Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement filed on December26, 2024 and December 03, 2024 has been considered.
Specification
The Specification and drawing submitted on October 30, 2024 has been considered.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. 10-2011-0106839, filed on 10/19/2011.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12159299. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because limitation features of claim 1 of the current application is generic to limitations of claim 1 of the U.S. Patent No: 12159299.
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11551263. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because limitation features of claim 1 of the current application is generic to limitations of claim 1 of the U.S. Patent No: 11551263.
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 10896442. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because limitation features of claim 1 of the current application is generic to limitations of claim 1 of the U.S. Patent No: 10896442.
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 13 of U.S. Patent No. 9978082. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because limitation features of claim 1 of the current application is generic to limitations of claims 1 and 13 of the U.S. Patent No: 9978082.
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 12, 22 and 36 of U.S. Patent No. 9959555. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because limitation features of claim 1 of the current application is generic to limitations of claims 1, 12, 22 and 36 of the U.S. Patent No: 9959555.
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 11 of U.S. Patent No. 9633373. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because limitation features of claim 1 of the current application is generic to limitations of claims 1 and 11 of the U.S. Patent No: 9633373.
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 10 of U.S. Patent No. 9779419. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because limitation features of claim 1 of the current application is generic to limitations of claims 1 and 10 of the U.S. Patent No: 9779419.
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 10 of U.S. Patent No. 9179298. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because limitation features of claim 1 of the current application is generic to limitations of claims 1 and 10 of the U.S. Patent No: 9179298.
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 7 of U.S. Patent No. 8918074. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because limitation features of claim 1 of the current application is generic to limitations of claims 1 and 7 of the U.S. Patent No: 8918074.
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 9 of U.S. Patent No. 8831557. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because limitation features of claim 1 of the current application is generic to limitations of claims 1 and 9 of the U.S. Patent No: 8831557.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claim 1-19 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Bandyopadhyay et al. (US 20120009896 A1 –hereinafter – “Bandyopadhyay”) in view of Aguera-Arcas et al. (US 20120284297 A1 –hereinafter—“Aguera-Arcas”).
As per claim 1: Bandyopadhyay discloses a notebook (Figure 13: 1330: notebook, laptop) computer comprising:
a display ([0063]: a touch screen display 230);
a microprocessor ([0057]; [0060]: processor 110 (e.g., signal processor, microprocessor, ASIC, or other control and processing logic circuitry); and
an activation button located outside the display ([0063]: one of several hardware buttons, including a power button 222, and a camera shutter (image-capture) button 224_located outside of a touch display 230),
wherein the notebook computer includes
setting the notebook computer into an inactive state ([0068] Another desirable aspect of the placement of the camera shutter button 224 is to be positioned such that a user can easily actuate the button without covering the camera lens 260 or one or more of the proximity sensors 246 and 248. For example, as shown in FIG. 2A, the proximity sensors 246 and 248 and photodiode 280 are positioned at a location where a user's fingers are less likely to be nearby the proximity sensors when actuating the camera shutter button 224. [0074-0076] IV. Example Mobile Device Settings; FIGS. 4A and 4B depict an example mobile device 400 displaying options on a display 402. In the view 410 shown in FIG. 4A, the mobile device 400 is shown displaying a camera options menu 405 that includes radio buttons 420 for allowing the camera button to wake the phone, along with radio buttons for setting options, including radio buttons 424 for including GPS info with pictures or videos, radio buttons 426 for automatically uploading photos to a computing cloud, and radio buttons 428 for keeping GPS information with pictures that are uploaded to the computing cloud. In some examples, the camera settings options menu 405 and associated radio buttons 420, 424, 426, and 428 are only available when the mobile device 400 is in a below-lock mode. [0076] The adjustments available on the setting menu 450 are those associated with the viewfinder functionality of an image-capture application, and thus, in this example, can be accessed in above-lock and below-lock states),
wherein the inactive state is defined as the notebook computer is communicable and the display is being turned off, excluding a state where the notebook computer (Figure 9: 910: Display off Phone locked Camera off) [0123]: At state 910, a handheld phone coupled with a proximity sensor and a camera is in an above-lock standby state, with its display turned off and camera application turned off),
