DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4-6, 11, 12, 14, 16-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ambikanandan (IN 2011MU01237 A).
Ambikanandan discloses a dry-powder inhalable pharmaceutical composition comprising 10-30% w/w/ sildenafil citrate (Examples A and C-F). The composition further contains 10-80% w/w phospholipid DPPC or poly(lactic acid), and 10-80% w/w lactose, mannitol, glycine, r leucine. Examples A and C disclose a method for preparing the composition by dissolving the components in solvents, mixing the two for co spray-drying. The dry powder composition obtained in Example E ha a particles size of 50nm to 10 µm (Table 8).
Claims 1, 4 and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shahin et al (J of Controlled release, 2019, 275-286, v133).
Shahin et al discloses a dry-powder inhalable pharmaceutical composition prepared via spray drying (Tables 1 and 3) where the composition contains 6-8% w/w sildenafil citrate and hyaluronic acid or leucine (pg 128, ¶ 1). The dry-powder particles are spherical and have a particle size in the range of 2-10 µm (Section 3.2.4, ¶ 1).
Claims 1, 4, 9 and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ghasemiam et al (Pharm Dev and Tech, 2015, 961-971, v21, no 8).
Ghasemiam et al discloses a dry-powder inhalable pharmaceutical composition comprising sildenafil citrate and PKGA and PVA, with sugars and leucine (pg 2, Preparation of SC loaded PLGA nanoparticles, Table 1, and Table 2). The dry powder has a solid, spherical shape and the majority have a particle size in the range of instant claim 12 (Fig 5 and Table 1-2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ambikanandan (IN 2011MU01237 A).
The reference is discussed above, but does not disclose the specific mass fraction of instant claims 3, 7-8, 10, or 15. The also do not disclose the specific particle sized, preparation conditions of claim 19 and 21-25.
Where amounts are disclosed generally in the reference, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to optimize the content of each component in order to provide the optimal pharmacokinetic properties for the dry inhalation powder. In doing so, the properties disclosed would be optimized, such as particle size and mass weight of each component.
In formulating the dry spray method, it would be obvious to optimize parameters well known for such a process, such as temperatures and spray rates.
Claims 1-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shahin et al (J of Controlled release, 2019, 275-286, v133).
The reference is discussed above, but does not disclose the specific mass fraction of instant claims 3, 7-8, 10, or 15. The also do not disclose the specific particle sized, preparation conditions of claim 19 and 21-25.
Where amounts are disclosed generally in the reference, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to optimize the content of each component in order to provide the optimal pharmacokinetic properties for the dry inhalation powder. In doing so, the properties disclosed would be optimized, such as particle size and mass weight of each component.
In formulating the dry spray method, it would be obvious to optimize parameters well known for such a process, such as temperatures and spray rates.
Claims 1-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Ghasemiam et al (Pharm Dev and Tech, 2015, 961-971, v21, no 8).
The reference is discussed above, but does not disclose the specific mass fraction of instant claims 3, 7-8, 10, or 15. The also do not disclose the specific particle sized, preparation conditions of claim 19 and 21-25.
Where amounts are disclosed generally in the reference, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to optimize the content of each component in order to provide the optimal pharmacokinetic properties for the dry inhalation powder. In doing so, the properties disclosed would be optimized, such as particle size and mass weight of each component.
In formulating the dry spray method, it would be obvious to optimize parameters well known for such a process, such as temperatures and spray rates.
Conclusion
/BENJAMIN J PACKARD/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1612