DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/31/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 12 recite the limitation "the side surface of the lens barrel" after reciting “a press-fitting ring … comprising a protrusion disposed on a side surface”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. IN particular, it is unclear if the intention is to limit the recite protrusion as disposed on a side surface of the lens barrel, or if the use of “disposed on” extends beyond which a person having ordinary skill in the art would understand, or if “the side surface” is intended to have antecedence in a previously unrecited side surface of the lens barrel. For the purposes of examination, all three will be understood as falling within the scope of the claim. Dependent claims 2-11 and 13-17 fail to cure the indefiniteness.
Claim 5 recites “the second hole comprises a 1-1 surface extending in a direction parallel to the optical axis”. The phrase “a 1-1 surface” is not a term of art and is not so clearly described in the Specifications so as to define the metes and bounds of the claimed invention. It is unclear if the notation is intended to define an orientation of the surface, a dimensionality of the surface, or even intended to be limiting of the structure at all. Examination on the merits for that phrase is pre-empted as there is no reasonable interpretation to offer. For the purpose of examination, the phrase “1-1” will be omitted. Dependent claims 6-10 and 16-17 fail to cure the indefiniteness.
Claim 13 recites “a portion of the lens is exposed through the first hole when viewed from the side surface of the lens barrel”. The metes and bounds of the claimed invention cannot be understood in light of the limitation requiring exposure “through the first hole” and “when viewed from the side surface of the lens barrel” along with the independent claim limitation “the side surface of the lens barrel has a first hole extending therethrough to expose at least a portion of the lens”. In other words, a person having ordinary skill in the art would understand there to be a lens barrel side surface and a hole therein that represents an absence of a lens barrel side surface. While the lens can be view through the hole in the lens barrel side surface (see Applicant’s Fig. 6), this view is not “when view from the side surface” as the side surface is missing. If the lens exposure were to be views “from the side surface” then it would appear to be a trivial limitation on the claim as the lens is exposed to the lens barrel side surface regardless of whether there is a hole as the lens barrel side surface supports the lens. It is believed that Applicant’s intent is to limit exposure as “when viewed through the first hole in the side surface of the lens barrel”. For the purpose of examination, exposure of the lens will be understood as “when view from the side surface”.
Claim Interpretation
In light of the Specifications and Applicant’s disclosure of the structure of first hole 1110 (Fig. 7) and second hole 1120 (Fig. 7), there is no requirement for first and second holes to be non-contiguous. While Applicant depicts a shoulder contour of the lens barrel side wall proximal to holes 1110 and 1120, the metes and bounds of the structure are not clearly disclosed. Some confusion stems from the indefinite and unconventional phrasing “1-1 surface” corresponding to 1121 and some confusion stems from the unconventional phrasing “second-first surface”. Neither of these phrases clarify the structure to which Applicant associates with “hole” in the depicted embodiments. From the embodiment depicted in Fig. 7 and use of first and second “hole” to describe the structure, it appears that “hole” is intended to mean the absence of material (i.e. an opening) along a direction. The annotated drawing below seeks to clarify that which constitutes a hole in the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim language. A region of diminished (or absent) lens barrel side wall along a direction. In the case of the first and second side wall, with the optical axis oriented in the +y-direction, the hole is formed in the z-direction below. There is no implicit requirement in the recited/claimed “hole” for there to be a material interface defining distinct holes and for this reason, any hole of finite extent may be understood as being a first and second hole.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 3-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US PG. 2022/0171154 to Hwang, et al. (hereinafter Hwang).
Regarding claim 1, Hwang discloses a lens module (Figs. 4-6) comprising: a lens barrel (lens barrel 210, Figs. 4-6); a lens (lens 220, Fig. 4-6) disposed in the lens barrel; and a press-fitting ring (fixing member 240, Figs. 4-6), disposed on an image side of the lens (Figs. 4-6), comprising a protrusion (projections 241, Figs. 4-6) disposed on a side surface (side of fixing member 240, Fig. 4-6), wherein the side surface of the lens barrel (unlabeled side of lens barrel 210, Fig. 4-6) has a first hole (an upper portion of grooves 212, Figs. 4-6) extending therethrough to expose at least a portion of the lens (inherent characteristic of groove 212, Figs. 4-6) and a second hole (a lower portion of grooves 212, Figs. 4-6) formed by being recessed toward an object side from the first hole (in the -x-direction of Figs. 4-6), and wherein the protrusion is disposed in the second hole (Figs. 4-6).