wherein the notebook computer is configured to switch from the inactive state to an active state in response to a user input received on the activation button while the notebook computer is in the inactive state, ([0104]: The user can enter state 740 directly from the mobile device lock screen state 710. For example, while presenting the lock screen, receiving specified input (e.g., receiving a press on a power button, receiving a press on any key, or other predetermined input) transitions the device via transition 742 to state 740. In this case, if the mobile device is unsuccessful in authenticating a user, the device follows transition 746 back to state 710, remaining in an above-lock mode throughout. If the mobile device successfully authenticates a user, then the device state changes to below-lock mode, and the device transitions to the mobile device normal home screen at state 760),
wherein the active state is defined as the notebook computer is communicable and the display is being turned on ([0125]: Other state transitions can be realized from state 910 using the power key. For example, if a quick press and release of the power key is detected, the device turns the display on and transitions 962 to state 960. At state 960, the camera display is on, but the device is locked and its camera is turned off. If a full press of the camera key is detected, the device launches the camera and transitions 968 to state 950. Alternatively, if a quick press and release of the power key is detected, the display is turned off, and the device transitions 964 to state 910, where the image-capture module and/or image-capture applications are put into sleep mode),
wherein in addition to switching from the inactive state to the active state in response to the user input received on the activation button ([0043]: Above-lock means that a device is in a state where at least some functions of the device are not accessible to a user as a result of the device being in the above-lock (or "locked") state; Below-lock means that a device is in a state where additional functionality is available that is not accessible to a user in the above-lock state; A device may be described as having other states that are not necessarily mutually exclusive with the above-lock or below-lock authentication states--a device can be in either a low-power state or an active state while concurrently being in an above-lock state, a device can be in a below-lock state while concurrently being in a low-power or active state; [0125]: if a quick press and release of the power key is detected, the device turns the display on and transitions 962 to state 960—Active state. At state 960, the camera display is on—a switch to active state--, but the device is locked and its camera is turned off –the mobile device configured to perform a device locked state function while the display is on),
the notebook computer is further configured to perform a user authentication without an additional user input ([0087] At process block 640, as a result of the device receiving a request for an unavailable function, an authentication user interface is presented to the user to enter authentication credentials to unlock the device. For example, the user might be prompted to enter a PIN number using the mobile device touch screen, press a key combination (such as "Call" and "*"), enter a password, or provide fingerprint or voice data for authentication. In some examples, after receiving authenticating input, the mobile device can proceed directly to the functionality requested at process block 630, instead of presenting the regular device home screen),
wherein the notebook computer is configured to release a lock state for accessing functions of the notebook computer if the user input is authenticated ([0078-080]: Lock and Authentication Screens: FIG. 5A depicts a mobile device 500 having a touch screen display 510, which is displaying a lock screen 515, including an unlock slider control 520. A mobile device user can slide/drag a finger 525 in the direction indicated by the arrows displayed with the unlock slider control 520 (finger motion is in either of the directions indicated by the arrow 522) in order to request the device to present an authentication screen, for example, as shown in FIG. 5B. Although the authentication screen shown in FIG. 5B uses a PIN pad, other techniques can be used, for example, fingerprint or voice recognition. FIG. 5B depicts the mobile device 500 of FIG. 5A after the user slides a finger on the unlock slider control 520. As shown, the mobile device 500 presents an authentication screen 530 including a PIN pad 540 on the touch screen display 510. The user can enter a PIN (e.g., a four-digit sequence of numerals) using a finger 550 on the pin pad 540. If the PIN entered matches a stored PIN, the user is successfully authenticated, and the device can enter a below-lock (unlocked) state); and
the notebook computer continues the lock state if the user input is not authenticated ([0103] At state 740, the mobile device presents an unlock user interface to the user. For example, the user might be prompted to enter a PIN number using the mobile device touch screen, press a key combination (such as "Unlock" and "*"), or provide a finger print or voice recognition. If the mobile device is successfully unlocked, the mobile device state is changed to state 750 or 760, depending on how state 730 was entered. [0104] The user can also enter state 740 directly from the mobile device lock screen state 710. For example, while presenting the lock screen, receiving specified input (e.g., receiving a press on a power button, receiving a press on any key, or other predetermined input) transitions the device via transition 742 to state 740. In this case, if the mobile device is unsuccessful in authenticating a user, the device follows transition 746 back to state 710, remaining in an above-lock mode throughout. If the mobile device successfully authenticates a user, then the device state changes to below-lock mode, and the device transitions to the mobile device normal home screen at state 760).
