DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This Office action is in response to the amendments filed on January 20, 2026. Claims 1, 4-11, 14-21, and 24-30 are currently pending with Claims 1, 4, 11, 14, 21, and 24 being amended, Claims 2-3, 12-13, and 22-23 being cancelled.
Response to Amendments
In response to Applicant’s amendments, filed January 20, 2026, the Examiner withdraws the previous 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections.
Response to Arguments
Regarding Applicant’s arguments pertaining to the teachings of Wirtz regarding the movement of the cover so as to not be visible (see pages 7-8 of instant arguments), the Examiner is unpersuaded. Wirtz teaches that the retractable cover can be moved laterally away from and inboard of the headlight to allow the headlight to be seen (see at least Col. 1 lines 35-39; Col. 2 lines 21-27 and 51-57; Figures 1, 2; of Wirtz). Wirtz further teaches that the cover can slide behind the cover frame (which is a part of the vehicle body) so as to not be visible (see at least Col. 2 lines 51-57; Figures 1, 2; of Wirtz). Wirtz teaches that the cover can move laterally and slide into the vehicle body so as to be visible or not visible to the user. As such, the Examiner is unpersuaded and maintains the corresponding rejections with regards to the teachings of Wirtz.
Regarding Applicant’s arguments pertaining to Moriyama regarding the teachings of moving the cover inboard and laterally away from the headlight (see page 8 of instant arguments), the Examiner has considered these arguments persuasive, and has applied the teachings of Wirtz regarding moving the cover inboard and laterally, as applied to the arguments above and below. As such, Moriyama, in view of Wirtz, teaches a retractable headlight cover, which can move into the vehicle body so as to be not visible.
The previous has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new grounds of rejection of Claims 1, 4-11, 14-21 and 24-30 is made in view of Moriyama, in view of Wirtz and Salter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-8, 11, and 14-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. 4,516,191 A, to Moriyama, et al (hereinafter referred to as Moriyama; previously of record),
in view of U.S. Patent No. 5,988,840 A, to Wirtz (hereinafter referred to as Wirtz; previously of record).
As per Claim 1, Moriyama discloses the features of a vehicular headlight system of a vehicle (e.g. Col. 2 lines 11-18; where a retractable head-light device for automobiles comprising head lamp means is mounted on an automobile body for movement between an extended position and retracted position), the vehicular headlight system comprising:
a headlight mounted on the vehicle (e.g. Col. 2 lines 11-21; where a retractable head-light device for automobiles comprising head lamp means is mounted on an automobile body for movement between an extended position and retracted position), the headlight configured to
emit light for illuminating a region forward of the vehicle (e.g. Col. 2 lines 11-18; where the head lamp means is projected through opening means in the automobile body and directed substantially forwards); and
a cover movable relative to the headlight between (e.g. Col. 2 lines 18-24; where the lamp cover means uncovers said opening means in the body and a retracted position wherein the lamp cover means closes said opening means to provide a substantially flush body surface):
a deployed position, where the cover extends over and along the headlight so that the headlight is not viewable from an exterior of the vehicle (e.g. Col. 2 lines 18-24; Figure 1; where the lamp cover is extended to cover the lamp); and
a retracted position (e.g. Col. 2 lines 18-24; Figure 2; where the lamp cover moves to uncover the opening means for the lamp), where
the cover is moved ‘…’ away ‘…’ of the headlight so that the headlight is viewable from the exterior of the vehicle (e.g. Col. 2 lines 18-24; Figure 2; where the lamp cover moves to uncover the opening means for the lamp), wherein,
when the cover is in the deployed position, an outer surface of the cover is substantially flush with an outer surface of a body portion of the vehicle where the lamp cover provides a substantially flush body surface (e.g. Col. 2 lines 21-26; where the lamp cover provides a substantially flush body surface), and wherein,
when the cover is moved from the deployed position to the retracted position, the cover is initially moved inward away from a front of the vehicle and toward the headlight (e.g. Figure 4; where the cover can be moved from the deployed to retracted position, and the cover is moved inward toward the vehicle and headlight), and then
moved ‘…’ away from the headlight to a position behind the body portion of the vehicle (e.g. Figure 4; where the cover is moved away from the headlight behind the headlight into the body of the vehicle) ‘…’.
