CTNF 18/932,692 CTNF 101508 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Objections 07-29-01 AIA Claim s 1 and 2 objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 1 includes the limitation “a shredding section that shreds paper into shredded pieces”, which should be written as – a shredding section that is configured to shred s paper into shredded pieces --. Claim 1 includes the limitation “a waste box that stores the shredded pieces”, which should be written as – a waste box that is configured to store s the shredded pieces --. Claim 1 includes the limitation “weight measurement section that .... measures a weight of the shredded pieces accumulated in the waste box”, which should be written as – weight measurement section that .... is configured to measure s a weight of the shredded pieces accumulated in the waste box --. Claim 2 includes the limitation “the guide portion and the bottom plate guide portion come into contact with each other and slide”, which should be written as -- the guide portion and the bottom plate guide portion are configured to come into contact with each other and slide --. Appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-02 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. 07-34-01 Claim 2 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 2 includes the limitation “the guide portion and the bottom plate guide portion come into contact with each other and slide due to displacement of the bottom plate portion”. This limitation is indefinite because it is not clear if both objects slide of if only one of them slides. The drawings show a guide portion that appears unmoving and that the bottom plate guide portion slides relative to the guide portion. For the purposes of examination, the claim will be interpreted as though only the bottom plate guide portion slides due to displacement of the bottom plate portion. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-aia AIA Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Paeslack (WO2022038197) . Re Claim 1, Paeslack discloses a shredder (waste treatment device 10) comprising: a shredding section (shredding unit 22) that shreds paper into shredded pieces (“The collection bag 38 is arranged below the shredding unit 22 and serves to collect waste shredded by the shredding unit 22” [0061]); a waste box (collection bag 40) that stores the shredded pieces (“The collection bag 38 is arranged below the shredding unit 22 and serves to collect waste shredded by the shredding unit 22” [0061]); a holding section (receiving container 42) that includes a bottom plate portion (bottom surface of receiving container 42) on which the waste box is mounted (Fig. 2 shows the receiving container has a bottom plate portion and Fig. 4a shows the receiving container defines the collection bag 40); and a weight measurement section (insert 36) that is disposed under the bottom plate portion (Fig. 2) and measures a weight of the shredded pieces accumulated in the waste box (“In particular, it may be provided that the insert and/or the receiving container has an integrated scale for determining the weight load.” [0034]), wherein the weight measurement section measures the weight of the shredded pieces together with a weight of the bottom plate portion and a weight of the waste box (A scale integrated with the insert 36 would measure the weight of the receiving container 42, collection bag 40, and anything inside collection bag 40) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takeda et al. (US2015298134), hereinafter referred to as “Takeda” in view of Paeslack (WO2022038197), further in view of Tschukan et al. (DE102017118889), hereinafter referred to as Tschukan . Re Claim 1, Takeda discloses a shredder (“the shredder includes ...” [0047]) comprising: a shredding section (shredding mechanism 11) that shreds paper into shredded pieces (“a shredding mechanism 11 for shredding a sheet-like object S” [0047]); a waste box that stores the shredded pieces (trash container 12); a holding section (comprising support 8, holding support 9, and inclined portion 10, which are shown in Fig. 1B to be integral to each other, and catching member 6) that includes a bottom plate portion (catching member 6); and Takeda does not disclose a bottom plate portion on which the waste box is mounted, instead mounting its waste box (trash container 12) on a rack (partition frame member 2), or a weight measurement section that is disposed under the bottom plate portion and measures a weight of the shredded pieces accumulated in the waste box, wherein the weight measurement section measures the weight of the shredded pieces together with a weight of the bottom plate portion and a weight of the waste box. Paeslack teaches a bottom plate portion (insert 36) on which the waste box (receiving container 42) is mounted (Figs. 2-5). Paeslack teaches mounting the waste box onto the bottom plate portion so that the waste box can be removed from the shredder (“The insert can be designed to be partially or fully extendable from the waste treatment device. arranged, in particular, to be fastened. For example, the insert can be designed as a drawer. Preferably, the insert can be completely removed from the waste treatment device, e.g. when changing the receiving container, to allow for a movable transport option of the compacted waste to a storage site.” [0021]-[0022]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Takeda by directly mounting the trash container of Takeda on the catching member of Takeda, as taught by Paeslack in order to make the trash container extendable from the shredder (“The insert can be designed to be partially or fully extendable from the waste treatment