Bandyopadhyay does not explicitly disclose a setting menu for setting if user's operation on the notebook computer is absent for a predetermined period of time. Aguera-Arcas, in analogous art however, discloses a setting menu for setting if user's operation on the notebook computer is absent for a predetermined period of time ([0025] As discussed, a lock screen is an idle state in which a device or computer functionality is limited solely to a transition out of such lock screen. For example, a mobile device will transition into a lock screen or locked state after a period of inactivity or an input from a user (e.g., pressing a hardware button). Overall, the lock screen is used to secure the device or computer. In one instance, the security is to protect from unintentional or accidental activity on the device or computer. Additionally, the lock screen may require authentication (e.g., password, code, etc.) to prevent unauthorized access to the device or computer. Although the lock screen affords security, it often hinders quick access to applications and data since multiple steps are required to transition from a locked state to an unlocked state and then from a home screen (e.g., application listing) to an application. By enabling at least a subset of functionality of an application to deploy above the lock screen, accessibility can be optimized without compromising security. For example, in addition to a rendering a "slide to unlock" on a lock screen, a "slide to search" can concurrently be rendered to allow a search to be performed (e.g., rendered above the lock and executing the search above the lock). [0059] FIG. 5 is a block diagram illustrating how application functionality can be accessed. A computer, such as a mobile phone, can begin in a sleep, or locked, state 510. Utilizing a first gesture 520 such as a swipe the phone can transition from the locked state 510 to a phone state 522, for example corresponding to a main screen (a.k.a., home screen, idle screen) below the lock screen allowing conventional interaction. Utilizing a second gesture 530 such as a different swipe the phone can transition from the locked state 510 to a search state 532 above the lock screen enabling search queries to be input and results to be returned. Employing a third gesture 540, a transition can occur from the locked state 510 to a content state 544 affording relevant information above the lock screen. Based on implementation, a password 550, or other identifying input, may be required to transition states for example from the lock state 510 to the phone state 522. Additionally, when transitioning from an application implementation above the lock screen to below the lock screen, a password may be required).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the claimed limitations of setting the notebook computer into an inactive state disclosed by Bandyopadhyay to include a setting menu setting for if user's operation on the notebook computer is absent for a predetermined period of time. This modification would have been obvious because a person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated by the desire to provide in addition to a password, a particular gesture that can be employed to unlock a computer such as a horizontal swipe of a finger across the screen or pressing a physical or virtual button as suggested by Aguera-Arcas ([0003-0006]).
As per claim 2: Bandyopadhyay in view of Aguera-Arcas disclose the notebook computer according to claim 1, wherein the user input includes an operation through the activation button (Bandyopadhyay: [024] While at state 950, the device waits until it receives a half press or full press of the camera key. If a half press is detected, the device autofocuses the camera and returns 956 to state 950. If a full press of the camera key is detected, the device captures an image and proceeds 954 to a post-capture mode (not shown) before returning to state 950. If a quick press and release of the power key is detected, the camera and display(s) of the device are turned off, and the device transitions 952 to state 910).
