DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/07/2025 and 05/30/2025 was filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
The use of the terms WI-FI, Bluetooth, ZIGBEE, which are a trade name or a mark used in commerce, has been noted in this application. The term should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore the term should be capitalized wherever it appears or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the term.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim analysis - 35 USC § 112
Claim elements in this application that use the word “means” (or “step for”) are presumed to invoke § 112(f) except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Similarly, claim elements that do not use the word “means” (or “step for”) are presumed not to invoke § 112(f) except as otherwise indicated in an Office action.
Since the claim limitation(s) invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, claim(s) 19 and 20 has/have been interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification that achieves the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation: “means for exchanging one or more sidelink positioning protocol (SLPP) messages between a first UE and one or more other UEs, the exchanging of the one or more SLPP messages related to SL positioning performed by a plurality of UEs comprising the first UE and the one or more other UEs” i.e., Para [0158-0160] specifically define the means i.e., The UE 1100 may include, for example, one or more processors 1102, memory 1104, an external interface such as at least one wireless transceivers (e.g., wireless network interface) illustrated as Wireless Wide Area Network (WWAN) transceiver 1110, Wireless Local Area Network (WLAN) transceiver 1111, an Ultra-Wideband (UWB) transceiver 1112 and a Bluetooth (BT) transceiver 1113, SPS receiver 1114, and one or more sensors 1115, which may be operatively coupled with one or more connections 1106 (e.g., buses, lines, fibers, links, etc.) to non-transitory computer readable medium 1120 and memory 1104. (Para 0158) .
If applicant wishes to provide further explanation or dispute the examiner’s interpretation of the corresponding structure, applicant must identify the corresponding structure with reference to the specification by page and line number, and to the drawing, if any, by reference characters in response to this Office action.
For more information, see MPEP § 2173 et seq. and Supplementary Examination Guidelines for Determining Compliance With 35 U.S.C. 112 and for Treatment of Related Issues in Patent Applications, 76 FR 7162, 7167 (Feb. 9, 2011).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1- 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2)as being anticipated by Choi et al (US 20250142523 A1 and Choi hereinafter).
Regarding Claim 1, Choi discloses a method performed by a first user equipment (UE) for supporting sidelink (SL) positioning (i.e. Sidelink (SL) positioning has been developed to determine the position of a UE by using SL positioning methods over the PC5 interface and in various coverage scenarios, e.g., in-coverage, partial coverage and out-of-coverage scenarios, and for PC5-only-based and joint PC5-Uu-based operation scenarios. For SL positioning of a Target UE, other UE such as Anchor and Server UE can be subject to discovery and selection in accordance with certain conditions such as operation scenario, type of location request, positioning mode, etc. For each selected Anchor or Server UE, the Target UE can establish a unicast SL connection in order to perform SL positioning with the selected UE.) Para [0038], the method comprising: exchanging one or more sidelink positioning protocol (SLPP) messages with one or more other UEs (i.e. sidelink positioning protocol (SLPP) messages (Active Anchor UE Set Config, Active Anchor UE Set Request, etc.) are defined for exchanging information related to the Active Anchor UE set between the Target UE and location server.) Para [0040], the exchanging of the one or more SLPP messages related to SL positioning performed by a plurality of UEs comprising the first UE and the one or more other UEs (i.e. Based at least in part on reception of a pre-selected set of candidate Anchor UE the Target UE may initiate SL discovery and SL connection establishment with the set of candidate Anchor UE) Para [0040], wherein: the one or more SLPP messages include an SLPP Provide Capabilities message (i.e. the following message types are supported: Request Capabilities; Provide Capabilities; Request Assistance Data; Provide Assistance Data; Request Location Information; Provide Location Information; Abort; Error.) Para [0071], sent by the first UE, indicating capabilities of the first UE for supporting one or more maximum numbers of UEs (i.e. The UE1 can send to the LMF the Active Anchor UE Set Config message that includes the set of Anchor UE with which the UE1 can perform SL positioning.) Para [0173]; the one or more SLPP messages include an SLPP Provide Capabilities message, sent by the first UE, having an SL positioning reference signal (PRS) resource allocation for transmission of SL PRS by the first UE for the SL positioning (i.e. The UE1 sends the SL-MT-LR response to AMF that contains the information about the discovered UE2 to UEn