Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 15, claim recites “wherein the cloud network platform is not equipped with
processing of the communication functionalities.”. In Broadest Reasonable Interpretation (BRI), communication functionalities includes any type of communications. In the specification, Fig. 2D, cloud network platform 206 communicates with edge network platform 208 via IP layer 212 ([0050]), i.e. cloud network platform is equipped with processing of the communication functionalities.
Claims 16-20 are rejected due to their dependency on claim 15.
Regarding claim 4, claim recites “the core network functionalities in the cloud network platform include no communication services”. In BRI, communication services includes any type of communications. In the specification, Fig. 2D, cloud network platform 206 communicates with edge network platform 208 via IP layer 212 ([0050]).
The claim recites “the set of L1 functionalities in the site network platform includes no computation services.”. In BRI, computation services includes any type of computing. In the specification, Fig. 2D, site network platform 210 is on Common Commercial Off The Shelf (COTS) hardware, i.e. computing platform ([0052]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 and 5-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20230006889 A1 (hereinafter Thyagaturu), in view of in view of US 20220232423 A1 (hereinafter Thyagaturu2), and “5G; NR; NR and NG-RAN Overall description; Stage-2 (3GPP TS 38.300 version 17.7.0 Release 17), (2024-02) ” (hereinafter 38.300).
Regarding claim 1, Thyagaturu teaches A system, comprising (Thyagaturu [0218] FIG. 14 depicts
a high-level view of components of a varying device, subsystem, or arrangement of a compute node.
[0186] FIG. 14 illustrates an example of components that may be present in a computing node
1450 for implementing the techniques (e.g., operations, processes, methods, and methodologies) described herein.):
a processing system including a processor (Thyagaturu [0188] The compute node 1450 includes
processing circuitry in the form of one or more processors 1452.); and
a memory that stores executable instructions that, when executed by the processing system,
facilitate performance of operations, the operations comprising (Thyagaturu [0188] The compute node 1450 includes processing circuitry in the form of one or more processors 1452. The processor circuitry 1452 includes circuitry such as, but not limited to one or more processor cores and one or more of cache memory.
[0190] The processors (or cores) 1452 may be coupled with or may include memory/storage and may be configured to execute instructions stored in the memory/storage to enable various applications or operating systems to run on the platform 1450. The processors (or cores) 1452 is configured to operate application software to provide a specific service to a user of the platform 1450.):
allocating, to an edge network platform, a set of radio layer 2 (L2) functionalities implementing communication services (Thyagaturu Fig. 1; [0220] Additional examples of the presently described methods, devices, systems, and networks discussed herein include the following, non-limiting implementations.
[0221] Example 1 includes a method for providing flow-specific slicing, the method comprising: causing instantiation of a virtual lane in a data center network (DCN) to be used for a flow-specific slice for a service hosted by a service provider environment; mapping a network slice instance (NSI) in a communication network (NW) to the instantiated virtual lane; and causing an end-to-end (e2e) connection to be established for the flow-specific slice, wherein the e2e connection is established between a user application operated by a user device and a service provider application operated by the service provider environment, and the flow-specific slice includes the instantiated virtual lane and the NSI based on the mapping.
[0011] In FIG. 1, network slices are created for different network slice types (or service types) including an ultra-high definition (UHD) slice 121, an enhanced Mobile Broadband (eMBB) slice 122. Applications dedicated for each service are virtualized and operate within their respective slices 121, 122. Each network slice is created for different services that have different service requirements. In some examples, the different service requirements for each network slice may be specified by respective service level agreements (SLAs).
[0012] the UHD slice 121 includes a RAN function (RANF) 131, and edge compute function (ECF) 136 in the edge cloud 110.
[0014] The RANFs 131 may have a CU/DU split-architecture deployment and/or a next generation fronthaul (NGF) deployment.
[0300] The term “Central Unit” or “CU” at least in some examples refers to a logical node hosting radio resource control (RRC), Service Data Adaptation Protocol (SDAP), and/or Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) protocols/layers of an NG-RAN node, or RRC and PDCP protocols of the en-gNB that controls the operation of one or more DUs; a CU terminates an F1 interface connected with a DU and may be connected with multiple DUs. The term “Distributed Unit” or “DU” at least in some examples refers to a logical node hosting Backhaul Adaptation Protocol (BAP), F1 application protocol (F1AP), radio link control (RLC), medium access control (MAC), and physical (PHY) layers of the NG-RAN node or en-gNB, and its operation is partly controlled by a CU; one DU supports one or multiple cells, and one cell is supported by only one DU; and a DU terminates the F1 interface connected with a CU.
Note: edge cloud is the edge network platform. PDCP, RLC and MAC are radio layer 2 functionailties.);
allocating, to the edge network platform, first user plane functionalities implementing computation services (Thyagaturu Fig. 1; [0012] In this example, the UHD slice 121 includes a user plane (UP) core network (CN) 142u, and edge compute function (ECF) 136 in the edge cloud 110.
[0005] FIG. 9 illustrates an example edge computing environment. FIG. 10 illustrates an overview of an edge cloud configuration for edge computing.);
allocating, to a cloud network platform, core network functionalities implementing mobility and authorization and second user plane functionalities implementing the computation services (Thyagaturu
Fig. 1; [0220] Additional examples of the presently described methods, devices, systems, and networks discussed herein include the following, non-limiting implementations.
[0221] Example 1 includes a method for providing flow-specific slicing, the method comprising: causing instantiation of a virtual lane in a data center network (DCN) to be used for a flow-specific slice for a service hosted by a service provider environment; mapping a network slice instance (NSI) in a communication network (NW) to the instantiated virtual lane; and causing an end-to-end (e2e) connection to be established for the flow-specific slice, wherein the e2e connection is established between a user application operated by a user device and a service provider application operated by the service provider environment, and the flow-specific slice includes the instantiated virtual lane and the NSI based on the mapping.
[0011] In FIG. 1, network slices are created for different network slice types (or service types) including an ultra-high definition (UHD) slice 121, an enhanced Mobile Broadband (eMBB) slice 122.
Applications dedicated for each service are virtualized and operate within their respective slices 121, 122. Each network slice is created for different services that have different service requirements. In some examples, the different service requirements for each network slice may be specified by respective service level agreements (SLAs). Additionally, NFs are deployed, disposed, or otherwise placed at different locations in each slice (e.g., within the edge cloud 110 or the core cloud 115) depending on the services provided by each network slice.
[0012] the core cloud 115 includes a UP and CP 5G CN 142 with full mobility features.
