DETAILED ACTION
Internet/E-mail Communication
In order to permit communication regarding the instant application via email, Applicant is invited to file form PTO/SB/439 (Authorization for Internet Communications) or include the following statement in a filed document or remarks of a filed response (see MPEP 502.03 II):
Recognizing that Internet communications are not secure, I hereby authorize the USPTO to communicate with the undersigned and practitioners in accordance with 37 CFR 1.33 and 37 CFR 1.34 concerning any subject matter of this application by video conferencing, instant messaging, or electronic mail. I understand that a copy of these communications will be made of record in the application file.
If such authorization is provided, please include an email address in the remarks of a filed response. The examiner’s e-mail address is Christopher.Legendre@uspto.gov.
Restriction
Applicant's election without traverse of Invention II and with traverse of Species 1 in the reply filed on 05 August 2026 is acknowledged. After reconsideration, the Office revises the subcombination of Invention I to include claims 7-14 and the subcombination of Invention II to include claims 15-20, and wherein all of claims 2-6 are considered to be grouped with the combination claim of claim 1. Accordingly, claims 1-6 and 15-20 are considered to be elected, and claims 7-14 are withdrawn.
Reconsideration of the restriction requirement has been made in light of the non-applicability of prior art to claim 1. The Office notes that the non-applicability of prior art to claim 1 is a result of features pertaining to the combination, not features pertaining exclusively to the non-elected subcombination. In light of this finding, and since the subcombination of Invention I has utility other than in the disclosed combination, the restriction requirement is maintained.
Applicant’s arguments/remarks filed 05 August 2026 challenging the restriction requirement(s) have been fully considered:
-“The Applicant takes this opportunity to point out that, if indeed independent claim 15 is allowable, then, as Applicant understands, all claims with the limitations of claim 15 as allowed should also be allowable” - The Office agrees with this statement, but notes that claim 15 has not been found to be allowable (see below prior art rejections).
-“Claim 1 instead appears to be a combination claim… and thus is clearly not a linking claim” - The Office agrees and hereby revises the restriction requirement to remove the linking claim status of claim 1. Reference is made to MPEP 806.05(d) supporting a restriction between subcombination claims where a combination claim is present.
-“Applicant’s understanding that US patent law permits a species election requirement only when the claims describe patentably distinct features of the various alleged species” - The Office refers to MPEP 806.04(e) stating “Claims are definitions or descriptions of inventions. Claims themselves are never species” and “Species always refer to the different embodiments of the invention” and refers to MPEP 809.02(a) indicating that species identification is based on the disclosure. The absence of claims directed towards particular species means that all claims are generic - in such a case (which is not the instant case), it is still proper to impose an election of species in order to preempt the claiming of patentably distinct species.
-“See also, 37 CFR 1.141(a) and 146, which each highlight that it is the claims that must be considered in determining the need for an election of species requirement” - The Office respectfully notes that these sections describe the treatment/consideration of the species claims, not that species are based on the claims.
-“Simply, the differences between the three alleged species are merely shape-related (specifically, related to the angle of the two ducts at the upper end); such differences are not articulated in the claims, and do not even lend patentable distinction between any of such species relative to another” - The Office considers the above statement to be an admission that the species are obvious variants of each other. Accordingly, the species restriction is withdrawn, and it is noted that if one of the species is found unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other species (see FP 8.01 in MPEP 809.02(a)).
The restriction is made FINAL.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 30 October 2024 was filed before the mailing date of the first action on the merits. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the IDS is hereby considered.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
In par. [0100], “the second end of the air outgoing-flow duct being wholly within the second end of the air incoming-flow duct” should be changed to --the second end of the air outgoing-flow duct being wholly outside of the second end of the air incoming-flow duct-- (in accordance with par. [0072] in the amendments filed 05 August 2026).
Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: “186” (Figure 30).
The drawings are objected to for the following informalities:
-in Figure 29 (see drawings filed 05 August 2026), the lead-line for reference character “203” does not point to “second end of air incoming flow duct”;
-“first end of air outgoing-flow duct” should be labelled (using a reference character) in Figure 29 or 30;
-“second end of air outgoing-flow duct” should be labelled (using a reference character) in Figure 29 or 30;
-“first end of exhaust outgoing-flow duct” should be labelled (using a reference character) in Figure 29 or 30;
-“second end of exhaust outgoing-flow duct” should be labelled (using a reference character) in Figure 29 or 30;
-in Figure 30, “191” should be changed to --179-- (see Figure 29 showing the same portion being labeled as “179”; see Figure 32 showing the extent of distributor 191);
-in Figure 30, “212” should be changed to --180-- (see Figure 29 showing the same portion being labeled as “180”; see Figure 34 showing the extent of diffuser 212);
-in Figure 34, “202” should be changed to --207--.
