DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for domestic priority under 35 U.S.C. 120. The PCT Application Number PCT/JPO2023/037510, being filed on October 17, 2023.
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in present Application No. 18/932,754, filed on October 31, 2024.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements filed December 10, 2024 and October 31, 2024 has been submitted for consideration by the Office. They have been placed in the application file and the information referred to therein has been considered.
Drawings
The drawings were received on October 31, 2024. These drawings are approved.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words. It is important that the abstract not exceed 150 words in length since the space provided for the abstract on the computer tape used by the printer is limited. The form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as "means" and "said," should be avoided. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, "The disclosure concerns," "The disclosure defined by this invention," "The disclosure describes," etc.
Extensive mechanical and design details of apparatus should not be given.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because in lines 2-3, the abstract contains run on sentences, which is improper language for the abstract. The applicant should correct all instances of run on sentences, to provide the abstract with proper language. Correction is required. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sawamura (JP Pat Num 2011-081918A). Sawamura discloses an electrical wire terminal (Figs 1A-1C), for usage with an wire harness of an automobile (Paragraph 2), that has a watertight structure that prevents water from entering the inside of an electrical wire (Paragraph 1), at a lower cost (Paragraph 10). Specifically, with respect to claim 1, Sawamura discloses an electric wire (10, Figs 1A-1C) with a terminal (20) comprising an electric wire (10) that includes a conductor (12) including a plurality of element wires (11) and an insulation sheath (13) covering an outer periphery of the conductor (12), and that includes therein a conductor exposed portion (A) in which the conductor (12) is exposed from the insulation sheath (13), and a conductor covered portion (located at 13) in which the conductor (12) is covered with the insulation sheath (13), wherein the conductor exposed portion (A) includes a single wire (B), wherein the single wire (B) being disposed at an end of the conductor (12), and the single wire (12) being continuously and integrally connected to the plurality of element wires (11, Fig 1A), a covering material (30) that spans a portion of the single wire (B) and a portion of the insulation sheath (13) to cover an entire surface of a bundle of the plurality of element wires (11) of the conductor exposed portion (B) and a terminal (20) that includes a conductor connector (24) connected to the single wire (B) and a terminal connector (22) configured to be connected to a mating terminal (i.e. bolt, not shown, Paragraph 23), wherein the conductor connector (24) is disposed at one end of the terminal (20), and the terminal connector (22) is disposed at the other end of the terminal (20, Fig 1B). With respect to claim 3, Sawamura discloses a method of manufacturing an electric wire (10) with a terminal (20) comprising a step of covering an entire surface of a bundle of a plurality of element wires (11) of a conductor exposed portion (A) with a covering material (30) by the covering material (30) spanning a portion of a single wire (B) and a portion of an insulation sheath (13), in an electric wire (12) that includes a conductor (12) including the plurality of element wires (11) and the insulation sheath (13) covering an outer periphery of the conductor (12), and that includes therein the conductor exposed portion (A) in which the conductor (12) is exposed from the insulation sheath (13), and a conductor covered portion (located at 13) in which the conductor (12) is covered with the insulation sheath (13), wherein the conductor exposed portion (A) including the single wire (B), wherein the single wire (B) being disposed at an end of the conductor (12), and the single wire (B) being continuously and integrally connected to the plurality of element wires (11) and a step of connecting the single wire (B) to a conductor connector (24) of a terminal (20) including the conductor connector (24) and a terminal connector (22) configured to be connected to a mating terminal (i.e. bolt, Paragraph 23), wherein the conductor connector (24) is disposed at one end of the terminal (20), and the terminal connector (22) is disposed at the other end of the terminal (20, Fig 1B). With respect to claim 4, Sawamura disclose the method wherein the single wire (B) is formed by welding the plurality of element wires (11) by ultrasonic welding (Paragraph 24).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sawamura (JP Pat Num 2011-081918A) in view of Takaishi (Pub Num 2020/0266558). Sawamura discloses an electrical wire terminal (Figs 1A-1C), for usage with an wire harness of an automobile (Paragraph 2), that has a watertight structure that prevents water from entering the inside of an electrical wire (Paragraph 1), at a lower cost (Paragraph 10), as disclosed with respect to claim 1 above. Specifically, with respect to claim 2, Sawamura discloses that the inner peripheral surface of the covering material (30) contain a water sealant agent (31, Paragraph 26).
However, Sawamura doesn’t necessarily water sealant agent being adhesive is disposed on an inner peripheral surface of the covering material (claim 2).
Takaishi teaches an electrical wire (Figs 1A-1C), for usage with an wire harness of an automobile (Paragraph 27), and having sufficient amount of water sealing agent to improve the water sealing performance (Paragraph 21). With respect to claim 2, Takaishi teaches an electric wire (10, Figs 1A-1C) with a terminal (20) comprising an electric wire (40) that includes a conductor (41) including a plurality of element wires (41) and an insulation sheath (42) covering an outer periphery of the conductor (41), and that includes therein a conductor exposed portion (located at 41) in which the conductor (41) is exposed from the insulation sheath (42), and a conductor covered portion (located at 40) in which the conductor (41) is covered with the insulation sheath (42), wherein the conductor exposed portion (located at 41) includes a single wire (41a), wherein the single wire (41a) being disposed at an end of the conductor (41), and the single wire (41a) being continuously and integrally connected to the plurality of element wires (41, Fig 3), a covering material (30) that spans a portion of the single wire (41a) and a portion of the insulation sheath (42) to cover an entire surface of a bundle of the plurality of element wires (41) and a terminal (10) that includes a conductor connector (13) connected to the single wire (41a) and a terminal connector (15) configured to be connected to a mating terminal (i.e. bolt, not shown, Paragraph 51), wherein the conductor connector (13) is disposed at one end of the terminal (10), and the terminal connector (15) is disposed at the other end of the terminal (10, Fig 1A), wherein the water proofing sealant (5) may be an hot melt adhesive (Paragraph 47).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art of cables at the time the invention was made to modify the electrical wire having a terminal of Sawamura to comprise the waterproofing sealant to be a hot melt adhesive configuration as taught by Takaishi because Takaishi teaches that such a configuration provides teaches an electrical wire (Figs 1A-1C), for usage with an wire harness of an automobile (Paragraph 27), and having sufficient amount of water sealing agent to improve the water sealing performance (Paragraph 21).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please refer to the enclosed PTO-892 form for the citation of pertinent art in the present case, all of which disclose various electrical wires having terminals.
Communication
/William H. Mayo III/
William H. Mayo III
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2847
WHM III
August 14, 2026