DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-10 are currently pending in the application.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers filed on 12/16/2024 as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/16/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
At 0042 line 1 “evaluation unit 21” should read --evaluation unit 23--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“evaluation unit” in claim 1. The generic placeholder “unit” is linked by linking word “that is adapted and configured to” to the functional limitation “register the pressure signals in a spatially resolved manner and ascertain a pressure distribution that describes a spatial distribution of a force exerted on the seat belt by the person wearing the seat belt and provide the pressure distribution as an occupant-specific parameter to the control device for controlling the restraint device” without reciting the structure of the unit capable of performing the recited function.
an algorithm of a control unit (0033 lines 1-3)
Claim Objections
Claims 6 and 9 are objected to because of the following informalities:
At claim 6 line 3 “abdomen” should read --an abdomen--.
At claim 6 line 3 “a user” should read --the person--.
At claim 9 line 2 “a change” should read --change--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
The term “large number” in claim 1 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “large number” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. For examination purposes the limitation has been considered as best understood by the Examiner.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “the person” in line 12. There is insufficient antecedent basis for the limitation in the claim. For examination purposes the limitation has been considered as -- a person--.
Claim 7 recites the limitation “the chest-specific and the abdomen-specific pressure load” in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for the limitation in the claim. For examination purposes claim 7 has been considered as dependent upon claim 6 and the limitation at claim 7 line 3 has been considered as --the chest-specific pressure load and the abdomen-specific pressure load--.
Claim 8 recites the limitation “provide the pressure distribution as an occupant-specific parameter to the control device” in claim 1 lines 13-14 and “as a function of the occupant-specific parameter, and the pressure distribution” in claim 8 lines 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for the limitation “the occupant-specific parameter” at claim 8 lines 2-3 because the pressure distribution is introduced as the occupant-specific parameter at claim 1 line 13. For examination purposes the limitation has been considered as best understood by the Examiner.
Claims 2-10 are rejected for depending upon indefinite base claims.
Claim Analysis - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-10 are eligible under 35 U.S.C. 101 at step 2A prong 2 because the claim limitations “provide the pressure distribution as an occupant-specific parameter to the control device for controlling the restraint device” and “the control device is adapted and configured to control the at least one restraint device at least in the event of an accident as a function of the occupant-specific parameter” integrate the recited mental processes into a practical application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-4, and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by SUZUKI `957 (JP 6,235,957).
Regarding claim 1, SUZUKI `957 discloses an occupant protection device for a motor vehicle, comprising:
at least one adaptive restraint system with at least one restraint device (pretensioner 40 operated by gas generator 45, i.a. 0063 lines 1-3) and with at least one sensor device (20 and 52 together) configured to acquire at least one occupant-specific parameter (load distribution, i.a. S101-102, 0057 lines 5-6, 0058 lines 1-3); and
at least one control device (0037 lines 3-4),
wherein the control device is adapted and configured to control the at least one restraint device (pretensioner 40) at least in the event of an accident as a function of the occupant-specific parameter (S105, S107, 0061 lines 1-3, 0063 line 1 - 0066 line end),
wherein the sensor device comprises at least one textile pressure sensor (20, 0026 lines 3-5, n.b. term “textile pressure sensor” is broad and 23 is a “textile pressure sensor” at least because it is flexible and integrated into webbing) that is integrated into a belt webbing of a seat belt (i.a. Fig. 2) and provides a large number of spatially distributed pressure signals (23, i.a. 0034 lines 1-3, Figs. 5-6), and
wherein the sensor device (20 and 52 together) comprises at least one evaluation unit (52; inasmuch as Applicant’s disclosed invention, 0033 lines 1-3) that is adapted and configured to register the pressure signals in a spatially resolved manner and ascertain a pressure distribution that describes a spatial distribution of a force exerted on the seat belt by the person wearing the seat belt (i.a. 0046 lines 1-3) and provide the pressure distribution as an occupant-specific parameter to the control device for controlling the restraint device (Fig. 4, 0059 lines 1-end).
Regarding claim 3, SUZUKI `957 discloses the occupant protection device according to claim 1.
SUZUKI `957 further discloses wherein the at least one restraint device (40) is configured as a belt tensioning device (0025 line 1).
Regarding claim 4, SUZUKI `957 discloses the occupant protection device according to claim 1.
SUZUKI `957 further discloses wherein the control device is adapted and configured to adjust a restraining force of the seat belt as a function of the occupant-specific parameter (0066 lines 1-3).
Regarding claim 8, SUZUKI `957 discloses the occupant protection device according to claim 1.
SUZUKI `957 further discloses wherein the control device is adapted and configured to control the at least one restraint device as a function of the occupant-specific parameter, and the pressure distribution (inasmuch as Applicant’s disclosed invention, S105, S107, 0061 lines 1-3, 0063 line 1 - 0066 line end).
Regarding claim 9, SUZUKI `957 discloses the occupant protection device according to claim 8.
SUZUKI `957 further discloses wherein the control device is configured to relax the seat belt in a defined manner (0065 lines 1-2).
Regarding claim 10, SUZUKI `957 further discloses a seat belt unit (15) comprising at least one seat belt (15) and at least one textile pressure sensor (20) integrated into the at least one seat belt (Fig. 2) for an occupant protection device according to claim 1.
Claims 1 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by SUZUKI `631 (JP 6,276,631).
Regarding claim 1, SUZUKI `631 discloses an occupant protection device for a motor vehicle, comprising:
at least one adaptive restraint system with at least one restraint device (front airbag 45) and with at least one sensor device (30 and 82 together) configured to acquire at least one occupant-specific parameter (load distribution, i.a. 0075 lines 1-3); and
at least one control device (80),
wherein the control device is adapted and configured to control the at least one restraint device at least in the event of an accident as a function of the occupant-specific parameter (S115, 0082 lines 2-6),
wherein the sensor device comprises at least one textile pressure sensor (30, n.b. term “textile pressure sensor” is broad and 23 is a “textile pressure sensor” at least because it is flexible and integrated into webbing) that is integrated into a belt webbing of a seat belt (i.a. Fig. 2) and provides a large number of spatially distributed pressure signals (Figs. 3-4), and
wherein the sensor device (30 and 82 taken together) comprises at least one evaluation unit (82; inasmuch as Applicant’s disclosed invention, 0033 lines 1-3) that is adapted and configured to register the pressure signals in a spatially resolved manner and ascertain a pressure distribution that describes a spatial distribution of a force exerted on the seat belt by the person wearing the seat belt (0063 lines 1-5) and provide the pressure distribution as an occupant-specific parameter to the control device for controlling the restraint device (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 5, SUZUKI `631 discloses the occupant protection device according to claim 1.
SUZUKI `631 further discloses wherein the control device is adapted and configured to adjust an airbag pressure as a function of the occupant-specific parameter (0082 lines 2-6; lower pressure implied/inherent in staggered stages and slower speed).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2 and 6-7 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/MARK L. GREENE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3747