and their SL positioning capabilities and (pre-) configured (if any) SL PRS resource pools. The AMF forwards the SL-MT-LR response to LMF.) Para [0129]; the one or more SLPP messages include an SLPP Request Capabilities message (i.e. the following message types are supported: Request Capabilities; Provide Capabilities; Request Assistance Data; Provide Assistance Data; Request Location Information; Provide Location Information; Abort; Error.) Para [0071], sent by the first UE, comprising a request to an other UE of the one or more other UEs to automatically (i.e. UE autonomous SL PRS resource allocation where the UE autonomously selects the SL PRS resources for transmission. According to this scheme the UE first defines a selection window (consisting of number of slots) and identifies candidate SL PRS resources within the selection window. Afterwards the UE senses the identified candidate SL PRS resources during a defined sensing window (consisting of number of slots) to determine which of the SL PRS resources are available.) Para [0122] send an update to the first UE of any changed capabilities of the other UE (i.e. if during an ongoing SL positioning session the established SL connection with the selected Server UE drops the Target UE can perform Server UE reselection based on the stored set of candidate Server UE. Further, both Target UE and LMF can maintain the set of candidate Server UE. During an ongoing SL positioning session the LMF may make and send updates of the candidate Server UE set to the Target UE by using the Candidate Server UE Set Config message.) Para [0167]; at least one of the one or more SLPP messages includes assistance data, capabilities or location information for the plurality of UEs (i.e. the following message types are supported: Request Capabilities; Provide Capabilities; Request Assistance Data; Provide Assistance Data; Request Location Information; Provide Location Information; Abort; Error.) Para [0071], wherein the assistance data, the capabilities or the location information for each UE of the plurality of UEs includes an application layer ID, a local ID, or both, for the each UE (i.e. For each active Anchor UE given in the message, the following additional information may be provided by the Target UE: Application layer ID, supported UE role, coverage status (in-coverage, out-of-coverage), mobility status (stationary, low/medium/high mobility as determined e.g. by UE sensors), serving network status with respect to support of SL positioning, Anchor UE location information, PLMN information, L2 Source/Destination ID (i.e. local ID), line of sight (LOS)/non-LOS (NLOS) indication, positioning session ID, synchronization reference (sync reference UE, GNSS, gNB or UE internal clock).) Para [0152]; or any combination thereof; and performing one or more operations for the SL positioning based at least in part on the one or more SLPP messages (i.e. Based on the SL PRS measurements received from the Target UE the Server UE then calculates the absolute location of Target UE and sends the location estimate back using the SL Provide Assistance Data message.) Para [0139].
Regarding Claim 10, Choi suggests all the limitations of claim 1 in device form rather than method form. Further Choi discloses a device (i.e. FIG. 12 illustrates an example of a UE 1200 in accordance with aspects of the present disclosure. The UE 1200 may include a processor 1202, a memory 1204, a controller 1206, and a transceiver 1208.) Para [0189]. Therefore, the rejection of claim 1 applies equally as well to the limitations of claim 10.
Regarding Claim 19, Choi suggests all the limitations of claim 1 in device form rather than method form. Further Choi discloses a device (i.e. FIG. 12 illustrates an example of a UE 1200 in accordance with aspects of the present disclosure. The UE 1200 may include a processor 1202, a memory 1204, a controller 1206, and a transceiver 1208.) Para [0189] and (i.e. FIG. 1 illustrates an example of a wireless communications system 100 in accordance with aspects of the present disclosure. The wireless communications system 100 may include one or more NE 102, one or more UE 104, and a core network (CN) 106. The wireless communications system 100 may support various radio access technologies. In some implementations, the wireless communications system 100 may be a 4G network, such as an LTE network or an LTE-Advanced (LTE-A) network. In some other implementations, the wireless communications system 100 may be an NR network, such as a 5G network, a 5G-Advanced (5G-A) network, or a 5G ultrawideband (5G-ultra wideband (UWB)) network. In other implementations, the wireless communications system 100 may be a combination of a 4G network and a 5G network, or other suitable radio access technology including Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) 802.11 (Wi-Fi), IEEE 802.16 (WiMAX), IEEE 802.20. The wireless communications system 100 may support radio access technologies beyond 5G, for example, 6G. Additionally, the wireless communications system 100 may support technologies, such as time division multiple access (TDMA), frequency division multiple access (FDMA), or code division multiple access (CDMA), etc.) Para [0045]. Therefore, the rejection of claim 1 applies equally as well to the limitations of claim 19.
