DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Belsham et al. (US PG Pub. No. 2023/0405404, Dec. 21, 2023) (herein “Belsham”).
Regarding claim 1, Belsham teaches a fitness training device 1a (see Fig. 1A below) comprising: a housing (see Fig. 1A below) including a top portion, the top portion configured to support a user when operating the fitness training device to perform a fitness action; a connector cable 5 extending through a cable aperture in the top portion of the housing; a cable drum spool 7 (see para. [0174] and Fig. 2B below) operable to receive the connector cable 5; a motor 6 (see para. [0174] and Fig. 2B below) connected to the cable drum spool 7 (via belt 10, see para. [0174] and Fig. 2B below), the motor 6 operable to apply a force to the connector cable 5 through the cable drum spool 7 to control a motion of the connector cable 5; and a controller 14 (see para. [0176] and Fig. 2A below) including an electronic processor (see paras. [0147]) and a memory (see paras. [0027],[0041],[0209]), the controller 14 configured to: control, during a first portion of the fitness action, the motor 6 to limit a speed for the motion of the connector cable 5 (see paras. [0177]-[0179], where the motor 6 is controlled by a motor controller 13 and a system controller 14 to provide force to the cable 5 and may operate in a brake mode to provide the controlled torque or force), record, during the first portion of the fitness action, motion parameters associated with the motion of the connector cable 5 (see paras. [0183]-[0188], where motion parameters including force applied to the cable 5, cable length, and cable angles are determined via sensors during a first fitness action that pulls the cable 5 outward), determine the force to be applied to the connector cable 5 based on the motion parameters associated with the motion of the connector cable 5 (see para. [0183], where force applied to the cable is determined based on force and position sensors), and control, during a second portion of the fitness action following the first portion of the fitness action, the motor 6 to apply the force to the connector cable 5 (i.e., during a second fitness action such as lowering the handle/cable 5 to provide a winding force on the spool 7 to keep the cable 5 under tension, see para. [0177]).
Regarding claim 2, Belsham teaches the fitness training device of claim 1, wherein the motion parameters associated with the motion of the connector cable 5 include a first force applied to the connector cable 5 during the first portion (i.e., pulling by user) of the fitness action (see para. [0177]).
Regarding claim 3, Belsham teaches the fitness training device of claim 2, wherein the force to be applied to the connector cable 5 is greater than the first force applied to the connector cable during the first portion (i.e., user pulling) of the fitness action (see para. [0177]).
Regarding claim 4, Belsham teaches the fitness training device of claim 2, wherein the force to be applied to the connector cable 5 is equal to or less than the first force applied to the connector cable during the first portion of the fitness action (see para. [0177]).
Regarding claim 5, Belsham teaches the fitness training device of claim 1, further comprising: an accessory (i.e., handle 4, see Fig. 1a above, see para. [0177]) configured to connect to the connector cable 5, the accessory 4 operable to be manipulated by a user to perform the fitness action.
Regarding claim 6, Belsham teaches the fitness training device of claim 5, wherein: the first portion of the fitness action corresponds to an unwinding (i.e., user pulling) of the connector cable 5 from the cable drum spool 7; and the second portion of the fitness action corresponds to a winding (i.e., user lowering handle) of the connector cable 5 around the cable drum spool 7 (see para. [0177]).
Regarding claim 7, Belsham teaches the fitness training device of claim 6, wherein: the cable drum spool 7, the motor 6, and the controller 14 are located within an electronics module (see Fig. 2A,2B above, the electronics module being the interior of the housing); and the electronics module is at least partially located within the housing (see Fig. 2A,2B above).
Regarding claim 8, Belsham teaches a method of controlling a fitness training device, the fitness training device including a connector cable 5, a motor 6, and a controller 7 (see para. [0174] and Fig. 2B above), the method comprising: controlling, using the controller 14 and during a first portion of a fitness action, the motor 6 to limit a speed for the motion of the connector cable 5 (see paras. [0177]-[0179], where the motor 6 is controlled by a motor controller 13 and a system controller 14 to provide force to the cable 5 and may operate in a brake mode to provide the controlled torque or force), recording, using the controller and during the first portion of the fitness action, motion parameters associated with the motion of the connector cable 5 (see paras. [0183]-[0188], where motion parameters including force applied to the cable 5, cable length, and cable angles are determined via sensors during a first fitness action that pulls the cable 5 outward), determining, using the controller 14, a force to be applied to the connector cable 5 based on the motion parameters associated with the motion of the connector cable 5 (see para. [0183], where force applied to the cable is determined based on force and position sensors), and controlling, using the controller 14 and during a second portion of the fitness action following the first portion of the fitness action, the motor 6 to apply the force to the connector cable 5 (i.e., during a second fitness action such as lowering the handle/cable 5 to provide a winding force on the spool 7 to keep the cable 5 under tension, see para. [0177]).
