DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21, 22, 24, 25, 27, 59, 60 and 65 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheon (US 20200358488, hereinafter “Cheon”) and further in view of Choi et al. (US 20190296821, hereinafter “Choi”).
Regarding claim 21, Cheon discloses,
A method of suppressing interference in a wireless communication system (utilizing the beam pattern 112 may result in the reception of interfering signals from interfering transmission source 114. In order to receive uplink transmissions from user equipment 110 while rejecting interfering signals from source 114, the MIMO transceiver 102 utilizes or selects a different beam pattern (such as beam pattern 116) that can receive uplink transmissions from the user equipment 110 while rejecting or attenuating transmissions from the interfering source 114 [0022]-[0023]; [0030]), the method comprising:
receiving a first input signal at a first antenna and receiving a second input signal at a second antenna (Receive the OFDM(A) symbol using N-multiple antennas [0033]. Note: any two antennas of the N-antenna array corresponds to the claimed first and second antennas receiving respective input signal);
wherein the first or second input signals comprises at least one OFDM signal, the OFDM signal comprising multiple OFDM symbol periods (The following structural facts of the OFDM(A) symbol and its transmission are exploited by the beam selection algorithm. The cyclic prefix and its original part (e.g., tail of an OFDM(A) symbol) are identical before transmission [0033]-[0036]; a received subframe of OFDM symbols are input to the adaptive beam selector. For example, the sub-frame of symbols 210 are input to the adaptive beam selector 106 and received by the symbol receiver 306, which passes the symbols to the symbol analyzer 302 [0055]);
generating, using a first set of filter weights and the first input signal, a first filtered output (The beamformer 202 applies weights to received signals from the antennas 104 according to a beam preset weight signal 214 to form a preset beam pattern that is used to receive uplink transmissions [0024]; Multiply a beamformer preset matrix (W) (e.g., 320) with both the S and D matrices to form P and Q matrices. The beamformer preset matrix W can be expressed as (N×M), where M is the number of preset beams. Thus, for each preset beam (m) there is a set of weights (N) that are applied to the receive antennas to form the particular preset beam pattern [0038]-[0041]);
generating, using a second set of filter weights and the second input signal, a second filtered output (The beamformer 202 applies weights to received signals from the antennas 104 according to a beam preset weight signal 214 to form a preset beam pattern that is used to receive uplink transmissions [0024]; Multiply a beamformer preset matrix (W) (e.g., 320) with both the S and D matrices to form P and Q matrices. The beamformer preset matrix W can be expressed as (N×M), where M is the number of preset beams. Thus, for each preset beam (m) there is a set of weights (N) that are applied to the receive antennas to form the particular preset beam pattern [0038]-[0041]);
estimating an interference component of the at least one OFDM signal based on a difference between a first portion of the first filtered output and a second portion of the first filtered output (The tail portion 314 and the cyclic prefix portion 312 are identical before transmission. Distortions and/or interference during the transmission may result in differences between the cyclic prefix 312 and the tail portion 314 [0028]-[0029]; Calculate a difference matrix (D) of the CP matrix and the tail matrix. The matrix D contains noise and unwanted signal parts that are not correlated with the wanted signal [0037]-[0043]); and
updating at least one of the first set of filter weights or the second set of filter weights based on the estimated interference component of the at least one OFDM signal (A. P=W.sup.HS (M×L.sub.CP), which represents the wanted signal reception. B. Q=W.sup.HD (M×L.sub.CP), which represents the unwanted signal reception. Determine the best beamformer present (m) out of the M available presets, [0042]-[0044]; beamformer preset matrix W is multiplied by the sum S and difference D matrices to form a first matrix P represented wanted signal and a second matrix Q representing unwanted signal as described above. For example, the symbol analyzer 302 executes the beam selection algorithm 318 to form the P and Q matrices [0059]-[0060]).
However, Cheon does not explicitly disclose, wherein at least one filter weight of the first set of filter weights is fixed to a predetermined value. In the same field of endeavor, Choi discloses, wherein at least one filter weight of the first set of filter weights is fixed to a predetermined value (weight controller 204 may set the beamforming weight w.sub.i for the reference antenna to a reference value in stage 308, such as w.sub.i=1 (e.g., where each w.sub.k=e.sup.jθ.sup.k and θi=0). Weight controller 204 may then update the beamforming weights for the remaining antennas based on the reference value and the weighted signals [0048]-[0054]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Cheon by specifically providing wherein at least one filter weight of the first set of filter weights is fixed to a predetermined value, as taught by Choi for the purpose of selectively applying beamforming weights to the antennas to adjust the radiation pattern of the antenna array, which can be implemented at both transmitters and receivers to increase gain [0029].
