Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/30/2024, 06/04/2025 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
This office action is in response to the application serial number 18/932,399 filed on 10/30/2024.
Claims 1-14, 15-19, 20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2-14, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang et al. ( US 20070064823, hereinafter, Hwang’s 823 ) in view of EP 4280720 A1 (DATANG MOBILE COMMUNICATION EQUIPMENT LTD ) , and further in view of Yousefi et al. ( Patent No.: US 11804914 B1, hereinafter, Yousefi’s 914 ).
Regarding to the claim 1, Hwang’s 823 teaches a device, comprising: a processor; a transceiver communicatively coupled to a communication channel; and a memory communicatively coupled to the processor, wherein the memory comprises a calibration logic that is configured to:
transmit, via the communication channel, a channel sounding request including a multicarrier modulated signal [see paragraphs 0018-0020 and Figures 3-5 ].
However, Hwang’s 823 does not explicitly teach receive group delay variation information in response to the channel sounding request.
EP 4280720 A1 (DATANG MOBILE COMMUNICATION EQUIPMENT LTD ), from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches receive group delay variation information in response to the channel sounding request [ see the paragraphs 0006 & 0061 & 0062 & 0068 & 0071 & 0076 & 0080 & 0082 & 0110 ];
generate, based on an inverse of the determined phase change, an equalizer configured for one or more Time of Flight (ToF) measurements [ see the paragraphs 0006 & 0061 & 0062 & 0068 & 0071 & 0076 & 0080 & 0082 & 0110 ].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the claimed invention to modify the system of Hwang’s 823 in view of EP 4280720 A1 (DATANG MOBILE COMMUNICATION EQUIPMENT LTD ) because EP 4280720 A1 (DATANG MOBILE COMMUNICATION EQUIPMENT LTD ) suggests that it improves the accuracy of Time of Arrival (TOA) estimation and thus improves the final UE positioning accuracy .
However, Hwang’s 823 and EP 4280720 A1 (DATANG MOBILE COMMUNICATION EQUIPMENT LTD ) do not explicitly teach determine, based on the group delay variation information, a phase change experienced by the multicarrier modulated signal.
Yousefi’s 914, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches determine, based on the group delay variation information, a phase change experienced by the multicarrier modulated signal [see col.3, lines 1-10] (The controller measures, for each antenna element, a phase and amplitude of the received signal and compares the phase and the amplitude to a reference phase and a reference amplitude defined for the antenna element. When any of the measured phase and the measured amplitude of the received signal are outside predefined ranges of operational phases and operational amplitudes, the controller initiates the calibration of the phased array antenna element ).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the combined system ( Hwang’s 823 and EP 4280720 A1 (DATANG MOBILE COMMUNICATION EQUIPMENT LTD ) ) , and further in view of Yousefi’s 914 because Yousefi’s 914 suggests that New approaches are therefore warranted to detect signal drift and recalibrate the phased array antennas, particularly for satellite communication.
Regarding to the claim 2, Hwang’s 823 and EP 4280720 A1 (DATANG MOBILE COMMUNICATION EQUIPMENT LTD ) and Yousefi’s 914 teach the limitations of the claim 1 above.
However, Hwang’s 823 does not explicitly teach wherein the calibration logic is further configured to normalize a group delay effect in a ToF measurement based on the equalizer.
EP 4280720 A1 (DATANG MOBILE COMMUNICATION EQUIPMENT LTD ), from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches wherein the calibration logic is further configured to normalize a group delay effect in a ToF measurement based on the equalizer [ see the paragraphs 0006 & 0061 & 0062 & 0068 & 0071 & 0076 & 0080 & 0082 & 0110 ].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the claimed invention to modify the system of Hwang’s 823 in view of EP 4280720 A1 (DATANG MOBILE COMMUNICATION EQUIPMENT LTD ) because EP 4280720 A1 (DATANG MOBILE COMMUNICATION EQUIPMENT LTD ) suggests that it improves the accuracy of Time of Arrival (TOA) estimation and thus improves the final UE positioning accuracy .
Regarding to the claim 3, Hwang’s 823 and EP 4280720 A1 (DATANG MOBILE COMMUNICATION EQUIPMENT LTD ) and Yousefi’s 914 teach the limitations of the claim 1 above.
