Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 7-8, 10-13, 16-17 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ly et al (US 20240267844), hereinafter referred to as Ly.
Regarding claim 1, Ly teaches a method comprising:
receiving, from a network node by a UE in idle or inactive mode, a Synchronization Signal Block (SSB) [see Ly figs. 1 and 4, paragraph 0054, 0057, 0096-0097, 0102, 105 where a network entity 105 transmits SSB 210 and is received by UE 115. Note, UEe 115 is in an inactive/sleep mode since is receives information signaling LP-SS or LP-WUS];
transmitting, to the network node by the UE in idle or inactive mode, a wake-up signal (WUS) in response to the SSB [Based on the information obtaining from signaling, the UE 115 may transmit a C-WUS to the network entity 105 requesting the network entity to transition to an active state. Clearly teaching that after receiving SSB and other signaling, the UE in an inactive mode transmits WUS to a network entity requesting to wake up into an active mode, see Ly paragraphs 0055, 0092-0094, 0122, fig. 1 and 4]] ; and
receiving an on-demand message via a second SSB or a System Information Block Type 1 (SIB1) within a time window in a search space [see Ly paragraph 0111-0115, where UE monitors for SSBs/SIBs from the network entity after wake-up signaling (C-WUS) during duration 340 (time window/timer)].
Regarding claim 11, Ly teaches in fig. 1 , 4-6, 8, 0059, a user equipment (UE) 115 comprising: a processing circuit, the processing circuit being configured to perform:
receiving, from a network node, a Synchronization Signal Block (SSB), wherein the UE is in idle or inactive mode [see Ly figs. 1 and 4, paragraph 0054, 0057, 0096-0097, 0102, 105 where a network entity 105 transmits SSB 210 and is received by UE 115. Note, UEe 115 is in an inactive/sleep mode since is receives information signaling LP-SS or LP-WUS];
transmitting, to the network node a wake-up signal (WUS) in response to the SSB, wherein the UE is in idle or inactive mode [Based on the information obtaining from signaling, the UE 115 may transmit a C-WUS to the network entity 105 requesting the network entity to transition to an active state. Clearly teaching that after receiving SSB and other signaling, the UE in an inactive mode transmits WUS to a network entity requesting to wake up into an active mode, see Ly paragraphs 0055, 0092-0094, 0122, fig. 1 and 4]]; and
receiving an on-demand message via a second SSB or a System Information Block Type 1 (SIB1) within a time window in a search space [see Ly paragraph 0111-0115, where UE monitors for SSBs/SIBs from the network entity after wake-up signaling (C-WUS) during duration 340 (time window/timer)].
Regarding claim 20, Ly teaches in fig. 1 , 4-6, 8, 0059 a system, comprising: a user equipment (UE) 115 configured to:
receive, from a network node, a Synchronization Signal Block (SSB), wherein the UE is in idle or inactive mode [see Ly figs. 1 and 4, paragraph 0054, 0057, 0096-0097, 0102, 105 where a network entity 105 transmits SSB 210 and is received by UE 115. Note, UEe 115 is in an inactive/sleep mode since is receives information signaling LP-SS or LP-WUS];
transmit, to a network node, a wake-up signal (WUS) in response to the SSB, wherein the UE is in idle or inactive mode [Based on the information obtaining from signaling, the UE 115 may transmit a C-WUS to the network entity 105 requesting the network entity to transition to an active state. Clearly teaching that after receiving SSB and other signaling, the UE in an inactive mode transmits WUS to a network entity requesting to wake up into an active mode, see Ly paragraphs 0055, 0092-0094, 0122, fig. 1 and 4]]; and
receive an on-demand message via a second SSB or a System Information Block Type 1 (SIB1) within a time window in a search space.[see Ly paragraph 0111-0115, where UE monitors for SSBs/SIBs from the network entity after wake-up signaling (C-WUS) during duration 340 (time window/timer)].
Regarding claim 2 and 12, Ly teaches wherein the method further comprises: receiving, from a second network node by the UE, configuration information of the WUS and configuration information of the reference signal [see Ly 0003-0004, 0060, 0088, 0106, UE receives WUS and a (second) network entity may transmit one or more reference signals indicating an updated reference signal configuration].
Regarding claim 3, Ly teaches wherein the WUS is an uplink (UL) wake-up signal transmitted in a time slot which is overlapped or before a downlink (DL) paging frame [see paragraph 0104, where LP-WUS may be transmitted from the network entity 105 to the UE 115 based on performing paging procedures with the UE115].
Regarding claims 7 and 16, Ly teaches further comprising: receiving, from the network node by the UE, a confirmation message of a receipt of the WUS [see Ly abstract, 0008, 0055, UE may transmit WUS and if the UE fails to receive one or more signals, i.e. from network entity, during the duration, the UE will transmit a second WUS and upon successful receipt of one or more signal it is able to determine confirmation].
Regarding claim 8 and 17, Ly teaches wherein the search space is indicated in a previous on-demand message or the confirmation message [see Ly 0075, 0055, 0093, 0113-0115 where time window or length of time may be defined at the UE or may be indicated wo the UE via signaling from network entity].
.