Regarding claim 22, the combination of Cheon and Choi discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 21), further Cheon discloses, wherein the second portion of the first filtered output comprises a cyclic prefix, the cyclic prefix comprising at least a portion of a signal of interest component present in the first portion of the at least one OFDM signal (FIG. 3 also shows a received symbol structure 316. The symbol structure comprises a cyclic prefix portion 312 and a modulated symbol portion 322, which includes a tail portion 314. The cyclic prefix portion 312 comprises values x.sub.1(k) to x.sub.i(k). The modulated symbol portion 322 comprises values x.sub.i+1 to x.sub.H+i(k), and the tail portion 314 comprises values x.sub.H+1(k) to x.sub.H+i(k), [0028]-[0034]).
Regarding claim 24, the combination of Cheon and Choi discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 21), further Cheon discloses, determining a signal of interest component of the first filtered output based on the updated first set of filter weights or the second set of filter weights (The transceiver 102 comprises beamformer 202, sub-frame receiver 204, and the adaptive beam selector 106. In an embodiment, the ABS 106 comprises a symbol processor 206 and a beam pattern selector 208. The beamformer 202 applies weights to received signals from the antennas 104 according to a beam preset weight signal 214 to form a preset beam pattern that is used to receive uplink transmissions [0024]-[0025]; Multiply a beamformer preset matrix (W) (e.g., 320) with both the S and D matrices to form P and Q matrices. The beamformer preset matrix W can be expressed as (N×M), where M is the number of preset beams. Thus, for each preset beam (m) there is a set of weights (N) that are applied to the receive antennas to form the particular preset beam pattern [0041]; a beamformer preset matrix W is multiplied by the sum S and difference D matrices to form a first matrix P represented wanted signal and a second matrix Q representing unwanted signal as described above. For example, the symbol analyzer 302 executes the beam selection algorithm 318 to form the P and Q matrices. At block 512, the best preset beam to used is determined from the P and Q matrices. For example, the symbol analyzer 302 executes the beam selection algorithm 318 to determine the best preset beam to select [0059]-[0060]).
Regarding claim 25, the combination of Cheon and Choi discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 24), in addition Choi discloses, passing the signal of interest component to a modem configured to demodulate or decode the signal of interest component (As shown in FIG. 3, digital beamformer 106 may first receive digital signals y(t) from RF chains 104a-104n in stage 302, which RF chains 104a-104n may have previously obtained from antenna array 102. Output determiner 202 may then determine weighted signals z.sub.k(t) and output signal r(t) based on beamforming weight vector w in stage 304 [0044]; Output determiner 202 may then provide output signal r(t) as the beamformed output signal, which further downstream baseband component (e.g., physical and/or protocol stack layer components) of wireless communication device 100 may continue to process [0057]).
Regarding claim 27, the combination of Cheon and Choi discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 21), in addition Choi discloses, wherein the predetermined value is 1 (weight controller 204 may set the beamforming weight w.sub.i for the reference antenna to a reference value in stage 308, such as w.sub.i=1 (e.g., where each w.sub.k=e.sup.jθ.sup.k and θi=0) [0048]; [0054]).