Regarding Claim 2, Claim 11, and Claim 20, Choi discloses all the limitations of claims 1, 10, and 19, respectively, as discussed above. Further Choi discloses wherein the one or more SLPP messages include the SLPP Provide Capabilities message, sent by the first UE, indicating capabilities of the first UE for supporting one or more maximum numbers of UEs, and wherein the capabilities of the first UE further comprise: a maximum number of target UEs supported by the first UE for the SL positioning (i.e. a size of the set of candidate Server UE may be L, e.g. 2, 4, 8, etc. Each candidate Server UE in the set may be associated with a priority, e.g. given by an explicit priority indicator (e.g. with a value range of 1 to 16 with value 1 indicating the highest priority and value 16 indicating the lowest priority) and/or given by the order of occurrence in the set, e.g., the first listed Server UE has the highest priority, the second listed Server UE has the second-highest priority, and so on.) Para [0164], a maximum number of anchor UEs supported by the first UE for the SL positioning (i.e. for discovery and selection of anchor UE in network-based SL positioning operation scenarios, both Target UE and an LMF can maintain a set of active Anchor UE associated to an ongoing SL positioning session. The size of the set may be N, e.g. 4, 8, 16, 32. The value N may be set according to a maximum number of SL connections that can be supported by the Target UE) Para [0151], a maximum number of SL configurations supported by the first UE for the SL positioning (i.e. for discovery and selection of anchor UE in network-based SL positioning operation scenarios, both Target UE and an LMF can maintain a set of active Anchor UE associated to an ongoing SL positioning session. The size of the set may be N, e.g. 4, 8, 16, 32. The value N may be set according to a maximum number of SL connections that can be supported by the Target UE) Para [0151], or any combination thereof.
Regarding Claim 3, and Claim 12, Choi discloses all the limitations of claims 1 and 10, respectively, as discussed above. Further Choi discloses wherein the one or more SLPP messages include the SLPP Provide Capabilities message, sent by the first UE, indicating capabilities of the first UE for supporting one or more maximum numbers of UEs, and wherein the capabilities of the first UE further comprises an indication of the capabilities of the first UE for each of a plurality of positioning methods (i.e. Sidelink (SL) positioning has been specified in Rel-18 NR to support the target accuracy for SL positioning as listed in Table 1, below. SL positioning can be applied for a variety of use cases such as V2X, public safety, industrial internet of things (IIoT), and commercial use cases. A goal of SL positioning is to determine a position of a UE by using SL positioning methods such as SL-round trip time (RTT), SL-angle of arrival (AoA and SL-time difference of arrival (TDOA). SL positioning can use SL PRS that is transmitted over the PC5 interface and can be supported in multiple coverage scenarios (e.g., in-coverage, partial coverage, and out-of-coverage scenarios) and for PC5-based (e.g., UE-only based) and joint PC5-Uu-based (e.g., network-based) operation scenarios. For exchanging SL positioning related information between UE over the PC5 interface and between UE and LMF over the Uu interface a protocol denoted as SLPP is implemented. The following functionalities can be supported by SLPP: SL Positioning Capability Transfer, SL Positioning Assistance Data exchange, SL Location Information Transfer, Error handling, Abort.) Para [0060].
Regarding Claim 4, and Claim 13, Choi discloses all the limitations of claims 1 and 10, respectively, as discussed above. Further Choi discloses wherein the one or more SLPP messages include an SLPP Provide Capabilities message, sent by the first UE, having the SL PRS resource allocation for transmission of the SL PRS by the first UE for the SL positioning, and wherein the SL PRS resource allocation for the transmission of SL PRS for the SL positioning is included in an SL PRS common part of the SLPP Provide Capabilities message (i.e. network-controlled SL PRS resource allocation where the gNB manages and schedules the transmission of SL PRS resources. According to this scheme a UE that is to transmit SL PRS sends a request for specific SL PRS resource characteristics/SL-PRS resource configuration to the gNB and receives an SL-PRS resource allocation signaling from gNB through a dynamic grant (provided via downlink control information (DCI)), configured grant type 1 (provided via RRC) or configured grant type 2 (provided via physical downlink control channel (PDCCH)). The request from UE may be sent to gNB via L2 MAC control element (CE) or RRC message.) Para [0121].