Moriyama fails to disclose every feature of where the cover is moved laterally away and inboard of the headlight so that the headlight is viewable from the exterior of the vehicle; and moved laterally away from the headlight to a position behind the body portion of the vehicle to conceal the cover so that the cover is not visible to a person viewing an exterior of the vehicle.
However, Wirtz, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches the features of where the cover is moved laterally away and inboard of the headlight so that the headlight is viewable from the exterior of the vehicle.
Wirtz teaches sliding headlight covers, where the headlight covers are retracted laterally towards one another (i.e. inboard) to the open position, thereby exposing the headlights (e.g. Col. 1 lines 35-39; Col. 2 lines 21-27 and 51-57; Figures 1, 2).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant’s invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to modify the retractable headlight device of Moriyama, with the feature of moving the headlight covers laterally in the system of Wirtz, in order to provide a pleasing appearance to the vehicle when in operation (see at least Col. 1 lines 27-30 of Wirtz).
Wirtz further teaches the features of moved laterally away from the headlight to a position behind the body portion of the vehicle to conceal the cover so that the cover is not visible to a person viewing an exterior of the vehicle.
Wirtz teaches sliding headlight covers, where the headlight covers are retracted laterally towards one another (i.e. inboard) to the open position, thereby exposing the headlights; and where the covers are not visible when retracted (e.g. Col. 2 lines 51-57; Figures 1, 2).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant’s invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to modify the retractable headlight device of Moriyama, with the feature of moving the headlight covers laterally in the system of Wirtz, in order to provide a pleasing appearance to the vehicle when in operation (see at least Col. 1 lines 27-30 of Wirtz).
As per Claim 11, Moriyama discloses the features of a vehicle comprising: a headlight (e.g. Col. 2 lines 11-18; where a retractable head-light device for automobiles comprising head lamp means is mounted on an automobile body for movement between an extended position and retracted position), the headlight comprising:
a lens and a light source that, when the light source is electrically operated, emits light through the lens to illuminate a region forward of the vehicle (e.g. Col. 2 lines 11-18; where the head lamp means is projected through opening means in the automobile body and directed substantially forwards); and
a cover movable relative to the headlight between (e.g. Col. 2 lines 18-24; where the lamp cover means uncovers said opening means in the body and a retracted position wherein the lamp cover means closes said opening means to provide a substantially flush body surface):
a deployed position, where the cover extends over and along the headlight so that the headlight is not viewable from an exterior of the vehicle (e.g. Col. 2 lines 18-24; Figure 1; where the lamp cover is extended to cover the lamp); and
a retracted position (e.g. Col. 2 lines 18-24; Figure 2; where the lamp cover moves to uncover the opening means for the lamp), where
the cover is moved ‘…’ away ‘…’ of the headlight so that the headlight is viewable from the exterior of the vehicle (e.g. Col. 2 lines 18-24; Figure 2; where the lamp cover moves to uncover the opening means for the lamp), wherein,
when the cover is in the deployed position, an outer surface of the cover is substantially flush with an outer surface of a body portion of the vehicle at or near the headlight (e.g. Col. 2 lines 21-26; where the lamp cover provides a substantially flush body surface), and wherein,
when the cover is moved from the deployed position to the retracted position, the cover is moved toward the headlight (e.g. Figure 4; where the cover can be moved from the deployed to retracted position, and the cover is moved inward toward the vehicle and headlight), and
moved ‘…’ away from the headlight to a position behind the body portion of the vehicle (e.g. Figure 4; where the cover is moved away from the headlight behind the headlight onto the body of the vehicle) ‘…’.
Moriyama fails to disclose every feature of where the cover is moved laterally away and inboard of the headlight so that the headlight is viewable from the exterior of the vehicle; and moved laterally away from the headlight behind the body portion of the vehicle to conceal the cover so that the cover is not visible to a person viewing an exterior of the vehicle.
However, Wirtz, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches the features of where the cover is moved laterally away and inboard of the headlight so that the headlight is viewable from the exterior of the vehicle.
Wirtz teaches sliding headlight covers, where the headlight covers are retracted laterally towards one another (i.e. inboard) to the open position, thereby exposing the headlights (e.g. Col. 1 lines 35-39; Col. 2 lines 21-27 and 51-57; Figures 1, 2).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant’s invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to modify the retractable headlight device of Moriyama, with the feature of moving the headlight covers laterally in the system of Wirtz, in order to provide a pleasing appearance to the vehicle when in operation (see at least Col. 1 lines 27-30 of Wirtz).
