DETAILED ACTION
This action is response to the application filed on 10/30/2024. Claims 1-20 are pending and herein considered.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Oath/Declaration
The receipt of oath/declaration is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS), submitted on 10/30/2024, 04/24/2025 and 06/23/2025, are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CRR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings Figures 2A and 4A are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because there is a lack of descriptive text legends for Figures 2A and 4A (i.e. In Figure 2A; a document table 201; document cover 202; print sheet discharge port 204, etc… which are not described in the description of Figures 2A and 4A). Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d).
In addition to Replacement Sheets containing the corrected drawing figure(s), applicants are required to submit a marked-up copy of each Replacement Sheet including annotations indicating the changes made to the previous version. The marked-up copy must be clearly labeled as “Annotated Sheets” and must be presented in the amendment or remarks section that explains the change(s) to the drawings. See 37 CFR 1.121(d)(1). Failure to timely submit the proposed drawing and marked-up copy will result in the abandonment of the application.
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
(f) ELEMENT IN CLAIM FOR A COMBINATION.—An element in a claim for a combination may be expressed as a means or step for performing a specified function without the recital of structure, material, or acts in support thereof, and such claim shall be construed to cover the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification and equivalents thereof.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: Claims limitation “a changing unit configured to change”, “a control unit configured to perform”, “the control unit performs control”, “a receiving unit configured to receive” and “a measuring unit configured to measure”, “a transmitting unit configured to transmit” and “a configured to be connect”, in claims 1-9.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 10, 11, 17, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Takeuchi (U.S 2020/0137568).
For claim 1:
Takeuchi discloses an electronic apparatus comprising at least one memory and at least one processor which function (see Takeuchi, at least paragraph [0020]-[0023]; device comprises memory and processor) as:
a changing unit configured to change an access point serving as a connection destination based on a change request of an access point serving as a connection destination received from a connected access point function (see Takeuchi, at least Figure 7; change a connection received from a connected access point function); and a control unit configured to perform control so that the changing unit is prevented from changing the access point serving as the connection destination to a second access point as a connection destination after the change (see Takeuchi, at least paragraph [0004]; the station changes the access point to which it is connected, it is not preferable that the station is connected to an access point having lower security than the first access point and [0096]; the Wi-Fi connection is established between the printer 10 and the AP establishment of a Wi-Fi connection having a security level lower than the security level of the Wi-Fi connection with the AP 6 can be prevented between the printer 10 and the AP 7), the second access point being a candidate for a change destination based on the change request and configured to be connected using a second authentication method different in type from a first authentication method used to connect to a first access point connected before the change of the connection destination (see Takeuchi, at least Figure 8; Obtain Authentication Scheme and Encryption S12 Scheme in Scheme Information and Obtained Authentication Scheme is ranked the Same as or Higher than Current Authentication Scheme? (Enterprise> Personal (DPP > PSK)).
For claim 10:
Takeuchi further discloses wherein the type of the first authentication method is one of
a Simultaneous Authentication of Equals (SAE) method,
a Pre Shared Key (PSK) method,
an Extensible Authentication Protocol (EAP) method, and
an OPEN method, and the type of the second authentication method is another one of the SAE method, the PSK method, the EAP method, and the OPEN method different from the type of the first authentication method (see Takeuchi, at least paragraph [0024]-[0025]; EAP, PSK, SAE).
For claim 11:
Takeuchi further discloses wherein the type of the first authentication method is one of personal and enterprise, and the type of the second authentication method is another one of personal and enterprise (see Takeuchi, at least paragraph [0024]; the authentication schemes are classified into enterprise-type authentication scheme and personal-type authentication scheme).
For claim 17:
Takeuchi further discloses a printing unit configured to execute a printing process based on print data received via an access point (see Takeuchi, at least paragraph [0104]; the process of causing the print executing unit 18 to execute print in accordance with the print data representing the notification image is an example of “notification process).
For claim 19:
For claim 19, claim 19 is directed to a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing one or more programs configured to cause one or more computers to function, which has similar scope as claim 1. Therefore, claim 19 remains un-patentable for the same reasons.
For claim 20:
For claim 20, claim 20 is directed to a method, which has similar scope as claim 1. Therefore, claim 20 remains un-patentable for the same reasons.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over anticipated Takeuchi (U.S 2020/0137568) in view of Li et al. (U.S 2018/0014165).