[0011] NFs are deployed, disposed, or otherwise placed at different locations in each slice (e.g., within the edge cloud 110 or the core cloud 115) depending on the services provided by each network slice. Some NFs such as, for example, access management (mgt) functions 171, session mgt functions 172, mobility mgt functions 173, charging functions 174, policy control, and the like, can be deployed in one slice, while being omitted from other slices.
[0028] a cloud computing service or cloud network (e.g., core cloud 115 of FIG. 1.
Note: core cloud is the cloud network platform. As shown in Fig. 1, access management (mgt) functions 171 and mobility mgt functions 173 are in core cloud 115.),
wherein the computation services are distributed at least in the cloud network platform and the edge network platform (Thyagaturu Fig. 1; [0012] In this example, the UHD slice 121 includes a user plane (UP) core network (CN) 142u, and edge compute function (ECF) 136 in the edge cloud 110.
[0005] FIG. 9 illustrates an example edge computing environment. FIG. 10 illustrates an overview of an edge cloud configuration for edge computing.
[0012] the core cloud 115 includes a UP and CP 5G CN 142 with full mobility features.
[0028] a cloud computing service or cloud network (e.g., core cloud 115 of FIG. 1.).
Note: user plane functionalities are distributed in the cloud network platform and the edge network platform.); and
Although Thyagaturu teaches allocating, to a radio unit, a set of radio layer 1 (L1) functionalities (Thyagaturu [0300] The term “Radio Unit” or “RU” at least in some examples refers to a logical node hosting PHY layer or Low-PHY layer and radiofrequency (RF) processing based on a lower layer functional split.), Thyagaturu does not explicitly teach a radio unit is a site network platform, radio layer 1 (L1) functionalities comprising link adaptation, retransmission, and segmentation for users.
Thyagaturu2 in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches a radio unit is a site network platform (Thyagaturu2 [0022] FIG. 1 shows example network deployments including an example next generation fronthaul (NGF) deployment 100a where a user equipment (UE) 110 is connected to a remote radio head (RRH) 130 (also referred to as a “remote radio unit 130”, “remote unit 130”, or “RU 130”) via an air interface, the RRH 130 is connected to a Digital Unit (DU) 131 via a NGF interface (NGFI)-I.
[0023] In one example C-RAN implementation, only the RRH 130 is disposed at the cell site.).
38.300 in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches radio layer 1 (L1) functionalities comprising link adaptation, retransmission, and segmentation for users (38.300 page 32, 5 Physical layer
Page 36, 5.2.5.1 Link adaptation
Link adaptation (AMC: adaptive modulation and coding) with various modulation schemes and channel coding rates is
applied to the PDSCH. The same coding and modulation is applied to all groups of resource blocks belonging to the same L2 PDU scheduled to one user within one transmission duration and within a MIMO codeword.
For channel state estimation purposes, the UE may be configured to measure CSI-RS and estimate the downlink channel state based on the CSI-RS measurements. The UE feeds the estimated channel state back to the gNB to be used in link adaptation.
Page 36, 5.2.5.4 HARQ
The UE may be configured to receive code block group based transmissions where retransmissions may be scheduled to carry a sub-set of all the code blocks of a TB.
page 33, 5.2.2 Physical-layer processing for physical downlink shared channel
The downlink physical-layer processing of transport channels consists of the following steps:
Code block segmentation and code block CRC attachment;).
By modifying Thyagaturu’s teachings of allocating, to a radio unit, a set of radio layer 1 (L1) functionalities,
with Thyagaturu2’s teachings of a radio unit is a site network platform, and
with 38.300’s teachings of radio layer 1 (L1) functionalities comprising link adaptation, retransmission, and segmentation for users,
the modification results in
allocating, to a site network platform, a set of radio layer 1 (L1) functionalities implementing link adaptation, retransmission, and segmentation for users.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Thyagaturu as modified by Thyagaturu2 with Thyagaturu2’s above teachings. The motivation is optimizing network elements (Thyagaturu2 [0002]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Thyagaturu as modified by Thyagaturu2 with 38.300’s above teachings. The motivation is supporting RLC sublayer (38.300 page 49).
Regarding claim 2, Thyagaturu in view of Thyagaturu2 and 38.300 teaches The system of claim
1.
Thyagaturu teaches wherein the operations further comprise maintaining both the
communication services and the computation services on a shared computation platform configured by the edge network platform, wherein the edge network platform is implemented as a software-defined radio access network (RAN) (Thyagaturu [0012] In this example, the UHD slice 121 includes a RAN function (RANF) 131, user plane (UP) core network (CN) 142u, and edge compute function (ECF) 136 in the edge cloud 110.
[0187] In some embodiments, the compute node 1450 may correspond to … edge cloud.
[0288] the term “computer system” and/or “system” at least in some examples refer to multiple computer devices and/or multiple computing systems that are communicatively coupled with one another and configured to share computing and/or networking resources.
[0128] Applications that have been adapted for edge computing include but are not limited to virtualization of traditional network functions including include, for example, Software-Defined Networking (SDN), NFV, distributed RAN units and/or RAN clouds, and the like.
Note: edge network platform (i.e. edge cloud) is a shared computation platform. SDN and distributed RAN units and/or RAN clouds is a software-defined radio access network.).
Regarding claim 3, Thyagaturu in view of Thyagaturu2 and 38.300 teaches The system of claim
1.
Thyagaturu teaches wherein the operations further comprise dynamically adjusting allocation of resources for the distributed computation services to the cloud network platform, the edge network platform, or both (Thyagaturu [0066] during the operation phase, the slicing mgmt 635 can adjust the resources allocated to individual slices 622 (e.g., allocate more or fewer resources) based on monitored/collected telemetry data (e.g., from telemetry function(s) 223, 333) and/or metrics/measurements and/or KPIs of the individual network slices 622.
[0158] In any of the implementations discussed herein, the edge servers 936 provide a distributed computing environment for application and service hosting, and also provide storage and processing resources so that data and/or content can be processed in close proximity to subscribers (e.g., users of UEs 910) for faster response times The edge servers 936 also support ... computational offloading. Computational offloading involves offloading computational tasks, workloads, applications, and/or services to the edge servers 936 from the UEs 910, CN 942, cloud 944, and/or server(s) 950, or vice versa.).
Regarding claim 5, Thyagaturu in view of Thyagaturu2 and 38.300 teaches The system of claim
1.
