DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 11-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20230036318 (“Kim”) in view of US 20180236883 (“Kokubo”).
As per claim(s) 1, Kim discloses a method performed by a vehicle, the method comprising:
generating, based on a location of the vehicle, a predicted altitude of the vehicle (see at least [0106]: estimating a level at which the vehicle travels in an altitude range of the uphill road by using a current driving altitude of the vehicle traveling on the uphill road and an uphill altitude calculation operation S120 of calculating an uphill altitude at which the vehicle is to travel from the current driving altitude to a highest altitude on the uphill road, [0110]: in the uphill altitude calculation operation S120, the difference obtained by subtracting the current driving altitude of the vehicle from the highest altitude assumed in the driving altitude estimation operation may be calculated as the climbing altitude to which the vehicle traveling on the uphill road must travel further from the current location to the highest altitude on the uphill road);
setting, based on information indicating the vehicle is driving in a high-energy area, a highest altitude of the high-energy area as a highest predicted altitude (see at least [0067]: establish an altitude information database by setting and storing an altitude range including the lowest and highest altitudes of the uphill road on which the vehicle travels based on the past driving records of the vehicle traveling on the uphill road, [0067]: by establishing the altitude information database by limiting the lowest and highest altitudes of the uphill road on which the vehicle travels, the uphill altitude may be calculated by using the database, [0106]: estimating a level at which the vehicle travels in an altitude range of the uphill road by using a current driving altitude of the vehicle traveling on the uphill road and an uphill altitude calculation operation S120 of calculating an uphill altitude at which the vehicle is to travel from the current driving altitude to a highest altitude on the uphill road);
generating, based on the predicted altitude, the highest predicted altitude and a current altitude of the vehicle, an adjusted power (see at least [0059]: current driving altitude…using GPS information, [0074]: required climbing energy calculation device 220 may use the uphill altitude (H) calculated by the driving altitude determination device, an average gradient (θ) of the uphill road, an average speed (v) and the weight (M) of the vehicle to calculate the average fuel efficiency required for the vehicle to travel along a remaining uphill road from the current driving altitude to the highest altitude as the required climbing energy, [0079]: required stack output calculation device 330 may divide the required stack energy (E−B) by the estimated time required for the vehicle to climb to the highest altitude…thereby obtaining the required stack output to be generated in the fuel cell stack, [0106]: estimating a level at which the vehicle travels in an altitude range of the uphill road by using a current driving altitude of the vehicle traveling on the uphill road and an uphill altitude calculation operation S120 of calculating an uphill altitude at which the vehicle is to travel from the current driving altitude to a highest altitude on the uphill road);
based on static power, associated with the location, and the adjusted power, generating a target power generation amount to be supplied to a battery of the vehicle (see at least [0085]: stack output determination device 400 may compare the required stack output calculated by the climbing stack output calculation device 300 with a basic stack output set to be generated in the fuel cell stack according to the degree of decrease in the battery SOC, and determine a lower value as a final stack output to be generated in the fuel cell stack, [0086]: may further include a stack output map in which a stack output to be generated in the fuel cell stack is mapped to a battery SOC and stored as a basic stack output, [0087]: stack output determination device 400 may compare the basic stack output derived from the stack output map with the required stack output calculated using the current battery SOC to determine a lower value as the final stack output, [0105]: final stack output determination operation); and
a vehicle to generate power based on the target power generating amount (see at least [0050]: determine a lower value as a final stack output to be generated in the fuel cell stack, [0051]: vehicle refers to a fuel cell vehicle that generates electric power using hydrogen in a fuel in a fuel cell stack to charge a battery and drives a motor with the charged power to generate driving power, [0052]: stack output power, [0129]: prevent fuel consumption from increasing to generate excessive stack output while driving on an uphill road or the durability of the fuel cell stack from being deteriorated).