However, Hwang’s 823 does not explicitly teach wherein the calibration logic is further configured to: transmit a ToF signal via the communication channel; receive the ToF signal returned by a target device; normalize a group delay experienced by the received ToF signal based on the equalizer; and perform a ToF measurement based on the normalized ToF signal.
EP 4280720 A1 (DATANG MOBILE COMMUNICATION EQUIPMENT LTD ), from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches wherein the calibration logic is further configured to: transmit a ToF signal via the communication channel; receive the ToF signal returned by a target device; normalize a group delay experienced by the received ToF signal based on the equalizer; and perform a ToF measurement based on the normalized ToF signal [ see the paragraphs 0006 & 0061 & 0062 & 0068 & 0071 & 0076 & 0080 & 0082 & 0110 ].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the claimed invention to modify the system of Hwang’s 823 in view of EP 4280720 A1 (DATANG MOBILE COMMUNICATION EQUIPMENT LTD ) because EP 4280720 A1 (DATANG MOBILE COMMUNICATION EQUIPMENT LTD ) suggests that it improves the accuracy of Time of Arrival (TOA) estimation and thus improves the final UE positioning accuracy .
Regarding to the claim 4, Hwang’s 823 and EP 4280720 A1 (DATANG MOBILE COMMUNICATION EQUIPMENT LTD ) and Yousefi’s 914 teach the limitations of the claim 1 above.
However, Hwang’s 823 does not explicitly teach wherein the channel sounding request is transmitted to a receiving device communicatively coupled to the device via the communication channel.
EP 4280720 A1 (DATANG MOBILE COMMUNICATION EQUIPMENT LTD ), from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches wherein the channel sounding request is transmitted to a receiving device communicatively coupled to the device via the communication channel [ see the paragraphs 0006 & 0061 & 0062 & 0068 & 0071 & 0076 & 0080 & 0082 & 0110 ].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the claimed invention to modify the system of Hwang’s 823 in view of EP 4280720 A1 (DATANG MOBILE COMMUNICATION EQUIPMENT LTD ) because EP 4280720 A1 (DATANG MOBILE COMMUNICATION EQUIPMENT LTD ) suggests that it improves the accuracy of Time of Arrival (TOA) estimation and thus improves the final UE positioning accuracy .
Regarding to the claim 5, Hwang’s 823 and EP 4280720 A1 (DATANG MOBILE COMMUNICATION EQUIPMENT LTD ) and Yousefi’s 914 teach the limitations of the claim 1 above.
However, Hwang’s 823 does not explicitly teach wherein the calibration logic is further configured to transmit an action frame to the receiving device prior to transmitting the channel sounding request.
EP 4280720 A1 (DATANG MOBILE COMMUNICATION EQUIPMENT LTD ), from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches wherein the calibration logic is further configured to transmit an action frame to the receiving device prior to transmitting the channel sounding request [ see the paragraphs 0006 & 0061 & 0062 & 0068 & 0071 & 0076 & 0080 & 0082 & 0110 ].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the claimed invention to modify the system of Hwang’s 823 in view of EP 4280720 A1 (DATANG MOBILE COMMUNICATION EQUIPMENT LTD ) because EP 4280720 A1 (DATANG MOBILE COMMUNICATION EQUIPMENT LTD ) suggests that it improves the accuracy of Time of Arrival (TOA) estimation and thus improves the final UE positioning accuracy .
Regarding to the claim 6, Hwang’s 823 and EP 4280720 A1 (DATANG MOBILE COMMUNICATION EQUIPMENT LTD ) and Yousefi’s 914 teach the limitations of the claim 1 above.
However, Hwang’s 823 does not explicitly teach wherein the action frame acts as an advance notice to the receiving device for the channel sounding request.
EP 4280720 A1 (DATANG MOBILE COMMUNICATION EQUIPMENT LTD ), from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches wherein the action frame acts as an advance notice to the receiving device for the channel sounding request [ see the paragraphs 0006 & 0061 & 0062 & 0068 & 0071 & 0076 & 0080 & 0082 & 0110 ].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the claimed invention to modify the system of Hwang’s 823 in view of EP 4280720 A1 (DATANG MOBILE COMMUNICATION EQUIPMENT LTD ) because EP 4280720 A1 (DATANG MOBILE COMMUNICATION EQUIPMENT LTD ) suggests that it improves the accuracy of Time of Arrival (TOA) estimation and thus improves the final UE positioning accuracy .