Thyagaturu teaches wherein the operations further comprise: implementing the cloud network
platform in a first section of a common hardware platform (Thyagaturu Fig. 1; [0010] Each of the NFs in a network slice may be a virtual NF (VNF) or a physical NF (PNF). The NFs may be implemented using virtual machines (VMs), virtualization containers, and/or some other network function virtualization (NFV) technology. The NFs can also be deployed using virtualization infrastructure (VI) 140, which allows various NFs to operate in or as core cloud 160. In some implementations, commercial-of-the-shelf (COTS) equipment can be used for the VI 140.);
implementing the edge network platform in a second section of the common hardware platform (Thyagaturu Fig. 1; [0010] Each of the NFs in a network slice may be a virtual NF (VNF) or a physical NF (PNF). The NFs may be implemented using virtual machines (VMs), virtualization containers, and/or some other network function virtualization (NFV) technology. The NFs can also be deployed using virtualization infrastructure (VI) 140, which allows various NFs to operate in or as an edge cloud 110. In some implementations, commercial-of-the-shelf (COTS) equipment can be used for the VI 140.); and
implementing a radio unit in a third section of the common hardware platform (Thyagaturu Fig. 1; [0010] In some implementations, commercial-of-the-shelf (COTS) equipment can be used for the VI 140 and/or AN equipment 130, 130′. … each AN 130′ includes one or more network access nodes (NANs) 130.
[0297] In some examples, a “network access node” or “NAN” may be a radio unit or remote radio head.).
Thyagaturu does not explicitly teach a radio unit is a site network platform.
Thyagaturu2 teaches a radio unit is a site network platform (See Thyagaturu2 [0022-0023] cited above in rejection of claim 1.).
By modifying Thyagaturu’s teachings of implementing a radio unit in a third section of the common hardware platform,
with Thyagaturu2’s teachings of a radio unit is a site network platform,
the modification results in
implementing the site network platform in a third section of the common hardware platform.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Thyagaturu as modified by Thyagaturu2 and 38.300 with Thyagaturu2’s above teachings. The motivation is optimizing network elements (Thyagaturu2 [0002]).
Regarding claim 6, Thyagaturu in view of Thyagaturu2 and 38.300 teaches The system of claim
5.
Thyagaturu teaches wherein the first section of the common hardware platform is configured as
a wireless data center (Thyagaturu [0014] the core cloud 115 may be the same or similar as the cloud 944 and/or server(s) 950 of FIG. 9 and/or the cloud data center 1030 of FIG. 10.),
the second section of the common hardware platform is configured to provide computing resources for supporting low latency applications (Thyagaturu [0168] The edge cloud 1010 architecture that covers multiple potential deployments and addresses restrictions that some network operators or service providers may have in their own infrastructures. These include, variation of configurations based on the edge location because edges at a NAN level, for instance, may have more constrained performance and capabilities in a multi-tenant scenario.
[0169] Edge computing is a paradigm where computing is performed at or closer to the “edge” of a network, typically through the use of an appropriately arranged compute platform (e.g., x86, ARM, Nvidia, and/or other CPU/GPU based compute hardware architecture) implemented at NANs 1040, gateways, network routers, and/or other devices which are much closer to endpoint devices 1060 producing and consuming the data. For example, edge gateway servers (e.g., local processing hub 1050) may be equipped with pools of memory and storage resources to perform computation in real-time for low latency use-cases (e.g., autonomous driving or video surveillance) for connected client devices 1060.), and
Thyagaturu does not explicitly teach the third section of the common hardware platform is configured to provide computing resources for supporting real time processing.
Thyagaturu2 teaches the third section of the common hardware platform is configured to
provide computing resources for supporting real time processing (Thyagaturu2 [0041] In any of the implementations discussed herein, the lower layers of the RAN protocol stack can be characterized by real-time (RT) functions and relatively complex signal processing algorithms, and the higher layers of the RAN protocol stack can be characterized by non-RT functions. In these implementations, the RT functions and signal processing algorithms can be implemented in RRHs 130 either using purpose-built network elements or in COTS hardware augmented with purpose-built HW accelerators (e.g., acceleration circuitry 1364 of FIG. 13 discussed infra).).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Thyagaturu as modified by Thyagaturu2 and 38.300 with Thyagaturu2’s above teachings. The motivation is optimizing network elements (Thyagaturu2 [0002]).
Regarding claim 7, Thyagaturu in view of Thyagaturu2 and 38.300 teaches The system of claim
1.
Thyagaturu teaches wherein the operations further comprise: performing a distributed
orchestration of computation resources in the cloud network platform and the edge network platform, using the first user plane functionalities and the second user plane functionalities (Thyagaturu Fig. 1; [0011] In FIG. 1, network slices are created for different network slice types (or service types) including an ultra-high definition (UHD) slice 121, an enhanced Mobile Broadband (eMBB) slice 122. ... Each network slice is created for different services that have different service requirements. In some examples, the different service requirements for each network slice may be specified by respective service level agreements (SLAs). Additionally, NFs are deployed, disposed, or otherwise placed at different locations in each slice (e.g., within the edge cloud 110 or the core cloud 115) depending on the services provided by each network slice.
[0012] the UHD slice 121 includes a RAN function (RANF) 131, user plane (UP) core network (CN) 142u, and edge compute function (ECF) 136 in the edge cloud 110. ... the core cloud 115 includes a UP and CP 5G CN 142 with full mobility features.
[0027] The service provider environment 236 configures flow-specific parameters to the NOPs 220 (or specified/selected NOP infrastructure elements). This configuration may be done by the orchestrator 236a, the observation element 236b, and/or the service 236c itself.
[0028] ...In some implementations, the orchestrator 236a allocates resources to individual flow-specific slices according to respective slice requirements and/or predetermined or negotiated SLAs… In one example, the orchestrator 236a may provide differentiated handling of data traffic or traffic flows by creating or instantiating different user plane.
[0028] In some implementations, the service provider environment 236 is an edge computing network/framework (e.g., edge cloud 110 of FIG. 1), a cloud computing service or cloud network (e.g., core cloud 115 of FIG. 1).).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thyagaturu in view of Thyagaturu2 and 38.300 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US20220038554 A1 (hereinafter Merwaday).
Regarding claim 8, Thyagaturu in view of Thyagaturu2 and 38.300 teaches The system of claim
1.
Thyagaturu teaches wherein the operations further comprise:
facilitating communication between the edge network platform and the cloud network platform
using an IP layer as a transport layer (Thyagaturu [0015] In some implementations, the communications among the NFs in the edge cloud 110 and the core cloud 115 takes place using internet protocol (IP).).