Kim discloses the uphill altitude calculated by using an altitude information database (see at least [0111]: establish an altitude information database by setting and storing an altitude range including the lowest and highest altitudes of the uphill road on which the vehicle travels based on the past driving records of the vehicle traveling on the uphill road, [0112]: by establishing the altitude information database by limiting the lowest and highest altitudes of the uphill road on which the vehicle travels, the uphill altitude may be calculated by using the database, and the uphill energy required for the vehicle to drive from the current driving altitude to the highest altitude may be calculated) and a two-dimensional map generated based on the altitude information of the uphill road on which the vehicle travels (see at least [0069]: vehicle weight estimation device 210 may estimate the weight of the vehicle by using a two-dimensional map generated based on the altitude information of the uphill road on which the vehicle travels and the average fuel efficiency of the vehicle traveling on the uphill road), but
Kim does not explicitly recite map information and controlling the vehicle.
However, Kokubo teaches map information indicating the vehicle is driving in a high-energy area (see at least [0058]: ECU 180 may predict whether the fuel-cell vehicle 100 is to travel on an uphill road based on the signal which indicates position information and map information and which is output from the navigation device 17);
controlling, based on a target power generating amount, the vehicle (see at least [0029]: ECU 180 controls a ratio between the electric power supplied from the fuel cell 110 and the electric power supplied from the secondary battery 130 in the electric power supplied from the fuel cell 110 and the secondary battery 130 to the drive motor 160, [0033]: ECU 180 performs the following process based on the signal which indicates position information and map information and which is output from the navigation device 170. That is, when the fuel-cell vehicle 100 is predicted to travel on an uphill road within a range of less than 10 km on the guided route from the current location of the fuel-cell vehicle 100 to a destination, the ECU 180 charges the secondary battery 130 such that the state of charge of the secondary battery 130 is maintained in a range of 55% to 60%, [0038]: ECU 180 mainly uses the electric power generated from the fuel cell 110 to charge the secondary battery 130).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the invention as disclosed by Kim by incorporating the teachings of Kokubo with a reasonable expectation of success in order to supply a satisfactory amount of electric power toa driver motor. The combination would yield predictable results.
Claim 11 is rejected under the same rationale and is included below.
As per claim(s) 2, 12, Kim discloses wherein the generating of the predicted altitude comprises: generating expected location data to probabilistically distribute a front location of the vehicle based on: the location, a driving direction, and an expected driving distance from the vehicle (see at least [0014]: current driving altitude of the vehicle from location information, [0015]: driving altitude estimation device may estimate the level at which the vehicle travels in the altitude range of the uphill road by using a normal distribution of altitude information generated based on a number of current driving altitude samples obtained during a specified period, [0046]: “uphill” may refer to a direction that leads toward a higher level along a slope, [0061]: calculate the normal distribution of the altitude information with an expected mean (m) of 700 meters and a standard deviation (σ) of 100 meters based on the samples); and
generating, based on an expected front altitude according to the front location distribution, the predicted altitude (see at least [0015]: driving altitude estimation device may estimate the level at which the vehicle travels in the altitude range of the uphill road by using a normal distribution of altitude information generated based on a number of current driving altitude samples obtained during a specified period, [0063]: As an example of such a normal distribution of altitude information, the driving altitude estimation device 110 may use the plurality of current altitude information samples acquired during a specified time period to calculate the normal distribution of altitude information that has an average of ‘m’ and a standard deviation of ‘σ’ as shown in FIG. 4, [0065]: the uphill altitude means a difference in altitude between the current altitude of the vehicle and the highest altitude that the vehicle has to climb).
As per claim(s) 3, 13, Kim discloses wherein the front location is probabilistically distributed according to anomalies that are separated at a predetermined spacing in the driving direction within the expected driving distance (see at least [0063]: As an example of such a normal distribution of altitude information, the driving altitude estimation device 110 may use the plurality of current altitude information samples acquired during a specified time period to calculate the normal distribution of altitude information that has an average of ‘m’ and a standard deviation of ‘σ’ as shown in FIG. 4).
As per claim(s) 4, 14, Kim discloses determining a driving direction, of the vehicle, based on a location history associated with driving of the vehicle, wherein the generating the predicted altitude is further based on the driving direction (see at least [0046]: “uphill” may refer to a direction that leads toward a higher level along a slope, [0066]: driving altitude determination device 100 may establish an altitude information database by setting and storing an altitude range including the lowest and highest altitudes of the uphill road on which the vehicle travels based on the past driving records of the vehicle traveling on the uphill road, [0067]: by establishing the altitude information database by limiting the lowest and highest altitudes of the uphill road on which the vehicle travels, the uphill altitude may be calculated by using the database).