Regarding claim 3, Hwang discloses the lens comprises a major axis perpendicular to an optical axis and a minor axis perpendicular to both the optical axis and the major axis, wherein a first side surface of the lens extends along the major axis, and wherein the first side surface is disposed at a position corresponding to the side surface of the lens barrel (Figs. 4-6).
Regarding claim 4, Hwang discloses the protrusion comprises a first surface, a second surface spaced apart from the first surface in a direction perpendicular to the optical axis (projections 241, Figs. 4-6), and a third surface connecting the first surface and the second surface, and wherein the first surface and the third surface are disposed vertically (surfaces of projections disposed in x-axis, Fig. 4-6).
Regarding claim 5, Hwang discloses the protrusion comprises a first surface, a second surface spaced apart from the first surface in a direction perpendicular to the optical axis, and a third surface connecting the first surface and the second surface, wherein the second hole comprises a 1-1 surface extending in a direction parallel to the optical axis, and wherein the first surface faces the 1-1 surface (Fig. 5). Optical axis is in x-axis direction and corresponding first and second surfaces are separated in Hwang in the y-z plane.
Regarding claim 6, Hwang discloses the first surface and the 1-1 surface are disposed parallel to each other (a surface of projection 241 substantially in the x-y plane, Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 7, Hwang discloses the first surface and the 1-1 surface are spaced apart in a direction perpendicular to the optical axis (a surface of projection 241 substantially in the x-y plane, Fig. 5).
Claims 1-2, 4-5 and 8-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by TWM 629740 to Kim, et al. (hereinafter Kim). US PG Pub. 2023/0069036 is an alternate publication of Kim and used for citations.
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses a lens module (Figs. 6-9) comprising: a lens barrel (lens barrel 110, Figs. 6-9); a lens (lens 120, Fig. 6-9) disposed in the lens barrel; and a press-fitting ring (coupling member 130, Figs. 6-9), disposed on an image side of the lens (Figs. 6-9), comprising a protrusion (first portions 131, Figs. 6-9) disposed on a side surface (side of coupling member 130, Fig. 6-9), wherein the side surface of the lens barrel (unlabeled side of lens barrel 110, Fig. 6-9) has a first hole (an upper portion of recessed surface 113, Figs. 6-9) extending therethrough to expose at least a portion of the lens (inherent characteristic of recessed surface, Figs. 6-9) and a second hole (a lower portion of recessed surface 113, Figs. 6-9) formed by being recessed toward an object side from the first hole (in the -z-direction of Figs. 6-9), and wherein the protrusion is disposed in the second hole (Figs. 6-9).
It is noted that the phrase “to expose at least a portion of the lens” may be intended by Applicant to limit a particular view of the lens from a particular reference point along a particular axis, though these features are not captured in the claim. The lens in Kim is exposed and all of the structures of Kim function to accomplish this, and therefore Kim anticipates this portion of the claimed structure.
Additionally, Kim discloses an alternative embodiment anticipating the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses a lens module (Figs. 6-9) comprising: a lens barrel (lens barrel 210, Figs. 6-9); a lens (lens 220, Fig. 6-9) disposed in the lens barrel; and a press-fitting ring (coupling member 230, Figs. 6-9), disposed on an image side of the lens (Figs. 6-9), comprising a protrusion (second portions 232, Figs. 6-9) disposed on a side surface (side of coupling member 230, Fig. 6-9), wherein the side surface of the lens barrel (unlabeled side of lens barrel 110, Fig. 6-9) has a first hole (an upper portion of second extension portion 215a, see annotated Fig. 7 below) extending therethrough to expose at least a portion of the lens (inherent characteristic of second extension, Figs. 6-9) and a second hole (a lower portion of second extension portion 215a, see annotated Fig. 7 below) formed by being recessed toward an object side from the first hole (in the -z-direction of Figs. 6-9), and wherein the protrusion is disposed in the second hole (Figs. 6-9).