Thyagaturu does not explicitly teach and via a RESTful (Representational State Transferful) interface;
Merwaday in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches and via a RESTful (Representational State Transferful) interface (Merwaday [0192] The interfaces/reference points in the MEC system 1700 may include IP-based connections, and may be used to provide Representational State Transfer (REST or RESTful) services.); and
By modifying Thyagaturu’s teachings of wherein the operations further comprise:
facilitating communication between the edge network platform and the cloud network platform
using an IP layer as a transport layer,
with Merwaday’s teachings of and via a RESTful (Representational State Transferful) interface,
the modification results in
wherein the operations further comprise:
facilitating communication between the edge network platform and the cloud network platform
using an IP layer as a transport layer and via a RESTful (Representational State Transferful) interface; and
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Thyagaturu as modified by Thyagaturu2 and 38.300 with Merwaday’s above teachings. The motivation is reducing application and network latency (Merwaday [0143]).
Although Thyagaturu teaches the edge network platform, the radio unit and fronthaul deployment, the edge network platform includes a CU/DU (Thyagaturu [0012] the UHD slice 121 includes a RAN function (RANF) 131, and edge compute function (ECF) 136 in the edge cloud 110.
[0014] The RANFs 131 may have a CU/DU split-architecture deployment and/or a next generation fronthaul (NGF) deployment.
[0300] The term “Radio Unit” or “RU” at least in some examples refers to a logical node hosting PHY layer or Low-PHY layer and radiofrequency (RF) processing based on a lower layer functional split.), Thyagaturu deos not explicitly teach the radio unit is connected to the CU/DU via a fronthaul connection, the radio unit is the site network platform.
Thyagaturu2 teaches the radio unit is connected to the CU/DU via a fronthaul connection, the radio unit is the site network platform (Thyagaturu2 [0022] FIG. 1 shows example network deployments including an example next generation fronthaul (NGF) deployment 100a where a user equipment (UE) 110 is connected to a remote radio head (RRH) 130 (also referred to as a “remote radio unit 130”, “remote unit 130”, or “RU 130”) via an air interface, the RRH 130 is connected to a Digital Unit (DU) 131 via a NGF interface (NGFI)-I.
[0023] In one example C-RAN implementation, only the RRH 130 is disposed at the cell site.).
By modifying Thyagaturu’s teachings of the edge network platform, the radio unit and fronthaul deployment, the edge network platform includes a CU/DU,
with Thyagaturu2’s teachings of the radio unit is connected to the CU/DU via a fronthaul connection, the radio unit is the site network platform,
the modification results in
facilitating communication between the edge network platform and the site network platform via a fronthaul connection.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Thyagaturu as modified by Thyagaturu2 and 38.300 and Merwaday with Thyagaturu2’s above teachings. The motivation is optimizing network elements (Thyagaturu2 [0002]).
Claim(s) 9-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thyagaturu in view of Thyagaturu2, 38.300, and Merwaday.
Regarding claim 9, Thyagaturu teaches A non-transitory machine-readable medium, comprising
executable instructions that, when executed by a processing system including a processor, facilitate performance of operations, the operations comprising (Thyagaturu [0211] In an example, the instructions 1481, 1482, 1483 provided via the memory 1454, the storage 1458, or the processor 1452 may be embodied as a non-transitory machine-readable medium (NTMRM) 1460 including code to direct the processor 1452 to perform electronic operations in the compute node 1450.):
configuring a cloud network platform to implement control plane functionalities and first user plane functionalities (Thyagaturu [0218] FIG. 14 depicts a high-level view of components of a varying device, subsystem, or arrangement of a compute node.
[0220] Additional examples of the presently described methods, devices, systems, and networks discussed herein include the following, non-limiting implementations.
[0221] Example 1 includes a method for providing flow-specific slicing, the method comprising: causing instantiation of a virtual lane in a data center network (DCN) to be used for a flow-specific slice for a service hosted by a service provider environment; mapping a network slice instance (NSI) in a communication network (NW) to the instantiated virtual lane; and causing an end-to-end (e2e) connection to be established for the flow-specific slice, wherein the e2e connection is established between a user application operated by a user device and a service provider application operated by the service provider environment, and the flow-specific slice includes the instantiated virtual lane and the NSI based on the mapping.
[0011] In FIG. 1, network slices are created for different network slice types (or service types) including an ultra-high definition (UHD) slice 121, an enhanced Mobile Broadband (eMBB) slice 122.
Applications dedicated for each service are virtualized and operate within their respective slices 121, 122. Each network slice is created for different services that have different service requirements. In some examples, the different service requirements for each network slice may be specified by respective service level agreements (SLAs). Additionally, NFs are deployed, disposed, or otherwise placed at different locations in each slice (e.g., within the edge cloud 110 or the core cloud 115) depending on the services provided by each network slice.
[0012] the core cloud 115 includes a UP and CP 5G CN 142 with full mobility features.
Note: core cloud is the cloud network platform.);
configuring an edge network platform to implement a radio layer 2 (L2) functionalities and second user plane functionalities (Thyagaturu Fig. 1; [0012] the UHD slice 121 includes a RAN function (RANF) 131, user plane (UP) core network (CN) 142u, and edge compute function (ECF) 136 in the edge cloud 110.
[0014] The RANFs 131 may have a CU/DU split-architecture deployment and/or a next generation fronthaul (NGF) deployment.
[0300] The term “Central Unit” or “CU” at least in some examples refers to a logical node hosting radio resource control (RRC), Service Data Adaptation Protocol (SDAP), and/or Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) protocols/layers of an NG-RAN node, or RRC and PDCP protocols of the en-gNB that controls the operation of one or more DUs; a CU terminates an F1 interface connected with a DU and may be connected with multiple DUs. The term “Distributed Unit” or “DU” at least in some examples refers to a logical node hosting Backhaul Adaptation Protocol (BAP), F1 application protocol (F1AP), radio link control (RLC), medium access control (MAC), and physical (PHY) layers of the NG-RAN node or en-gNB, and its operation is partly controlled by a CU; one DU supports one or multiple cells, and one cell is supported by only one DU; and a DU terminates the F1 interface connected with a CU.
Note: edge cloud is the edge network platform. RLC and MAC are radio layer 2 functinalities.); and
configuring a radio unit to implement a radio layer 1 (L1) functionalities (Thyagaturu [0014] The RANFs 131 may have a CU/DU split-architecture deployment and/or a next generation fronthaul (NGF) deployment.
