DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-19 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-3, 8-15, and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2, line 2, the limitation, “a fired layer” is confusing. Is this in addition to the fired layer already claimed?
Claim 8, line 2, the limitation, “a conductive resin layer” is confusing. Is this in addition to the conductive resin layer already claimed?
Claim 10, line 2, the limitation, “a fired layer” is confusing. Is this in addition to the fired layer already claimed?
Claim 12, line 2, the limitation, “a conductive resin layer” is confusing. Is this in addition to the conductive resin layer already claimed?
Claim 14, line 2, the limitation, “a conductive resin layer” is confusing. Is this in addition to the conductive resin layer already claimed?
Claim 17, line 2, the limitation, “a conductive resin layer” is confusing. Is this in addition to the conductive resin layer already claimed?
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoshi et al. (JP H11-251178A) in view of Iguchi et al. (US 2021/0366654 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Hoshi et al. disclose in fig. 3-4, a multilayer ceramic electronic component comprising:
a multilayer body including a plurality of laminated ceramic layers (20), a plurality of laminated internal electrode layers (21, 22), a first main surface (27) and a second main surface (28) opposing each other in a lamination direction (top-bottom), a first side surface (29) and a second side surface (30) opposing each other in a width direction (front – back) orthogonal or substantially orthogonal to the lamination direction, and a
first end surface (31) and a second end surface (32) opposing each other in a length direction (left-right) orthogonal or substantially orthogonal to the lamination direction and the width direction; and
a plurality of external electrodes (23-26); wherein
the plurality of internal electrode layers (21, 22) include:
first internal electrode layers (22) alternately laminated with the plurality of ceramic layers (20) and exposed to the first end surface (31) and the second end surface (32); and
second internal electrode layers (21) alternately laminated with the plurality of ceramic layers (20) and exposed to the first side surface (29) and the second side surface (30);
the plurality of external electrodes (23-26) include:
a first external electrode (25) and a second external electrode (26) connected to the first internal electrode layers (22); and
a third external electrode (23) and a fourth external electrode (24) connected to the second internal electrode layers (21).
Hoshi et al. disclose the claimed invention except for each of the first external electrode and the second external electrode includes a base electrode layer that is a fired layer or a conductive resin layer, and the base electrode layer includes a dense region where an area ratio of a conductive component is high and a sparse region where an area ratio of the conductive component is lower than the area ratio of the conductive component of the dense region; an area ratio of the conductive component in the dense region is about 80 % to about 85 % with respect to an area of the dense region; a thickness of the dense region in the length direction of the multilayer body is about 30 % to about 50% of the thickness of the corresponding base electrode layer in the length direction of the multilayer body; and the dense region is located closer to a multilayer body side than the sparse region.
Iguchi et al. disclose in fig. 1-2, a multilayer ceramic component comprising an external electrode wherein the external electrode comprises a base electrode layer (41, 42) that is a fired layer, and the base electrode layer (41, 42) includes a dense region (41) where an area ratio of a conductive component is high ([0048], table 3) and a sparse region (42) where an area ratio of the conductive component is lower than the area ratio of the conductive component of the dense region ([0048], table 3); an area ratio of the conductive component in the dense region is about 80 % to about 85 % with respect to an area of the dense region [0048]; a thickness of the dense region (41) in the length direction of the multilayer body is about 30 % to about 50% of the thickness of the corresponding base electrode layer (41, 42 – Fig. 2 – [0043]) in the length direction of the multilayer body; and the dense region (41) is located closer to a multilayer body side than the sparse region.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in external electrode art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the multilayer ceramic component of Hoshi et al. so that each of the first external electrode and the second external electrode includes a base electrode layer that is a fired layer or a conductive resin layer, and the base electrode layer includes a dense region where an area ratio of a conductive component is high and a sparse region where an area ratio of the conductive component is lower than the area ratio of the conductive component of the dense region; an area ratio of the conductive component in the dense region is about 80 % to about 85 % with respect to an area of the dense region; a thickness of the dense region in the length direction of the multilayer body is about 30 % to about 50% of the thickness of the corresponding base electrode layer in the length direction of the multilayer body; and the dense region is located closer to a multilayer body side than the sparse region as taught by Iguchi et al., since such a modification would form a multilayer ceramic component having improved reliability and moisture resistance.
Regarding claim 2, the modified Hoshi et al. disclose the base electrode layer is the fired layer [0076] including a metal component [0045], [0052] and a glass component [0046], [0062].
Regarding claim 3, the modified Hoshi et al. disclose the glass component includes at least one of B, Si, Ba, Mg, Al, and Li [0046], [0052].
Regarding claim 4, the modified Hoshi et al. disclose an area ratio of the conductive component in the sparse region is between 60 to 90 % (table 3).