As per claim 3: Bandyopadhyay in view of Aguera-Arcas disclose the notebook computer according to claim 2, the operation through the activation button includes a pressing of the activation button (Bandyopadhyay: [0119] At process block 860, a check is performed to determine if the selected post-capture action is allowed while the device is in an above-lock mode. If so, the method proceeds to process block 870, where the selected action is performed, and then returns to display the camera viewfinder at process block 820. If the post-capture action is not allowed, the method proceeds to process block 880).
As per claim 4: Bandyopadhyay in view of Aguera-Arcas disclose the notebook computer according to claim 2, wherein the user authentication includes fingerprint authentication, wherein the fingerprint authentication comprises:
acquiring information from the user input (Bandyopadhyay [0080] FIG. 5B depicts the mobile device 500 of FIG. 5A after the user slides a finger on the unlock slider control 520. As shown, the mobile device 500 presents an authentication screen 530 including a PIN pad 540 on the touch screen display 510. The user can enter a PIN (e.g., a four-digit sequence of numerals) using a finger 550 on the pin pad 540. If the PIN entered matches a stored PIN, the user is successfully authenticated, and the device can enter a below-lock (unlocked) state; and
comparing the acquired information to pre-stored fingerprint information (Bandyopadhyay [0079] FIG. 5A depicts a mobile device 500 having a touch screen display 510, which is displaying a lock screen 515, including an unlock slider control 520. A mobile device user can slide/drag a finger 525 in the direction indicated by the arrows displayed with the unlock slider control 520 (finger motion is in either of the directions indicated by the arrow 522) in order to request the device to present an authentication screen, for example, as shown in FIG. 5B. Although the authentication screen shown in FIG. 5B uses a PIN pad, other techniques can be used, for example, fingerprint or voice recognition).
As per claim 5: Bandyopadhyay in view of Aguera-Arcas disclose the notebook computer according to claim 4, wherein the pre-stored fingerprint information is stored by registering information and a change of the pre-stored fingerprint information requires predetermined identification information (Bandyopadhyay: [0087] the user might be prompted to enter a PIN number using the mobile device touch screen, press a key combination (such as "Call" and "*"), enter a password, or provide fingerprint or voice data for authentication. In some examples, after receiving authenticating input, the mobile device can proceed directly to the functionality requested at process block 630, instead of presenting the regular device home scree).
As per claim 6: Bandyopadhyay in view of Aguera-Arcas disclose the notebook computer according to claim 5, wherein the notebook computer is configured to display a lock screen when switching from the inactive state to the active state (Bandyopadhyay: [0080] FIG. 5B depicts the mobile device 500 of FIG. 5A after the user slides a finger on the unlock slider control 520. As shown, the mobile device 500 presents an authentication screen 530 including a PIN pad 540 on the touch screen display 510. The user can enter a PIN (e.g., a four-digit sequence of numerals) using a finger 550 on the pin pad 540. If the PIN entered matches a stored PIN, the user is successfully authenticated, and the device can enter a below-lock (unlocked) state).
As per claim 7: Bandyopadhyay in view of Aguera-Arcas disclose the notebook computer according to claim 6, wherein when the notebook computer continues the lock state due to a failure of the user authentication, an alarm message is displayed on the lock screen (Bandyopadhyay: [0106] In some examples, the mobile device also includes a timeout period (e.g., one minute) for one or more of the above-lock states 710, 720, 730, and 740. If the mobile device does not detect user activity before the timeout period expires, the device transitions b ack to the locked and/or sleep state (or other low-power state).
As per claim 8: Bandyopadhyay in view of Aguera-Arcas disclose the notebook computer according to claim 6, wherein the lock screen is displayed on the display when the fingerprint authentication is being performed (Bandyopadhyay: [0087] At process block 640, as a result of the device receiving a request for an unavailable function, an authentication user interface is presented to the user to enter authentication credentials to unlock the device. For example, the user might be prompted to enter a PIN number using the mobile device touch screen, press a key combination (such as "Call" and "*"), enter a password, or provide fingerprint or voice data for authentication).