[0300] The term “Radio Unit” or “RU” at least in some examples refers to a logical node hosting PHY layer or Low-PHY layer and radiofrequency (RF) processing based on a lower layer functional split.);
Thyagaturu does not explicitly teach a radio unit is a site network platform.
Thyagaturu2 in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches a radio unit is a site network platform (Thyagaturu2 [0022] FIG. 1 shows example network deployments including an example next generation fronthaul (NGF) deployment 100a where a user equipment (UE) 110 is connected to a remote radio head (RRH) 130 (also referred to as a “remote radio unit 130”, “remote unit 130”, or “RU 130”) via an air interface, the RRH 130 is connected to a Digital Unit (DU) 131 via a NGF interface (NGFI)-I.
[0023] In one example C-RAN implementation, only the RRH 130 is disposed at the cell site).
By modifying Thyagaturu’s teachings of configuring a radio unit to implement a radio layer 1 (L1) functionalities,
with Thyagaturu2’s teachings of a radio unit is a site network platform,
the modification results in
configuring a site network platform to implement a radio layer 1 (L1) functionalities;
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Thyagaturu as modified by Thyagaturu2 with Thyagaturu2’s above teachings. The motivation is optimizing network elements (Thyagaturu2 [0002]).
Although Thyagaturu teaches wherein the L2 functionalities comprises resource allocation for users (Thyagaturu [0032] For example, if the e2e resources only involve radio resources, then a MAC scheduler at a NAN 240 may handle the allocation of radio resources as needed.)
Thyagaturu does not explicitly teach wherein the L2 functionalities comprises configuration, and the second user plane functionalities comprises duplication, encryption, a quality of service (QOS) for a local breakout, sidelink communication, or a combination thereof.
38.300 in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches wherein the L2 functionalities comprises configuration (38.300 page 45, 6.1 Overview
The layer 2 of NR is split into the following sublayers: Medium Access Control (MAC), Radio Link Control (RLC), Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) and Service.
Page 49-50, 6.3 RLC Sublayer
The RLC configuration is per logical channel with no dependency on numerologies and/or transmission durations, and
ARQ can operate on any of the numerologies and/or transmission durations the logical channel is configured with.)
Merwaday in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches the second user plane functionalities comprises duplication, encryption, a quality of service (QOS) for a local breakout, sidelink communication, or a combination thereof (Merwaday [0047] The edge compute node deployment in 5G network architecture of FIG. 4 uses a similar strategy for edge local breakout as used for the 4G LTE network deployments discussed previously with respect to FIGS. 2 and 3. In the deployment of FIG. 4, the edge platforms 240 in deployed on the N3 interface between the NANs 230 and the UPF (e.g., UPF 548 of FIG. 5) in the 5GC (e.g., 5GC 540 of FIG. 5). The local breakout will be performed in the edge node 140 (or edge platform 240) in this scenario, and the edge orchestrator 210 is connected to the AMF (e.g., AMF 542 of FIG. 5) in the 5GC via the N2 interface to obtain control plane information.
[0059] The UPF 548 acts as an anchor point for intra-RAT and inter-RAT mobility, an external PDU session point of interconnect to the DN 536b, and a branching point to support multi-homed PDU session. The UPF 548 also performs packet routing and forwarding, packet inspection, enforces user plane part of policy rules, lawfully intercept packets (UP collection), performs traffic usage reporting, perform QoS handling for a user plane (e.g., packet filtering, gating, UL/DL rate enforcement), performs uplink traffic verification (e.g., SDF-to-QoS flow mapping), transport level packet marking in the uplink and downlink, and performs downlink packet buffering and downlink data notification triggering. UPF 548 may include an uplink classifier to support routing traffic flows to a data network. The UPF 548 is communicatively coupled to the DN 536b via an N6 reference point. Furthermore, the NG-U interface (or the N3 reference point) communicatively couples the UPF 548 with the data plane entities 231 of the NANs 230, and the NG-U interface (or the N3 reference point) communicatively couples the UPF 548 with the Data Plane Network Transport Service (DP NTS) in the edge platform 240 (see e.g., FIG. 4).).
By modifying Thyagaturu’s teachings of wherein the L2 functionalities comprises resource allocation for users,
with 38.300’s teachings of wherein the L2 functionalities comprises configuration, and
with Merwaday’s teachings of the second user plane functionalities comprises duplication, encryption, a quality of service (QOS) for a local breakout, sidelink communication, or a combination thereof,
the modification results in
wherein the L2 functionalities comprises configuration and resource allocation for users, and the second user plane functionalities comprises duplication, encryption, a quality of service (QOS) for a local breakout, sidelink communication, or a combination thereof.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Thyagaturu as modified by Thyagaturu2 with 38.300’s above teachings. The motivation is supporting RLC sublayer (38.300 page 49).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Thyagaturu as modified by Thyagaturu2 and 38.300 with Merwaday’s above teachings. The motivation is reducing application and network latency (Merwaday [0143]).
Regarding claim 10, Thyagaturu in view of Thyagaturu2 and 38.300 and Merwaday teaches The
non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 9.
Thyagaturu teaches wherein the operations further comprise implementing the edge network platform in a software-defined radio access network (Thyagaturu [0012] In this example, the UHD slice 121 includes a RAN function (RANF) 131, user plane (UP) core network (CN) 142u, and edge compute function (ECF) 136 in the edge cloud 110.
[0187] In some embodiments, the compute node 1450 may correspond to … edge cloud.
[0128] Applications that have been adapted for edge computing include but are not limited to virtualization of traditional network functions including include, for example, Software-Defined Networking (SDN), NFV, distributed RAN units and/or RAN clouds, and the like.
Note: SDN and distributed RAN units and/or RAN clouds is a software-defined radio access network.).
Regarding claim 11, Thyagaturu in view of Thyagaturu2 and 38.300 and Merwaday teaches The
non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 10.
Thyagaturu teaches wherein the operations further comprise allocating resources to perform the L2 functionalities for communication and to perform the second user plane functionalities for computation (Thyagaturu [0012] the UHD slice 121 includes a RAN function (RANF) 131, user plane (UP) core network (CN) 142u, and edge compute function (ECF) 136 in the edge cloud 110.
[0014] The RANFs 131 may have a CU/DU split-architecture deployment and/or a next generation fronthaul (NGF) deployment.
[0300] The term “Central Unit” or “CU” at least in some examples refers to a logical node hosting radio resource control (RRC), Service Data Adaptation Protocol (SDAP), and/or Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) protocols/layers of an NG-RAN node, or RRC and PDCP protocols of the en-gNB that controls the operation of one or more DUs; a CU terminates an F1 interface connected with a DU and may be connected with multiple DUs. The term “Distributed Unit” or “DU” at least in some examples refers to a logical node hosting Backhaul Adaptation Protocol (BAP), F1 application protocol (F1AP), radio link control (RLC), medium access control (MAC), and physical (PHY) layers of the NG-RAN node or en-gNB.