Regarding to the claim 7, Hwang’s 823 and EP 4280720 A1 (DATANG MOBILE COMMUNICATION EQUIPMENT LTD ) and Yousefi’s 914 teach the limitations of the claim 1 above.
However, Hwang’s 823 does not explicitly teach wherein the action frame is configured to trigger a channel sounding process, including determination of the group delay variation information, at the receiving device.
EP 4280720 A1 (DATANG MOBILE COMMUNICATION EQUIPMENT LTD ), from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches wherein the action frame is configured to trigger a channel sounding process, including determination of the group delay variation information, at the receiving device [ see the paragraphs 0006 & 0061 & 0062 & 0068 & 0071 & 0076 & 0080 & 0082 & 0110 ].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the claimed invention to modify the system of Hwang’s 823 in view of EP 4280720 A1 (DATANG MOBILE COMMUNICATION EQUIPMENT LTD ) because EP 4280720 A1 (DATANG MOBILE COMMUNICATION EQUIPMENT LTD ) suggests that it improves the accuracy of Time of Arrival (TOA) estimation and thus improves the final UE positioning accuracy .
Regarding to the claim 8, Hwang’s 823 and EP 4280720 A1 (DATANG MOBILE COMMUNICATION EQUIPMENT LTD ) and Yousefi’s 914 teach the limitations of the claim 1 above.
However, Hwang’s 823 does not explicitly teach wherein the action frame is configured to probe a channel sounding capability of the receiving device.
EP 4280720 A1 (DATANG MOBILE COMMUNICATION EQUIPMENT LTD ), from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches wherein the action frame is configured to probe a channel sounding capability of the receiving device [ see the paragraphs 0006 & 0061 & 0062 & 0068 & 0071 & 0076 & 0080 & 0082 & 0110 ].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the claimed invention to modify the system of Hwang’s 823 in view of EP 4280720 A1 (DATANG MOBILE COMMUNICATION EQUIPMENT LTD ) because EP 4280720 A1 (DATANG MOBILE COMMUNICATION EQUIPMENT LTD ) suggests that it improves the accuracy of Time of Arrival (TOA) estimation and thus improves the final UE positioning accuracy .
Regarding to the claim 9, Hwang’s 823 and EP 4280720 A1 (DATANG MOBILE COMMUNICATION EQUIPMENT LTD ) and Yousefi’s 914 teach the limitations of the claim 1 above.
However, Hwang’s 823 does not explicitly teach wherein the calibration logic is further configured to receive, based on the action frame, an action response from the receiving device, and wherein the action response is configured to indicate the channel sounding capability of the receiving device.
EP 4280720 A1 (DATANG MOBILE COMMUNICATION EQUIPMENT LTD ), from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches wherein the calibration logic is further configured to receive, based on the action frame, an action response from the receiving device, and wherein the action response is configured to indicate the channel sounding capability of the receiving device [ see the paragraphs 0006 & 0061 & 0062 & 0068 & 0071 & 0076 & 0080 & 0082 & 0110 ].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the claimed invention to modify the system of Hwang’s 823 in view of EP 4280720 A1 (DATANG MOBILE COMMUNICATION EQUIPMENT LTD ) because EP 4280720 A1 (DATANG MOBILE COMMUNICATION EQUIPMENT LTD ) suggests that it improves the accuracy of Time of Arrival (TOA) estimation and thus improves the final UE positioning accuracy .
Regarding to the claim 10, Hwang’s 823 and EP 4280720 A1 (DATANG MOBILE COMMUNICATION EQUIPMENT LTD ) and Yousefi’s 914 teach the limitations of the claim 1 above.
However, Hwang’s 823 does not explicitly teach wherein the multicarrier modulated signal is transmitted to the receiving device in response to receiving the action response.
