DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to communication filed on 06/09/2026. Claim(s) 6 has been cancelled. Claim(s) 1 has been amended. Claim(s) 1-5, 7-10 is/are currently pending examination. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Response to Amendment
The Applicant filed amendment(s) to the claim(s) on 06/09/2026 to remedy the rejection(s).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Page(s) 10-15, filed 06/09/2026, with respect to Claim(s) 1-5, 7-10 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 35 USC 101 Rejection of Claim(s) 1-5, 7-10 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see Page(s) 15-21, filed 06/09/2026, with respect to Claim(s) 1-5 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 35 USC 103 Rejection of Claim(s) 1-5, 7-10 has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 06/09/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Claim(s) 7-10 have not been amended and the rejection is maintained as detailed below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The Specification, Background, ¶ [0062], discloses using the heat map as input to a sensor network deploying optimization but does not necessarily describe the limitation in Claim 1 of “deploying a sensor network according to the coverage demand heat map.”. The Specification describes generating a coverage demand heat map and providing the heat map as input to a downstream sensor network deployment optimization task. However, the Specification does not expressly, implicitly, or inherently disclose that the claimed method itself performs the physical deployment of the sensor network. Accordingly, the originally filed disclosure does not reasonably convey to one of ordinary skill in the art that the Applicant was in possession of the claimed deploying step.
Moreover, the Examiner suggest a clarifying amendment in the form of a limitation that states “wherein the downstream decision making optimization task comprises a sensor network deployment optimization task.”
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 2-5, 8-10 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim(s) 1 is presently rejection for the reasons stated above, the Specification appears to disclose subject matter that is not taught or suggested by the prior art of record. In particular, favorable consideration may be given to an independent claim that recites, in combination:
Generating virtual points of interest
Calculating respective coverage demand values
Combining coverage demand values of the virtual points of interest
Dividing an environmental area into a plurality o regions
Multiplying the reginal weights by elements values of a 3-D heat map
Assigning a max regional weight
Down sampling the result heat map matrix by selecting pooling locations.
The prior art of records teaches, suggest or describes 3-D environmental discretization, coverage analysis, camera or sensor placement optimization and generic grid pooling. However, the prior art does not teach or suggest the foregoing ordered combination for constructing a directional and hierarchical 3-D coverage demand heat map.
The Applicant is advised that Claim 1, presently recites “step 6: deploying a sensor network according to the coverage demand heat map.” The original disclosure as presented, appears to support the use of a heat map in a downstream sensor network deployment optimization task, but does not clearly support the physical act of deploying the sensor network. Accordingly, the Applicant may wish to replace that limitation with: “wherein the downstream decision making optimization task comprises a sensor network deployment optimization task.”
An amendment incorporating the identified subject matter into a independent claim, correcting the deficiencies discussed above and otherwise complying with all statutory requirements, in which favorable consideration will be given. This statement is not an indication that the presently pending claim is allowable.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vajda et al. (US 2019/0172224 A1), in view of Rappaport et al. (US 2003/0023412 A1) and further in view of Plant et al. (US 2019/0366189 A1).
Re Claim 7, Vajda teaches a digital system for constructing a three-dimensional coverage demand heat map, comprising a layered discretization module, a grid value quantification module, a multiple coverage and hierarchical coverage simulation module, a heat map extraction module, and a heat map display module, wherein
the layered discretization module is configured to divide a three-dimensional environmental space into a plurality of layers in terms of elevation, and grid each of the plurality of layers to achieve layered discretization of the three-dimensional environmental space; (Vajda; FIG. 1-10; Background, Summary, ¶ [0084]-[0097], [0108]-[0124]; A divided 3D environment space into a plurality of layers, in terms of height (elevation), gridding and space.)
the grid value quantification module is configured to quantify grid values based on points of interest, detection directions, and weights of elevation layers; (Vajda; FIG. 1-10; Background, Summary, ¶ [0078]-[0102], [0115]-[0124]; Quantifying grid values/metrics, based on regions of interest, direction and height related layers.)
Vajda does not explicitly suggest the grid value quantification module is configured to quantify grid values based on points of interest, detection directions, and weights of elevation layers; the multiple coverage and hierarchical coverage simulation module is configured to generate a plurality of sets of virtual points of interest and perform environmental regional measurement to further simulate multiple coverage and hierarchical coverage;
However, in analogous art, Rappaport teaches the grid value quantification module is configured to quantify grid values based on points of interest, detection directions, and weights of elevation layers; the multiple coverage and hierarchical coverage simulation module is configured to generate a plurality of sets of virtual points of interest and perform environmental regional measurement to further simulate multiple coverage and hierarchical coverage; (Rappaport; FIG. 1-18; Background, Summary, ¶ [0037]-[0040], [0053]-[0067], [0076]-[0079], [0089]; The embodiment(s) detail comparable methodology such as a system which maps interesting points (virtual points of interest) related to TIN, an elevation of the terrain within a given geographic area, that includes measurements, simulation and various coverage areas.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to modify Vajda in view of Rappaport to map points of interest for the reasons of creating, using and managing 3-D digital models of physical environments. (Rappaport Abstract)
Vajda-Rappaport does not explicitly suggest the heat map extraction module is configured to introduce pooling nodes, and extract a coverage demand heat map; and the heat map display module is configured to display the three-dimensional coverage demand heat map based on a calculated value and input the three-dimensional coverage demand heat map into a downstream decision-making optimization task.
However, in analogous art, Plant teaches the heat map extraction module is configured to introduce pooling nodes, and extract a coverage demand heat map; and (Plant; FIG. 1-8; Background, Summary, ¶ [0016]-[0025], [0031]-[0072], [0124]-[0130]; A virtual system, comprised of interconnected nodes (pooling nodes) in which a cover demand heat map is created.)
the heat map display module is configured to display the three-dimensional coverage demand heat map based on a calculated value and input the three-dimensional coverage demand heat map into a downstream decision-making optimization task. (Plant; FIG. 1-8; Background, Summary, ¶ [0016]-[0025], [0031]-[0072], [0124]-[0130]; Displaying the 3-D coverage demand heat map, based on values/metrics/numbers, inputted into the heat map, which is transmitted for later tasks/applications/improvements.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to modify Vajda-Rappaport in view of Plant to create a heat map for the reasons of generating a real-time heat map based on historical data to improve future potential outcomes. (Plant Abstract)
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTOPHER B ROBINSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2443