[0223] Example 3 includes the method of example 2 and/or any other example(s) herein, wherein the request is to cause the NW orchestrator to instruct a radio access network (RAN) to provision resources for the network slice.
[0005] FIG. 9 illustrates an example edge computing environment. FIG. 10 illustrates an overview of an edge cloud configuration for edge computing.
[0028] the orchestrator 236a allocates resources to individual flow-specific slices according to respective slice requirements and/or predetermined or negotiated SLAs. ... In one example, the orchestrator 236a may ... provide differentiated handling of data traffic or traffic flows by creating or instantiating different user plane ... to serve individual flow-specific slices.).
Regarding claim 12, Thyagaturu in view of Thyagaturu2 and 38.300 and Merwaday teaches The
non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 11.
Thyagaturu teaches wherein the operations further comprise, in the edge network platform, dynamically adjusting the allocation of resources between communication and computation based on a computation offloading request from user equipment (Thyagaturu [0066] during the operation phase, the slicing mgmt 635 can adjust the resources allocated to individual slices 622 (e.g., allocate more or fewer resources) based on monitored/collected telemetry data (e.g., from telemetry function(s) 223, 333) and/or metrics/measurements and/or KPIs of the individual network slices 622.
[0158] In any of the implementations discussed herein, the edge servers 936 provide a distributed computing environment for application and service hosting, and also provide storage and processing resources so that data and/or content can be processed in close proximity to subscribers (e.g., users of UEs 910) for faster response times The edge servers 936 also support ... computational offloading. Computational offloading involves offloading computational tasks, workloads, applications, and/or services to the edge servers 936 from the UEs 910.).
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thyagaturu in view of Thyagaturu2 and 38.300 and Merwaday as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of US 20190245806 A1 (hereinafter Hanes).
Regarding claim 13, Thyagaturu in view of Thyagaturu2 and 38.300 and Merwaday teaches The non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 9.
Thyagaturu does not explicitly teach wherein the operations further comprise: at the edge network platform, processing a request to offload a computation load for a predetermined period of time by a first user equipment (UE); and at the edge network platform, releasing resources used for the offloading of the computation load after elapse of the predetermined period of time.
Hanes in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches wherein the operations further comprise:
at the edge network platform, processing a request to offload a computation load for a
predetermined period of time by a first user equipment (UE) (Hanes [0024] In addition, the illustrated Network Topology 100 includes a number of End Devices 115. In one embodiment, the End Devices 115 include IoT devices such as wearables, appliances, vehicles, and the like. Generally, the End Devices 115 are devices, which may or may not be mobile devices, that can utilize remote resources for one or more applications or operations. For example, End Devices 115 may access software resources, offload processing requirements, storage requirements, and the like to one or more of the Fog 110 resources or Cloud 105 resources to reduce the workload on the End Device 115.
[0027] the End Devices 115 include a laptop 135, a drone 140, a smart phone 145.
[0018] The system also includes a fog orchestrator comprising a reservation application
configured to receive the request from the end device, where the request comprises the future time and a duration.
[0074] FIG. 6 is a flow diagram illustrating a method 600 of provisioning fog computing
resources, according to one embodiment of the present disclosure. The method 600 begins at block 605. At block 610, Fog Orchestrator 405 receives a fog computing resource reservation request, as discussed above. This request may be transmitted by the End Device 445.
[0080] If, at block 625, the Fog Orchestrator 405 determines that sufficient resources are
available at the specified time(s), the method 600 proceeds to block 630, where a record of the reservation is stored by the Fog Orchestrator 405 (e.g., in Reservations 435).
[0081] The method 600 then proceeds to block 635, where an indication of success is transmitted by the Fog Orchestrator 405 to the End Device 445.
[0089] If the End Device 445 requested the reservation for itself, it may proceed to access the fog resources using the address provided by the Fog Orchestrator(s) 405. In one embodiment, when the reservation begins, the End Device 445 communicates directly with the Fog Node(s) 470 providing the resources to offload the workload.); and
at the edge network platform, releasing resources used for the offloading of the computation load after elapse of the predetermined period of time (Hanes [0090] Once the reservation has ended (e.g., the time designated as the end of the reservation as arrived, the duration specified in the request has elapsed, or the End Device 445 signals that it has completed its use of the fog resources), the method 700 proceeds to block 735, where the fog resources are released.).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Thyagaturu as modified by Thyagaturu2 and 38.300 and Merwaday with Hanes’s above teachings. The motivation is reducing latency (Hanes [0023]).
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thyagaturu in view of Thyagaturu2 and 38.300 and Merwaday and Hanes as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of CN 116600347 A (hereinafter Wu).
Regarding claim 14, Thyagaturu in view of Thyagaturu2 and 38.300 and Merwaday and Hanes
teaches The non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 13.
Thyagaturu does not explicitly teach wherein the operations further comprise, at the edge network platform, releasing the resources used for the offloading of the computation load when the first UE is disconnected from the edge network platform.
Wu in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches wherein the operations further comprise, at the edge network platform, releasing the resources used for the offloading of the computation load when the first UE is disconnected from the edge network platform (Wu [0012] step 6, the terminal equipment sends the unloaded calculation task to the optimal edge server, declares to occupy the server resource, reduces the occupied capacity of the optimal edge server and updates;
[0013] and 7, the terminal equipment obtains an unloading calculated value, disconnects the connection with the optimal edge server, declares and releases resources, and increases the occupied capacity of the optimal edge server and updates the occupied capacity.).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Thyagaturu as modified by Thyagaturu2 and 38.300 and Merwaday and Hanes with Wu’s above teachings. The motivation is improving the capacity of the edge computing network (Wu [0003]).
Claim(s) 15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thyagaturu), in view of Thyagaturu2.
Regarding claim 15, Thyagaturu teaches A method, comprising (Thyagaturu [0186] FIG. 14
illustrates an example of components that may be present in a computing node 1450 for implementing the techniques (e.g., operations, processes, methods, and methodologies) described herein.):
implementing, by a processing system including a processor, a cloud network platform
configured to run control plane functionalities and first user plane functionalities (Thyagaturu [0188] The compute node 1450 includes processing circuitry in the form of one or more processors 1452.
