Double Patenting
Claim 1-18 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim s 1-20 of copending Application No. 18932918 in view of Ajima et al (11984821). Claims 1-18 disclose same subject matter as claims 1-20 of 18932918 . 18932918 lacks disclosing rectangular wave . Ajima et al discloses rectangular wave , see paragraph 56 and 25 . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to combine 18932918 control system with rectangular wave of Ajima et al for improved control .
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 10, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 2019/0363646 in view of 11984821 .
In regards to claim 1 and its corresponding method claim 10 , 2019/0363646 disclose ( figs 1-7) a control system for an electric motor (300) of an electrified vehicle (fig 6) , the control system and method comprising an inverter (110) of electrified vehicle, inverter comprising a set of switches ( inverter 110 fig 1 , par 21) and being configured to receive the pwm signal and control set of switches to generate ac output voltage from direct current (DC) link voltage ( DCV) provided by battery system (200) of electrified vehicle ( see abstract and par 18-23) and control system ( enclosed on 100 i.e. current controller 120 and pwm controller 145) configured to determine a torque command for electric motor ( T* par 59-61), determine commanded d axis and q axis voltage based on torque command ( par 20-26), generate a modulating signal for carrier based pwm based on commanded d and q axis voltage and generate three pwm signal by performing carrier based pwm using modulating signal, ( see par 16,21,23,25-26,2-32,38,49,52-54) and control motor (300) using ac output voltage generated by inverter (110). 2019/036646 lacks disclosing rectangular wave . 11984821 disclose rectangular wave , see paragraph 56 and 25 . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to combine 2019/0363646 control system with 11984821 rectangular wave for improved control. Claims 9 and 18 are disclosed in 2019/0363646 fig 1-7 and paragraph 39 .
Claim(s) 2 and 11 , 9,17 , 8 , 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 2019/036364 in view of 11984821 as applied to claim1,11,9/18 above, and further in view of 2014/0350871 (Krefta ) cited by Applicant .
2019/0363646 in view of 11984821 as disclosed above lacks disclosing modulation index greater than one . Krefta discloses modulation index for inverter (10 greater than one ( greater than threshold indicating inverter is being over driven or operated in a non-liner region ( par 5,19-20,23). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to combine modify invention of 2019/0363646 and 11984821 to employ to judge a modulation index for inverter be greater than one of Krefta to determine a correction factor as indication of overmodulation and improving stem accuracy and reliability . Claims 8 and 18 disclose in 2019/0363646 comparing by control system for each of phases , the modulating signal to carrier signal to determine pwm signal, see paragraph 23, fig 2 i.e. modulated wave having a shape obtained by linearly approximating sine wave modulation , modulated wave ( modulated wave 4 ) in square wave state providing maximum inverter output and carrier signal compared to modulated wave signal in its magnitude to generate pwm pulse . Fig 2b is pwm pulse l signal of modulated wave 2 , fig 2c is pwm pulse signal of modulated wave 3 . Claims 9 and 18 disclose triangular wave , see 2019/0363646 par 39.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-7, 12-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Prior art does not disclose calculating magnitude of rectangular wave modulating signal .
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. EP1263125 discloses rectangular wave .
KAREN . MASIH
Examiner
Art Unit 2837
/KAREN MASIH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837