DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in Japan on 11/24/23. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the Japanese application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Takahashi (JP 2009063860 A – see translation provided by Applicant).
With respect to claim 1, Takahashi teaches a vehicle horn system (Figure 1), comprising: a horn (1) provided at a vehicle; and a cooling part (6) that cools the horn (1) (see abstract, [0007], [0010]).
With respect to claim 2, Takahashi teaches wherein: the horn (1) comprises: a housing (defined in part by cover body #14); and a coil (5/C) that generates a magnetic force upon being supplied with electric power ([0012]), and the cooling part (6) is disposed between the housing (2) and the coil (5/C).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahashi (JP 2009063860 A – see translation provided by Applicant) in view of Welch (7,082,772).
With respect to claim 3, Takahashi teaches the vehicle horn system of claim 2. Takahashi further includes a cooling part in the form of a heat sink (6 – [00007], [0010])
Takahashi fails to teach wherein: the cooling part comprises a Peltier element, and a heat radiation side of the Peltier element contacts the housing, and a heat absorption side of the Peltier element contacts the coil.
Welch teaches where a similar vehicle audio device (Figure 1, #110, note device can also be a loud speaker Figure 6, #610) wherein a cooling part (120) is attached to a heat sink (111) of the audio device (110/610) and comprises a Peltier element (120/620), and a heat radiation side (122) of the Peltier element (120/620) contacts the housing (when attached to the heat sink of Takahashi, #6), and a heat absorption side (121) of the Peltier element contacts the coil (when attached to the heat sink of Takahashi, #6) (Col. 5, Lines 14-21, 56-67).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the apparatus of Takahashi, with the apparatus of Welch, so as to provide an active-type cooling system, in addition to the heat sink of Takahashi (Figure 1, #6), that “reads the temperature sensor to obtain the temperature of an audio component of the equipment, and adjusts the drive for the Peltier effect module that cools the audio component (i.e. the cooling system), to prevent overheating of the component (see Welch, abstract).”
With respect to claim 4, Takahashi teaches the vehicle horn system of claim 2. Takahashi further includes a cooling part in the form of a heat sink (6 – [00007], [0010])
Takahashi fails to teach a controller that is configured to control the cooling part; and a temperature sensor that detects a temperature of the coil, wherein the controller effects control so as to cool the horn in a case in which the temperature of the coil detected by the temperature sensor has become equal to or higher than a predetermined temperature.
Welch teaches where a similar vehicle audio device (Figure 1, #110, note device can also be a loud speaker Figure 6, #610) wherein a cooling part (120) is attached to a heat sink (111) of the audio device (110/610) and further includes a controller (160) that is configured to control the cooling part (120); and a temperature sensor (140) that detects a temperature of the coil (of Takahashi, #5/C, when combined), wherein the controller (160) effects control so as to cool the horn (of Takahashi, #1, when combined) in a case in which the temperature of the coil detected by the temperature sensor (140) has become equal to or higher than a predetermined temperature (Col. 1, Line 64-Col. 2, Line 26; Col. 6, Lines 1-30).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the apparatus of Takahashi, with the apparatus of Welch, so as to provide an active-type cooling system, in addition to the heat sink of Takahashi (Figure 1, #6), that “reads the temperature sensor to obtain the temperature of an audio component of the equipment, and adjusts the drive for the Peltier effect module that cools the audio component (i.e. the cooling system), to prevent overheating of the component (see Welch, abstract).”
With respect to claim 5, Takahashi as modified teaches wherein the temperature sensor (510) is disposed at an opposite side of the coil (defined by coil #C of Takahashi, when cooling side #121 is attached to heatsink #6 of Takahashi) from the cooling part (Takahashi, #6, when combined with heatsink #111 and Peltier device #120 of Welch). Note in Takahashi Figure 1, the temperature sensor #140 is on an opposite side of the audio component from the Peltier device, which when combined, the Peltier device #120 will be attached to the coil (of Takahashi, #5/C, ) via the heat sink (Takahashi #6, Welch, #111).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Pertinent arts of record relating to Applicant’s disclosure are disclosed in the PTO-892.
/JEREMY A LUKS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837