EP 4280720 A1 (DATANG MOBILE COMMUNICATION EQUIPMENT LTD ), from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches wherein the multicarrier modulated signal is transmitted to the receiving device in response to receiving the action response [ see the paragraphs 0006 & 0061 & 0062 & 0068 & 0071 & 0076 & 0080 & 0082 & 0110 ].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the claimed invention to modify the system of Hwang’s 823 in view of EP 4280720 A1 (DATANG MOBILE COMMUNICATION EQUIPMENT LTD ) because EP 4280720 A1 (DATANG MOBILE COMMUNICATION EQUIPMENT LTD ) suggests that it improves the accuracy of Time of Arrival (TOA) estimation and thus improves the final UE positioning accuracy .
Regarding to the claim 11, Hwang’s 823 and EP 4280720 A1 (DATANG MOBILE COMMUNICATION EQUIPMENT LTD ) and Yousefi’s 914 teach the limitations of the claim 1 above.
However, Hwang’s 823 does not explicitly teach wherein the calibration logic is further configured to receive the group delay variation information as a part of an action frame.
EP 4280720 A1 (DATANG MOBILE COMMUNICATION EQUIPMENT LTD ), from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches wherein the calibration logic is further configured to receive the group delay variation information as a part of an action frame [ see the paragraphs 0006 & 0061 & 0062 & 0068 & 0071 & 0076 & 0080 & 0082 & 0110 ].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the claimed invention to modify the system of Hwang’s 823 in view of EP 4280720 A1 (DATANG MOBILE COMMUNICATION EQUIPMENT LTD ) because EP 4280720 A1 (DATANG MOBILE COMMUNICATION EQUIPMENT LTD ) suggests that it improves the accuracy of Time of Arrival (TOA) estimation and thus improves the final UE positioning accuracy .
Regarding to the claim 12, Hwang’s 823 and EP 4280720 A1 (DATANG MOBILE COMMUNICATION EQUIPMENT LTD ) and Yousefi’s 914 teach the limitations of the claim 1 above.
However, Hwang’s 823 does not explicitly teach wherein the multicarrier modulated signal includes an Orthogonal Frequency Division Multiplexing signal.
EP 4280720 A1 (DATANG MOBILE COMMUNICATION EQUIPMENT LTD ), from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches wherein the multicarrier modulated signal includes an Orthogonal Frequency Division Multiplexing signal [ see the paragraphs 0006 & 0061 & 0062 & 0068 & 0071 & 0076 & 0080 & 0082 & 0110 ].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the claimed invention to modify the system of Hwang’s 823 in view of EP 4280720 A1 (DATANG MOBILE COMMUNICATION EQUIPMENT LTD ) because EP 4280720 A1 (DATANG MOBILE COMMUNICATION EQUIPMENT LTD ) suggests that it improves the accuracy of Time of Arrival (TOA) estimation and thus improves the final UE positioning accuracy .
Regarding to the claim 13, Hwang’s 823 and EP 4280720 A1 (DATANG MOBILE COMMUNICATION EQUIPMENT LTD ) and Yousefi’s 914 teach the limitations of the claim 1 above.
However, Hwang’s 823 does not explicitly teach wherein the calibration logic is further configured to generate the multicarrier modulated signal comprising a plurality of subcarriers.
EP 4280720 A1 (DATANG MOBILE COMMUNICATION EQUIPMENT LTD ), from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches wherein the calibration logic is further configured to generate the multicarrier modulated signal comprising a plurality of subcarriers [ see the paragraphs 0006 & 0061 & 0062 & 0068 & 0071 & 0076 & 0080 & 0082 & 0110 ].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the claimed invention to modify the system of Hwang’s 823 in view of EP 4280720 A1 (DATANG MOBILE COMMUNICATION EQUIPMENT LTD ) because EP 4280720 A1 (DATANG MOBILE COMMUNICATION EQUIPMENT LTD ) suggests that it improves the accuracy of Time of Arrival (TOA) estimation and thus improves the final UE positioning accuracy .
Regarding to the claim 14, Hwang’s 823 and EP 4280720 A1 (DATANG MOBILE COMMUNICATION EQUIPMENT LTD ) and Yousefi’s 914 teach the limitations of the claim 1 above.
However, Hwang’s 823 does not explicitly teach wherein the plurality of subcarriers are modulated at a common rate.