PNG
image3.png
100
100
image3.png
Greyscale
Regarding claim 2, Kim discloses a width of the second hole is narrower than a width of the first hole (Figs. 7-9). The radial width of the upper opening formed by the surface of the first hole (see above) extends through the entire lens barrel side wall whereas the radial width of the lower opening formed by the surface of the second hole (see above) does not extend fully through the lens barrel side wall.
Regarding claims 4 and 14, Kim discloses the protrusion comprises a first surface (surface of first extension portion 232a substantially in x-z plane, Fig. 7), a second surface (another surface of first extension portion 232a substantially in x-z plane, Fig. 7) spaced apart from the first surface in a direction perpendicular to an optical axis (y-direction, Fig. 7), and a third surface (curved surface of first extension portion 232a substantially in y-z plane, Fig. 7) connecting the first surface and the second surface, and wherein the first surface and the third surface are disposed vertically (Figs. 6-9 and best seen in Fig. 6).
Regarding claims 5 and 15, Kim discloses the protrusion comprises a first surface (surface of first extension portion 232a substantially in x-z plane, Fig. 7), a second surface (another surface of first extension portion 232a substantially in x-z plane, Fig. 7) spaced apart from the first surface in a direction perpendicular to the optical axis (y-direction, Fig. 7), and a third surface (curved surface of first extension portion 232a substantially in y-z plane, Fig. 7) connecting the first surface and the second surface, wherein the second hole comprises a 1-1 surface (surface of lens barrel extending along z-axis, Fig. 6-7) extending in a direction parallel to the optical axis, and wherein the first surface faces the 1-1 surface (Figs. 6-9 and best seen in Fig. 6).
Regarding claims 8 and 16, Kim discloses the first surface and the third surface form an obtuse angle (Figs. 6-9), and wherein the 1-1 surface is disposed to face the first surface (Figs. 6-9 and best seen in Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 9, Kim discloses the first surface and the 1-1 surface are spaced apart in a direction perpendicular to the optical axis (Figs. 6-9 and best seen in Fig. 6).
Regarding claims 10 and 17, Kim discloses a distance between the first surface and the 1-1 surface increases as distance increases in a direction away from the optical axis (Figs. 6-9 and best seen in Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 11, Kim discloses a camera module, comprising: an image sensor (Fig. 1; [0018]); and the lens module of claim 1, wherein a width of the second hole is narrower than a width of the first hole (Figs. 7-9). The radial width of the upper opening formed by the surface of the first hole (see above) extends through the entire lens barrel side wall whereas the radial width of the lower opening formed by the surface of the second hole (see above) does not extend fully through the lens barrel side wall.
Regarding claim 12, Kim discloses a camera module (Fig. 1; [0018]) comprising: an image sensor (Fig. 1; [0018]); and a lens module (Figs. 6-9), comprising: a lens barrel (lens barrel 210, Figs. 6-9); a lens (lens 220, Fig. 6-9) disposed in the lens barrel; and a press-fitting ring (coupling member 230, Figs. 6-9), disposed on an image side of the lens, comprising a protrusion (second portions 232, Figs. 6-9) disposed on a side surface (Fig. 6-9), wherein the side surface of the lens barrel has a first hole (an upper portion of second extension portion 215a, see annotated Fig. 7 below) extending therethrough to expose at least a portion of the lens (inherent characteristic of second extension, Figs. 6-9) and a second hole (a lower portion of second extension portion 215a, see annotated Fig. 7 below) formed by being recessed toward an object side from the first hole, and wherein the protrusion is disposed in the second hole (Figs. 6-9). See annotated image 7 above.
Regarding claim 13, Kim discloses a portion of the lens is exposed through the first hole when viewed from the side surface of the lens barrel (Figs. 7-9). It should be noted that Applicant’s Fig. 6 is not merely a view through the first hole but a view that is through the first hole and along an axis that is through the first hole and perpendicular to the optical axis.
Pertinent Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US Pat 5249082, KR 20070042630, KR 20080021883 generally disclosed notched lens barrels accommodating retention rings having projections.
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER STANFORD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872