DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 8/27/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 8-17 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 8/27/2026.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed on 10/31/2024 has been acknowledged and considered by the examiner. Initialed copies of supplied IDS(s) forms are included in this correspondence.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, claim states the limitation “the cameras are in front of the left mirror and right mirror” in the fourth to last line of the claim. This limitation is unclear as which direction or side of the mirrors or device as a whole is the “front” or “back” is not specified in the claims. Where are these cameras? Where is the point of reference? From which direction is the “front” or “back” determined with respect to the device? Based on the direction the observer is facing, the “front” or “back” may change – this could place the cameras between the eyes and the mirrors, between the mirrors and the housing/shell, above the mirrors, below the mirrors, or otherwise elsewhere in the device depending on where the observer is located since no point of reference has been identified. Instant Figure 1 of the application appears to place the cameras between the mirrors and the shell/housing, however the perspective shown in the figure would place the cameras behind the mirrors. Due to this limitation, one of ordinary skill in the art would not be apprised as to the scope of the invention (MPEP §2173.05(b)). For purposes of compact prosecution, examiner will interpret the “front” of the mirrors to face the shell/housing.
Also, claims 2-7 are rejected by virtue of their dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baranton et. al US 20150109578 A1 (hereinafter “Baranton”) in view of Krall et. al US 20230414100 A1 (hereinafter “Krall”) and Yoder US 5106183 A (hereinafter “Yoder”).
Regarding claim 1, Baranton teaches a device for evaluating exophthalmia in exophthalmia testing, comprising:
a left displacement platform (see annotated Baranton fig. 3e below),
a left canthal latch point (see annotated Baranton fig. 3e below),
a left mirror (Baranton fig. 3e – LM2),
a light source (Baranton fig. 3a-b – 2, see also para. 0063 – measuring system 2 emits a light beam),
a right canthal latch point (see annotated Baranton fig. 3e below),
a right mirror (Baranton fig. 3e – LM1),
a right displacement platform (see annotated Baranton fig. 3e below),
a shell or housing (Baranton fig. 3e – structure including TR2, TR1, E1), wherein:
the left mirror (LM2) and the right mirror (LM1) are respectively on the left canthal latch point and the right canthal latch point (see annotated Baranton fig. 3e above),
the left canthal latch point and the right canthal latch point are respectively on the left displacement platform and the right displacement platform (see annotated Baranton fig. 3e above),
the left displacement platform and the right displacement platform are respectively on opposite sides of the shell or housing (see annotated Baranton fig. 3e above),
the left mirror (LM2) and the right mirror (LM1) are angled (Baranton fig. 3a-e – shows LM1),
Baranton does not specify cameras, a near-infrared light source, the cameras are in front of the left mirror and the right mirror, the near infrared light source is below the cameras.
In a similar field of endeavor, Krall teaches cameras (Krall fig. 6a – shows camera 48-1 and 48-2), a near-infrared light source (Krall fig. 6a – 44-1, 44-2, see also para. 0057 – 44-1 and 44-2 are infrared light sources, which would necessarily include NIR), the cameras (48-1, 48-2) are in front of the left mirror and the right mirror (Krall fig. 6a – 48-1 is in front of 24-1 and 48-2 is in front of 24-2), the near infrared light source (44-1, 44-2) is below the cameras (Krall fig. 18a – shows 348-1 disposed above 344-1, see also para. 0147 – can include a second infrared camera 348-2 and a second infrared light source 344-2) for the purpose of illuminating the eye for determining alignment (Krall para. 0147). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have cameras, a near-infrared light source, the cameras are in front of the left mirror and the right mirror, the near infrared light source is below the cameras as taught by Krall in the device of Baranton in order to illuminate the eye for determining alignment (Krall para. 0147).
Even if the infrared light sources taught by Krall did not include NIR wavelengths, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to utilize NIR light for the purpose of tracking the eye (Krall para. 0057), since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller 220 F.2d 454, 456,105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Baranton and Krall do not specify visible light columns, and the visible light columns are configured longitudinally inside the shell or housing.