EP 4280720 A1 (DATANG MOBILE COMMUNICATION EQUIPMENT LTD ), from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches wherein the plurality of subcarriers are modulated at a common rate [ see the paragraphs 0006 & 0061 & 0062 & 0068 & 0071 & 0076 & 0080 & 0082 & 0110 ].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the claimed invention to modify the system of Hwang’s 823 in view of EP 4280720 A1 (DATANG MOBILE COMMUNICATION EQUIPMENT LTD ) because EP 4280720 A1 (DATANG MOBILE COMMUNICATION EQUIPMENT LTD ) suggests that it improves the accuracy of Time of Arrival (TOA) estimation and thus improves the final UE positioning accuracy .
Regarding to the claim 20, Hwang’s 823 teaches a method, comprising:
transmitting, via the communication channel, a channel sounding request including a multicarrier modulated signal [see paragraphs 0018-0020 and Figures 3-5 ].
However, Hwang’s 823 does not explicitly teach receive group delay variation information in response to the channel sounding request.
EP 4280720 A1 (DATANG MOBILE COMMUNICATION EQUIPMENT LTD ), from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches receiving group delay variation information in response to the channel sounding request [ see the paragraphs 0006 & 0061 & 0062 & 0068 & 0071 & 0076 & 0080 & 0082 & 0110 ];
generating, based on an inverse of the determined phase change, an equalizer configured for one or more Time of Flight (ToF) measurements [ see the paragraphs 0006 & 0061 & 0062 & 0068 & 0071 & 0076 & 0080 & 0082 & 0110 ].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the claimed invention to modify the system of Hwang’s 823 in view of EP 4280720 A1 (DATANG MOBILE COMMUNICATION EQUIPMENT LTD ) because EP 4280720 A1 (DATANG MOBILE COMMUNICATION EQUIPMENT LTD ) suggests that it improves the accuracy of Time of Arrival (TOA) estimation and thus improves the final UE positioning accuracy .
However, Hwang’s 823 and EP 4280720 A1 (DATANG MOBILE COMMUNICATION EQUIPMENT LTD ) do not explicitly teach determining, based on the group delay variation information, a phase change experienced by the multicarrier modulated signal.
Yousefi’s 914, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches determining, based on the group delay variation information, a phase change experienced by the multicarrier modulated signal [see col.3, lines 1-10] (The controller measures, for each antenna element, a phase and amplitude of the received signal and compares the phase and the amplitude to a reference phase and a reference amplitude defined for the antenna element. When any of the measured phase and the measured amplitude of the received signal are outside predefined ranges of operational phases and operational amplitudes, the controller initiates the calibration of the phased array antenna element ).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the combined system ( Hwang’s 823 and EP 4280720 A1 (DATANG MOBILE COMMUNICATION EQUIPMENT LTD ) ) , and further in view of Yousefi’s 914 because Yousefi’s 914 suggests that New approaches are therefore warranted to detect signal drift and recalibrate the phased array antennas, particularly for satellite communication.
Claim(s) 15, 18, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang et al. ( US 20070064823, hereinafter, Hwang’s 823 ) in view of EP 4280720 A1 (DATANG MOBILE COMMUNICATION EQUIPMENT LTD ) , and further in view of Yousefi et al. ( Patent No.: US 11804914 B1, hereinafter, Yousefi’s 914 ).
Regarding to the claim 15, Hwang’s 823 teaches receive a channel sounding request via the communication channel, wherein the channel sounding request includes a multicarrier modulated signal having a plurality of subcarriers [see paragraphs 0018-0020 and Figures 3-5 ].
However, Hwang’s 823 does not explicitly teach determine group delay variation information associated with the multicarrier modulated signal based on the comparison; and transmit the group delay variation information as a response to the channel sounding request.
EP 4280720 A1 (DATANG MOBILE COMMUNICATION EQUIPMENT LTD ), from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches determine group delay variation [see Paragraphs 0160] information associated with the multicarrier modulated signal based on the comparison; and transmit the group delay variation information as a response to the channel sounding request [ see the paragraphs 0006 & 0061 & 0062 & 0068 & 0071 & 0076 & 0080 & 0082 & 0110 ].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the claimed invention to modify the system of Hwang’s 823 in view of EP 4280720 A1 (DATANG MOBILE COMMUNICATION EQUIPMENT LTD ) because EP 4280720 A1 (DATANG MOBILE COMMUNICATION EQUIPMENT LTD ) suggests that it improves the accuracy of Time of Arrival (TOA) estimation and thus improves the final UE positioning accuracy .
