DETAILED ACTION
1. Claims 1-20 have been examined and are pending.
Priority
3. Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, or 365(c) is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
4. The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 10/31/2024 and 9/10/2025 have been found to be in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements have been considered by the examiner.
Drawings
5. The drawings were received on 10/31/2024. These drawings are accepted.
Specification
6. The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Objections
7. Claims 2-7, 10-15, 18, and 19 are objected to because of the following informalities:
The claims do not comprise an associated definition for the acronyms featured. Examiner respectfully requests amending each of the dependent claims per claim set to include an associated definition.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
10. Claims 1, 5, 7-9, 13, 15-17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by United States Patent Application Publication 2025/0358719 A1 to Kim et al. (hereinafter “Kim”), claiming benefit to and fully supported by provisionally-filed application No. 63/352,240, filed June 15, 2022.
Regarding Claim 1, Kim discloses a method for wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE), comprising:
receiving a measurement configuration and an associated applicable condition (Kim: Figure 10 with [0328-0329] – corresponds to a wireless device receiving a measurement configuration; [0329-0330] – corresponds to the measurement configuration comprising measurement objects (conditions), wherein “the measurement objects may include (i) information on a height-based list of Synchronization Signal Block (SSB) to measure and (ii) information on a height range corresponding to the height-based list of SSB to measure.”); and
applying the measurement configuration when the associated applicable condition is met (Kim: Figure 10 with [0331-0346] – corresponds to performing multiple tasks when one or more of the measurement objects is met, including measurement reporting and selecting an SSB beam.).
Regarding Claim 5, Kim discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the measurement configuration is implemented by a number of SS blocks (Kim: [0006], [0289-0290], [0331] – corresponds to a measurement of a plurality of SSBs.) [to average for cell measurement derivation] (Examiner respectfully notes the bracketed limitation is considered as an intended use of a number of SS blocks and thus not required to be disclosed by the art of record. Examiner respectfully suggests positively reciting the feature to be given patentable weight.).
Regarding Claim 7, Kim discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the measurement configuration is configured by System Information received from a base station and applied in an RRC IDLE and RRC INACTIVE modes to perform measurements for cell selection or reselection (Kim: [0327-0335] – the selected beam for measurement includes an RRC_INACTIVE or RRC_IDLE state. [0255-0277] – the RRC is configured via system information.).
Regarding Claim 8, Kim discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the associated applicable condition comprises:
whether an altitude of the UE exceeds a first predetermined threshold and is less than a second predetermined threshold (Kim: [0177-0181 – an altitude for a UE includes a network-defined altitude threshold.).
Claims 9, 13, 15, and 16, directed to an apparatus embodiment of claims 1, 5, 7, and 8, recite similar features as claims 1, 5, 7, and 8, respectively, and are therefore rejected upon the same grounds as claims 1, 5, 7, and 8. Please see above rejections of claims 1, 5, 7, and 8. Kim discloses the apparatus as a user equipment comprising a memory and processor in at least Fig. 5 with [0026], [0097-0106].
Claims 17 and 20, directed to an article of manufacture embodiment of claims 1 and 8, recite similar features and 1 and 8, respectively, and are therefore rejected upon the same grounds as claims 1 and 8. Please see above rejections of claims 1 and 8. Kim discloses the article of manufacture as a non-transitory computer-readable medium in [0467].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
15. Claims 2-3, 10-11, and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of United States Patent Application Publication 2020/0358547 A1 to Liu et al. (hereinafter “Liu”).
Regarding Claim 2, Kim discloses the method of claim 1, wherein [a]…configuration is implemented by a bitmap to indicate one or more SSBs on which to perform measurement (Kim: [0382-0403] – corresponds to determining a reference signal linked to an SSB (in range of height) based on an ssb-PositionsInBurst; from Table 5 with [0287-0290], Kim discloses the ssb-PositionsInBurst is part of a configuration as implemented in a bitmap.).
Kim does not expressly disclose the measurement configuration includes the bitmap information of the SSB.
However, this feature cannot be considered new or novel in the presence Liu. Liu is similarly concerned with determining the reception of SSB (Liu: [0006-0007]). Liu discloses the measurement configuration is implemented by a bitmap to indicate one or more SSBs on which to perform measurement (Liu: [0038] – explicitly stated.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to modify the measurement configuration of Kim in view of the measurement configuration of Liu to include a bitmap for the reasons of assisting in determining whether or not a failure has occurred in the reception of an SSB (Liu [0037]).