Claim Interpretation
There are no limitations deemed to invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6 and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
In claim 1, the limitation recited as “a turbine assembly comprising:… an exhaust incoming-flow duct… an exhaust outgoing-flow duct” renders the claim indefinite. According to MPEP 2173.03, a claim, although clear on its face, may also be indefinite when a conflict or inconsistency between the claimed subject matter and the specification disclosure renders the scope of the claim uncertain as inconsistency with the specification disclosure or prior art teachings may make an otherwise definite claim take on an unreasonable degree of uncertainty. In this instance, Figures 29, 30, and 32 indicate that exhaust incoming-flow duct 183 and exhaust outgoing-flow duct 188 are separate and distinct from turbine assembly 179. To overcome this rejection, the Office suggests changing the instances of “turbine assembly 179” to --turbine section 179-- in the specification. Due to dependency, this rejection also applies to claims 2-6.
In claim 1, the limitation recited as “an exhaust incoming-flow duct configured… to deliver the exhaust gases at a second end of the exhaust incoming-flow duct to the turbine wheel in an annular flow-path” renders the claim indefinite. According to MPEP 2173.03, a claim, although clear on its face, may also be indefinite when a conflict or inconsistency between the claimed subject matter and the specification disclosure renders the scope of the claim uncertain as inconsistency with the specification disclosure or prior art teachings may make an otherwise definite claim take on an unreasonable degree of uncertainty. In this instance, Figures 29, 30, and 32 indicate that second end 187 of exhaust incoming-flow duct 183 and/or annular flow-path 189 is substantially axially offset from turbine wheel 182 and, thus, does not “deliver the exhaust gases… to the turbine wheel… in an annular flow-path”. To overcome this rejection, the Office suggests amending the claim to accurately describe the disclosed structural relationships. Due to dependency, this rejection also applies to claims 2-6.
In claim 1, the limitation recited as “the turbine wheel having turbine blades configured to… discharge the exhaust gases along an exhaust outgoing-flow duct” renders the claim indefinite. According to MPEP 2173.03, a claim, although clear on its face, may also be indefinite when a conflict or inconsistency between the claimed subject matter and the specification disclosure renders the scope of the claim uncertain as inconsistency with the specification disclosure or prior art teachings may make an otherwise definite claim take on an unreasonable degree of uncertainty. In this instance, Figures 29, 30, and 32 indicate that turbine wheel 182 is substantially axially offset from exhaust outgoing-flow duct 188 and, thus, does not “discharge the exhaust gases along an exhaust outgoing-flow duct”. To overcome this rejection, the Office suggests amending the claim to accurately describe the disclosed structural relationships. Due to dependency, this rejection also applies to claims 2-6.
In claim 1, the limitation recited as “a compressor assembly comprising:… an incoming-flow duct… an air outgoing-flow duct” renders the claim indefinite. According to MPEP 2173.03, a claim, although clear on its face, may also be indefinite when a conflict or inconsistency between the claimed subject matter and the specification disclosure renders the scope of the claim uncertain as inconsistency with the specification disclosure or prior art teachings may make an otherwise definite claim take on an unreasonable degree of uncertainty. In this instance, Figures 29, 30, and 34 indicate that air incoming-flow duct 199 and air outgoing-flow duct 206 are separate and distinct from compressor assembly 180. To overcome this rejection, the Office suggests changing the instances of “compressor assembly 180” to --compressor section 180-- in the specification. Due to identical instance, this rejection also applies to claims 15 and 18-20. Due to dependency, this rejection also applies to claims 2-6 and 16-20.
In claim 1, the limitation recited as “an air incoming-flow duct configured… to deliver the air at a second end of the air incoming-flow duct to the impeller wheel” renders the claim indefinite. According to MPEP 2173.03, a claim, although clear on its face, may also be indefinite when a conflict or inconsistency between the claimed subject matter and the specification disclosure renders the scope of the claim uncertain as inconsistency with the specification disclosure or prior art teachings may make an otherwise definite claim take on an unreasonable degree of uncertainty. In this instance, Figures 30 and 34 indicate that second end 203 of air-incoming flow duct 199 is substantially axially offset from impeller wheel 201 and, thus, does not “deliver the air… to the impeller wheel”. To overcome this rejection, the Office suggests amending the claim to accurately describe the disclosed structural relationships. Due to an identical instance, this rejection also applies to claim 15. Due to dependency, this rejection also applies to claims 2-6 and 16-20.
