cell to a target cell, from the set of candidate cells, during a procedure in which the UE transmits data while the UE is in an inactive state.
Xu does not specifically teach participate in a cell switch procedure, wherein the UE switches from a source cell to a target cell, from the set of candidate cells, during a procedure in which the UE transmits data while the UE is in an inactive state.
However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of communications. Agiwal teaches receiving a configuration message including information on a contention free random access (CFRA) resource, receiving a lower layer triggered mobility (LTM) cell change command to switch to a target cell, initiating a random access procedure for the target cell using the CFRA resource, and upon completion of the random access procedure, maintaining the CFRA resource ([abstr.], [0009]-[0010], [0065], [0124], [0158]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to have implemented the technique of Agiwal within the system of Xu in order to enable nearly seamless 5G handover by pre-assigning resources and triggering the cell switch with lower-layer commands, the device drastically cuts handover delays. Maintaining the Contention-Free Random Access (CFRA) resource further ensures priority access and eliminates the back-off times associated with data collisions.
Regarding claim 21, Xu in view of Agiwal teaches all the limitations above. Agiwal further teaches transmit reference signals (RSs) from the source cell and one or more of the candidate cells (i.e., the UE may start to report the L1 beam measurement of the serving cell and candidate target cells in operation 213. Based on the measurements, the serving cell may decide to trigger a cell change command in operation 214 [0059], [0065]); and receive a measurement report to the source cell based on the measurement (i.e., A UE may send measurement report(s) containing the measurements of serving and target cell(s) in operations 301 and 302 [0081]).
Regarding claim 22, Xu in view of Agiwal teaches all the limitations above. Agiwal further teaches receive an indication signal a capability of the UE to support cell switching during the procedure (0070], [0087], [0091]-[0096]).
Regarding claim 23, Xu in view of Agiwal teaches all the limitations above. Agiwal further teaches the one or more processors are further configured to cause the apparatus to: transmit second signaling indicating that the UE is to perform the cell switch ([0070], [0087], [0091]-[0096]).
Regarding claim 24, Xu in view of Agiwal teaches all the limitations above. Agiwal further teaches wherein the second signaling comprises a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) (i.e., One of the TCI state in TCI state list is activated and indicated to UE by gNB via a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE [0044], [0065]).
Regarding claim 25, Xu in view of Agiwal teaches all the limitations above. Agiwal further teaches the MAC CE includes a header that indicates control information associated with the cell switch (i.e., One of the TCI state in TCI state list is activated and indicated to UE by gNB via a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE [0044]).
Regarding claim 26, Xu in view of Agiwal teaches all the limitations above. Agiwal further teaches the control information comprises at least one of a cell ID of the target cell, a configuration for the procedure in the target cell, a random access resource configuration, or an uplink grant (indicating uplink grant [0046], RRCReconfiguration message may include at least cell identifier (ID) [0050]).
Regarding claim 27, Xu in view of Agiwal teaches all the limitations above. Agiwal further teaches downlink control information (DCI) transmitted in a search space associated with the procedure (i.e., monitoring occasions of a search space [0044]).
Regarding claim 28, Xu in view of Agiwal teaches all the limitations above. Agiwal further teaches the DCI indicates information for performing the procedure in the target cell, wherein the information comprises at least one of a timing advance (TA) command, a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state, a waveform indication, a coverage enhancement, or scheduling information (i.e., The cell switch/change command (MAC CE or DCI) may include a TCI state for monitoring a PDCCH in target cell [0065]. [0087]).
Regarding claim 29, XU et al. (US 2023/0217288) a method for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising: receive first signaling configuring the UE with a set of candidate cells for cell switching (i.e., user equipment (UE) capable of measuring one or more of a plurality of cells during an SDT procedure at the UE [0001]; The network 104 then sends the RRCRelease with Suspendconfig message 108. The RRCRelease with Suspendconfig message 108 may include a Next Hop Chaining Counter (NCC) value and SDT configuration information [0043]-[0044]); initiating a procedure to transmit data while the UE is in an inactive state (i.e., he UE 102 may then send a MAC PDU 116 to the network 104 that contains an RRCResumeRequest message and the UP data to be sent according to the SDT procedure 112. The presence of the UP data within the MAC PDU 116 may be indicative to the network 104 that the UE 102 is attempting to initiate the SDT procedure 112, allowing the network 104 to respond according to the SDT procedure 112 as illustrated [0046]-[0047]); performing a cell switch for cell selection/reselection, during the procedure (i.e., cell change 812 may be due to a cell reselection made by the UE 802 [0081]-[0083]); and transmit at least some of the data to the target cell after the cell switch (i.e., the UE 102 sends a MAC PDU 116 to the network 104 that contains an RRCResumeRequest message and the UP data to be sent according to the SDT procedure 112 [0046], [0058]. To perform such cell selections and/or reselections at the UE while in the INACTIVE or IDLE state, the UE may measure the power of a neighbor cell and reselect to the new cell if, for example, the measured power level of the neighbor cell is better than the measured power level of the current serving cell by a threshold [0031]-[0034], and [0081)-[0083]).
Xu does not specifically teach perform a cell switch from a source cell to a target cell, from the set of candidate cells, during the procedure.
However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of communications. Agiwal teaches receiving a configuration message including information on a contention free random access (CFRA) resource, receiving a lower layer triggered mobility (LTM) cell change command to switch to a target cell, initiating a random access procedure for the target cell using the CFRA resource, and upon completion of the random access procedure, maintaining the CFRA resource ([abstr.], [0009]-[0010], [0065], [0124], [0158]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to have implemented the technique of Agiwal within the system of Xu in order to enable nearly seamless 5G handover by pre-assigning resources and triggering the cell switch with lower-layer commands, the device drastically cuts handover delays. Maintaining the Contention-Free Random Access (CFRA) resource further ensures priority access and eliminates the back-off times associated with data collisions.
Regarding claim 30, Xu teaches a method for wireless communication at a network entity, comprising: outputing first signaling configuring a user equipment (UE) with a set of candidate cells for cell switching (i.e., user equipment (UE) capable of measuring one or more of a plurality of cells during an SDT procedure at the UE [0001]; The network 104 then sends the RRCRelease with Suspendconfig message 108. The RRCRelease with Suspendconfig message 108 may include a Next Hop Chaining Counter (NCC) value and SDT configuration information [0043]-[0044]); and participate in a cell switch procedure, wherein the UE switches from a source cell to a target cell, from the set of candidate cells, during a procedure in which the UE transmits data while the UE is in an inactive state.
Xu does not specifically teach participate in a cell switch procedure, wherein the UE switches from a source cell to a target cell, from the set of candidate cells, during a procedure in which the UE transmits data while the UE is in an inactive state.
However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of communications. Agiwal teaches receiving a configuration message including information on a contention free random access (CFRA) resource, receiving a lower layer triggered mobility (LTM) cell change command to switch to a target cell, initiating a random access procedure for the target cell using the CFRA resource, and upon completion of the random access procedure, maintaining the CFRA resource ([abstr.], [0009]-[0010], [0065], [0124], [0158]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to have implemented the technique of Agiwal within the system of Xu in order to enable nearly seamless 5G handover by pre-assigning resources and triggering the cell switch with lower-layer commands, the device drastically cuts handover delays. Maintaining the Contention-Free Random Access (CFRA) resource further ensures priority access and eliminates the back-off times associated with data collisions.
Conclusion
/JEAN A GELIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2643