Regarding claims 10 and 19, Ly teaches wherein the time window is indicated in the configuration information of WUS which comprises a starting time and a duration of the time window [see Ly abstract, 0008, 0017, 0020, 0055, 0112, 0114, WUS including confirmation information with duration/time window/timer. Note, duration/time window/timer inherently has a starting time; time window or length of time may be defined at the UE or may be indicated wo the UE via signaling from network entity ].
Regarding claim 13, Ly teaches wherein the WUS is an uplink (UL) wake-up signal transmitted in a time slot which is overlapped or before a downlink (DL) paging frame [see 0055, 0104 where UE transmits a C-WUS to the network entity requesting to transition to an active state, thereafter paging procedures with UE is performed].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-6 and 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ly in view of Li et al (US 2026/0143427), hereinafter referred to as Li.
Regarding claim 4 and 14, Ly is silent on wherein the WUS is transmitted in a first DL paging frame n to trigger the on-demand message in a second DL paging frame n+31. Li in the same field of endeavor teaches in the abstract of a system for beam-based low power wake-up signal transmission in wireless communications. Li further teaches in fig. 1, 8, 9 and in paragraph 0028-0030, 0049, 0053-0063, 0069-0071, 0087 of LP-WUS DL paging frame and paging occasions for paging operation and subsequently PDCCH monitoring occasion for the paging frame. Furthermore, fig. 7-9 and 0110-0114 states a UE may monitor a paging PDCCH 708 using the same SSB index 2 after a time interval 710 for waking up and performing sync/resync. Therefore, it would have been obvious prior to the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of WUS paging frame and triggering/monitoring of multiple on demand DL paging frame during occasions of paging operation as taught by Li into the invention of Ly in order to save power, reduce latency while increasing energy efficient reliability critical to the system.
Regarding claim 5 and 15, Ly is silent on wherein the WUS is transmitted before the DL paging frame to trigger the on-demand message in a third DL paging frame n. Li in the same field of endeavor teaches in the abstract of a system for beam-based low power wake-up signal transmission in wireless communications. Li further teaches in fig. 1, 8, 9 and in paragraph 0028-0030, 0049, 0053-0063, 0069-0071, 0087 of LP-WUS DL paging frame and paging occasions for paging operation and subsequently PDCCH monitoring occasion for the paging frame. Furthermore, fig. 7-9 and 0110-0114 states a UE may monitor a paging PDCCH 708 using the same SSB index 2 after a time interval 710 for waking up and performing sync/resync. Therefore, it would have been obvious prior to the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of WUS paging frame and triggering/monitoring of multiple (including 3rd DL paging frame) on demand DL paging frame during occasions of paging operation as taught by Li into the invention of Ly in order to save power, reduce latency while increasing energy efficient reliability critical to the system.
Regarding claim 6, Ly teach in 0069, where each physical layer channel may carry acquisition signaling (e.g., synchronization signals, system information), control signaling that coordinates operation for the carrier, user data, or other signaling clearly suggest reference signal. Ly is silent wherein the reference signal is a light reference signal which comprises at least one of Primary Synchronization Signal (PSS) or Secondary Synchronization Signal (SSS). Li teaches in paragraph 0133 of reference signal including PSS/SSS/PBCH. Therefore, it would have been obvious prior to the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of reference signal comprising PSS or SSS as taught by Li into the invention of Ly in order to track time and reduce complexity of cell search process.
Claim(s) 9 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ly in view of Chen et al (EP 4460069A1) hereinafter referred to as Chen.
Regarding claims 9 and 18, Ly teaches figs. 1 and 4, paragraph 0054, 0057, 0096-0097, 0102, 105 wherein transmitting the WUS in response to the SSB is based on a trigger condition. However Ly is silent on teaching wherein the trigger condition is selected from among the group consisting of: a first trigger condition that either Srxlev is not higher than SintrasearchP or Squal is not higher than SintrasearchQ; a second trigger condition that a cell reselection is towards a higher priority inter-frequency or a higher priority inter-system layer; or a third trigger condition that Srxlev is higher than SnonintrasearchP and Squal is higher than SnonintrasearchQ. Chen in the same field of endeavor teaches of inter-frequency and inter-Radio access technology cell switching in figure 3. Chen teaches in 0038 of a BWP switching trigger condition of a neighboring cell. Chen also teaches in paragraph 0039 of whether to perform BWP switching on an intra frequency neighboring cell for the purpose of cell selection and reselection. In paragraph 0040, For inter-frequency and Inter-RAT scenarios, when the priority is higher than the current serving frequency and the radio access technology (RAT), the terminal performs BWP switching of the neighboring cell based on BWP switching requirements defined in the protocol. When the priority is equal to or lower than the current serving frequency and the RAT, and when the serving cell meets Srxlev > SnonIntraSearchP and Squal > SnonIntraSearchQ, the UE chooses not to perform BWP switching of the neighboring cell. Otherwise, if it is lower than the threshold, BWP switching of the neighboring cell needs to be performed. Therefore, it would have been obvious prior to the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings as taught by Chen into the invention of Ly in order to determine when BWP switching of the neighboring cel needs to be performed to optimize performance.
Conclusion
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/CHIRAG G SHAH/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2477