Wirtz further teaches the features of moved laterally away from the headlight behind the body portion of the vehicle to conceal the cover so that the cover is not visible to a person viewing an exterior of the vehicle.
Wirtz teaches sliding headlight covers, where the headlight covers are retracted laterally towards one another (i.e. inboard) to the open position, thereby exposing the headlights; and where the covers are not visible when retracted (e.g. Col. 2 lines 51-57; Figures 1, 2).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant’s invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to modify the retractable headlight device of Moriyama, with the feature of moving the headlight covers laterally in the system of Wirtz, in order to provide a pleasing appearance to the vehicle when in operation (see at least Col. 1 lines 27-30 of Wirtz).
As per Claim 4, and similarly for Claim 14, Moriyama, in view of Wirtz, teaches the features of Claims 1 and 11, and Moriyama further discloses the features of wherein the body portion of the vehicle comprises a hood of the vehicle (e.g. Figure 1; where the vehicle has a hood).
As per Claim 5, and similarly for Claim 15, Moriyama, in view of Wirtz, teaches the features of Claims 1 and 11, respectively, and Moriyama further discloses the features of wherein the cover is ‘…’ movable relative to the headlight along a track (e.g. Col. 2 lines 29-40; where the covers include a pair of driving links disposes at the opposite sides of the lam cover means, each of which are connected to the lamp cover means for droving the lamp cover means in a retracted or extended position.
Wirtz more explicitly teaches the features of wherein the cover is laterally movable relative to the headlight along a track.
Wirtz teaches sliding headlight covers, where the headlight covers are retracted laterally towards one another (i.e. inboard) to the open position, thereby exposing the headlights (e.g. Col. 1 lines 35-39; Col. 2 lines 21-27 and 51-57).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant’s invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to modify the retractable headlight device of Moriyama, with the feature of moving the headlight covers laterally on a track in the system of Wirtz, in order to provide a pleasing appearance to the vehicle when in operation (see at least Col. 1 lines 27-30 of Wirtz).
As per Claim 6, and similarly for Claim 16, Moriyama, in view of Wirtz, teaches the features of Claims 5 and 15, respectively, and Moriyama further discloses the features of wherein, when the cover is moved from the deployed position to the retracted position, the track is initially moved away from the front of the vehicle and toward the headlight to move the cover toward the headlight (e.g. Figure 4; where the cover can be moved from the deployed to retracted position, and the cover is moved inward toward the vehicle and headlight).
Moriyama fails to disclose every feature of the cover is moved laterally along the track away and inboard of the headlight.
However, Wirtz, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches sliding headlight covers, where the headlight covers are retracted laterally towards one another (i.e. inboard) to the open position, thereby exposing the headlights (e e.g. Col. 1 lines 35-39; Col. 2 lines 21-27 and 51-57; Figures 1, 2).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant’s invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to modify the retractable headlight device of Moriyama, with the feature of moving the headlight covers laterally on a track in the system of Wirtz, in order to provide a pleasing appearance to the vehicle when in operation (see at least Col. 1 lines 27-30 of Wirtz).
As per Claim 7, and similarly for Claim 17, Moriyama, in view of Wirtz, teaches the features of Claims 1 and 11, respectively, and Wirtz further teaches the features of wherein: when the headlight is electrically operated in an on state to emit light, the cover is in the retracted position; and when the light source is not electrically operated and in an off state, the cover is in the deployed position.
Wirtz teaches sliding headlight covers, where the movement of the headlight covers are controlled by electrical circuitry which is operatively connected to the vehicle headlight switch such that the headlight covers will automatically move to the closed position when the headlights are turned off, and when the vehicle headlights are turned on, the headlight covers will automatically move to the open position (e.g. Col. 1 lines 38-45; Col. 2 lines 28-34).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant’s invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to modify the retractable headlight device of Moriyama, with the feature of moving the headlight covers laterally on a track in the system of Wirtz, in order to provide a pleasing appearance to the vehicle when in operation (see at least Col. 1 lines 27-30 of Wirtz).
