DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-16 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4-11, 14-20 of Copending Application No. 18/932,588 (reference application), and claims 1, 3-7, 10-11, 13-18 of Copending Application No.: 18/932,563 and claims 1, 3-10, 12-18 of Copending Application No.: 18/932,573. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because each independent claim is direct to a cover window, comprising a base material layer and a black layer; however, the independent claims of the instant application 18/932,547 are broader than those of the Copending applications.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 7, 9, 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Senge (US Patent No.: US 8,505,262).
Regarding Claim 1, Senge discloses a cover window (Figures 1-3, cover window 100), comprising:
A base material layer formed of a transparent plastic material (Figures 1-3, base material layer 10; Column 4, l.6-7); and
A black layer stacked on one surface of the base material layer and formed along a periphery of the base material layer (Column 7, l.11-14 discloses that the glazing material may be any material used in vehicle glazings, in particular, toughened glass or laminated glass, and the glass may be clear, tinted, and/or coated (a black layer); Figure 1).
Regarding Claim 7, Senge discloses the cover window of claim 1, further comprising: a coating layer stacked on another surface of the base material layer (Column 7, l.6-11 discloses a windscreen, a backlight, a roof light, a sidelight, which can all be attributed to a front coating layer; Figure 4, front coating layer 18).
Regarding Claim 9, Senge discloses a method for manufacturing a cover window (Figures 1-3), comprising: forming a base material layer formed of a transparent plastic material (Figures 1-3, base material layer 10; Column 4, l.6-7); and
Forming a black layer on one surface of the base material layer along a periphery of the base material layer (Column 7, l.11-14 discloses that the glazing material may be any material used in vehicle glazings, in particular, toughened glass or laminated glass, and the glass may be clear, tinted, and/or coated (a black layer); Figure 1).
Regarding Claim 15, Senge discloses the method of claim 9, further comprising: forming a coating layer stacked on another surface of the base material layer (Column 7, l.6-11 discloses a windscreen, a backlight, a roof light, a sidelight, which can all be attributed to a front coating layer; Figure 4, front coating layer 18).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-6, 8, 10-14, 16 would be allowable if the double patenting rejection was overcome and if they were rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding Claims 2 and 10, the prior art of record does not teach or suggest a cover window, comprising: a base material layer formed of a transparent plastic material. a black layer stacked on one surface of the base material layer and formed along a periphery of the base material layer, wherein the black layer is stacked on the base material layer by dual injection or insert injection, and a molding protrusion is formed in an injection mold at a corresponding position on a boundary surface between the base material layer and the black layer, inside the base material layer, in combination with the remaining features recited in the claim.
The prior art of Senge (US 8,505,262) discloses a cover window comprising a base material layer and a black layer (Figures 1-3). However, Senge fails to disclose an insert injection or dual injection process. The prior art of Ren (CN 118849327 A1, as attached in PTO-892) discloses a concept of dual-color injection using a black material layer and a transparent layer (Ren, Abstract). However, Ren also fails to disclose a concept of a molding protrusion being formed in an injection mold at a corresponding position on a boundary surface between the base material layer and the black layer, inside the base material layer.
Regarding Claims 5-6, 13-14, the prior art of record does not teach or suggest a cover window, comprising: a base material layer formed of a transparent plastic material. a black layer stacked on one surface of the base material layer and formed along a periphery of the base material layer, wherein the base material layer comprises 80 to 90wt.-% of a polycarbonate (PC) resin, 1 to 5wt.-% of colored pigments, 1 to 3wt.-% of a HALS (Hindered Amine Light Stabilizer), 1 to 3wt.-% of a light stabilizer, and 0.1 to 5wt.-% of a solvent used for a coating material, in combination with the remaining features recited in the claim.
The prior art of Senge (US 8,505,262) discloses a cover window comprising a base material layer and a black layer (Figures 1-3). However, Senge fails to disclose particular concentrations of polycarbonate (PC) resin, colored pigments, a HALS, a light stabilizer, and a solvent. The prior art of Yada (JP 06127265 A) discloses a thermoplastic elastomer and a black layer with a rear surface coating layer (Yada, Figure 1). However, Yada also fails to disclose the concentrations of each material, as claimed.
Regarding Claims 8 and 16, the prior art of record does not teach or suggest a cover window, comprising: a base material layer formed of a transparent plastic material. a black layer stacked on one surface of the base material layer and formed along a periphery of the base material layer, the coating layer comprises 30 to 50 wt.-% of a polyhedral oligomeric silsesquioxane (POSS), 20 to 30wt.-% of an epoxy-based oligomer, 10 to 20wt.-% of an epoxy-based monomer, 5 to 30wt.-% of nano-silica, 5 to 10wt.-% of a silicon oil, 1 to 5wt.-% of a metal oxide, 1 to 3wt.-% of an ultraviolet absorber, 1 to 3wt.-% of an ultraviolet scattering agent, 1 to 5wt.-% of a light stabilizer, and 1 to 5wt.-% of other additives, in combination with the remaining features recited in the claim.
The prior art of Senge (US 8,505,262) discloses a cover window comprising a base material layer and a black layer (Figures 1-3). However, Senge fails to disclose particular materials that make up the coating layer. The prior art of Yada (JP 06127265 A) discloses a thermoplastic elastomer and a black layer with a rear surface coating layer (Yada, Figure 1). However, Yada also fails to disclose that the coating layer comprises 30 to 50 wt.-% of a polyhedral oligomeric silsesquioxane (POSS), 20 to 30wt.-% of an epoxy-based oligomer, 10 to 20wt.-% of an epoxy-based monomer, 5 to 30wt.-% of nano-silica, 5 to 10wt.-% of a silicon oil, 1 to 5wt.-% of a metal oxide, 1 to 3wt.-% of an ultraviolet absorber, 1 to 3wt.-% of an ultraviolet scattering agent, 1 to 5wt.-% of a light stabilizer, and 1 to 5wt.-% of other additives.
Therefore, Claims 2, 5-6, 8, 10, 13-14, and 16 contain allowable subject matter and would be allowable if the double patenting rejection were overcome and if they were rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Claims 3-4 and 11-13 would be allowable based on the virtue of their dependence on claims 2 and 10.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
-Ha (US 2020/0045155 A1) discloses a cover window comprising a black layer (Ha, Figure 4; Paragraph 0071)
-Min (US 2016/0066456 A1 discloses a cover window comprising a black printed layer (Min, Paragraph 0061; Figure 2)
/MARIAM QURESHI/Examiner, Art Unit 2871