As per claim(s) 11, Kim discloses a vehicle comprising:
a battery of the vehicle (see at least [0049]: battery);
one or more processors (see at least [0045]: at least one processor, [0049]: Fig. 1 a device for improving fuel efficiency of a fuel cell vehicle in uphill and downhill driving…battery);
a memory storing instructions that, when executed, configured the one or more processors (see at least [0045]: driving altitude determination device and the final stack output determination device described below are implemented with software instructions executed on the at least one processor) to:
generate, based on a location of the vehicle, a predicted altitude of the vehicle (see at least [0106]: estimating a level at which the vehicle travels in an altitude range of the uphill road by using a current driving altitude of the vehicle traveling on the uphill road and an uphill altitude calculation operation S120 of calculating an uphill altitude at which the vehicle is to travel from the current driving altitude to a highest altitude on the uphill road, [0110]: in the uphill altitude calculation operation S120, the difference obtained by subtracting the current driving altitude of the vehicle from the highest altitude assumed in the driving altitude estimation operation may be calculated as the climbing altitude to which the vehicle traveling on the uphill road must travel further from the current location to the highest altitude on the uphill road);
set, based on information indicating the vehicle is driving in a high-energy area, a highest altitude of the high-energy area as a highest predicted altitude (see at least [0067]: establish an altitude information database by setting and storing an altitude range including the lowest and highest altitudes of the uphill road on which the vehicle travels based on the past driving records of the vehicle traveling on the uphill road, [0067]: by establishing the altitude information database by limiting the lowest and highest altitudes of the uphill road on which the vehicle travels, the uphill altitude may be calculated by using the database, [0106]: estimating a level at which the vehicle travels in an altitude range of the uphill road by using a current driving altitude of the vehicle traveling on the uphill road and an uphill altitude calculation operation S120 of calculating an uphill altitude at which the vehicle is to travel from the current driving altitude to a highest altitude on the uphill road);
generate, based on the predicted altitude, the highest predicted altitude and a current altitude of the vehicle, an adjusted power (see at least [0059]: current driving altitude…using GPS information, [0074]: required climbing energy calculation device 220 may use the uphill altitude (H) calculated by the driving altitude determination device, an average gradient (θ) of the uphill road, an average speed (v) and the weight (M) of the vehicle to calculate the average fuel efficiency required for the vehicle to travel along a remaining uphill road from the current driving altitude to the highest altitude as the required climbing energy, [0079]: required stack output calculation device 330 may divide the required stack energy (E−B) by the estimated time required for the vehicle to climb to the highest altitude…thereby obtaining the required stack output to be generated in the fuel cell stack, [0106]: estimating a level at which the vehicle travels in an altitude range of the uphill road by using a current driving altitude of the vehicle traveling on the uphill road and an uphill altitude calculation operation S120 of calculating an uphill altitude at which the vehicle is to travel from the current driving altitude to a highest altitude on the uphill road);
based on static power, associated with the location, and the adjusted power, generate a target power generation amount to be supplied to a battery of the vehicle (see at least [0085]: stack output determination device 400 may compare the required stack output calculated by the climbing stack output calculation device 300 with a basic stack output set to be generated in the fuel cell stack according to the degree of decrease in the battery SOC, and determine a lower value as a final stack output to be generated in the fuel cell stack, [0086]: may further include a stack output map in which a stack output to be generated in the fuel cell stack is mapped to a battery SOC and stored as a basic stack output, [0087]: stack output determination device 400 may compare the basic stack output derived from the stack output map with the required stack output calculated using the current battery SOC to determine a lower value as the final stack output, [0105]: final stack output determination operation); and
a vehicle to generate power based on the target power generating amount (see at least [0050]: determine a lower value as a final stack output to be generated in the fuel cell stack, [0051]: vehicle refers to a fuel cell vehicle that generates electric power using hydrogen in a fuel in a fuel cell stack to charge a battery and drives a motor with the charged power to generate driving power, [0052]: stack output power, [0129]: prevent fuel consumption from increasing to generate excessive stack output while driving on an uphill road or the durability of the fuel cell stack from being deteriorated).