For claim 14:
In addition to rejection in claim 14, Takeuchi does not explicitly disclose wherein the electronic apparatus performs connection to an access point and a process compliant with an IEEE 802.11ax standard.
Li, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, discloses what Takeuchi fails: the communication technique may be used during wireless communication between electronic devices in accordance with a communication protocol, such as: an IEEE 802.11 standard (which is sometimes referred to as Wi-Fi). For example, the communication technique may be used with IEEE 802.1lax (see Li, at least paragraph [0047]; [0049]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious statement before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a system comprises a method as taught by Li. The motivation for doing this is to improve network security and the mobile node is prevented from inadvertently roaming to rogue access point.
For claim 15:
In addition to rejection in claim 15, Takeuchi does not explicitly disclose wherein the electronic apparatus performs at least one of a process compliant with Orthogonal Frequency-Division Multiple Access (OFDMA) and a process compliant with Target Wake Time (TWT).
Li, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, discloses what Takeuchi fails: communication operations performed with the electronic device, during a target wake-up time (TWT) window or at times other than a TWT window and OFDMA allocation parameters), (electronic device 4, electronic device 5, OFDMA allocation parameters), and (electronic device 6, single user) (see Li, at least paragraph [0128]-[0131]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious statement before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a system comprises a method as taught by Li. The motivation for doing this is to improve coexistence with other systems operating in bands where trigger-based access is expected to result in improved communication performance.
Claims 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over anticipated Takeuchi (U.S 2020/0137568) in view of IEEE: LAN/MAN Standards Committee of the IEEE Computer Society, IEEE P802.11-REVme™/D4.1, Draft Standard for Information Technology-Telecommunications and Information Exchange between Systems, Local and Metropolitan Area Networks-Specific Requirements, Part 11: Wireless LAN Medium Access Control (MAC) and Physical Layer (PHY) Specifications, October 2023, paragraphs 10.46, 12.12.2, and 27.3.1.2; hereinafter “IEEE P802.11-REVme™/D4.1”.
For claim 16:
In addition to rejection in claim 16, Takeuchi does not explicitly disclose wherein the electronic apparatus changes the connection destination to an access point using a 6 GHz frequency band by changing the connection destination based on the change request.
IEEE P802.11-REVme™/D4.1, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, discloses what Takeuchi fails: using a 6 GHz frequency band (see IEEE P802.11-REVme™/D4.1, at least section 12.12.2 Security constraints in the 6 GHz band).
Therefore, it would have been obvious statement before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a system comprises a method as taught by IEEE P802.11-REVme™/D4.1. The motivation for doing this is to improve coexistence with other systems operating in bands.
Claims 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over anticipated Takeuchi (U.S 2020/0137568) in view of Sun et al. (CA-3116393-A1).
For claim 18:
In addition to rejection in claim 18, Takeuchi does not explicitly disclosewherein the control unit performs control based on an authentication method of the candidate access point.
Sun, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, discloses what Takeuchi fails: the control node may alternatively directly use the plurality of neighboring APs as a plurality of candidate second APs of the terminal (see Sun, at least paragraph [0132]; [0135]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious statement before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a system comprises a method as taught by Sun. The motivation for doing this is to improve experience of a terminal user.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-9 and 12-13 would be allowable if rewritten in all independents form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and if rewritten or amended to overcome any objection claims set forth in this Office action.
Conclusion
The prior arts made or recorded and not relied upon are considered pertinent to applicant's disclosures. Cho et al. (U.S 2017/0164414), discloses using a management device to change an access point to which a station is connected from a first access point to a second access point having higher security than the first access point.
Tomeba et al. (U.S 2018/0242358), discloses subsequently to the authentication procedure, the STA transmits a connection request frame to the AP to perform the connection procedure. Upon reception of the connection request frame, the AP determines whether or not to allow connection of the STA and transmits a connection response frame to notify whether or not to allow the connection.
Anantha et al. (U.S 2020/0162917), discloses the AP can prevent transmission of confirmation requests to unintended primary guest devices.
Otake et al. (U.S 9,098,716), discloses authentication system for an instruction processing apparatus includes first and second authentication portions each for performing user authentication at the time of using the instruction processing apparatus.
/LAN-HUONG TRUONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2464
09/30/2026