DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kazempour (US Pat Pub# 2022/0203905) in view of Thompson (US Pat Pub# 2024/0019770) and further in view of Hoerger (US Pat# 12,235,569) and further in view of Chapman (US Pat# 6,217,236).
Regarding claims 1 and 12, Kazempour teaches a halo ring (Fig. 1, wheel), comprising a halo ring, wherein the halo ring is rotatable about a second axis, different from the first axis, passable through the cavity (Fig. 1, securing a smart phone to a rotating wheel etc.); and configured to receive and secure an electronic device (Fig. 1, securing a smart phone to a rotating wheel etc.). Kazempour fails to teach a base, a device clamp, and a brake assembly.
Thompson teaches a halo ring stand 70 (Fig. 1), comprising a base 62/72/54 (Fig. 1), wherein the base are rotatably coupled by a halo base standoff and rotatable about a first axis (Sections 0020-0022, rotating of the base etc.); a halo ring receivable within a cavity, wherein the halo ring is rotatable about a second axis, different from the first axis, passable through the cavity (Fig. 1 and Sections 0020-0022, halo ring is rotatable etc.); and a device clamp assembly 66 (Fig. 1) coupled to the halo ring 70 (Fig. 1) and configured to receive and secure an electronic device 68 (Fig. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious at the time of the invention to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a base as taught by Thompson into Kazempour’s device in order to improve structure integrity.
Kazempour and Thompson fails to teach a device clamp with two brackets and a brake assembly.
Hoerger teaches a device clamp 125 (Figs. 1 and 3) assembly and configured to receive and secure an electronic device 195 (Figs. 1 and 3), wherein the device clamp assembly includes two or more holding brackets that are extendable and retractable to secure the electronic device, wherein the device clamp assembly is rotatable about a third axis, different from the first axis and second axis (Abstract, Col. 3 line 61-Col. 4 line 9, and Col. 6 line 31-Col. 7 line 7, clamp being rotatable etc.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious at the time of the invention to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a device clamp with two brackets as taught by Hoerger into a base as taught by Thompson into Kazempour’s device in order to improve securing a device.
Kazempour, Thompson, and Hoerger fail to teach a brake assembly.
Chapman a brake assembly, wherein the base and the brake assembly are rotatably coupled by a base standoff and a brake assembly base standoff and rotatable about a first axis (Col. 5 line 66-Col. 6 Line 10 and Col. 6 line 64-Col. 7 line 12, a brake assembly to stop rotation etc.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious at the time of the invention to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a brake assembly as taught by Chapman into a device clamp with two brackets as taught by Hoerger into a base as taught by Thompson into Kazempour’s device in order to improve holding the structure in place.
Regarding claims 2 and 13, Chapman further teaches wherein a friction coefficient the brake assembly provides friction to prevent rotation when in idle use and enables rotation about the second axis upon exertion of an external force from a user (Col. 5 line 66-Col. 6 Line 10 and Col. 6 line 64-Col. 7 line 12, a brake assembly to stop rotation etc.).
Regarding claims 3 and 14, Kazempour further teaches wherein a plurality of selectively retractable or affixed teeth within the cavity are incorporated to retain the halo ring in a fixed position when in idle use and enable rotation of the halo ring about the second axis upon exertion of an external force by a user (Fig. 1, being able to rotate a wheel when a user uses force and using a steering column to fix positions etc.).
Regarding claims 4 and 15, Kazempour further teaches wherein the first, second, and third axis include a set of multi-directional axis that may be independently rotatable, configured to provide a 360° field of view of the device to a user (Fig. 1, with the wheel being able to rotate the device can go in a 360 degree rotating view etc.).
Regarding claim 5, Thompson further teaches wherein the base includes one or more support elements, wherein the support elements include at least one of a pad, adhesive, or suction cup (Fig. 1 and Sections 0020-0022, pad like structure etc.).
Regarding claims 6 and 16, Kazempour further teaches wherein the halo ring is a hollow halo ring comprising a center cavity, wherein the diameter and width of the halo ring are just sufficient enough to be received within the cavity of the halo brake assembly, wherein the dimensions between the halo ring and the center cavity provide a friction coefficient that prevents rotation of the halo ring when in idle use and enables rotation about the second axis upon exertion of an external force from a user (Fig. 1, being able to rotate a wheel when a user uses force and using a steering column to fix positions etc.).
Regarding claims 7 and 17, Chapman further teaches a device coupled within, wherein the device is coupled to the halo brake assembly via one or more securing portions (Col. 5 line 66-Col. 6 Line 10 and Col. 6 line 64-Col. 7 line 12, a brake assembly to hold a camera device etc.).
Regarding claims 8 and 18, Kazempour further teaches wherein the display includes at least one area for branding, advertisement, acknowledgement, or otherwise exposure of information on either or both sides of opposing wall faces of the display (Fig. 1, securing a smart phone to a rotating wheel which can display different content etc.).
Regarding claim 9, Kazempour further teaches wherein the display is constructed of a polymer, glass, or metal material (Fig. 1, securing a smart phone to a rotating wheel which it is known that the display for the phone can be made of glass and/or a polymer etc.).
Regarding claims 10 and 19, Thompson further teaches wherein the halo ring stand is configured to secure relatively smaller, pocket-sized electronic devices within the device clamp assembly (Fig. 1 and Sections 0020-0022, clamp assembly to hold a mobile device etc.).
Regarding claims 11 and 20, Hoerger further teaches configured to secure relatively larger, tablet sized electronic devices within the device clamp assembly (Abstract, Figs. 1 and 3, Col. 3 lines 45-49, Col. 3 line 61-Col. 4 line 9, and Col. 6 line 31-Col. 7 line 7, tablet etc. can be secured).
Conclusion
/ANDREW WENDELL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2648 9/18/2026