[0218] FIG. 14 depicts a high-level view of components of a varying device, subsystem, or arrangement of a compute node.
[0220] Additional examples of the presently described methods, devices, systems, and networks discussed herein include the following, non-limiting implementations.
[0221] Example 1 includes a method for providing flow-specific slicing, the method comprising: causing instantiation of a virtual lane in a data center network (DCN) to be used for a flow-specific slice for a service hosted by a service provider environment; mapping a network slice instance (NSI) in a communication network (NW) to the instantiated virtual lane; and causing an end-to-end (e2e) connection to be established for the flow-specific slice, wherein the e2e connection is established between a user application operated by a user device and a service provider application operated by the service provider environment, and the flow-specific slice includes the instantiated virtual lane and the NSI based on the mapping.
[0011] In FIG. 1, network slices are created for different network slice types (or service types) including an ultra-high definition (UHD) slice 121, an enhanced Mobile Broadband (eMBB) slice 122.
Applications dedicated for each service are virtualized and operate within their respective slices 121, 122. Each network slice is created for different services that have different service requirements. In some examples, the different service requirements for each network slice may be specified by respective service level agreements (SLAs). Additionally, NFs are deployed, disposed, or otherwise placed at different locations in each slice (e.g., within the edge cloud 110 or the core cloud 115) depending on the services provided by each network slice.
[0012] the core cloud 115 includes a UP and CP 5G CN 142 with full mobility features.
Note: core cloud is the cloud network platform.);
implementing, by the processing system, an edge network platform capable to run both communication functionalities and second user plane functionalities (Thyagaturu Fig. 1; [0012] the UHD slice 121 includes a RAN function (RANF) 131, user plane (UP) core network (CN) 142u, and edge compute function (ECF) 136 in the edge cloud 110.
[0014] The RANFs 131 may have a CU/DU split-architecture deployment and/or a next generation fronthaul (NGF) deployment.
[0300] The term “Central Unit” or “CU” at least in some examples refers to a logical node hosting radio resource control (RRC), Service Data Adaptation Protocol (SDAP), and/or Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) protocols/layers of an NG-RAN node, or RRC and PDCP protocols of the en-gNB that controls the operation of one or more DUs; a CU terminates an F1 interface connected with a DU and may be connected with multiple DUs. The term “Distributed Unit” or “DU” at least in some examples refers to a logical node hosting Backhaul Adaptation Protocol (BAP), F1 application protocol (F1AP), radio link control (RLC), medium access control (MAC), and physical (PHY) layers of the NG-RAN node or en-gNB, and its operation is partly controlled by a CU; one DU supports one or multiple cells, and one cell is supported by only one DU; and a DU terminates the F1 interface connected with a CU.
Note: edge cloud is the edge network platform. RANF 131 including CU/DU, which implements PDCP, RLC and MAC, i.e. communication functionalities.); and
implementing, by the processing system, a radio unit configured to run a radio layer 1 (L1) functionalities (Thyagaturu [0014] The RANFs 131 may have a CU/DU split-architecture deployment and/or a next generation fronthaul (NGF) deployment.
[0300] The term “Radio Unit” or “RU” at least in some examples refers to a logical node hosting PHY layer or Low-PHY layer and radiofrequency (RF) processing based on a lower layer functional split.),
Thyagaturu does not explicitly teach a radio unit is a site network platform.
Thyagaturu2 in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches a radio unit is a site network platform (Thyagaturu2 [0022] FIG. 1 shows example network deployments including an example next generation fronthaul (NGF) deployment 100a where a user equipment (UE) 110 is connected to a remote radio head (RRH) 130 (also referred to as a “remote radio unit 130”, “remote unit 130”, or “RU 130”) via an air interface, the RRH 130 is connected to a Digital Unit (DU) 131 via a NGF interface (NGFI)-I.
[0023] In one example C-RAN implementation, only the RRH 130 is disposed at the cell site).
By modifying Thyagaturu’s teachings of implementing, by the processing system, a radio unit configured to run a radio layer 1 (L1) functionalities
with Thyagaturu2’s teachings of a radio unit is a site network platform,
the modification results in
implementing, by the processing system, a site network platform configured to run a radio layer 1 (L1) functionalities,
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Thyagaturu with Thyagaturu2’s above teachings. The motivation is optimizing network elements (Thyagaturu2 [0002]).
Thyagaturu teaches wherein the radio unit is not equipped with processing of user plane functionalities (Thyagaturu [0300] The term “Radio Unit” or “RU” at least in some examples refers to a logical node hosting PHY layer or Low-PHY layer and radiofrequency (RF) processing based on a lower layer functional split.
Note: Physical layer and RF processing is not user plane functionalities.) and
wherein the cloud network platform is not equipped with processing of the communication functionalities (Thyagaturu Fig. 1; [0012] the core cloud 115 includes a UP and CP 5G CN 142 with full mobility features.
Note: UP and CP is not the RLC and MAC (i.e. communication functinalities)).
By modifying Thyagaturu’s teachings of
wherein the radio unit is not equipped with processing of user plane functionalities and wherein the cloud network platform is not equipped with processing of the communication functionalities,
with Thyagaturu2’s teachings of a radio unit is a site network platform,
the modification results in
wherein the site network platform is not equipped with processing of user plane functionalities and wherein the cloud network platform is not equipped with processing of the communication functionalities.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Thyagaturu as modified by Thyagaturu2 with Thyagaturu2’s above teachings. The motivation is optimizing network elements (Thyagaturu2 [0002]).
Regarding claim 16, Thyagaturu in view of Thyagaturu2 teaches The method of claim 15. Thyagaturu teaches wherein the implementing the edge network platform further comprises
maintaining the edge network platform as a shared platform for the communication functionalities and the second user plane functionalities (Thyagaturu [0012] In this example, the UHD slice 121 includes a RAN function (RANF) 131, user plane (UP) core network (CN) 142u, and edge compute function (ECF) 136 in the edge cloud 110.
[0187] In some embodiments, the compute node 1450 may correspond to … edge cloud.
[0288] the term “computer system” and/or “system” at least in some examples refer to multiple computer devices and/or multiple computing systems that are communicatively coupled with one another and configured to share computing and/or networking resources.).
Regarding claim 17, Thyagaturu in view of Thyagaturu2 teaches The method of claim 16.
Thyagaturu teaches further comprising: dynamically adjusting, by the processing system,
allocation of resources between the communication functionalities and the second user plane functionalities in the edge network platform (Thyagaturu [0066] during the operation phase, the slicing mgmt 635 can adjust the resources allocated to individual slices 622 (e.g., allocate more or fewer resources) based on monitored/collected telemetry data (e.g., from telemetry function(s) 223, 333) and/or metrics/measurements and/or KPIs of the individual network slices 622.