Regarding claim 9, Belsham teaches the method of claim 8, wherein the motion parameters associated with the motion of the connector cable 5 include a first force applied to the connector cable 5 during the first portion (i.e., pulling by user) of the fitness action (see para. [0177]).
Regarding claim 10, Belsham teaches the method of claim 9, wherein the force to be applied to the connector cable 5 is greater than the first force applied to the connector cable during the first portion (i.e., user pulling) of the fitness action (see para. [0177]).
Regarding claim 11, Belsham teaches the method of claim 9, wherein the force to be applied to the connector cable 5 is equal to or less than the first force applied to the connector cable during the first portion of the fitness action (see para. [0177]).
Regarding claim 12, Belsham teaches the method of claim 8, further comprising: unwinding (i.e., user pulling) the connector cable 5 from a cable drum spool 7during the first portion of the fitness action; and winding (i.e., user lowering handle) the connector cable 5 around the cable drum spool 7 during the second portion of the fitness action (see para. [0177]).
Regarding claim 13, Belsham teaches the method of claim 8, further comprising: determining a velocity of the connector cable 5; and limiting a rate of change increase in force on the connector cable 5 based on the velocity of the connector cable 5 (see para. [0218]-[0219, the controller may detect fatigue and slowing of the user’s movement/pace and compare the exercise level to a target movement, and subsequently, the controller may cause resistance load to be reduced).
Regarding claim 14, Belsham teaches the method of claim 13, further comprising: limiting a rate of change decrease in force on the connector cable 5 based on the velocity of the connector cable 5 (see para. [0218]-[0219, the controller may detect fatigue and slowing of the user’s movement/pace compare the exercise level to a target movement, and subsequently, the controller may cause resistance load to be reduced).
Regarding claim 15, Belsham teaches a fitness training device comprising: a housing (see Fig. 1A above); a cable 5 extending through a cable aperture in the housing (see Fig. 1A above); a motor 6 operable to apply a force to the cable 5 to control a motion of the cable 5 (see para. [0174] and Fig. 2B above); and a controller 14 including an electronic processor (see paras. [0147]) and a memory (see paras. [0027],[0041],[0209]), the controller 14 (see para. [0176] and Fig. 2A above) configured to: record, during a first portion of a fitness action, motion parameters associated with the motion of the cable 5 (see paras. [0183]-[0188], where motion parameters including force applied to the cable 5, cable length, and cable angles are determined via sensors during a first fitness action that pulls the cable 5 outward), determine the force to be applied to the cable 5 based on the motion parameters associated with the motion of the cable 5 (see para. [0183], where force applied to the cable is determined based on force and position sensors), and control, during a second portion of the fitness action following the first portion of the fitness action, the motor 6 to apply the force to the cable 5 (i.e., during a second fitness action such as lowering the handle/cable 5 to provide a winding force on the spool 7 to keep the cable 5 under tension, see para. [0177]).
Regarding claim 16, Belsham teaches the fitness training device of claim 15, wherein the motion parameters associated with the motion of the connector cable 5 include a first force applied to the connector cable 5 during the first portion (i.e., pulling by user) of the fitness action (see para. [0177]).
Regarding claim 17, Belsham teaches the fitness training device of claim 16, wherein the force to be applied to the connector cable 5 is greater than the first force applied to the connector cable during the first portion (i.e., user pulling) of the fitness action (see para. [0177]).
Regarding claim 18, Belsham teaches the fitness training device of claim 16, wherein the force to be applied to the connector cable 5 is equal to or less than the first force applied to the connector cable during the first portion of the fitness action (see para. [0177]).
Regarding claim 19, Belsham teaches the fitness training device of claim 15, further comprising: an accessory (i.e., handle 4, see Fig. 1a above, see para. [0177]) configured to connect to the connector cable 5, the accessory 4 operable to be manipulated by a user to perform the fitness action.
Regarding claim 20, Belsham teaches the fitness training device of claim 15, wherein: the motor 6 and the controller 14 are located within an electronics module (see Fig. 2A,2B above, the electronics module being the interior of the housing); and the electronics module is at least partially located within the housing (see Fig. 2A,2B above).
Conclusion
/ANDREW S LO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3784