Kim discloses the uphill altitude calculated by using an altitude information database (see at least [0111]: establish an altitude information database by setting and storing an altitude range including the lowest and highest altitudes of the uphill road on which the vehicle travels based on the past driving records of the vehicle traveling on the uphill road, [0112]: by establishing the altitude information database by limiting the lowest and highest altitudes of the uphill road on which the vehicle travels, the uphill altitude may be calculated by using the database, and the uphill energy required for the vehicle to drive from the current driving altitude to the highest altitude may be calculated) and a two-dimensional map generated based on the altitude information of the uphill road on which the vehicle travels (see at least [0069]: vehicle weight estimation device 210 may estimate the weight of the vehicle by using a two-dimensional map generated based on the altitude information of the uphill road on which the vehicle travels and the average fuel efficiency of the vehicle traveling on the uphill road), but
Kim does not explicitly recite map information and control the vehicle.
However, Kokubo teaches map information indicating the vehicle is driving in a high-energy area (see at least [0058]: ECU 180 may predict whether the fuel-cell vehicle 100 is to travel on an uphill road based on the signal which indicates position information and map information and which is output from the navigation device 17);
control the vehicle based on a target power generating amount (see at least [0029]: ECU 180 controls a ratio between the electric power supplied from the fuel cell 110 and the electric power supplied from the secondary battery 130 in the electric power supplied from the fuel cell 110 and the secondary battery 130 to the drive motor 160, [0033]: ECU 180 performs the following process based on the signal which indicates position information and map information and which is output from the navigation device 170. That is, when the fuel-cell vehicle 100 is predicted to travel on an uphill road within a range of less than 10 km on the guided route from the current location of the fuel-cell vehicle 100 to a destination, the ECU 180 charges the secondary battery 130 such that the state of charge of the secondary battery 130 is maintained in a range of 55% to 60%, [0038]: ECU 180 mainly uses the electric power generated from the fuel cell 110 to charge the secondary battery 130).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the invention as disclosed by Kim by incorporating the teachings of Kokubo with a reasonable expectation of success in order to supply a satisfactory amount of electric power toa driver motor. The combination would yield predictable results.
Claim(s) 5, 6, 15, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Kokubo, and further in view of US 20180364065 (“Toda”).
As per claim(s) 5, 15, Kim discloses wherein the generating of the predicted altitude comprises: determine the predicted altitude based on an altitude of the vehicle in the location (see at least [0059]: current driving altitude of the vehicle from location information of a navigation system obtained by using GPS information, [0060]: driving altitude estimation device 110 may estimate the level at which the vehicle travels in the altitude range of the uphill road by using a normal distribution of altitude information generated based on a number of current driving altitude samples obtained during a specified period) but does not explicitly disclose a failure to determine the driving direction.
However, Toda teaches based on a failure to determine the driving direction, determine the predicted altitude based on an altitude of the vehicle in the location (see at least [0032]: executes an altitude calculation process…to calculate altitude from the atmospheric pressure detected by the atmospheric pressure sensor, [0070]: when the positioning accuracy of the satellite positioning process is not satisfactory (that is, when the positioning error is greater than the prescribed value E1), the altitude recording controlling process 154 selects the calculated altitude obtained as a processing result from the altitude calculation process and records this altitude as the current altitude of the altitude information obtaining device 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the invention as disclosed by Kim by incorporating the teachings of Toda with a reasonable expectation of success in order to improve altitude measurement accuracy. The combination would yield predictable results.
As per claim(s) 6, 16, Kim discloses sensors of a vehicle (see at least [0014]: GPS information) but does not explicitly disclose wherein the failure to determine the driving direction is based on at least one of: positioning sensing inconsistency of a sensor, a vehicle speed equal to or lower than a reference vehicle speed, or inconsistency between a past location and a current location.
However, Toda teaches wherein the failure to determine the driving direction is based on at least one of: positioning sensing inconsistency of a sensor, a vehicle speed equal to or lower than a reference vehicle speed, or inconsistency between a past location and a current location (see at least [0032]: executes an altitude calculation process…to calculate altitude from the atmospheric pressure detected by the atmospheric pressure sensor, [0070]: when the positioning accuracy of the satellite positioning process is not satisfactory (that is, when the positioning error is greater than the prescribed value E1), the altitude recording controlling process 154 selects the calculated altitude obtained as a processing result from the altitude calculation process and records this altitude as the current altitude of the altitude information obtaining device 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the invention as disclosed by Kim by incorporating the teachings of Toda with a reasonable expectation of success in order to improve altitude measurement accuracy. The combination would yield predictable results.