As per claim 9: Bandyopadhyay in view of Aguera-Arcas disclose the notebook computer according to claim 2, the notebook computer further comprises a camera, and, wherein the user authentication includes a face authentication, wherein the face authentication comprises: activating the camera; recognizing a face of the user with the camera; and comparing the face of the user to pre-stored face information (Aguera-Arcas: [0085] Upon tapping on one of the search results, the mobile device can be unlocked 2130 by providing appropriate authentication information (e.g., password, thumbprint, voice activation, face detection, etc.). This unlock 2130 allows the transition to below the lock screen. Successful entry of the authentication returns detailed results 2140).
As per claim 10: Bandyopadhyay in view of Aguera-Arcas disclose the notebook computer according to claim 9, wherein the pre-stored face information is stored by registering information and a change of the pre-stored face information requires predetermined identification information (Aguera-Arcas: [0069] At reference numeral 840, authentication can be performed in order to display a selected search result. For instance, if a search result is selected via an input, an authentication can be executed, wherein the authentication can be, but is not limited to, a password entry, a personal identification number (PIN) entry, a thumbprint, facial recognition, retina detection, secret question answer, biometric data, among others. At reference numeral 850, the selected search result can be rendered below the lock screen based upon a valid authentication. Stated differently, the locked state is relieved of a secure state in order to enable further application functionality upon selection of a search result and authentication).
As per claim 11: Bandyopadhyay in view of Aguera-Arcas disclose the notebook computer according to claim 10, wherein the notebook computer is configured to display a lock screen when switching from the inactive state to the active state (Bandyopadhyay [0127] if the device is not locked using a PIN or other identification authentication (e.g., a touch-screen mobile device can be unlocked with a key combination press, or by physically opening devices with a clam-shell form factor), then launching an image-capture application will automatically "unlock" the phone. In some examples, where the mobile device is not locked using a PIN or other personal identification, calling the unlock screen API (e.g., when the user swipes to enter the camera roll) will immediately return the user to the corresponding below-lock state, without showing an unlock user interface).
As per claim 12: Bandyopadhyay in view of Aguera-Arcas disclose the notebook computer according to claim 11, wherein when the notebook computer continues the lock state due to a failure of the user authentication, an alarm message is displayed on the lock screen (Bandyopadhyay: [0106] In some examples, the mobile device also includes a timeout period (e.g., one minute) for one or more of the above-lock states 710, 720, 730, and 740. If the mobile device does not detect user activity before the timeout period expires, the device transitions b ack to the locked and/or sleep state (or other low-power state).
As per claim 13: Bandyopadhyay in view of Aguera-Arcas disclose the notebook computer according to claim 11, wherein the lock screen is displayed on the display when the face authentication is being performed (Bandyopadhyay: [0087] At process block 640, as a result of the device receiving a request for an unavailable function, an authentication user interface is presented to the user to enter authentication credentials to unlock the device. For example, the user might be prompted to enter a PIN number using the mobile device touch screen, press a key combination (such as "Call" and "*"), enter a password, or provide fingerprint or voice data for authentication).
As per claim 14: Bandyopadhyay in view of Aguera-Arcas disclose the notebook computer according to claim 2, the notebook computer further comprises a camera, and, wherein the user authentication includes an iris authentication, wherein the iris authentication comprises: activating the camera; recognizing an iris of the user with the camera; and comparing the iris of the user to pre-stored iris information (Aguera-Arcas [0033] It is to be appreciated that the invocation component 150 can include any suitable authentication techniques such as, but not limited to, a password entry, a personal identification number (PIN) entry, a thumbprint, facial recognition, retina detection, secret question answer, biometric data, among others).
As per claim 15: Bandyopadhyay in view of Aguera-Arcas disclose the notebook computer according to claim 14, wherein the pre-stored iris information is stored by registering information and a change of the pre-stored iris information requires predetermined identification information (Aguera-Arcas [0069] At reference numeral 840, authentication can be performed in order to display a selected search result. For instance, if a search result is selected via an input, an authentication can be executed, wherein the authentication can be, but is not limited to, a password entry, a personal identification number (PIN) entry, a thumbprint, facial recognition, retina detection, secret question answer, biometric data, among others. At reference numeral 850, the selected search result can be rendered below the lock screen based upon a valid authentication. Stated differently, the locked state is relieved of a secure state in order to enable further application functionality upon selection of a search result and authentication).