However, Hwang’s 823 and EP 4280720 A1 (DATANG MOBILE COMMUNICATION EQUIPMENT LTD ) do not explicitly teach compare a phase of one or more of the plurality of subcarriers with a reference phase.
Yousefi’s 914, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches compare a phase of one or more of the plurality of subcarriers with a reference phase [see col.3, lines 1-10] (The controller measures, for each antenna element, a phase and amplitude of the received signal and compares the phase and the amplitude to a reference phase and a reference amplitude defined for the antenna element. When any of the measured phase and the measured amplitude of the received signal are outside predefined ranges of operational phases and operational amplitudes, the controller initiates the calibration of the phased array antenna element ).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the combined system ( Hwang’s 823 and Ryan’s 483) , and further in view of Yousefi’s 914 because Yousefi’s 914 suggests that New approaches are therefore warranted to detect signal drift and recalibrate the phased array antennas, particularly for satellite communication.
Regarding to the claim 18, Hwang’s 823 and EP 4280720 A1 (DATANG MOBILE COMMUNICATION EQUIPMENT LTD ) and Yousefi’s 914 teach the limitations of the claim 15 above.
However, Hwang’s 823 does not explicitly teach wherein the calibration logic is further configured to transmit the group delay variation information as a part of an action frame.
EP 4280720 A1 (DATANG MOBILE COMMUNICATION EQUIPMENT LTD ), from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches wherein the calibration logic is further configured to transmit the group delay variation information as a part of an action frame [ see the paragraphs 0006 & 0061 & 0062 & 0068 & 0071 & 0076 & 0080 & 0082 & 0110 ].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the claimed invention to modify the system of Hwang’s 823 in view of EP 4280720 A1 (DATANG MOBILE COMMUNICATION EQUIPMENT LTD ) because EP 4280720 A1 (DATANG MOBILE COMMUNICATION EQUIPMENT LTD ) suggests that it improves the accuracy of Time of Arrival (TOA) estimation and thus improves the final UE positioning accuracy .
Regarding to the claim 19, Hwang’s 823 and EP 4280720 A1 (DATANG MOBILE COMMUNICATION EQUIPMENT LTD ) and Yousefi’s 914 teach the limitations of the claim 15 above.
However, Hwang’s 823 does not explicitly teach receive a Time of Flight (ToF) signal via the communication channel from a transmitting device; and return the ToF signal to the transmitting device, wherein a normalization of the returned ToF signal is based on the group delay variation information.
EP 4280720 A1 (DATANG MOBILE COMMUNICATION EQUIPMENT LTD ), from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches receive a Time of Flight (ToF) signal via the communication channel from a transmitting device; and return the ToF signal to the transmitting device, wherein a normalization of the returned ToF signal is based on the group delay variation information [ see the paragraphs 0006 & 0061 & 0062 & 0068 & 0071 & 0076 & 0080 & 0082 & 0110 ].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the claimed invention to modify the system of Hwang’s 823 in view of EP 4280720 A1 (DATANG MOBILE COMMUNICATION EQUIPMENT LTD ) because EP 4280720 A1 (DATANG MOBILE COMMUNICATION EQUIPMENT LTD ) suggests that it improves the accuracy of Time of Arrival (TOA) estimation and thus improves the final UE positioning accuracy .
Claim(s) 15, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang et al. ( US 20070064823, hereinafter, Hwang’s 823 ) in view of Ryan ( US 20230070483, hereinafter, Ryan’s 483 ), and further in view of Yousefi et al. ( Patent No.: US 11804914 B1, hereinafter, Yousefi’s 914 ).
Regarding to the claim 15, Hwang’s 823 teaches receive a channel sounding request via the communication channel, wherein the channel sounding request includes a multicarrier modulated signal having a plurality of subcarriers [see paragraphs 0018-0020 and Figures 3-5 ].
However, Hwang’s 823 does not explicitly teach determine group delay variation information associated with the multicarrier modulated signal based on the comparison; and transmit the group delay variation information as a response to the channel sounding request.
