CTNF 18/933,048 CTNF 87809 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Drawings 06-36-01 AIA Figure s 7A-7C should be designated by a legend such as --Prior Art-- because only that which is old is illustrated. See MPEP § 608.02(g). Corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The replacement sheet(s) should be labeled “Replacement Sheet” in the page header (as per 37 CFR 1.84(c)) so as not to obstruct any portion of the drawing figures. If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: 07-08-aia AIA A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1, 2, 11, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Takahashi et al. (US Pat. App. Pub. No. 2020/0203079) . With respect to claim 1, Takahashi discloses a capacitor (see abstract) comprising: an element body having a pair of main surfaces facing each other (see FIG. 7B, element body 3 and paragraph [0052])); a first electrode, a second electrode, and a common electrode portion provided on any of the main surfaces of the element body (see FIG. 7B, elements 4 and 5, and paragraph [0051]); a first lead terminal connected to the first electrode by soldering (see FIG. 7B, the unnumbered wiring attached to the leftmost layer 4); and a second lead terminal connected to the second electrode by soldering (see FIG. 7B, the unnumbered wiring attached to the rightmost layer 4), wherein the first electrode and the common electrode portion face each other with the element body interposed therebetween to form a first capacitor unit (see FIG. 7B, structure 2A and paragraph [0051]), the second electrode and the common electrode portion face each other with the element body interposed therebetween to form a second capacitor unit (see FIG. 7B, structure 2B and paragraph [0051]), the first capacitor unit and the second capacitor unit are connected in series (see paragraph [0052]), and the first electrode and the second electrode are insulated from each other on a surface of the element body (see FIG. 7B, noting the gap between the first and second electrodes). With respect to claim 2, Takahashi discloses that the first electrode and the second electrode are provided on one of the main surfaces, the common electrode portion is provided on the other of the main surfaces and includes a common electrode facing the first electrode and the second electrode, the first capacitor unit and the second capacitor unit are connected in series with the common electrode interposed therebetween, and the first electrode and the second electrode are insulated from each other on the one of the main surfaces. See FIG. 7B. With respect to claim 11, Takahashi discloses that a member electrically connected to the first electrode via solder is only the first lead terminal. See FIG. 7B. With respect to claim 12, Takahashi discloses that facing areas of electrodes and common electrodes in a plurality of capacitor units are substantially equal to each other. See FIG. 7B . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-20-02-aia AIA This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. 07-21-aia AIA Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahashi et al. (US Pat. App. Pub. No. 2020/0203079) in view of GB 2152753 . With respect to claim 10, Takahashi fails to teach that an exterior resin is disposed between the first electrode and the second electrode. GB ‘753, on the other hand, teaches that an exterior resin is disposed between the first electrode and the second electrode. See FIG. 3, element 11, which fills air gap 15 between electrodes 13 and 14. Such an arrangement results in the electrical isolation between electrodes 13 and 14. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Takahashi, as taught by GB ‘753, in order to electrically isolate the surface electrodes . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim s 3-9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. 13-03-01 AIA The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: with respect to claim 3, the prior art fails to teach, or fairly suggest, a plurality of common electrodes, when taken in conjunction with the limitations of base claim 1. Claims 4-9 would be allowable by virtue of their dependency from claim 3 . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. GB 915142, Early et al. (US 5,208,597), JP 2005-217238, and Ando et al. (US 2020/0203076) each disclose capacitive units with separate electrodes on one surface, and a common electrode on another surface, but fail to teach the exact limitations of claim 1 . Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to DION R FERGUSON whose telephone number is (571)270-7566. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday, 5:30 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Timothy Dole, can be reached at 571-272-2229 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /DION R. FERGUSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847 Application/Control Number: 18/933,048 Page 2 Art Unit: 2847 Application/Control Number: 18/933,048 Page 3 Art Unit: 2847 Application/Control Number: 18/933,048 Page 4 Art Unit: 2847 Application/Control Number: 18/933,048 Page 5 Art Unit: 2847 Application/Control Number: 18/933,048 Page 6 Art Unit: 2847