As per Claim 8, and similarly for Claim 18, Moriyama, in view of Wirtz, teaches the features of Claims 1 and 11, respectively, and Wirtz further teaches the features of wherein the cover is moved from the deployed position to the retracted position in response to the headlight being electrically operated.
Wirtz teaches sliding headlight covers, where the movement of the headlight covers are controlled by electrical circuitry which is operatively connected to the vehicle headlight switch such that the headlight covers will automatically move to the closed position when the headlights are turned off, and when the vehicle headlights are turned on, the headlight covers will automatically move to the open position (e.g. Col. 1 lines 38-45; Col. 2 lines 28-34).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant’s invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to modify the retractable headlight device of Moriyama, with the feature of moving the headlight covers laterally on a track in the system of Wirtz, in order to provide a pleasing appearance to the vehicle when in operation (see at least Col. 1 lines 27-30 of Wirtz).
Claims 9-11, and 19-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. 4,516,191 A, to Moriyama, et al (hereinafter referred to as Moriyama; previously of record), in view of U.S. Patent No. 5,988,840 A, to Wirtz (hereinafter referred to as Wirtz; previously of record), and further in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2017/0129394 A1, to Salter, et al (hereinafter referred to as Salter; previously of record).
As per Claims 9 and 19, Moriyama, in view of Wirtz, teaches the features of Claims 1 and 11, respectively, but the combination of Moriyama, in view of Wirtz, fails to teach every feature of wherein the cover is movable between the deployed position and the retracted position based on a user actuatable input.
However, Salter, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches a vehicle lighting system with retractable headlight covers, where the headlamp input and daylight running lamp inputs may be user controller inputs, such as switches or control knobs that area activated by a user to turn on the lighting mode that is desired (e.g. Paragraph [0042]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant’s invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to further modify the retractable headlight device of Moriyama, in view of Wirtz, with the feature of using input from a user in the system of Salter, in order to implement a desired lighting function or image which may be viewed from the outside of the vehicle (see at Paragraphs [0029], [0033] of Salter).
As per Claims 10 and 20, Moriyama, in view of Wirtz, teaches the features of Claims 1 and 11, respectively, but the combination of Moriyama, in view of Wirtz, fails to teach every feature of wherein, with the headlight mounted on the vehicle, a daytime running light is mounted on the vehicle near the headlight the daytime running light viewable when the cover is in the deployed position and the retracted position.
However, Salter, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches a vehicle lighting system with retractable headlight covers, where the lighting assemblies (12) may be configured to provide other lighting functions such as a daytime running light); and where the retractable cover (22) may be actuated to the closed position to provide illumination when headlights are not required, or when the vehicle is driven in the daylight without the need for headlights; and where the LEDS may be controlled to achieve the desired lighting for headlamp and daytime running lamp operations (e.g. Paragraph [0027], [0029], [0040], [0043]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant’s invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to further modify the retractable headlight device of Moriyama, in view of Wirtz, with the feature of operating the daytime running light in the system of Salter, in order to operate the vehicle during daylight times when full headlight lighting is not required (see at Paragraph [0037] of Salter).
As per Claim 21, Moriyama discloses the features of ‘…’
instructing a cover to move ‘…’ away and inboard of a headlight from a deployed position to a retracted position (e.g. Col. 2 lines 18-24; where the lamp cover means uncovers said opening means in the body and a retracted position wherein the lamp cover means closes said opening means to provide a substantially flush body surface), wherein:
the cover extends over and along the headlight mounted at a vehicle so that the headlight is not viewable when the cover is in the deployed position (e.g. Col. 2 lines 18-24; Figure 1; where the lamp cover is extended to cover the lamp); and
the headlight is viewable when the cover is in the retracted position (e.g. Col. 2 lines 18-24; Figure 2; where the lamp cover moves to uncover the opening means for the lamp); and
electrically operating a light source of the headlight to emit light through a lens for illuminating a region forward of the vehicle while the cover is in the retracted position (e.g. Col. 2 lines 11-18; where the head lamp means is projected through opening means in the automobile body and directed substantially forwards) wherein,
when the cover is in the deployed position, an outer surface of the cover is substantially flush with an outer surface of a body portion of the vehicle at or near the headlight (e.g. Col. 2 lines 21-26; where the lamp cover provides a substantially flush body surface), and wherein
instructing the cover to move from the deployed position to the retracted position causes the cover to initially move toward the headlight (e.g. Figure 4; where the cover can be moved from the deployed to retracted position, and the cover is moved inward toward the vehicle and headlight) and then
move ‘…’ away from the headlight behind the body portion of the vehicle to conceal the cover so that the cover is not visible to a person viewing an exterior of the vehicle (e.g. Figure 4; where the cover is moved away from the headlight behind the headlight onto the body of the vehicle) ‘…’.
