DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3, 5-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 and 5 recites the limitation " loop shape ". It is unclear what a loop shape is. The specification describes element 23 as having a loop shape which is square shaped in Fig. 1. Examiner is unsure if this is a rough translation or not.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1,4, 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 and a2 as being anticipated by Doi (JP 2014063565 A, machine translation relied on).
Re Claim 1, Doi discloses a method of producing a photoelectric conversion component comprising: forming a porous semiconductor layer on a first substrate; disposing dye solution including a dye with printing on the first substrate or a second substrate; and bonding the first substrate and the second substrate (bottom of page 5).
Re Claim 4, Doi discloses in the disposing, the dye solution is disposed with printing on the second substrate (bottom of page 5). Note that this claim has limited patentable weight since claim 1 recites that it can be on either first or second substrate, thus in the alternate configuration, this claim would not carry patentable weight.
Re Claim 8, Doi discloses in the disposing, the dye solution is disposed with printing on the first substrate (bottom of page 5).
Claim(s) 1, 4, 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 and a2 as being anticipated by Fukuoka (JP 2014165049 A, machine translation relied on).
Re Claim 1, Fukuoka discloses a method of producing a photoelectric conversion component comprising: forming a porous semiconductor layer on a first substrate (20 or 22); disposing dye solution 15A/15B including a dye with printing on the first substrate or a second substrate (opposite of first substrate 20 or 22) (page 3-4; Fig. 2-4); and bonding the first substrate and the second substrate (page 3-4; Fig. 2-4: “the first substrate 20 and the second substrate 22 are pulled up from the dye solutions 15 A and 15B so as to face each other and are bonded together using the sealing material 16.”).
Re Claim 4, Fukuoka discloses in the disposing, the dye solution is disposed with printing on the second substrate (bottom of page 5). Note that this claim has limited patentable weight since claim 1 recites that it can be on either first or second substrate, thus in the alternate configuration, this claim would not carry patentable weight.
Re Claim 8, Fukuoka discloses in the disposing, the dye solution is disposed with printing on the first substrate (bottom of page 5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Doi (or Fukuoka) in view of Ishikawa (JP 2015046298 A, machine translation relied on).
Re Claim 2, Doi (or Fukuoka) does not disclose placing a screen plate having holes on the first substrate or the second substrate; supplying the dye solution on the screen plate; and spreading the dye solution supplied on the screen plate with a squeegee. However, Ishikawa teaches utilizing screen and squeegee (bottom of page 16). It would be obvious to one ordinary skill in the art to utilize these known techniques, as taught by Ishikawa, since it is well known in the art and could easily be performed and also since it is an effective way to apply the desired layer.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Doi.
Re Claim 3, as best understood, Doi discloses disposing sealing material with coating on one of the first substrate and the second substrate on which the dye solution is not disposed with printing such that the sealing material has a shape; and supplying an electrolyte in an area surrounded by the sealing material (page 8; Fig. 10). Doi does not specially disclose loop shape. However, it would be obvious to form into a desired shape that it most efficient and also since it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to make the sealing material of whatever form or shape was desired or expedient. A change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art, absent any showing of unexpected results. In re Dailey et al., 149 USPQ 47.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fukuoka.
Re Claim 3, as best understood, Fukuoka discloses disposing sealing material with coating on one of the first substrate and the second substrate on which the dye solution is not disposed with printing such that the sealing material has a shape; and supplying an electrolyte in an area surrounded by the sealing material (page 3-4; Fig. 2-4: “A first porous semiconductor layer 13 comprising semiconductor fine particles and pigment molecules, an electrolyte solution 14 in which a redox electrolyte is dissolved in a solvent, and an electrolyte solution 14. A second porous semiconductor layer 27 comprising semiconductor fine particles and dye molecules; a catalyst layer 19 disposed on the second porous semiconductor layer 27; a second electrode 18 disposed on the catalyst layer 19; and a second electrode. 18 includes a second substrate (counter electrode side) 22 disposed on 18, and a sealing material 16 disposed between the first substrate 20 and the second substrate 22 and sealing the electrolytic solution 14.” ). Fukuoka does not specially disclose loop shape. However, it would be obvious to form into a desired shape that it most efficient and also since it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to make the sealing material of whatever form or shape was desired or expedient. A change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art, absent any showing of unexpected results. In re Dailey et al., 149 USPQ 47.
Re Claim 1, Doi discloses a method of producing a photoelectric conversion component comprising: forming a porous semiconductor layer on a first substrate; disposing dye solution including a dye with printing on the first substrate or a second substrate; and bonding the first substrate and the second substrate.
Re Claim 2, Doi discloses placing a screen plate having holes on the first substrate or the second substrate; supplying the dye solution on the screen plate; and spreading the dye solution supplied on the screen plate with a squeegee.
Re Claim 3, Doi discloses disposing sealing material with coating on one of the first substrate and the second substrate on which the dye solution is not disposed with printing such that the sealing material has a loop shape; and supplying an electrolyte in an area surrounded by the sealing material.
Re Claim 4, Doi discloses in the disposing, the dye solution is disposed with printing on the second substrate.
Re Claim 5, Doi discloses disposing sealing material with coating on the first substrate such that the sealing material has a loop shape; and supplying an electrolyte in an area surrounded by the sealing material, wherein in the disposing, the dye solution is disposed with printing on the second substrate such that printed sections on which the dye solution is disposed and non-printed sections on which the dye solution is not disposed are alternately arranged in a surface area of the second substrate.
Re Claim 6, Doi discloses in the disposing, the dye solution is disposed with printing on the second substrate such that each of the printed sections and the non-printed sections is formed in a band shape extending in one direction.
Re Claim 7, Doi discloses in the disposing, the dye solution is disposed with printing on the second substrate such that the printed sections are arranged in a zig-zag pattern and the non-printed sections are arranged in a zig-zag pattern.
Re Claim 8, Doi discloses in the disposing, the dye solution is disposed with printing on the first substrate.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and 112 issues are overcome.
Conclusion
/Ryan J. Walters/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799