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990)
Regarding claim 6, Hoshi et al. disclose a multilayer ceramic electronic component comprising: a multilayer body including a plurality of laminated ceramic layers (20), a plurality of laminated internal electrode layers (21, 22), a first main surface (27) and a second main surface (28) opposing each other in a lamination direction, a first side surface (31) and a second side surface (32) opposing each other in a width direction orthogonal or substantially orthogonal to the lamination direction, and a
first end surface (29) and a second end surface (30) opposing each other in a length direction orthogonal or substantially orthogonal to the lamination direction and the width direction; and
a plurality of external electrodes (23-26);
wherein the plurality of internal electrode layers (21, 22) include: first internal electrode layers (21) alternately laminated with the plurality of ceramic layers (20) and exposed to the first end surface (29) and the second end surface (30); and
a plurality second internal electrode layers (22) alternately laminated with the plurality of ceramic layers (20) and exposed to the first side surface (31) and the second side surface (32);
the plurality of external electrodes (23-26) include:
a first external electrode (23) and a second external electrode (24) connected to the first internal electrode layers (21); and
a third external electrode (25) and a fourth external electrode (26) connected to the second internal electrode layers (22).
Hoshi et al. disclose the claimed invention except for each of the third external electrode and the fourth external electrode includes a base electrode layer that is a fired or a conductive resin layer, and the base electrode layer includes a dense region where an area ratio of a conductive component is high and a sparse region where an area ratio of the conductive component is lower than the area ratio of the conductive component of the dense region; and an area ratio of the conductive component in the dense region is about 80% to about 85% with respect to an area of the dense region; and the dense region is located closer to a multilayer body side than the sparse region.
Iguchi et al. disclose in fig. 1-2, a multilayer ceramic component comprising an external electrode wherein the external electrode comprises a base electrode layer (41, 42) that is a fired layer, and the base electrode layer (41, 42) includes a dense region (41) where an area ratio of a conductive component is high ([0048], table 3) and a sparse region (42) where an area ratio of the conductive component is lower than the area ratio of the conductive component of the dense region ([0048], table 3); an area ratio of the conductive component in the dense region is about 80 % to about 85 % with respect to an area of the dense region [0048]; and the dense region (41) is located closer to a multilayer body side than the sparse region.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in external electrode art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the multilayer ceramic component of Hoshi et al. so that each of the third external electrode and the fourth external electrode includes a base electrode layer that is a fired or a conductive resin layer, and the base electrode layer includes a dense region where an area ratio of a conductive component is high and a sparse region where an area ratio of the conductive component is lower than the area ratio of the conductive component of the dense region; and an area ratio of the conductive component in the dense region is about 80% to about 85% with respect to an area of the dense region; and the dense region is located closer to a multilayer body side than the sparse region as taught by Iguchi et al., since such a modification would form a multilayer ceramic component having improved reliability and moisture resistance.
Regarding claim 16, the modified Hoshi et al. (Iguchi et al.) disclose a thickness of the dense region (41) in the length direction of the multilayer body is about 30 % to about 50% of the thickness of the corresponding base electrode layer (41, 42 – Fig. 2 – [0043]) in the length direction of the multilayer body.
Claim(s) 5, 7, 10-11, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoshi et al. (JP H11251178A) in view of Iguchi et al. (US 2021/0366654 A1) and Oh et al (US 2018/0350521).
Regarding claim 5, Hoshi et al. disclose in fig. 3-4, a multilayer ceramic electronic component comprising:
a multilayer body including a plurality of laminated ceramic layers (20), a plurality of laminated internal electrode layers (21, 22), a first main surface (27) and a second main surface (28) opposing each other in a lamination direction (top-bottom), a first side surface (29) and a second side surface (30) opposing each other in a width direction (front – back) orthogonal or substantially orthogonal to the lamination direction, and a
first end surface (31) and a second end surface (32) opposing each other in a length direction (left-right) orthogonal or substantially orthogonal to the lamination direction and the width direction; and
a plurality of external electrodes (23-26); wherein
the plurality of internal electrode layers (21, 22) include:
first internal electrode layers (22) alternately laminated with the plurality of ceramic layers (20) and exposed to the first end surface (31) and the second end surface (32); and
second internal electrode layers (21) alternately laminated with the plurality of ceramic layers (20) and exposed to the first side surface (29) and the second side surface (30);
the plurality of external electrodes (23-26) include:
a first external electrode (25) and a second external electrode (26) connected to the first internal electrode layers (22); and
a third external electrode (23) and a fourth external electrode (24) connected to the second internal electrode layers (21).