Regarding claim 59, Cheon discloses,
A interference mitigation (utilizing the beam pattern 112 may result in the reception of interfering signals from interfering transmission source 114. In order to receive uplink transmissions from user equipment 110 while rejecting interfering signals from source 114, the MIMO transceiver 102 utilizes or selects a different beam pattern (such as beam pattern 116) that can receive uplink transmissions from the user equipment 110 while rejecting or attenuating transmissions from the interfering source 114 [0022]-[0023]; [0030]) comprising:
a plurality of antennas configured to receive a plurality of input signals (the MIMO transceiver 102 controls the antennas 104 to transmit information using one or more transmission beam patterns 108 [0021]-[0022]), wherein each input signal is received at a different antenna (The beamformer 202 applies weights to received signals from the antennas 104 according to a beam preset weight signal 214 to form a preset beam pattern that is used to receive uplink transmissions [0021]-[0025]); one or more hardware processors in communication with the plurality of antennas configured to:
receive a first input signal at a first antenna and receive a second input signal at a second antenna (Receive the OFDM(A) symbol using N-multiple antennas [0033]. Note: any two antennas of the N-antenna array corresponds to the claimed first and second antennas receiving respective input signal);
wherein the first or second input signals comprises at least one OFDM signal, the OFDM signal comprising multiple OFDM symbol periods (The following structural facts of the OFDM(A) symbol and its transmission are exploited by the beam selection algorithm. The cyclic prefix and its original part (e.g., tail of an OFDM(A) symbol) are identical before transmission [0033]-[0036]; a received subframe of OFDM symbols are input to the adaptive beam selector. For example, the sub-frame of symbols 210 are input to the adaptive beam selector 106 and received by the symbol receiver 306, which passes the symbols to the symbol analyzer 302 [0055]);
generate, using a first set of filter weights and the first input signal, a first filtered output (The beamformer 202 applies weights to received signals from the antennas 104 according to a beam preset weight signal 214 to form a preset beam pattern that is used to receive uplink transmissions [0024]; Multiply a beamformer preset matrix (W) (e.g., 320) with both the S and D matrices to form P and Q matrices. The beamformer preset matrix W can be expressed as (N×M), where M is the number of preset beams. Thus, for each preset beam (m) there is a set of weights (N) that are applied to the receive antennas to form the particular preset beam pattern [0038]-[0041]);
generate, using a second set of filter weights and the second input signal, a second filtered output (The beamformer 202 applies weights to received signals from the antennas 104 according to a beam preset weight signal 214 to form a preset beam pattern that is used to receive uplink transmissions [0024]; Multiply a beamformer preset matrix (W) (e.g., 320) with both the S and D matrices to form P and Q matrices. The beamformer preset matrix W can be expressed as (N×M), where M is the number of preset beams. Thus, for each preset beam (m) there is a set of weights (N) that are applied to the receive antennas to form the particular preset beam pattern [0038]-[0041]);
estimate an interference component of the at least one OFDM signal based on a difference between a first portion of the first filtered output and a second portion of the first filtered output (The tail portion 314 and the cyclic prefix portion 312 are identical before transmission. Distortions and/or interference during the transmission may result in differences between the cyclic prefix 312 and the tail portion 314 [0028]-[0029]; Calculate a difference matrix (D) of the CP matrix and the tail matrix. The matrix D contains noise and unwanted signal parts that are not correlated with the wanted signal [0037]-[0043]); and
update at least one of the first set of filter weights or the second set of filter weights based on the estimated interference component of the at least one OFDM signal (A. P=W.sup.HS (M×L.sub.CP), which represents the wanted signal reception. B. Q=W.sup.HD (M×L.sub.CP), which represents the unwanted signal reception. Determine the best beamformer present (m) out of the M available presets, [0042]-[0044]; beamformer preset matrix W is multiplied by the sum S and difference D matrices to form a first matrix P represented wanted signal and a second matrix Q representing unwanted signal as described above. For example, the symbol analyzer 302 executes the beam selection algorithm 318 to form the P and Q matrices [0059]-[0060]).
However, Cheon does not explicitly disclose, wherein at least one filter weight of the first set of filter weights is fixed to a predetermined value. In the same field of endeavor, Choi discloses, wherein at least one filter weight of the first set of filter weights is fixed to a predetermined value (weight controller 204 may set the beamforming weight w.sub.i for the reference antenna to a reference value in stage 308, such as w.sub.i=1 (e.g., where each w.sub.k=e.sup.jθ.sup.k and θi=0). Weight controller 204 may then update the beamforming weights for the remaining antennas based on the reference value and the weighted signals [0048]-[0054]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Cheon by specifically providing wherein at least one filter weight of the first set of filter weights is fixed to a predetermined value, as taught by Choi for the purpose of selectively applying beamforming weights to the antennas to adjust the radiation pattern of the antenna array, which can be implemented at both transmitters and receivers to increase gain [0029].
Regarding claim 60, the combination of Cheon and Choi discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 59), further Cheon discloses, wherein the second portion of the first filtered output comprises a cyclic prefix, the cyclic prefix comprising at least a portion of a signal of interest component present in the first portion of the at least one OFDM signal (FIG. 3 also shows a received symbol structure 316. The symbol structure comprises a cyclic prefix portion 312 and a modulated symbol portion 322, which includes a tail portion 314. The cyclic prefix portion 312 comprises values x.sub.1(k) to x.sub.i(k). The modulated symbol portion 322 comprises values x.sub.i+1 to x.sub.H+i(k), and the tail portion 314 comprises values x.sub.H+1(k) to x.sub.H+i(k), [0028]-[0034]).
Regarding claim 65, the combination of Cheon and Choi discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 59), in addition Choi discloses, wherein the predetermined value is 1 (weight controller 204 may set the beamforming weight w.sub.i for the reference antenna to a reference value in stage 308, such as w.sub.i=1 (e.g., where each w.sub.k=e.sup.jθ.sup.k and θi=0) [0048]; [0054]).