In a similar field of endeavor, Yoder teaches visible light columns (Yoder fig. 2, 4a-b, and 6 – 11, see also col. 8-9 lines 63-4), and the visible light columns (11) are configured longitudinally inside the shell or housing (Yoder fig. 2, 4a-b – 11 is configured inside a housing, see also col. 9 lines 4-8 and fig. 6 – 11 is longitudinal) for the purpose of facilitating ophthalmic diagnoses (Yoder col. 8 lines 63-67). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have visible light columns, and the visible light columns are configured longitudinally inside the shell or housing as taught by Yoder in the device of Baranton and Krall in order to facilitate ophthalmic diagnoses (Yoder col. 8 lines 63-67).
Regarding claim 2, Baranton, Krall, and Yoder teach the device of claim 1, and Krall further teaches wherein the cameras (48-1, 48-2) comprise a first camera (Krall fig. 6a - 48-1) in front of the left mirror (Krall fig. 6a – 48-1 disposed in front of 24-1) and a second camera (Krall fig. 6a - 48-2) in front of the right mirror (Krall fig. 6a – 48-2 disposed in front of 24-2).
Regarding claim 3, Baranton, Krall, and Yoder teach the device of claim 1, and Yoder further teaches wherein each of the visible light columns (11) includes one or more discrete point light sources (Yoder col. 3 lines 41-43).
Regarding claim 4, Baranton, Krall, and Yoder teach the device of claim 1, and Yoder further teaches wherein each of the visible light columns (11) is along an inner surface of the shell or housing (Yoder fig. 4a-b – shows 11 on the inner surface of the housing they are located on).
Regarding claim 5, Baranton, Krall, and Yoder teach the device of claim 1, and Baranton further teaches further comprising a jaw support (Baranton fig. 10a-b - 9) and a head rest (Baranton fig. 10a-b - 8), wherein each of the jaw support (9) and the head rest (8) are configured to place the eye in a proximity of an end of at least one of the left displacement platform and the right displacement platform (Baranton fig. 10a-11, see also para. 0088 and fig. 3e as described in para. 0077).
Regarding claim 6, Baranton, Krall, and Yoder teach the device of claim 1, and Baranton further teaches wherein the left displacement platform and the right displacement platform (as labeled in the annotated Baranton fig. 3e below) are (i) adjustable along one or more Cartesian dimensions (Baranton fig. 3a-e – see movement of mirrors along Cartesian dimensions) and (ii) configured to position a corresponding canthal latch point and/or mirror relative to the eye (Baranton fig. 3a-e – shows LM1 and LM2 being positioned above then moved in front of the eye, and fig. 3e shows the structure which holds LM1 and LM2 and would facilitate the movement of the mirrors in front of the eyes, see also para. 0073-0074).
Regarding claim 7, Baranton, Krall, and Yoder teach the device of claim 1, and Baranton further teaches wherein the left mirror (LM2) and the right mirror (LM1) are respectively fixed to the left canthal latch point and the right canthal latch point (shown in the annotated Baranton fig. 3e below), and the left canthal latch point and the right canthal latch point rotate angularly or move in one or more Cartesian dimensions to position the left mirror and the right mirror relative to the outer canthus (Baranton fig. 3a-e – shows the movement of LM2 and LM1 with respect to the eye, and fig. 3e shows the structure which the mirrors are attached to facilitate the movement, see also para. 0073-0074).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Baranton et. al US 9521951 B2, patent of Baranton et. al US 20150109578 A1;
Krall et. al US 12569135 B2, patent of Krall et. al US 20230414100 A1;
Richards et. al US 2635502 A, teaches a configuration for eye examination similar to the instant application;
Rousseau et. al US 9955864 B2, teaches a device for eye examination similar to the instant application;
Mimura et. al US 20040189936 A1, teaches a mirror configuration similar to the instant application.
/ELIZABETH M HALL/Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/ZACHARY W WILKES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872