DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park (US 2016/0314938).
In regards to claim 1, Park discloses of a plasma processing apparatus (100) comprising: an inner electrode (120) that receives application of a voltage (see Paragraph 0056); an electrode holder (151) that holds the inner electrode; an outer electrode (131) formed in a cylindrical shape, the outer electrode (131) surrounding the inner electrode (120) and the electrode holder (151); an insulating pipe (152) disposed between the inner electrode (102) and the outer electrode (131) and between the electrode holder (151) and the outer electrode (131), the insulating pipe (152) surrounding the inner electrode (120) and the electrode holder (151); a rotary cylindrical portion (181, 182) formed in a cylindrical shape surrounding the outer electrode (131), the rotary cylindrical portion (181, 182) being rotatable relative to the outer electrode (131) about a central axis of the inner electrode (120, see Fig 1); and a drive mechanism (see Paragraphs 0070-0074, rotating body would have drive mechanism for rotation) that rotates the rotary cylindrical portion (see Figs 1-4, 6, 9).
However, Park does not explicitly disclose of wherein the rotary cylindrical portion is made of an insulating material.
One having ordinary skill in the art would readily recognize having the rotary cylindrical portion as an insulating or non-conductive material since it is exposed on the exterior of the apparatus and will protect the outside of the plasma processing apparatus for safely handling the apparatus.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the rotary cylindrical portion being made of an insulating material to protecting and to allow for safely handling the apparatus.
In regards to claim 2, Park discloses of the plasma processing apparatus according to claim 1, further comprising a support that supports the electrode holder (151) and the outer electrode (131), wherein the electrode holder (151) is secured to the support from one side in a direction parallel to the central axis, and the outer electrode (131) is secured to the support from the other side in the direction parallel to the central axis (see Figs 2-4, 6, 9).
In regards to claim 3, Park discloses of the plasma processing apparatus according to claim 2, wherein the insulating pipe (152) is sandwiched from both sides in the direction parallel to the central axis by the outer electrode (131) and the support (see Figs 2-4, 6, 9).
Claims 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park (US 2016/0314938) as applied to claim 1 above and in further view of Frame et al. (US 2019/0090339).
In regards to claim 5, Park discloses of the plasma processing apparatus according to claim 1 as found within the explanation above.
However, Park does not explicitly disclose of wherein the electrode holder holds the inner electrode such that a tip end portion of the inner electrode is movable between a retracted position flush with a tip end surface of the insulating pipe and a protruding position flush with a tip end surface of the outer electrode.
Frame discloses of a plasma processing apparatus (200) comprising: an inner electrode (241) that receives application of a voltage; an electrode holder (203) that holds the inner electrode (241); an outer electrode (201) formed in a cylindrical shape, the outer electrode (201) surrounding the inner electrode (241) and the electrode holder (203); wherein the electrode holder (203) holds the inner electrode (241) such that a tip end portion of the inner electrode is movable between a retracted position flush with a tip end surface of the insulating pipe and a protruding position flush with a tip end surface of the outer electrode (see Paragraphs 0040, 0108-0109, spring-loaded bayonet mechanism for retraction/protrusion).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have a tip end portion of the inner electrode that moves to different positions of the plasma processing apparatus as taught by Frame for extending the tip end of the inner electrode for improved aiming of the plasma generated by the plasma processing apparatus.
In regards to claim 6, Park in view of Frame disclose of the plasma processing apparatus according to claim 5, wherein the rotary cylindrical portion (181, 182 of Park) has a facing surface facing the tip end surface of the outer electrode (131), and a supply flow path for supplying a gas (see 160, 161) from an outside of the outer electrode (131) toward a space between the tip end surface of the outer electrode (131) and the facing surface (see Park Figs 2-4, 6, 9).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 4 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
In regards to claim 4, the prior art does not disclose of the plasma processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the drive mechanism includes a motor, a first gear connected to an output shaft of the motor, and a second gear disposed to mesh with the first gear, the second gear is disposed to surround the outer electrode, the rotary cylindrical portion has a receiving surface that receives the second gear in a direction parallel to the central axis, and the second gear is secured to the rotary cylindrical portion by a fastening member that exerts an axial force that presses the second gear against the receiving surface, nor would it have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to do so.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Tamaki et al. (US 2024/0429029)
/JASON M CRAWFORD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2844