Moriyama fails to disclose every feature of instructing a cover to move laterally away and inboard of a headlight from a deployed position to a retracted position; and move laterally away from the headlight behind the body portion of the vehicle to conceal the cover so that the cover is not visible to a person viewing an exterior of the vehicle.
However, Wirtz, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches the features of instructing a cover to move laterally away and inboard of a headlight from a deployed position to a retracted position.
Wirtz teaches sliding headlight covers, where the headlight covers are retracted laterally towards one another (i.e. inboard) to the open position, thereby exposing the headlights (e.g. Col. 1 lines 35-39; Col. 2 lines 21-27 and 51-57; Figures 1, 2).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant’s invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to modify the retractable headlight device of Moriyama, with the feature of moving the headlight covers laterally in the system of Wirtz, in order to provide a pleasing appearance to the vehicle when in operation (see at least Col. 1 lines 27-30 of Wirtz).
Wirtz further teaches the features of move laterally away from the headlight behind the body portion of the vehicle to conceal the cover so that the cover is not visible to a person viewing an exterior of the vehicle.
Wirtz teaches sliding headlight covers, where the headlight covers are retracted laterally towards one another (i.e. inboard) to the open position, thereby exposing the headlights; and where the covers are not visible when retracted (e.g. Col. 2 lines 51-57; Figures 1, 2).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant’s invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to modify the retractable headlight device of Moriyama, with the feature of moving the headlight covers laterally in the system of Wirtz, in order to provide a pleasing appearance to the vehicle when in operation (see at least Col. 1 lines 27-30 of Wirtz).
Moriyama further fails to disclose every feature of a computer-implemented method when executed on data processing hardware causes the data processing hardware to perform operations.
However, Salter, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches a vehicle lighting system with retractable headlight covers, where the controller may include a microprocessor or other control circuitry, and include memory and storage for a lamp control routine (e.g. Paragraph [0042]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant’s invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to further modify the retractable headlight device of Moriyama, in view of Wirtz, with the feature of utilizing a computer system in the system of Salter, in order to actuate and control the covers and lights (see at Paragraph [0042] of Salter).
As per Claim 24, Moriyama, in view of Wirtz and Salter, teaches the features of Claim 21, and Moriyama further teaches the features of wherein the body portion of the vehicle comprises a hood of the vehicle (e.g. Figure 1; where the vehicle has a hood).
As per Claim 25, Moriyama, in view of Wirtz and Salter, teaches the features of Claim 21, and Moriyama further discloses the features of wherein the cover is ‘…’ movable relative to the headlight along a track (e.g. Col. 2 lines 29-40; where the covers include a pair of driving links disposes at the opposite sides of the lam cover means, each of which are connected to the lamp cover means for droving the lamp cover means in a retracted or extended position).
Wirtz more explicitly teaches the features of wherein the cover is laterally movable relative to the headlight along a track.
Wirtz teaches sliding headlight covers, where the headlight covers are retracted laterally towards one another (i.e. inboard) to the open position, thereby exposing the headlights (e.g. Col. 1 lines 35-39; Col. 2 lines 21-27 and 51-57).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant’s invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to further modify the retractable headlight device of Moriyama, in view of Wirtz, with the feature of moving the headlight covers laterally on a track in the system of Wirtz, in order to provide a pleasing appearance to the vehicle when in operation (see at least Col. 1 lines 27-30 of Wirtz).
As per Claim 26, Moriyama, in view of Wirtz and Salter, teaches the features of Claim 25, and Moriyama further discloses the features of wherein instructing the cover to move from the deployed position to the retracted position causes the track to move toward the headlight to move the cover toward the headlight and the cover to move ‘…’ along the track away and inboard of the headlight (e.g. Col. Figure 4; where the cover can be moved from the deployed to retracted position, and the cover is moved inward toward the vehicle and headlight).