Regarding Claim 5, and Claim 14, Choi discloses all the limitations of claims 1 and 10, respectively, as discussed above. Further Choi discloses further comprising exchanging one or more additional SLPP messages with the one or more other UEs, the one or more additional SLPP messages having an SLPP message header indicative of a session type for the SL positioning (i.e. The transmission and reception of user traffic over the PC5 interface is supported for unicast, groupcast and broadcast transmission. The transmission and reception of signaling traffic over the PC5 interface is supported for unicast transmission. An SL communication over PC5 is defined as a logical connection between two UE and is identified by a pair of Source and Destination Layer-2 IDs. Source and Destination Layer-2 IDs identify the source and the target of the SL communication, respectively. For a cast type a corresponding pair of a Source Layer-2 ID and a Destination Layer-2 ID can be used. The Layer-2 IDs can be transmitted in the medium access control (MAC) subheader associated with the SL-SCH.) Para [0115] and (i.e. For exchanging SL positioning related information between UE over the PC5 interface and between UE and LMF over the Uu interface a protocol denoted as SLPP is implemented. The following functionalities can be supported by SLPP: SL Positioning Capability Transfer, SL Positioning Assistance Data exchange, SL Location Information Transfer, Error handling, Abort… The cast types that have been considered for SLPP signaling over the PC5 interface include unicast, groupcast and broadcast, but unicast/one-to-one operation can be assumed as baseline for exchange of SLPP signaling between UE. For SL positioning of a Target UE, other UE such as Anchor and Server UE are to be discovered and selected in accordance with the operation scenario, type of location request and positioning mode) Para [0006-0061].
Regarding Claim 6, and Claim 15, Choi discloses all the limitations of claims 1 and 10, respectively, as discussed above. Further Choi discloses further comprising exchanging one or more additional SLPP messages with the one or more other UEs, the one or more additional SLPP messages including an indication of one or more session types for the SL positioning that the first UE is capable of supporting (i.e. For exchanging SL positioning related information between UE over the PC5 interface and between UE and LMF over the Uu interface a protocol denoted as SLPP is implemented. The following functionalities can be supported by SLPP: SL Positioning Capability Transfer, SL Positioning Assistance Data exchange, SL Location Information Transfer, Error handling, Abort… The cast types that have been considered for SLPP signaling over the PC5 interface include unicast, groupcast and broadcast, but unicast/one-to-one operation can be assumed as baseline for exchange of SLPP signaling between UE. For SL positioning of a Target UE, other UE such as Anchor and Server UE are to be discovered and selected in accordance with the operation scenario, type of location request and positioning mode) Para [0006-0061].
Regarding Claim 7, and Claim 16, Choi discloses all the limitations of claims 1 and 10, respectively, as discussed above. Further Choi discloses further comprising exchanging one or more additional SLPP messages with the one or more other UEs, the one or more additional SLPP messages including, as part of a reference ID for an SL PRS configuration: a SLPP session ID for the SL positioning, a Tx UE application layer ID or a local Tx UE ID, or any combination thereof (i.e. For each active Anchor UE given in the message, the following additional information may be provided by the Target UE: Application layer ID, supported UE role, coverage status (in-coverage, out-of-coverage), mobility status (stationary, low/medium/high mobility as determined e.g. by UE sensors), serving network status with respect to support of SL positioning, Anchor UE location information, PLMN information, L2 Source/Destination ID (i.e. local ID), line of sight (LOS)/non-LOS (NLOS) indication, positioning session ID, synchronization reference (sync reference UE, GNSS, gNB or UE internal clock).) Para [0152].