[0158] In any of the implementations discussed herein, the edge servers 936 provide a distributed computing environment for application and service hosting, and also provide storage and processing resources so that data and/or content can be processed in close proximity to subscribers (e.g., users of UEs 910) for faster response times The edge servers 936 also support ... computational offloading. Computational offloading involves offloading computational tasks, workloads, applications, and/or services to the edge servers 936 from the UEs 910, CN 942, cloud 944, and/or server(s) 950, or vice versa.).
Regarding claim 18, Thyagaturu in view of Thyagaturu2 teaches The method of claim 15, Thyagaturu teaches wherein the implementing the edge network platform further comprises
arranging a data server at the edge network platform, wherein the data server is configured to process the communication functionalities and the second user plane functionalities (Thyagaturu [0012] In this example, the UHD slice 121 includes a RAN function (RANF) 131, user plane (UP) core network (CN) 142u, and edge compute function (ECF) 136 in the edge cloud 110.
[0187] In some embodiments, the compute node 1450 may correspond to … edge cloud.
[0126] As examples, edge nodes may be implemented in a high performance compute data center or cloud installation.
[0158] In any of the implementations discussed herein, the edge servers 936 provide a distributed computing environment for application and service hosting, and also provide storage and processing resources so that data and/or content can be processed in close proximity to subscribers (e.g., users of UEs 910) for faster response times.).
Regarding claim 19, Thyagaturu in view of Thyagaturu2 teaches The method of claim 15, Thyagaturu teaches wherein the implementing the edge network platform further comprises
configuring the edge network platform in a software-defined radio access network (Thyagaturu [0012] In this example, the UHD slice 121 includes a RAN function (RANF) 131, user plane (UP) core network (CN) 142u, and edge compute function (ECF) 136 in the edge cloud 110.
[0187] In some embodiments, the compute node 1450 may correspond to … edge cloud.
[0128] Applications that have been adapted for edge computing include but are not limited to virtualization of traditional network functions including include, for example, Software-Defined Networking (SDN), NFV, distributed RAN units and/or RAN clouds, and the like.
Note: SDN and distributed RAN units and/or RAN clouds is a software-defined radio access network.).
Regarding claim 20, Thyagaturu in view of Thyagaturu2 teaches The method of claim 15.
Thyagaturu teaches further comprising:
implementing, by the processing system, the cloud network platform in a first section of a
common hardware platform (Thyagaturu Fig. 1; [0010] Each of the NFs in a network slice may be a virtual NF (VNF) or a physical NF (PNF). The NFs may be implemented using virtual machines (VMs), virtualization containers, and/or some other network function virtualization (NFV) technology. The NFs can also be deployed using virtualization infrastructure (VI) 140, which allows various NFs to operate in or as core cloud 160. In some implementations, commercial-of-the-shelf (COTS) equipment can be used for the VI 140);
implementing, by the processing system, the edge network platform in a second section of the common hardware platform (Thyagaturu Fig. 1; [0010] Each of the NFs in a network slice may be a virtual NF (VNF) or a physical NF (PNF). The NFs may be implemented using virtual machines (VMs), virtualization containers, and/or some other network function virtualization (NFV) technology. The NFs can also be deployed using virtualization infrastructure (VI) 140, which allows various NFs to operate in or as an edge cloud 110. In some implementations, commercial-of-the-shelf (COTS) equipment can be used for the VI 140.); and
implementing, by the processing system, a radio unit in a third section of the common hardware platform (Thyagaturu Fig. 1; [0010] In some implementations, commercial-of-the-shelf (COTS) equipment can be used for the VI 140 and/or AN equipment 130, 130′. … each AN 130′ includes one or more network access nodes (NANs) 130.
[0297] In some examples, a “network access node” or “NAN” may be a radio unit or remote radio head.),
Thyagaturu does not explicitly teach a radio unit is a site network platform.
Thyagaturu2 teaches a radio unit is a site network platform (See Thyagaturu2 [0022-0023] cited above in rejection of claim 1.).
By modifying Thyagaturu’s teachings of implementing, by the processing system, a radio unit in a third section of the common hardware platform,
with Thyagaturu2’s teachings of a radio unit is a site network platform,
the modification results in
implementing, by the processing system, the site network platform in a third section of the common hardware platform,
Thyagaturu teaches wherein the first section is adapted to perform non-real time processing (Thyagaturu [0014] the core cloud 115 may be the same or similar as the cloud 944 and/or server(s) 950 of FIG. 9 and/or the cloud data center 1030 of FIG. 10.),
the second section is adapted to perform low latency processing (Thyagaturu [0168] The edge cloud 1010 architecture that covers multiple potential deployments and addresses restrictions that some network operators or service providers may have in their own infrastructures. These include, variation of configurations based on the edge location because edges at a NAN level, for instance, may have more constrained performance and capabilities in a multi-tenant scenario.
[0169] Edge computing is a paradigm where computing is performed at or closer to the “edge” of a network, typically through the use of an appropriately arranged compute platform (e.g., x86, ARM, Nvidia, and/or other CPU/GPU based compute hardware architecture) implemented at NANs 1040, gateways, network routers, and/or other devices which are much closer to endpoint devices 1060 producing and consuming the data. For example, edge gateway servers (e.g., local processing hub 1050) may be equipped with pools of memory and storage resources to perform computation in real-time for low latency use-cases (e.g., autonomous driving or video surveillance) for connected client devices 1060.), and
Thyagaturu does not explicitly teach the third section is adapted to perform real time processing.
Thyagaturu2 teaches the third section is adapted to perform real time processing (Thyagaturu2
[0041] In any of the implementations discussed herein, the lower layers of the RAN protocol stack can be characterized by real-time (RT) functions and relatively complex signal processing algorithms, and the higher layers of the RAN protocol stack can be characterized by non-RT functions. In these implementations, the RT functions and signal processing algorithms can be implemented in RRHs 130 either using purpose-built network elements or in COTS hardware augmented with purpose-built HW accelerators (e.g., acceleration circuitry 1364 of FIG. 13 discussed infra).).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Thyagaturu as modified by Thyagaturu2 and 38.300 with Thyagaturu2’s above teachings. The motivation is optimizing network elements (Thyagaturu2 [0002]).
Conclusion
/D.Z.S./Examiner, Art Unit 2418 /Moo Jeong/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2418