DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 7-13, and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Frederick et al. (10,071,775) in view of Gutierrez (US 2019/0084506), further in view of Lambert et al. (US 2014/0167438).
Frederick et al. discloses a covering (220) for a wall of a vehicle cargo bed comprising a first portion (222) structured to be attached to a top portion (15c) of the wall (15) and a second portion (224) rotatably connected to the first portion (222), as shown in Figure 3. The first portion (222) has a first surface (222b) and a second surface configured to face the top portion (15c) of the wall (15) when the first portion (222) is attached to the top portion of the wall, as shown in Figure 3. The second portion (224) has a first surface (224b), as shown in Figure 3. The second portion (224) rotates between a first orientation in which the second portion first surface (224b) resided directly opposite the first portion first surface (222b) and faces in a first direction (D1) toward the first portion first surface (222b), as shown in Figure 3, and a second orientation in which the second portion first surface (224b) faces in a second direction (D2) opposite the first direction, as shown in Figure 3.
In reference to claims 4 and 13, a cavity is disposed in the first portion, as shown in Figure 3. The cavity is spaced apart from the first surface (222b) of the first portion (222), as shown in Figure 3. The second portion (224) is configured to cover the cavity in the first orientation, as shown in Figure 3.
In reference to claim 7, the second portion first surface (224b) is structured to be substantially coplanar with the first portion first portion (222b) when the second portion (224) is in the second orientation, as shown in Figure 3.
In reference to claim 8, the second portion first surface (224b) is flat and the first portion first surface (222b) is flat, as shown in Figure 3. The second portion first surface (224b) is structured to be substantially coplanar with the first portion first surface (222b) when the second portion is in the second orientation, as shown in Figure 3.
In reference to claims 10 and 17, the covering (220) is mounted on a top portion (15c) of the wall (15), as shown in Figure 3. The wall (15) defines a portion of a cargo bed (12) of a vehicle (10), as shown in Figures 1 and 3. The remaining limitations duplicate the limitations of claim 1.
However, Frederick et al. does not disclose the charging area and charging unit.
Gutierrez teaches providing chargers (26) in a top portion of a cargo bed wall, as shown in Figures 1 and 2.
Lambert et al. teaches forming a charger such that a first surface (18) provides a charging area configured to receive a rechargeable device (45), as shown in Figures 1-7. A charging unit (46) is disposed directly beneath the charging area for charging the rechargeable device (45) in response to the rechargeable device (45) being placed on the charging area of the first surface, as shown in Figures 1-7.
In reference to claims 2, 11, and 19, the charging area includes a cavity formed in the first surface (18), as shown in Figure 3.
In reference to claims 3, 12, and 19, the charging area is at least partially delineated by a ridge extending from the first surface, as shown in Figure 3.
In reference to claims 9 and 18, the charging unit (46) is a non-contact charger, as disclosed in paragraph [0050].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to:
provide a charging system to the covering of Frederick et al., as taught by Gutierrez, with a reasonable expectation for success to provide an additional capability to the structure to improve usefulness to people in and around the vehicle cargo bed; and,
form the charging system as a charging area on the first surface of the first portion of Frederick et al. and a charging unit disposed between the top portion of the wall and the second surface directly beneath the charging area, as taught by Lambert et al., with a reasonable expectation for success to charge a phone without needing a charging cord to simplify charging and improve user satisfaction.
Claims 5 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of references, as applied to claims 1 and 10, in view of Henderson et al. (7,431,368).
Frederick et al., as modified, does not disclose the seal.
Henderson et al. teaches providing a seal (16) applied to a first surface of a side wall structure such that when a closure (18) is closed over the first surface, a seal is created to prevent dust and moisture intrusion, as shown in Figure 1 and disclosed on lines 28-40 of column 5.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a seal on the first portion first surface and surrounding the charging area of Frederick et al., as modified, as taught by Henderson, with a reasonable expectation for success to prevent dust and moisture intrusion to prevent damage to the charging area and the rechargeable device.
Claims 6, 15, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of references, as applied to claims 1 and 10, in view of Bowles et al. (US 2023/0411998).
Frederick et al., as modified, does not disclose the seal.
Bowles et al. teaches providing a seal between a charging unit (10) and a surrounding surface (30) to prevent damage from water, as disclosed in paragraph [0035].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a seal extending between and to the first portion second surface and the top portion of the wall and surrounding the charging unit of Frederick et al., as modified, as taught by Bowles et al., with a reasonable expectation for success to protect the charging unit from water damage.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of references, as applied to claim 15, in view of Wippler (US 2021/0273476).
Frederick et al., as twice modified, does not disclose the cooling hole.
Wippler teaches providing cooling holes (202) in a surface in communication with a charging unit (206) in a charging unit cavity, as shown in Figures 1-2F.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide cooling holes in the top portion of the wall in fluid communication with the charging unit cavity of Frederick et al., as twice modified, as taught by Wippler, with a reasonable expectation for success to provide cooling to the charging unit for optimum performance.
GREGORY A. BLANKENSHIP
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3612
/GREGORY A BLANKENSHIP/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3612 July 24, 2026