device” [0021]). Examiner notes that this modification necessarily involves removing the frame member of Takeda as the frame member would overlap with the trash container of Takeda if the trash container was directly mounted on the catching member of Takeda. The integral component comprising support 8, holding support 9, and inclined portion 10 performs the function of supporting the frame member 2 (Takeda, “supports 8 for supporting the projecting portions 7 are arranged on both the side walls in the width direction of the shredder casing 1” [0059] and projecting portions 7 is a part of partition frame member 2). Examiner notes that modification of Takeda, in view of Paeslack, does not change the integral component comprising support 8, holding support 9, and inclined portion 10 because one of ordinary skill in the art would still include the integral component in the invention as the integral component is disclose to perform the secondary function of guiding shredded pieces into the catching member of Takeda (Takeda, “even when the particles that are not received in the trash container 12 fall downward along the peripheral walls of the shredder casing 1 , the particles are guided downward into the catching member 6 along the inclined portions 10” [0064]) Tschukan teaches a weight measurement section (pressure sensor 30) that is disposed under (“The pressure sensor can then be positioned below the guide device and indirectly absorb the weight of the waste container.” [0011]) the bottom plate portion (“guide device” [0011]) and measures a weight of the shredded pieces accumulated in the waste box (“The fill level sensor measures the fill level indirectly via the total weight of the waste container and, if applicable, the guide device, and the pressure exerted on the pressure sensor resulting from the total weight.” [0011]), wherein the weight measurement section measures the weight of the shredded pieces together with a weight of the bottom plate portion and a weight of the waste box (“The fill level sensor measures the fill level indirectly via the total weight of the waste container and, if applicable, the guide device, and the pressure exerted on the pressure sensor resulting from the total weight.” [0011]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Takeda, in view of Paeslack, to incorporate a weight measurement section below the bottom plate portion as taught by Tschukan in order to measure the fill level of the waste box (“The fill level sensor measures the fill level indirectly via the total weight of the waste container and, if applicable, the guide device, and the pressure exerted on the pressure sensor resulting from the total weight.” [0011], Tschukan). Re Claim 2, Takeda, in view of Peaslack and Tschukan, disclose the shredder according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above), and Takeda further discloses that the holding section includes a guide portion (see Fig. 1 of Takeda, illustrated below), the bottom plate portion includes a bottom plate guide portion (see Fig. 1 of Takeda, illustrated below), and PNG media_image1.png 549 1034 media_image1.png Greyscale Fig. 1 of Takeda, illustrated the guide portion and the bottom plate guide portion come into contact with each other and slide due to displacement of the bottom plate portion to correct inclination of the bottom plate portion with respect to a horizontal plane (The guide portion and bottom guide portion as identified in Takeda are configured such that, if the bottom guide portion were inclined, they would come into contact with each other and the bottom plate guide portion could slide relative to the guide portion). Re Claim 3, Takeda, in view of Peaslack and Tschukan, disclose the shredder according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above), and further discloses that the holding section includes a visor portion (see Fig. 1 of Takeda, illustrated below), and an inner edge of the visor portion (see Fig. 1 of Takeda, illustrated below) overlaps an outer edge of the bottom plate portion (see Fig. 1 of Takeda, illustrated below) in plan view when viewed from above . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Chen (CN108405124) teaches a weight measurement section (pressure sensor 17) that is disposed under (Fig. 1) the bottom plate portion (inner frame 9) and measures a weight of the shredded pieces accumulated in the waste box (“the bottom of the inner wall of the outer frame is fixedly connected with a pressure sensor,” Pg. 2, Line 16), wherein the weight measurement section measures the weight of the shredded pieces together with a weight of the bottom plate portion and a weight of the waste box. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to WILLIAM D DICKSTEIN whose telephone number is (571) 272-1847. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday 10:00 am to 5:00 pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Christopher Templeton can be reached at (571) 270-1477. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /W.D.D./Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3725 /BOBBY YEONJIN KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3725 Application/Control Number: 18/932,692 Page 2 Art Unit: 3725 Application/Control Number: 18/932,692 Page 3 Art Unit: 3725 Application/Control Number: 18/932,692 Page 4 Art Unit: 3725 Application/Control Number: 18/932,692 Page 5 Art Unit: 3725 Application/Control Number: 18/932,692 Page 6 Art Unit: 3725 Application/Control Number: 18/932,692 Page 7 Art Unit: 3725 Application/Control Number: 18/932,692 Page 8 Art Unit: 3725 Application/Control Number: 18/932,692 Page 9 Art Unit: 3725 Application/Control Number: 18/932,692 Page 10 Art Unit: 3725