Hoshi et al. disclose the claimed invention except for each of the first external electrode and the second external electrode includes a base electrode layer that is a fired layer or a conductive resin layer, and the base electrode layer includes a dense region where an area ratio of a conductive component is high and a sparse region where an area ratio of the conductive component is lower than the area ratio of the conductive component of the dense region; an area ratio of the conductive component in the dense region is about 80 % to about 85 % with respect to an area of the dense region; a thickness of the dense region in the length direction of the multilayer body is about 30 % to about 50% of the thickness of the corresponding base electrode layer in the length direction of the multilayer body; and the dense region is located closer to a multilayer body side than the sparse region.
Iguchi et al. disclose in fig. 1-2, a multilayer ceramic component comprising an external electrode wherein the external electrode comprises a base electrode layer (41, 42) that is a fired layer, and the base electrode layer (41, 42) includes a dense region (41) where an area ratio of a conductive component is high ([0048], table 3) and a sparse region (42) where an area ratio of the conductive component is lower than the area ratio of the conductive component of the dense region ([0048], table 3); an area ratio of the conductive component in the dense region is about 80 % to about 85 % with respect to an area of the dense region [0048]; a thickness of the dense region (41) in the length direction of the multilayer body is about 30 % to about 50% of the thickness of the corresponding base electrode layer (41, 42 – Fig. 2 – [0043]) in the length direction of the multilayer body; and the dense region (41) is located closer to a multilayer body side than the sparse region.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in external electrode art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the multilayer ceramic component of Hoshi et al. so that each of the first external electrode and the second external electrode includes a base electrode layer that is a fired layer or a conductive resin layer, and the base electrode layer includes a dense region where an area ratio of a conductive component is high and a sparse region where an area ratio of the conductive component is lower than the area ratio of the conductive component of the dense region; an area ratio of the conductive component in the dense region is about 80 % to about 85 % with respect to an area of the dense region; a thickness of the dense region in the length direction of the multilayer body is about 30 % to about 50% of the thickness of the corresponding base electrode layer in the length direction of the multilayer body; and the dense region is located closer to a multilayer body side than the sparse region as taught by Iguchi et al., since such a modification would form a multilayer ceramic component having improved reliability and moisture resistance.
The modified Hoshi et al. disclose the claimed invention except for the multilayer ceramic capacitor is mounted on a mounting substrate, wherein the mounting substrate includes: a core material of a substrate; a first connection conductor connected to the first external electrode located on the core material; a second connection conductor connected to the second external electrode located on the core material; a third connection conductor connected to the third external electrode located on the core material; and a fourth connection conductor connected to the fourth external electrode located on the core material; and in the multilayer ceramic electronic component, the first external electrode and the second external electrode which include the dense region and the sparse region are connected to an anode.
Oh et al. disclose a mounting substrate for a multilayer ceramic capacitor (110), wherein the mounting substrate includes:
a core material (210) of a substrate;
a first connection conductor (221) connected to a first external electrode (131) located on the core material (221);
a second connection conductor (222) connected to a second external electrode (132) located on the core material (221);
a third connection conductor (223) connected to a third external electrode (133) located on the core material (221); and
a fourth connection conductor (224) connected to a fourth external electrode located on the core material (221); and
wherein the first external electrode (131) and the second external electrode (132) are connected to an anode (inherent).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to form the multilayer ceramic capacitor of the modified Hoshi et al. on the mounting substrate of Oh et al. wherein the mounting substrate includes: a core material of a substrate; a first connection conductor connected to the first external electrode located on the core material; a second connection conductor connected to the second external electrode located on the core material; a third connection conductor connected to the third external electrode located on the core material; and a fourth connection conductor connected to the fourth external electrode located on the core material; and in the multilayer ceramic electronic component, the first external electrode and the second external electrode which include the dense region and the sparse region are connected to an anode since such a modification would form a mounting structure with a low impedance capacitor having high reliability and moisture resistance.
Regarding claim 7, Hoshi et al. disclose in fig. 3-4, a multilayer ceramic electronic component comprising:
a multilayer body including a plurality of laminated ceramic layers (20), a plurality of laminated internal electrode layers (21, 22), a first main surface (27) and a second main surface (28) opposing each other in a lamination direction (top-bottom), a first side surface (29) and a second side surface (30) opposing each other in a width direction (front – back) orthogonal or substantially orthogonal to the lamination direction, and a
first end surface (31) and a second end surface (32) opposing each other in a length direction (left-right) orthogonal or substantially orthogonal to the lamination direction and the width direction; and
a plurality of external electrodes (23-26); wherein
the plurality of internal electrode layers (21, 22) include:
first internal electrode layers (22) alternately laminated with the plurality of ceramic layers (20) and exposed to the first end surface (31) and the second end surface (32); and
second internal electrode layers (21) alternately laminated with the plurality of ceramic layers (20) and exposed to the first side surface (29) and the second side surface (30);
the plurality of external electrodes (23-26) include:
a first external electrode (25) and a second external electrode (26) connected to the first internal electrode layers (22); and
a third external electrode (23) and a fourth external electrode (24) connected to the second internal electrode layers (21).