Claims 23 and 61-63 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheon, in view of Choi and further in view of Doane et al. (US 20170179593, hereinafter “Doane”).
Regarding claim 23, the combination of Cheon and Choi discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 21), however the combination of Cheon and Choi does not disclose, wherein the first set of filter weights or the second set of filter weights are associated with an FIR filter.
In the same field of endeavor, Doane discloses, wherein the first set of filter weights or the second set of filter weights are associated with an FIR filter (some embodiments avoid the need for additional filtering per each element by employing each auxiliary element 106 and 114 as an adaptive tap of a finite impulse response (FIR) filter of the STAR system [0025]-[0028]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Cheon and Choi by specifically providing wherein the first set of filter weights or the second set of filter weights are associated with an FIR filter, as taught by Doane for the purpose of providing sidelobe cancellation for simultaneous Transmit and Receive systems by including an array having a primary aperture and an auxiliary array (see abstract).
Regarding claim 61, the combination of Cheon and Choi discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 60), however the combination of Cheon and Choi does not disclose, wherein the first set of filter weights or the second set of filter weights are associated with an FIR filter.
In the same field of endeavor, Doane discloses, wherein the first set of filter weights or the second set of filter weights are associated with an FIR filter (some embodiments avoid the need for additional filtering per each element by employing each auxiliary element 106 and 114 as an adaptive tap of a finite impulse response (FIR) filter of the STAR system [0025]-[0028]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Cheon and Choi by specifically providing wherein the first set of filter weights or the second set of filter weights are associated with an FIR filter, as taught by Doane for the purpose of providing sidelobe cancellation for simultaneous Transmit and Receive systems by including an array having a primary aperture and an auxiliary array (see abstract).
Regarding claim 62, the combination of Cheon, Choi and Doane discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 61), further Cheon discloses, determining a signal of interest component of the first filtered output based on the updated first set of filter weights or the second set of filter weights (The transceiver 102 comprises beamformer 202, sub-frame receiver 204, and the adaptive beam selector 106. In an embodiment, the ABS 106 comprises a symbol processor 206 and a beam pattern selector 208. The beamformer 202 applies weights to received signals from the antennas 104 according to a beam preset weight signal 214 to form a preset beam pattern that is used to receive uplink transmissions [0024]-[0025]; Multiply a beamformer preset matrix (W) (e.g., 320) with both the S and D matrices to form P and Q matrices. The beamformer preset matrix W can be expressed as (N×M), where M is the number of preset beams. Thus, for each preset beam (m) there is a set of weights (N) that are applied to the receive antennas to form the particular preset beam pattern [0041]; a beamformer preset matrix W is multiplied by the sum S and difference D matrices to form a first matrix P represented wanted signal and a second matrix Q representing unwanted signal as described above. For example, the symbol analyzer 302 executes the beam selection algorithm 318 to form the P and Q matrices. At block 512, the best preset beam to used is determined from the P and Q matrices. For example, the symbol analyzer 302 executes the beam selection algorithm 318 to determine the best preset beam to select [0059]-[0060]).
Regarding claim 63, the combination of Cheon, Choi and Doane discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 62), in addition Choi discloses, pass the signal of interest component to a modem configured to demodulate or decode the signal of interest component (As shown in FIG. 3, digital beamformer 106 may first receive digital signals y(t) from RF chains 104a-104n in stage 302, which RF chains 104a-104n may have previously obtained from antenna array 102. Output determiner 202 may then determine weighted signals z.sub.k(t) and output signal r(t) based on beamforming weight vector w in stage 304 [0044]; Output determiner 202 may then provide output signal r(t) as the beamformed output signal, which further downstream baseband component (e.g., physical and/or protocol stack layer components) of wireless communication device 100 may continue to process [0057]).
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheon, in view of Choi and further in view of Tong et al. (US 20200228175, hereinafter “Tong”).
Regarding claim 26, the combination of Cheon and Choi discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 24), however the combination of Cheon and Choi does not disclose, demodulating the signal of interest component to produce a demodulated pack of bits.
In the same field of endeavor, Tong discloses, demodulating the signal of interest component to produce a demodulated pack of bits (The recovered symbols are placed back in order using symbol de-interleaver logic 102, which corresponds to the symbol interleaver logic 58 of the transmitter. The de-interleaved symbols are then demodulated or de-mapped to a corresponding bitstream using dc-mapping logic 104 [0096]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Cheon and Choi by specifically providing demodulating the signal of interest component to produce a demodulated pack of bits, as taught by Tong for the purpose of providing various transmit formats including spatial multiplexing and STTD are defined in which vector or matrix weighting is employed using information fed back from receivers (abstract).