Moriyama fails to disclose every feature of the cover is moved laterally along the track away and inboard of the headlight.
However, Wirtz, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches sliding headlight covers, where the headlight covers are retracted laterally towards one another (i.e. inboard) to the open position, thereby exposing the headlights (e e.g. Col. 1 lines 35-39; Col. 2 lines 21-27 and 51-57; Figures 1, 2).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant’s invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to modify the retractable headlight device of Moriyama, with the feature of moving the headlight covers laterally on a track in the system of Wirtz, in order to provide a pleasing appearance to the vehicle when in operation (see at least Col. 1 lines 27-30 of Wirtz).
As per Claim 27, Moriyama, in view of Wirtz and Salter, teaches the features of Claim 21, and Wirtz further teaches the features of wherein, when the cover is in the deployed position, the light source is not electrically operated.
Wirtz teaches sliding headlight covers, where the movement of the headlight covers are controlled by electrical circuitry which is operatively connected to the vehicle headlight switch such that the headlight covers will automatically move to the closed position when the headlights are turned off, and when the vehicle headlights are turned on, the headlight covers will automatically move to the open position (e.g. Col. 1 lines 38-45; Col. 2 lines 28-34).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant’s invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to modify the retractable headlight device of Moriyama, with the feature of moving the headlight covers laterally on a track in the system of Wirtz, in order to provide a pleasing appearance to the vehicle when in operation (see at least Col. 1 lines 27-30 of Wirtz).
As per Claim 28, Moriyama, in view of Wirtz and Salter, teaches the features of Claim 21, and Wirtz further teaches the features of wherein the operations further comprise :receiving an indication to switch operation of the headlight from an off state to an on state, wherein instructing the cover to move from the deployed position to the retracted position is in response to receiving the indication to switch operation of the headlight from the off state to the on state.
Wirtz teaches sliding headlight covers, where the movement of the headlight covers are controlled by electrical circuitry which is operatively connected to the vehicle headlight switch such that the headlight covers will automatically move to the closed position when the headlights are turned off, and when the vehicle headlights are turned on, the headlight covers will automatically move to the open position (e.g. Col. 1 lines 38-45; Col. 2 lines 28-34).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant’s invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to modify the retractable headlight device of Moriyama, with the feature of moving the headlight covers laterally on a track in the system of Wirtz, in order to provide a pleasing appearance to the vehicle when in operation (see at least Col. 1 lines 27-30 of Wirtz).
As per Claim 29, Moriyama, in view of Wirtz and Salter, teaches the features of Claim 21, and Salter further teaches the features of wherein the operations further comprise: receiving a user actuatable input, wherein instructing the cover to move from the deployed position to the retracted position is based on receiving the user actuatable input.
Salter teaches a vehicle lighting system with retractable headlight covers, where the headlamp input and daylight running lamp inputs may be user controller inputs, such as switches or control knobs that area activated by a user to turn on the lighting mode that is desired (e.g. Paragraph [0042]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant’s invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to modify the retractable headlight device of Moriyama, in view of Wirtz, with the feature of using input from a user in the system of Salter, in order to implement a desired lighting function or image which may be viewed from the outside of the vehicle (see at Paragraphs [0029], [0033] of Salter).
As per Claim 30, Moriyama, in view of Wirtz and Salter, teaches the features of Claim 21, and Salter further teaches the features of wherein the vehicle comprises a daytime running light mounted at the vehicle near the headlight, the daytime running light viewable when the cover is in the deployed position and the retracted position.
However, Salter, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches a vehicle lighting system with retractable headlight covers, where the lighting assemblies (12) may be configured to provide other lighting functions such as a daytime running light); and where the retractable cover (22) may be actuated to the closed position to provide illumination when headlights are not required, or when the vehicle is driven in the daylight without the need for headlights; and where the LEDS may be controlled to achieve the desired lighting for headlamp and daytime running lamp operations (e.g. Paragraph [0027], [0029], [0040], [0043]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant’s invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to modify the retractable headlight device of Moriyama, with the feature of operating the daytime running light in the system of Salter, in order to operate the vehicle during daylight times when full headlight lighting is not required (see at Paragraph [0037] of Salter).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MERRITT LEVY/Examiner, Art Unit 3663
/ABBY J FLYNN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3663