Claim(s) 7, 8, 10, 17, 18, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Kokubo, and further in view of US 20200161874 (“Ito”).
As per claim(s) 7, 17, Kim does not explicitly disclose setting, based on map information indicating the vehicle is not driving in a high-energy area, a second highest predicted altitude.
However, Ito teaches setting, based on map information indicating the vehicle is not driving in a high-energy area, a second highest predicted altitude (see at least [0041]: FIG. 6, there is a point Q at a high altitude as a destination from the current location, but it is possible that the future traveling route after the point Q is downhill. In the traveling pattern in this case, a descending slope continues from the point Q to a point R).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the invention as disclosed by Kim by incorporating the teachings of Ito with a reasonable expectation of success in order to appropriately control the vehicle when there is a slope. The combination would yield predictable results.
As per claim(s) 8, 18, Kim discloses wherein the information comprises an indication of the highest altitude of the high-energy area (see at least [0106]: estimating a level at which the vehicle travels in an altitude range of the uphill road by using a current driving altitude of the vehicle traveling on the uphill road and an uphill altitude calculation operation S120 of calculating an uphill altitude at which the vehicle is to travel from the current driving altitude to a highest altitude on the uphill road) but does not explicitly disclose wherein the high-energy area comprises an area in which usage power of the battery required by a gradient of a road or a terrain is estimated to be equal to or greater than a threshold power, and map information.
However, Kokubo teaches wherein the high-energy area comprises an area in which usage power of the battery required by a gradient of a road or a terrain is estimated to be equal to or greater than a threshold, and wherein the map information comprises an indication of the high-energy area (see at least [0022]: detects a state of charge (SOC) of the secondary battery 130 and transmits the detected SOC to the ECU 180, [0048]: it is determined that the fuel-cell vehicle 100 is predicted to travel on an uphill road (YES in Step S100), [0051]: ECU 180 determines whether the gradient of the uphill road is equal to or greater than a predetermined gradient (Step S200), [0053]: When it is determined that the gradient of the uphill road is equal to or greater than the predetermined gradient (YES in Step S200), the ECU 180 charges the secondary battery 130 such that the state of charge of the secondary battery 130 is maintained in a range of 60% to 70% (Step S220).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the invention as disclosed by Kim by incorporating the teachings of Kokubo with a reasonable expectation of success in order to supply a satisfactory amount of electric power toa driver motor. The combination would yield predictable results.
However, Ito discloses wherein the high-energy area comprises an area in which usage power of the battery required by a gradient of a road or a terrain is estimated to be equal to or greater than a threshold power (see at least [0034]: ECU 5 determines, as a first condition, whether the maximum value of the change amount of the SOC from the current location is 100% or more (Step S1). In Step S1, it is determined whether the first condition is satisfied, [0036]: ECU 5 determines, as a second condition, whether the maximum value of the change amount of the SOC from the current location is 0% or less (Step S3)), and wherein the map information comprises an indication of the highest altitude of the high-energy area (see at least [0024]: ECU 5 acquires map information from a navigation system, and acquires the altitude information based on the map information, [0041]: Fig. 6…there is a point Q at a high altitude as a destination from the current location).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the invention as disclosed by Kim by incorporating the teachings of Ito with a reasonable expectation of success in order to appropriately control the vehicle when there is a slope. The combination would yield predictable results.
As per claim(s) 10, 20, Kim discloses a difference between the highest predicted altitude and the current altitude of the vehicle (see at least [0065]: uphill altitude calculation device 120 may calculate the difference obtained by subtracting the current driving altitude of the vehicle from the highest altitude assumed by the driving altitude estimation device as the uphill altitude at which the vehicle travelling on the uphill road must travel further from the current location of the vehicle to the highest altitude on the uphill road) but does not explicitly disclose generating, based on a difference between the predicted altitude and the current altitude of the vehicle and a difference between the highest predicted altitude and the current altitude of the vehicle, a target state of charge (SOC) of the battery, wherein the generating the adjusted power is based on the target SOC and a current SOC of the battery.
