DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This is the initial office action based on the 18/932,978 application filed October 31, 2024. Claims 1-20 are pending and have been fully considered.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) dated October 31, 2024 is noted. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and 1.98. Accordingly, the IDS is being considered by the Examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because there are several misspellings in Figure 2 (see boxes “S108” and “S114”, “Pedicted”).
Furthermore, Figure 4 is objected to because it shows only generic flow charts or block diagrams with no information presented in each element of the chart/diagram. New corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121 (d) are required. Applicants' invention is unclear from the drawings because a number of methods/devices may fit the same chart/diagram. See MPEP 608.02 and form paragraph 6.22, Examiner Note 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim(s) 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. §101 because the claimed invention is directed to nonstatutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because the claim(s) recite software per se (“program code”). See MPEP § 2106.03(I).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 8-13 and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ose et al. (U.S. Patent Publ’n No. 2018/0080425, herein “Ose”).
Regarding Claims 1 and 11, Ose discloses restarting a combustion of a vehicle while that vehicle is coasting (step S110) by either using the power of a starter-generator ISG (step S180) or the energy level transmittable by a controllable clutch 13 (paragraph 18; figure 1) (step S170). Ose discloses a computer system comprising processing circuitry (ECU (16)) configured to determine an energy level (vehicle speed (ve)) in a controllable clutch (13) between a transmission and a combustion engine of a vehicle powertrain (see Figure 1), the energy level is indicative of the induced energy in the clutch during a time duration prior to determining the energy level, and control at least one of an engine start function and an engine off function depending on the determined energy level in relation to an energy threshold level. Specifically, the decision of which of those two start strategies (steps S110 or S170) to performed is based on the vehicle speed (step S160; paragraphs [0030] - [0032]), which represents the kinetic energy of the vehicle and, in turn, the energy level, which can be transmitted by the clutch (13) to the combustion engine (10), once the clutch (13) would be closed.
Regarding Claims 2 and 12, Ose discloses determining the energy level and control the engine start function and engine off function during coasting of the vehicle (see Step 110 and related text).
Regarding Claims 3 and 13, Ose discloses controlling the at least one of the engine start function (see Step 180) only when the determined energy level is below the energy threshold level (i.e., engine speed (ve0)) (see Step 160 and paragraphs [0030] - ]0032]).
Regarding Claims 8 and 18, Ose discloses determining the energy level in the clutch in response to starting of the internal combustion engine using the clutch when the vehicle is moving (see paragraphs [0030] - [0032]).
Regarding Claim 9, the claimed vehicle components are all inherently known in any internal combustion engine (see also Figure 1 and paragraphs [0016] - [0023]). As provided herein, Ose discloses the computer system provided in Claim 1.
Regarding Claim 10, Ose discloses that the computer system is used in a vehicle (100) having a power train (see Figure 1).
Regarding Claims 19 and 20, the claimed processing components are all inherently found in any known electronic control unit (ECU), such as ECU (16) of Ose (see paragraphs [0020] - [0021]). As provided herein, Ose discloses the computer system provided in Claim 11.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-7 and 14-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Specifically, various references are cited that provide detail of relevant clutch control systems and methods.
/GRANT MOUBRY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3747