DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of U.S. Patent No. 12167543. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-20 of the present application would read on claims 1-13 of US Patent 12167543.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claims 1-6 and 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Maa et al (US Publication 2004/0149681).
As to claims 1, 16, 17, Maa discloses a printed circuit board having a permanent solder mask on a substrate. The substrate (component carrier) has a first solder mask (top solder mask) on one face of the substrate and a second solder mask (base solder mask) on the other face of the substrate. As seen in the figures the two solder masks are formed on top of each other. The solder mask covers a target section of the substrate at predefined locations. The first solder mask is capable of being formed as a component alignment, identification mark or orientation mark. In the alternative it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have formed the claimed layer arrangement as it has been shown to be obvious to rearrange layers only involves routine skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.04c.
As to claim 2, Maa discloses that the solder mask is formed over the substrate having a first and second area which surrounds the first area and wherein the first area has a thickness greater than the second thickness.
As to claim 3, Maa discloses that the solder mask looks to be formed in a central area of the substrate as seen in the figures.
As to claims 4-6, these claims are being met since claim 1 is met since the component alignment is an alternative choice and the solder mask of Maa can be formed as an identification mark.
As to claims 11, 12, Maa discloses a patterned mask, however is silent to the thickness/shape of the solder mask. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Maa and formed the solder mask to have either a rounded/chamfered edge and have the base solder mask be thicker than the top solder mask as it’s a modification that is recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill within the art and obvious. See Gardner vs TEC systems 725.F. 2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777. See MPEP 2144.04.
As to claims 13 and 14, Maa discloses that the that the first solder mask is formed in a predefined pattern and as can be seen from figures 1 and 2, the mask is formed in stripes.
As to claim 15, Maa discloses that the solder mask can have a thickness of 2 to 200 microns and therefore would be obvious to have a thickness of 15 to 30 microns as it overlaps in scope.
As to claim 18, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Maa and duplicated the top solder mask as it has been held that "mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced.” Please see MPEP 2144.04 and In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960).
As to claim 19 and 20, Maa discloses that the target section is a conductive path and that it is surrounded or partially surrounded.
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER M POLLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1785