However, Kokubo teaches generating, based on a gradient threshold, a target state of charge (SOC) of the battery, wherein the generating the adjusted power is based on the target SOC and a current SOC of the battery (see at least [0022]: detects a state of charge (SOC) of the secondary battery 130 and transmits the detected SOC to the ECU 180, [0048]: it is determined that the fuel-cell vehicle 100 is predicted to travel on an uphill road (YES in Step S100), [0051]: ECU 180 determines whether the gradient of the uphill road is equal to or greater than a predetermined gradient (Step S200), [0053]: When it is determined that the gradient of the uphill road is equal to or greater than the predetermined gradient (YES in Step S200), the ECU 180 charges the secondary battery 130 such that the state of charge of the secondary battery 130 is maintained in a range of 60% to 70% (Step S220).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the invention as disclosed by Kim by incorporating the teachings of Kokubo with a reasonable expectation of success in order to supply a satisfactory amount of electric power toa driver motor. The combination would yield predictable results.
However, Ito teaches generating, based on a difference between the predicted altitude and the current altitude of the vehicle and a difference between the highest predicted altitude and the current altitude of the vehicle, a target state of charge (SOC) of the battery, wherein the generating the adjusted power is based on the target SOC and a current SOC of the battery (see at least [0022]: a change amount of the SOC from the current location to each surrounding point, [0027]: altitude difference between the altitude of each point on the upper right of the map and the altitude of the current location (the altitude of a candidate location point−the altitude of the current location) is a positive value. When the altitude difference is a positive value, traveling toward the candidate point consumes power, and thus the SOC decreases. On the other hand, the altitude difference between each point on the lower left of the map and the altitude of the current location is a negative value, [0028]: calculates, based on altitude differences between the current location and the plurality of points, the decrease amount of the SOC due to the consumption of the power of the storage battery 2 when the vehicle 1 travels on an uphill road, [0035]: In Step S2, the charge amount is set to the amount for fully charging the storage battery 2, [0038]: ECU 5 sets the maximum value of the change amount of the SOC from the current location as the charge amount (Step S5), [0048]: calculate a decrease amount of the SOC with respect to distance based on the amount of power consumed when a vehicle electrically travels on a flat road, and to sum, based on the change amount of the SOC with respect to distance, the change amounts of the SOC calculated based on the altitude difference between a current location and each point, [0040]: Fig. 5…high altitude from the current location, [0041]: Fig. 6…high altitude as a destination from the current location).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the invention as disclosed by Kim by incorporating the teachings of Ito with a reasonable expectation of success in order to appropriately control the vehicle when there is a slope. The combination would yield predictable results.
Claim(s) 9, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Kokubo, and further in view of US 20250145014 (“Farnsworth”).
As per claim(s) 9, 19, Kim does not explicitly disclose wherein the static power comprises a drive power for driving the vehicle and second power associated with an auxiliary device of the vehicle.
However, Farnsworth teaches wherein the static power comprises a drive power for driving the vehicle and second power associated with an auxiliary device of the vehicle (see at least [0153] In step 1560, the method 1500 includes receiving the motor power request and the vehicle auxiliary power. Execution then proceeds to step 1565, [0154] In step 1565, the method 1500 includes calculating the system power demand as a function of the motor power plus the vehicle auxiliary power. Execution then proceeds to step 1530).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the invention as disclosed by Kim by incorporating the teachings of Farnsworth with a reasonable expectation of success in order to determine a system power demand for improved fuel cell power management systems. The combination would yield predictable results.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 20250074257 (“Chapman”); US 20150251648 (“Okada”); US 20120053771 (“Yoshida”) (see at least [0079]: FIG. 5 illustrates a change in height (undulation) of the travel route); US 20190168739 (“Morisaki”) (see at least [0069]: current required power Pd* is higher than a reference value Pdref. The case where the load is expected to exceed the predetermined load may be, for example, an uphill road having a road surface gradient θd that is greater than a predetermined gradient θdref or a difference in elevation ΔH that is greater than a predetermined difference in elevation ΔHref. The road surface gradient θd and the difference in elevation ΔH may be, for example, values obtained from the map information of the vehicle-mounted navigation system 60 or the cloud server CS).
Angelina Shudy
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3668
/Angelina M Shudy/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3668