DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s election of Group I in the reply filed on 9/30/2026 is acknowledged. Applicants did not specify if the election is being made with or without traverse. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)). Applicant requested withdrawal of the restriction requirement since search and examination of the entire application can be made without serious search burden. The restriction requirement is proper and the inventions have acquired a separate status in the art in view of their different classification. The inventions would further employ different search queries.
INFORMATION DISCLOSURE STATEMENT
2. Information Disclosure Statements filed 10/31/2024, 5/7/2025 and 6/17/2025 are acknowledged.
Claim Rejections- 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 and 19-23 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DeBaun (US 20210069096) in view of Gelin et al. (US 20100310751), Mumoli (US 20070275064) and Jacobs et al. (US 20120175273).
DeBaun (US 20210069096) (hereinafter DeBaun) discloses toothpaste formulations that contain water, xylitol and xanthan gum and silicone dioxide as binders from 0.25-10 %, flavoring agent from 0.5-1 %, celluloses from 0.5-20 %, 1-20 % calcium carbonate, anionic surfactant (sodium lauryl sulfate) from 1-2 %, and 1-20 % nanohydroxyapatite (see Table 1). The flavorant is taught as menthol. While table 1 teach up to 10 %, DeBaun states that sweeteners may vary and be up to about 50 % w/w (para 0210). The compositions can contain sodium bicarbonate (Table 1). The toothpaste can be in the form of a tablet (para 0363). The total amount of actives are from 1 mg to about 500 mg (para 0199). Jacobs et al. (US 20120175273) teach toothpaste tablets most commonly are manufactured at a 500 mg tablet (para 0010). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In reWertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In reWoodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (The prior art taught carbon monoxide concentrations of “about 1-5%” while the claim was limited to “more than 5%.” The court held that “about 1-5%” allowed for concentrations slightly above 5% thus the ranges overlapped.); In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 1469-71, 43 USPQ2d 1362, 1365-66 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (Claim reciting thickness of a protective layer as falling within a range of “50 to 100 Angstroms” considered prima facie obvious in view of prior art reference teaching that “for suitable protection, the thickness of the protective layer should be not less than about 10 nm [i.e., 100 Angstroms].” The court stated that “by stating that ‘suitable protection’ is provided if the protective layer is ‘about’ 100 Angstroms thick, [the prior art reference] directly teaches the use of a thickness within [applicant’s] claimed range.”). See also In re Bergen, 120 F.2d 329, 332, 49 USPQ 749, 751-52 (CCPA 1941) (The court found that the overlapping endpoint of the prior art and claimed range was sufficient to support an obviousness rejection, particularly when there was no showing of criticality of the claimed range).
DeBaun teach glycyrrhiza glabre (Licorice) root extract but does not teach ammonium glycyrrhizinate. DeBaun teach that licorice root extract helps stimulate an balance the adrenal glands, increase energy, and boost endurance and has anti-inflammatory properties that help soothe gut issues and restore balance (para 0173). The sweeteners can be from 0.25-10 % (Table 1). Gelin et al. (US 20100310751) teach that Glycyrrhizic acid is the sweet active compound isolated from liquorish and it includes ammonium glycyrrhizinate (para 0033). It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to include ammonium glycyrrhizinate in the compositions of DeBaun. One would have been motivated to do so because it is a sweetener and would provide sweetness to the composition.
DeBaun teach sodium lauryl sulfate but does not teach sodium cocoyl isethionate. Mumoli (US 20070275064) teach solid tablets that have quick dissolution containing anionic surfactants such as sodium lauryl sulfate or sodium cocoyl isethionate (para 0006-0007). It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to substitute the sodium lauryl sulfate for sodium cocoyl isethionate. One would have been motivated to do so as these are art recognized anionic surfactants. Simple substitution of one known element for another would obtain predictable results as both are art recognized anionic surfactants for use in solid tablets.
CORRESPONDENCE
/DANAH AL-AWADI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1615