Ryan’s 483, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches determine group delay variation [see Paragraphs 0160] information associated with the multicarrier modulated signal based on the comparison; and transmit the group delay variation information as a response to the channel sounding request [see Paragraphs 0160] [also see the paragraphs 0161 & 0169 & 0207].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the claimed invention to modify the system of Hwang’s 823 in view of Ryan’s 483 because Ryan’s 483 suggests that it improves spectral efficiency or to reduce power consumption) if the smallest timing offset is positive, but by an amount determined by considering a plurality of calibration signals, rather than just a single calibration signal, and which can therefore take account of timing jitter or other variations.
However, Hwang’s 823 and Ryan’s 483 do not explicitly teach compare a phase of one or more of the plurality of subcarriers with a reference phase.
Yousefi’s 914, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches compare a phase of one or more of the plurality of subcarriers with a reference phase [see col.3, lines 1-10] (The controller measures, for each antenna element, a phase and amplitude of the received signal and compares the phase and the amplitude to a reference phase and a reference amplitude defined for the antenna element. When any of the measured phase and the measured amplitude of the received signal are outside predefined ranges of operational phases and operational amplitudes, the controller initiates the calibration of the phased array antenna element ).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the combined system ( Hwang’s 823 and Ryan’s 483) , and further in view of Yousefi’s 914 because Yousefi’s 914 suggests that New approaches are therefore warranted to detect signal drift and recalibrate the phased array antennas, particularly for satellite communication.
Regarding to the claim 18, Hwang’s 823 and Yousefi’s 914 and Ryan’s 483 teach the limitations of the claim 15 above.
However, Hwang’s 823 does not explicitly teach wherein the calibration logic is further configured to transmit the group delay variation information as a part of an action frame.
Ryan’s 483, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches wherein the calibration logic is further configured to transmit the group delay variation information as a part of an action frame [see Paragraphs 0160] [also see the paragraphs 0161 & 0169 & 0207].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the claimed invention to modify the combined system ( Dash’s 506 and Yousefi’s 914), and further in view of Ryan’s 483 because Ryan’s 483 suggests that it improves spectral efficiency or to reduce power consumption) if the smallest timing offset is positive, but by an amount determined by considering a plurality of calibration signals, rather than just a single calibration signal, and which can therefore take account of timing jitter or other variations.
Claim(s) 16, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang et al. ( US 20070064823, hereinafter, Hwang’s 823 ) in view of Ryan ( US 20230070483, hereinafter, Ryan’s 483 ), and further in view of Yousefi et al. ( Patent No.: US 11804914 B1, hereinafter, Yousefi’s 914 ) , and further in view of Heidari et al. ( Patent No. 9332554, hereinafter, Heidari’s 554 ).
Regarding to the claim 16, Hwang’s 823 and Ryan’s 483 and Yousefi’s 914 teach the limitations of the claim 15 above.
However, Hwang’s 823 does not explicitly teach wherein prior to receiving the channel sounding request, the calibration logic is further configured to receive an action frame probing a channel sounding capability of the device.
Patent No. 9332554, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches wherein prior to receiving the channel sounding request, the calibration logic is further configured to receive an action frame probing a channel sounding capability of the device [see col. 7, lines 1-5 ] [also see col. 6, lines 63-67 ] .
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the combined system ( Hwang’s 823 and Ryan’s 483 and Yousefi’s 914), and further in view of Patent No. 9332554 because Patent No. 9332554 suggests that what is needed are improved methods for multi-user communication on the wireless home network.
Regarding to the claim 17, Hwang’s 823 and Ryan’s 483 and Yousefi’s 914 teach the limitations of the claim 15 above.
However, Hwang’s 823 does not explicitly teach wherein the calibration logic is further configured to transmit, based on the action frame, an action response that is configured to indicate the channel sounding capability of the device.
Patent No. 9332554, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches wherein the calibration logic is further configured to transmit, based on the action frame, an action response that is configured to indicate the channel sounding capability of the device [see col. 7, lines 1-5 ] [also see col. 6, lines 63-67 ] .
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the combined system ( Hwang’s 823 and Ryan’s 483 and Yousefi’s 914), and further in view of Patent No. 9332554 because Patent No. 9332554 suggests that what is needed are improved methods for multi-user communication on the wireless home network.
Conclusion
/CHUONG T HO/Examiner, Art Unit 2412