As per claim 16: Bandyopadhyay in view of Aguera-Arcas disclose the notebook computer according to claim 15, wherein the notebook computer is configured to display a lock screen when switching from the inactive state to the active state (Bandyopadhyay [0125] Other state transitions can be realized from state 910 using the power key. For example, if a quick press and release of the power key is detected, the device turns the display on and transitions 962 to state 960. At state 960, the camera display is on, but the device is locked and its camera is turned off. If a full press of the camera key is detected, the device launches the camera and transitions 968 to state 950. Alternatively, if a quick press and release of the power key is detected, the display is turned off, and the device transitions 964 to state 910, where the image-capture module and/or image-capture applications are put into sleep mode).
As per claim 17: Bandyopadhyay in view of Aguera-Arcas disclose the notebook computer according to claim 16, wherein when the notebook computer continues the lock state due to a failure of the user authentication, an alarm message is displayed on the lock screen (Bandyopadhyay [0106] In some examples, the mobile device also includes a timeout period (e.g., one minute) for one or more of the above-lock states 710, 720, 730, and 740. If the mobile device does not detect user activity before the timeout period expires, the device transitions b ack to the locked and/or sleep state (or other low-power state).
As per claim 18: Bandyopadhyay in view of Aguera-Arcas disclose the notebook computer according to claim 16, wherein the lock screen is displayed on the display when the iris authentication is being performed (Aguera-Arcas [0033] It is to be appreciated that the invocation component 150 can include any suitable authentication techniques such as, but not limited to, a password entry, a personal identification number (PIN) entry, a thumbprint, facial recognition, retina detection, secret question answer, biometric data, among others).
As per claim 19: Bandyopadhyay in view of Aguera-Arcas disclose the notebook computer according to claim 1, wherein the activation button comprises a sub-display on the activation button (Aguera-Arcas [0073] FIG. 11 is a flow chart diagram of a method 1100 of deploying a portion of an application while in an idle and locked state. At reference numeral 1110, at least a portion of an application can be acquired. At reference numeral 1120, at least a subset of functionality of the application can be deployed above a lock screen (e.g., while in a locked state). At reference numeral 1130, data can be rendered for the portion of the application above the lock screen. Stated differently, data can be delivered and displayed independent of a locked state of a device or computer. At reference numeral 1140, the subset of the functionality can be executed above the lock screen based upon a gesture. For example, a gesture can be detected that triggers execution of a subset of functionality for the application, wherein such gesture and functionality are employed above the lock screen).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See the notice of reference cited in form PTO-892 for additional prior art.
Nagata US 20050113071 A1 discuses a mobile telephone, when being folded, is set in a lock state by an opening/closing detection and lock mechanism and then a control circuit stops supply of an electric power to a fingerprint authentication unit. In this state, upon detection of an incoming call from an external apparatus, the control circuit restarts the supply of the electric power to the fingerprint authentication unit, and when a user is authenticated as a legitimate user by the fingerprint authentication unit, instructs the opening/closing detection and lock mechanism to carry out an unlocking operation.
Azar US 20060288234 A1 discuses a facial biometric recognition system and method for providing security for an electronic device includes a digital camera having a field of view for providing facial biometric images at a predetermined interval from a user of the electronic device. A processor is associated with the electronic device for comparing the facial biometric images to biometric image data stored in a database. The facial biometric images are continuously compared to those stored in the database or to facial image tracking for providing substantially continuous authentication when the user physically moves about the camera's field of view. The invention may be used with devices such as a personal computer, mobile telephone, personal digital assistant or gaming device and provides an efficient means by which to secure information on the device without the need for complex biometric security devices.
Contact Information
`If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, LINGLAN EDWARDS can be reached at (571) 270-5440. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/TECHANE GERGISO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2408