Initial Examination
Applicant's submission filed on 10/31/24 has been entered.
Claims 1-40 are pending.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-40 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over their respective claims of U.S. Patent Nos. 12166703, 11405978, and 10820366. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims are merely broader version of the above patents’ claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, 7-8, 10, 11-13, 15, 17-18, 20, 21-23, 25, 27-28, 30, and 31-33, 35, 37-38, 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahn (US 20140092855 A1) in view of Shu (US 20180376422 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Ahn discloses a method comprising:
receiving, by a wireless device, a first message indicating uplink radio resources for a cell (TAG config info [par. 0127-130, fig. 7]);
in response to receiving a second message indicating an activation of the cell (PDCCH command [par. 0130]);
activating the cell [par. 0130]; and
activating the uplink radio resources [par. 0130].
Although Ahn discloses messages and activating cell/resources, as discussed above, Ahn does not explicitly disclose sending, via the uplink radio resources, one or more data packets. However, these concepts are well known as disclosed by Shu.
In the same field of endeavor, Shu discloses:
sending, via the uplink radio resources, one or more data packets [Abstract].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ahn with Shu. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform such a modification given the benefit of communicating between a network and the UE [Shu par. 0003].
Regarding claim 11, it is substantially similar to claim 1, except is in apparatus claim format, and is rejected under substantially similar reasoning, where Ahn and Shu further disclose a wireless device [Ahn fig. 22 no. 2200] comprising: one or more processors [Ahn fig. 22 no. 2210], and memory [Shu fig. 13 no. 1310] storing instructions [Ahn fig. 7-10].
Regarding claim 21, it is substantially similar to claim 1, except is in CRM claim format, and is rejected under substantially similar reasoning, where Ahn and Shu further discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium [Shu fig. 13 no. 1310] storing instructions [Ahn fig. 7-10].
Regarding claim 31, it is substantially similar to claim 1, except is in apparatus claim format, and is rejected under substantially similar reasoning, where Ahn further discloses a system [fig. 22] comprising: a wireless device [fig. 22 no. 2200]; and a base station [fig. 22 no. 2250], … wherein the base station is configured to send the first message [fig. 7 “eNB”, par. 0127-130].
Regarding claims 2, 12, 22, and 32, Ahn and Shu disclose everything claimed, as applied above.
Ahn further discloses:
wherein the cell comprises a secondary cell [par. 0127-130].
Regarding claims 3, 13, 23, and 33, Ahn and Shu disclose everything claimed, as applied above.
Shu further discloses wherein the sending the one or more data packets comprises:
sending the one or more data packets using a modulation and coding scheme, wherein the first message further indicates the modulation and coding scheme [par. 0236-246].
Regarding claims 5, 25, and 35, Ahn and Shu disclose everything claimed, as applied above.
Shu further discloses further comprising:
receiving, via a downlink control channel, the second message [par. 0128].
Regarding claim 15, Ahn and Shu disclose everything claimed, as applied above.
Ahn and Shu further disclose wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the wireless device to:
receive, via a downlink control channel, the second message [Shu par. 0128]; and
based on receiving the control signal, activate the uplink radio resources [Ahn par. 0130].
Regarding claims 7, 17, 27, and 37, Ahn and Shu disclose everything claimed, as applied above.
Ahn further discloses:
wherein the activating the cell comprises re-activating a deactivated cell [fig. 7 no. S720, par. 0096].
Regarding claims 8, 18, 28, and 38, Ahn and Shu disclose everything claimed, as applied above.
Ahn and Shu further disclose:
wherein the first message comprises at least one radio resource control message [fig. 1 no. 104].
Regarding claims 10, 20, 30, and 40, Ahn and Shu disclose everything claimed, as applied above.
Ahn and Shu further disclose further comprising:
based on expiration of a time alignment timer, stopping uplink transmissions via the uplink radio resources [Ahn par. 0096]; and
based on receiving a timing advance command:
re-activating the uplink radio resources [Ahn fig. 7 no. S720]; and
sending, via the re-activated [Ahn, as discussed above] uplink radio resources, one or more second data packets [Shu fig. 1 “Data”].
Claims 4, 6, 14, 16, 24, 26, and 34, 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahn and Shu as applied to claims 1, 11, 21, and 31 respectively, and further in view of Lee (US 20190014563 A1).
Regarding claims 4, 14, 24, and 34, Ahn and Shu disclose everything claimed, as applied above.
Although Shu discloses wherein the sending the one or more data packets, as discussed above, Ahn and Shu do not explicitly disclose is based on a quantity of permitted repeat transmissions. However, these concepts are well known as disclosed by Lee.
In the same field of endeavor, Lee discloses:
is based on a quantity of permitted repeat transmissions [par. 0184].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ahn and Shu with Lee. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform such a modification given the benefit of dynamic scheduling [Lee Abstract].
Regarding claims 6, 16, 26, and 36, Ahn and Shu disclose everything claimed, as applied above.
Although Shu discloses the one or more data packets, as discussed above, Ahn and Shu do not explicitly disclose further comprising receiving a response message associated with the one or more data packets, wherein the response message comprises downlink control information. However, these concepts are well known as disclosed by Lee.
In the same field of endeavor, Lee discloses:
further comprising receiving a response message associated with the one or more data packets, wherein the response message comprises downlink control information [fig. 8 no. S804].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ahn and Shu with Lee. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform such a modification given the benefit of dynamic scheduling [Lee Abstract].
Claims 9, 19, 29, and 39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahn and Shu as applied to claims 1, 11, 21, and 31 respectively, and further in view of Yamada (US 20180035453 A1).
Regarding claims 9, 19, 29, and 39, Ahn and Shu disclose everything claimed, as applied above.
Although Ahn discloses wherein the second message, as discussed above, Ahn and Shu do not explicitly disclose comprises at least one medium access control (MAC) control element (CE). However, these concepts are well known as disclosed by Yamada.
In the same field of endeavor, Yamada discloses:
comprises at least one medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) [par. 0029, 031].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ahn and Shu with Yamada. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform such a modification given the benefit of using a PUCCH on a secondary cell [Yamada Abstract].
Conclusion
/WALTER J DIVITO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2465