Regarding Claim 3, Kim discloses the method of claim 1, wherein Kim discloses timing information may be included for SSB determination (Kim: [0288-0289] with Table 5), but Kim does not expressly disclose the measurement configuration is implemented by an SSB measurement timing configuration (SMTC).
However, this feature cannot be considered new or novel in the presence Liu. Liu is similarly concerned with determining the reception of SSB (Liu: [0006-0007]). Liu discloses the measurement configuration is implemented by an SSB measurement timing configuration (SMTC) (Liu: [0095] – explicitly stated. See also [0114].).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to modify the measurement configuration of Kim in view of the measurement configuration of Liu to include an SMTC for the reasons of assisting in determining whether or not a failure has occurred in the reception of an SSB (Liu [0037]).
Claims 10-11, dependent upon claim 9, recite similar features as claims 2-3, respectively, and are therefore rejected upon the same grounds as claims 2-3. Please see above rejections of claims 2-3.
Claims 18-19, dependent upon claim 17, recite similar features as claims 2-3, respectively, and are therefore rejected upon the same grounds as claims 2-3. Please see above rejections of claims 2-3.
16. Claims 4 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of United States Patent Application Publication 2021/0195453 A1 to Zhang et al. (hereinafter “Zhang”).
Regarding Claim 4, Kim discloses the method of claim 1, but does not expressly disclose wherein the measurement configuration is implemented by a predetermined threshold for consolidation of L1 measurements per RS index.
However, this feature cannot be considered new or novel in the presence of Zhang. Zhang is similarly concerned with beam measurement (Zhang: [0007]). Zhang discloses a measurement configuration is implemented by a predetermined threshold for consolidation of L1 measurements per RS index (Zhang: [0069-0076] – corresponds to determining an L1 measurement value (absThreshSS-BlocksConsolidation value) based on an SSB, which is equivalent to a predetermined threshold for consolidation of L1 measurements per RS index.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to modify the measurement configuration of Kim in view of the measurement configuration of Zhang to include a threshold for consolidation of L1 measurements for the reasons of improving the efficiency of wireless communication network techniques through measured beam quality (Zhang: [0005], [0007]).
Claim 12, dependent upon claim 9, recites similar features as claim 9, and is therefore rejected upon the same grounds as claim 9. Please see above rejection of claim 9.
17. Claims 6 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of United States Patent Application Publication 2023/0300888 A1 to Lee et al. (hereinafter “Lee”).
Regarding Claim 6, Kim discloses the method of claim 1, discloses selecting an SSB for measurement when a user device exits an RRC_CONNECTED state (Kim: [0334-0335]), but does not expressly disclose wherein the measurement configuration is applied in an RRC CONNECTED mode to perform measurement on a serving and/or neighbor cell.
However, this feature cannot be considered new or novel in the presence of Lee. Lee is similarly concerned with measuring SSBs (Lee: [0005-0010]). Lee discloses the measurement configuration is applied in an RRC CONNECTED mode to perform measurement on a serving and/or neighbor cell (Lee: [0114-0116] – “If the information is related to measurement, the network (e.g., BS) may indicate an SSB set to be measured within a measurement period, when the UE is in RRC connected mode.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to modify the measurement configuration for measuring SSBs of Kim in view of the measurement configuration of Lee to measure SSBs in an RRC Connected state for the reasons of improving efficiencies with identifying RACH resources for a RACH preamble (Lee: [0128]).
Claim 14, dependent upon claim 9, recites similar features as claim 6 and is therefore rejected upon the same grounds as claim 6. Please see above rejection of claim 6.
Conclusion
18. Applicant is encouraged to submit a written authorization for Internet communications (PTO/SB/439, http://www.uspto.gov/sites/default/files/documents/sb0439.pdf) in the instant patent application to authorize the examiner to communicate with the applicant via email. The authorization will allow the examiner to better practice compact prosecution. The written authorization can be submitted via one of the following methods only: (1) Central Fax which can be found in the Conclusion section of this Office action; (2) regular postal mail; (3) EFS WEB; or (4) the service window on the Alexandria campus. EFS web is the recommended way to submit the form since this allows the form to be entered into the file wrapper within the same day (system dependent). Written authorization submitted via other methods, such as direct fax to the examiner or email, will not be accepted. See MPEP § 502.03.
BENJAMIN H. ELLIOTT IV
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2474
/BENJAMIN H ELLIOTT IV/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2474 August 30, 2026