Hoshi et al. disclose the claimed invention except for each of the third external electrode and the fourth external electrode includes a base electrode layer that is a fired or a conductive resin layer, and the base electrode layer includes a dense region where an area ratio of a conductive component is high and a sparse region where an area ratio of the conductive component is lower than the area ratio of the conductive component of the dense region; and an area ratio of the conductive component in the dense region is about 80% to about 85% with respect to an area of the dense region; and the dense region is located closer to a multilayer body side than the sparse region.
Iguchi et al. disclose in fig. 1-2, a multilayer ceramic component comprising an external electrode wherein the external electrode comprises a base electrode layer (41, 42) that is a fired layer, and the base electrode layer (41, 42) includes a dense region (41) where an area ratio of a conductive component is high ([0048], table 3) and a sparse region (42) where an area ratio of the conductive component is lower than the area ratio of the conductive component of the dense region ([0048], table 3); an area ratio of the conductive component in the dense region is about 80 % to about 85 % with respect to an area of the dense region [0048]; and the dense region (41) is located closer to a multilayer body side than the sparse region.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in external electrode art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the multilayer ceramic component of Hoshi et al. so that each of the third external electrode and the fourth external electrode includes a base electrode layer that is a fired or a conductive resin layer, and the base electrode layer includes a dense region where an area ratio of a conductive component is high and a sparse region where an area ratio of the conductive component is lower than the area ratio of the conductive component of the dense region; and an area ratio of the conductive component in the dense region is about 80% to about 85% with respect to an area of the dense region; and the dense region is located closer to a multilayer body side than the sparse region as taught by Iguchi et al., since such a modification would form a multilayer ceramic component having improved reliability and moisture resistance.
The modified Hoshi et al. disclose the claimed invention except for the multilayer ceramic capacitor is mounted on a mounting substrate, wherein the mounting substrate includes: a core material of a substrate; a first connection conductor connected to the first external electrode located on the core material; a second connection conductor connected to the second external electrode located on the core material; a third connection conductor connected to the third external electrode located on the core material; and a fourth connection conductor connected to the fourth external electrode located on the core material; and in the multilayer ceramic electronic component, the first external electrode and the second external electrode which include the dense region and the sparse region are connected to an anode.
Oh et al. disclose a mounting substrate for a multilayer ceramic capacitor (110), wherein the mounting substrate includes:
a core material (210) of a substrate;
a first connection conductor (221) connected to a first external electrode (131) located on the core material (221);
a second connection conductor (222) connected to a second external electrode (132) located on the core material (221);
a third connection conductor (223) connected to a third external electrode (133) located on the core material (221); and
a fourth connection conductor (224) connected to a fourth external electrode located on the core material (221); and
wherein the first external electrode (131) and the second external electrode (132) are connected to an anode (inherent).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to form the multilayer ceramic capacitor of the modified Hoshi et al. on the mounting substrate of Oh et al. wherein the mounting substrate includes: a core material of a substrate; a first connection conductor connected to the first external electrode located on the core material; a second connection conductor connected to the second external electrode located on the core material; a third connection conductor connected to the third external electrode located on the core material; and a fourth connection conductor connected to the fourth external electrode located on the core material; and in the multilayer ceramic electronic component, the first external electrode and the second external electrode which include the dense region and the sparse region are connected to an anode since such a modification would form a mounting structure with a low impedance capacitor having high reliability and moisture resistance.
Regarding claim 10, the modified Hoshi et al. disclose the base electrode layer is the fired layer [0076] including a metal component [0045], [0052] and a glass component [0046], [0062].
Regarding claim 11, the modified Hoshi et al. disclose the glass component includes at least one of B, Si, Ba, Mg, Al, and Li [0046], [0052].
Regarding claim 19, the modified Hoshi et al. (Iguchi et al.) disclose a thickness of the dense region (41) in the length direction of the multilayer body is about 30 % to about 50% of the thickness of the corresponding base electrode layer (41, 42 – Fig. 2 – [0043]) in the length direction of the multilayer body.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-9, 12-15, and 17-18 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: In combination with the other claim limitations, the prior art does not teach or suggest: a multilayer ceramic electronic component wherein the base electrode layer is the conductive resin layer including a thermosetting resin and a metal component (claims 8, 12, 14, and 17).
Conclusion
11. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ERIC W THOMAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847
ERIC THOMAS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2847