In claim 1, the limitation recited as “the impeller wheel having impeller blades configured to… discharge the air along an air outgoing-flow duct in an annular flow-path” renders the claim indefinite. According to MPEP 2173.03, a claim, although clear on its face, may also be indefinite when a conflict or inconsistency between the claimed subject matter and the specification disclosure renders the scope of the claim uncertain as inconsistency with the specification disclosure or prior art teachings may make an otherwise definite claim take on an unreasonable degree of uncertainty. In this instance, Figures 29, 30, and 34 indicate that impeller wheel 201 is substantially axially offset from air outgoing-flow duct 206 and/or annular flow path portion 208 and, thus, does not “discharge the air along an air outgoing-flow duct in an annular flow path”. To overcome this rejection, the Office suggests amending the claim to accurately describe the disclosed structural relationships. Due to an identical instance, this rejection also applies to claim 15. Due to dependency, this rejection also applies to claims 2-6 and 16-20.
In claim 15, the limitation recited as “the impeller wheel being coupled to an input shaft” renders the claim indefinite. According to MPEP 2173.04, a claim is indefinite when the boundaries of the protected subject matter are not clearly delineated and the scope is unclear. In this instance, “input shaft” is positively recited, and the disclosure indicates that shaft 181 is a feature of turbocharger assembly 200 and/or outside the scope of compressor assembly 180 (notes: the scope of turbocharger assembly 200 extends beyond the scope of compressor assembly 180; see Figure 29 showing the scope of compressor assembly 180 as exclusive of shaft 181; see Figure 34 showing the scope of compressor assembly 180 as exclusive of shaft 181). To overcome this rejection, the Office suggests changing the instances of “compressor assembly 180” to --compressor section 180-- in the specification. Due to dependency, this rejection also applies to claims 16-20.
In claim 16, the limitation recited as “further comprising an air filter” renders the claim indefinite. According to MPEP 2173.04, a claim is indefinite when the boundaries of the protected subject matter are not clearly delineated and the scope is unclear. In this instance, the disclosure indicates that air filter 215 is outside the scope of compressor assembly 180 (notes: see Figure 29 showing the scope of compressor assembly 180; see Figure 34 showing the scope of compressor assembly 180). To overcome this rejection, the Office suggests changing the instances of “compressor assembly 180” to --compressor section 180-- in the specification.
In claim 16, the limitation recited as “an air filter at the first end of the air incoming-flow duct” (emphasis added) renders the claim indefinite. According to MPEP 2173.03, a claim, although clear on its face, may also be indefinite when a conflict or inconsistency between the claimed subject matter and the specification disclosure renders the scope of the claim uncertain as inconsistency with the specification disclosure or prior art teachings may make an otherwise definite claim take on an unreasonable degree of uncertainty. In this instance, Figures 29 and 30 indicate that air filter 215 is substantially axially offset from first end 202 of the air incoming-flow duct 199. To overcome this rejection, the Office suggests changing “at” to --upstream of--.
In claim 17, the limitation recited as “a motor coupled to the shaft” renders the claim indefinite. According to MPEP 2173.04, a claim is indefinite when the boundaries of the protected subject matter are not clearly delineated and the scope is unclear. In this instance, the disclosure (see par. [0076]) indicates that motor 217 is a feature of turbocharger assembly 200 and/or outside the scope of compressor assembly 180 (notes: the scope of turbocharger assembly 200 extends beyond the scope of compressor assembly 180; see Figure 29 showing the scope of compressor assembly 180; see Figure 34 showing the scope of compressor assembly 180). To overcome this rejection, the Office suggests changing the instances of “compressor assembly 180” to --compressor section 180-- in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 15 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Obermeyer et al. (US 11,300,093 - hereafter referred to as Obermeyer; cited in an IDS).
In reference to claim 15 (as far as it is clear and definite)
Obermeyer discloses:
A compressor assembly (see Figures 5 and 5b)(note: runner 27 can be used as a pump or a turbine) for a turbocharger (When reading the preamble in the context of the entire claim, the recitation “for a turbocharger” is not limiting because the body of the claim describes a complete invention and the language recited solely in the preamble does not provide any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention's limitations. Thus, the preamble of the claim(s) is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction. See Pitney Bowes, Inc. v. Hewlett-Packard Co., 182 F.3d 1298, 1305, 51 USPQ2d 1161, 1165 (Fed. Cir. 1999). See MPEP § 2111.02.), the compressor assembly comprising:
an impeller wheel (27) configured to rotate about an axis of rotation, the impeller wheel being coupled to an input shaft (see Figure 5b) configured to be driven by a turbine wheel (note: the recitation configured to be driven by a turbine wheel is regarded as a statement of intended use since turbine wheel is outside the scope of the invention characterized as A compressor assembly);
an air incoming-flow duct (29) configured to receive air (note: the recitation of air is regarded as a statement of intended use that does not structurally limit the claimed apparatus) at a first end of the air incoming-flow duct and to deliver the air at a second end of the air incoming-flow duct to the impeller wheel in a first direction that is substantially parallel (see Figure 5b) to the axis of rotation; and
the impeller wheel having impeller blades (see Figure 5b) configured to accept the air from the air incoming-flow duct, compress and redirect the air, and discharge the air along an air outgoing-flow duct (i.e., the duct extending downstream, in the flow direction, of the outlet of runner 27) in an annular flow-path (i.e., the flow-path extending, in the flow direction, from the outlet of runner 27) in a second direction that is substantially opposite (see Figure 5b) to the first direction, the annular flow-path being at (see Figure 5b) an annular-flow-path portion (note: the identified air outgoing-flow duct is annular - see Figure 5b) of the air outgoing-flow duct, the air incoming-flow duct passing radially inside (see Figure 5b) of an inner boundary of the annular-flow-path portion of the air outgoing-flow duct.