Claims 28, 29, 66 and 67 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheon, in view of Choi and further in view of Bach (US 6760371, hereinafter “Bach”).
Regarding claim 28, the combination of Cheon and Choi discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 21), however the combination of Cheon and Choi does not explicitly disclose, wherein a filter weight of the first set of filter weights comprises a center tap.
In the same field of endeavor, Bach discloses wherein a filter weight of the first set of filter weights comprises a center tap (the addition of offset values to the tap weight updates, which typically range from 0 to 0.2 but could range from 0 to 1, provided by the ZFE update calculation unit 23 changes the minimization criteria of the ZFE from zero intersymbol interference at the feedback point 24 to a predetermined amount, Col. 4; lines 52-57).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of the combination of Cheon and Choi by specifically providing wherein a filter weight of the first set of filter weights comprises a center tap, as taught by Bach for the purpose of equalizing a received signal based on values of the adjustable tap weights (see abstract).
Regarding claim 29, the combination of Cheon, Choi and Bach discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 28), in addition Bach discloses, wherein the center tap is fixed to the predetermined value (the addition of offset values to the tap weight updates, which typically range from 0 to 0.2 but could range from 0 to 1, provided by the ZFE update calculation unit 23 changes the minimization criteria of the ZFE from zero intersymbol interference at the feedback point 24 to a predetermined amount, Col. 4; lines 52-57).
Regarding claim 66, the combination of Cheon and Choi discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 65), however the combination of Cheon and Choi does not explicitly disclose, wherein a filter weight of the first set of filter weights comprises a center tap.
In the same field of endeavor, Bach discloses wherein a filter weight of the first set of filter weights comprises a center tap (the addition of offset values to the tap weight updates, which typically range from 0 to 0.2 but could range from 0 to 1, provided by the ZFE update calculation unit 23 changes the minimization criteria of the ZFE from zero intersymbol interference at the feedback point 24 to a predetermined amount, Col. 4; lines 52-57).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of the combination of Cheon and Choi by specifically providing wherein a filter weight of the first set of filter weights comprises a center tap, as taught by Bach for the purpose of equalizing a received signal based on values of the adjustable tap weights (see abstract).
Regarding claim 67, the combination of Cheon, Choi and Bach discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 66), in addition Bach discloses, wherein the center tap is fixed to the predetermined value (the addition of offset values to the tap weight updates, which typically range from 0 to 0.2 but could range from 0 to 1, provided by the ZFE update calculation unit 23 changes the minimization criteria of the ZFE from zero intersymbol interference at the feedback point 24 to a predetermined amount, Col. 4; lines 52-57).
Claim 64 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheon, in view of Choi, in view of Doane and further in view of Tong et al. (US 20200228175, hereinafter “Tong”).
Regarding claim 64, the combination of Cheon, Choi and Doane discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 63), however the combination of Cheon, Choi and Doane does not disclose, demodulate the signal of interest component to produce a demodulated pack of bits.
In the same field of endeavor, Tong discloses, demodulate the signal of interest component to produce a demodulated pack of bits (The recovered symbols are placed back in order using symbol de-interleaver logic 102, which corresponds to the symbol interleaver logic 58 of the transmitter. The de-interleaved symbols are then demodulated or de-mapped to a corresponding bitstream using dc-mapping logic 104 [0096]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Cheon and Choi by specifically providing demodulate the signal of interest component to produce a demodulated pack of bits, as taught by Tong for the purpose of providing various transmit formats including spatial multiplexing and STTD are defined in which vector or matrix weighting is employed using information fed back from receivers (abstract).
Prior Art of the Record:
The prior art made of record not relied upon and considered pertinent to
Applicant’s disclosure:
US 20210258029: There is provided a mitigation module for mitigating interference complementing a receiver of a wireless network, comprising: at least one processor executing a code for: obtaining digital baseband signals received by a plurality of reception sources, matching at least a portion of a signature signal to at least a portion of the baseband signals, the signature signal indicative of a presence of interference signals originating from at least one external interference source.
US 20150333933: An OFDM system generates a channel estimate in the time domain for use in either a frequency domain equalizer or in a time domain equalizer. Preferably channel estimation is accomplished in the time domain using a locally generated reference signal. The channel estimator generates an initial estimate from a cross correlation between the time domain reference signal and an input signal input to the receiver and generates at least one successive channel estimate.
Conclusion
/GOLAM SOROWAR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2641