Regarding Claim 8, and Claim 17, Choi discloses all the limitations of claims 1 and 10, respectively, as discussed above. Further Choi discloses further comprising exchanging one or more additional SLPP messages with the one or more other UEs, the one or more additional SLPP messages including an indication of an SLPP session time for the SL positioning (i.e. A goal of SL positioning is to determine a position of a UE by using SL positioning methods such as SL-round trip time (RTT), SL-angle of arrival (AoA and SL-time difference of arrival (TDOA). SL positioning can use SL PRS that is transmitted over the PC5 interface and can be supported in multiple coverage scenarios (e.g., in-coverage, partial coverage, and out-of-coverage scenarios) and for PC5-based (e.g., UE-only based) and joint PC5-Uu-based (e.g., network-based) operation scenarios.) Para [0060].
Regarding Claim 9, and Claim 18, Choi discloses all the limitations of claims 8 and 17, respectively, as discussed above. Further Choi discloses wherein the indication of the SLPP session time for the SL positioning comprises (i) a type of a time reference used for the SLPP session time (i.e. A goal of SL positioning is to determine a position of a UE by using SL positioning methods such as SL-round trip time (RTT), SL-angle of arrival (AoA and SL-time difference of arrival (TDOA). SL positioning can use SL PRS that is transmitted over the PC5 interface and can be supported in multiple coverage scenarios (e.g., in-coverage, partial coverage, and out-of-coverage scenarios) and for PC5-based (e.g., UE-only based) and joint PC5-Uu-based (e.g., network-based) operation scenarios.) Para [0060] and (see, whole table 3 below; i.e. To meet the positioning requirements for regulatory (e.g. emergency services) and commercial use cases (e.g. IIoT) as listed in Table 2 below, RAT-dependent (for both FR1 and FR2) and RAT-independent positioning methods (such as precise point positioning (PPP) and real-time kinematic (RTK)) have been specified in Rel-16. Table 3 shows the list of RAT-dependent positioning methods which were specified in Rel-16.) Para [0069], and (ii) the time reference (i.e. In the wireless communications system 100, the NEs 102 and the UE 104 may use resources of the wireless communications system 100 (e.g., time resources (e.g., symbols, slots, subframes, frames, or the like) or frequency resources (e.g., subcarriers, carriers)) to perform various operations (e.g., wireless communications).) Para [0053].
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Choi et al. (US 20250142523 A1) “SELECTION OF APPARATUS FOR SIDELINK POSITIONING” (May 1, 2025) discloses a user equipment (UE) (e.g., a sidelink positioning target UE) receives from a first apparatus a first sidelink positioning protocol message including information for selecting a first set of one or more second apparatus for sidelink positioning. The UE can select from the first set of one or more second apparatus, a subset of the one or more second apparatus for sidelink positioning. The UE can transmit, to the first apparatus, a second sidelink positioning protocol message comprising information pertaining to the subset of the one or more second apparatus that can be used for determining a position of the UE.
Sirotkin et al. (US 20230213608 A1) “SYSTEMS FOR IN-COVERAGE SIDELINK POSITIONING” (July 6, 2023) discloses a method performed for side-link (SL) configuration of a plurality of user equipment (UEs), the method comprising: sending, to a transmitting UE (Tx UE) and a receiving UE (Rx UE), a request for sidelink (SL) positioning reference signal (PRS) capabilities data; receiving, from each of the Tx UE and the Rx UE, respective SL PRS capabilities data; configuring a SL positioning reference signal (PRS) that is based on the SL PRS capabilities data for each of the Tx UE and the Rx UE; sending data specifying a selected SL PRS configuration to the Tx UE; receiving an acknowledgement signal from the Tx UE indicating a Tx UE SL PRS configuration that is based on the selected SL PRS configuration; and providing, to the Rx UE, the Tx UE SL PRS configuration.
Thomas (US 20260995881 A1) “COMBINED ONE-TO-MANY AND MANY-TO-ONE SIDELINK POSITIONING” (April 2, 2026) discloses performing one-to-many and many-to-one sidelink positioning, such as using sidelink time difference of arrival (SL-TDoA) and sidelink round trip time (SL-RTT) positioning techniques in a single sidelink positioning session. Positioning measurements for a particular device (e.g., a target UE) are generated by both the particular device and a set of additional devices, and these positioning measurements are provided to a positioning calculation entity that can estimate the location of the particular device.
Conclusion
/IYONDA L LEWIS/ /DIANE D MIZRAHI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2647 Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2647
Iyonda.Lewis@USPTO.gov