In reference to claim 17 (as far as it is clear and definite)
Obermeyer discloses:
The compressor assembly of claim 15, further comprising a motor (8 - Figure 5a)(note: motor-generator 8 can be used as a motor or a generator) coupled to the shaft, the motor configured to rotate the shaft and, thereby, rotate the impeller wheel.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Derderian (US 3,365,892).
In reference to claim 15 (as far as it is clear and definite)
Derderian discloses:
A compressor assembly (see Figure 5 and/or Figure 6) for a turbocharger, the compressor assembly comprising:
an impeller wheel (74 and/or 81) configured to rotate about an axis of rotation, the impeller wheel being coupled to an input shaft (78 and/or 85) configured to be driven by a turbine wheel (76 and/or 83)(note: although addressed by the instant reference, it is noted that the recitation configured to be driven by a turbine wheel can also be regarded as a statement of intended use since turbine wheel is outside the scope of the invention characterized as A compressor assembly);
an air incoming-flow duct (i.e., the portion of housing 19 that is upstream of blades 75 - Figures 3 and 5; i.e., the portion of housing 45 that is upstream of blades 85 - see Figures 4 and 6) configured to receive air at a first end (20 and/or 46) of the air incoming-flow duct and to deliver the air at a second end (at 30 and/or 58) of the air incoming-flow duct to the impeller wheel in a first direction that is substantially parallel (see Figures 3, 4, 5, and 6) to the axis of rotation; and
the impeller wheel having impeller blades (75 and/or 82) configured to accept the air from the air incoming-flow duct, compress and redirect the air, and discharge the air along an air outgoing-flow duct (i.e., the duct including vanes 34 or 62) in an annular flow-path (i.e., the flow-path extending, in the flow direction, from the trailing edges of the compressor blades 75 and/or 82)(note that manifolds 35 and 63 are annular) in a second direction that is substantially opposite (see Figures 3 and 5 and/or Figures 4 and 6) to the first direction, the annular flow-path being at (see Figure 5 and/or 6) an annular-flow-path portion (note: the identified air outgoing-flow duct is annular - see Figure 5 and/or 6) of the air outgoing-flow duct, the air incoming-flow duct passing radially inside (see Figures 3 and 5 and/or Figures 4 and 6) of an inner boundary (i.e., the portion of housing 19 that carries vanes 34 - Figures 3 and 5; the portion of housing 45 that carries vanes 62 - Figures 4 and 6) of the annular-flow-path portion of the air outgoing-flow duct.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Derderian in view of Takahashi et al. (US 9,644,642 - hereafter referred to as Takahashi).
In reference to claim 16 (as far as it is clear and definite)
Derderian discloses:
The compressor assembly of claim 15.
Derderian does not disclose:
further comprising an air filter at the first end of the air incoming-flow duct.
Takahashi discloses:
a compressor comprising an air filter (see col.4:ll.1-3) at an intake thereof.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the assembly of Derderian to include an air filter at the intake / first end of the air incoming-flow duct, as disclosed by Takahashi, for the purpose of preventing and/or limiting damage/wear thereof.
Examiner’s Comment
Although claims 1-6 and 18-20 are not rejected over prior art, patentability cannot be determined in light of the 35 U.S.C. 112 scope issues described above. In regards to claim 1 (as far as it is clear and definite), it is noted that the prior art neither discloses nor renders obvious a turbocharger comprising a turbine assembly in which the flow into and out of the turbine wheel is purely axial and a compressor assembly in which the flow into and out the compressor wheel is purely axial in combination with the details of “exhaust incoming-flow duct”, “exhaust outgoing-flow duct”, “air incoming-flow duct”, and “air outgoing-flow duct”. In regards to claim 18, it is noted that the prior art does not disclose the recited features.
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER R LEGENDRE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3711