Status of Claims
Currently claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 and 4-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim Seung-hee (KR102254237B1) herein “Kim” in view of Kuchta (U.S. 2015/0061861)
With respect to claim 1, Kim discloses a smart fire blanket device (figures 1a and 1b) for detecting a thermal event of a product (product sensed by the sensor unit 300), comprising:
a blanket (blanket 100) including a temperature resistant material (material of 100/200); and
a detection module (300 and 400) coupled to the blanket, the detection module including a sensor packet (sensor unit 300) including
a sensor for detecting the thermal event (paragraph 0043, including a temperature sensor), the sensor being configured to detect a member selected from a group consisting of heat, heat vented rise, smoke, humidity, pressure, tilt of the product, and combinations thereof (detecting heat and pressure both, paragraph 0043), a controller in communication with the sensor packet (400, as it control communication), the controller configured to receive and process data from the sensor packet (paragraph 0046),
a power source (as the sensor and communication device require some form of power) for supplying power to the detection module. Kim fails to disclose a light source in communication with the controller, the light source configured to provide a visual alert upon receiving an alert from the controller that the sensor has detected the thermal event,
an audio source in communication with the controller, the audio source configured to provide an audio alert upon receiving an alert from the controller that the sensor has detected the thermal event. Kim discloses, paragraph 0047, generating an alarm via 400, such as a color or a display notification, but fails to disclose the audio and light source as claimed.
Kuchta, paragraphs 0002-0005, 008-0010, 0025, and 0029, discloses an alarm that utilizes both sound and an audio source to indicate to induvial that there is a fire, and that such an alarm can be done cheap, reliable, and robust even in high levels of ambient audio noise.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize a light source and an audio source as disclosed by Kuchta into the system and controller of Kim allowing the controller to generate an alarm that individuals could both see and hear in a cheap, reliable, and robust way even in areas with high levels of ambient audio noise.
With respect to claim 2, Kim discloses the detection module further includes a transmitter in communication with the controller and configured to transmit a signal indicative of an alert to a user device (paragraph 0046 discloses transmitting the sensor to an external terminal).
With respect to claim 4, Kim discloses the blanket is tailored to fit a vehicle (see figures 8 and 11).
With respect to claim 5, Kim discloses the sensor packet is disposed on a first portion of the blanket that is positioned adjacent to a central top portion of a front windshield of the vehicle while installed on the vehicle (as the sensor is within the blanket adjacent the vehicle it can be understood that it is then positioned adjacent (near) the top central portion of the windshield of the vehicle as it would be placed in the vicinity of the fire point, said fire point being covered by that of 200, paragraph 0028).
With respect to claims 6-8, Kim discloses a second portion of the blanket that is positioned adjacent toa central top portion of a read windshield of the vehicle (see figure 8, where 200 is at the rear window), a third portion of the blanket that is positioned adjacent to a driver side door window of the vehicle while installed on the vehicle (see figure 8, the driver side 200), and a fourth portion of the blanket that is positioned adjacent to a passenger side door window of the vehicle while installed on the vehicle (see the side 200 at the passenger side door window). Kim fails to disclose a second, third, or fourth sensor packet disclosed adjacent the second, third, or fourth portions.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to duplicate the sensor unit 300 of Kim to each of the fire points, as Kim is concerned with detecting the temperature near the fire points and there being duplicate fire points where each of 200 is located such duplication would allow all the fire points to be sensed and allow for accurate detection of the fire from said points. Furthermore, it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.05(VI-B)) and such duplication of the sensors at the fire points would further allow for sensing the temperature near each point.
With respect to claim 9, Kim as modified discloses the light source includes an LED light configured to flash (disclosed in claim 1 by Kuchta).
With respect to claim 10, Kim as modified discloses the audio source includes a piezoelectric speaker (disclosed in claim 1 by Kuchta).
With respect to claim 11, Kim discloses there being some power source (as signals are being sent and such detections require power) the power source includes a battery (would have been an obvious inclusion in Kim, as batteries are well known as being utilized to power sensors and communication unites, and the shown blanket is a moveable object that does not appear to be hardwired for power).
With respect to claim 12, Kim discloses the blanket includes a first layer and a second layer, the first layer formed from a different material than the second layer (see figure 1b, having layers 100 and 200, made of different material).
With respect to claim 13, Kim discloses the blanket includes a channel formed within the blanket to accommodate wiring and connections between components of the detection module (figure 1b discloses 400 offset from 300, and figure 1a does not disclose any exterior wiring, such wiring would then be internal and thus reside in a passageway (channel) between the two devices).
With respect to claim 14, Kim discloses wherein the detection module includes a controller housing for containing the controller (being the controller 400 and the housing thereof) and the power source (although not specifically disclosed in 400, it would have been an obvious location of parts to utilize the power source with the device sending and receiving signals and using the said power, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art, MPEP 2144.04). Please note applicant does not appear to give any criticality for the inclusion of the power source in the controller housing.
With respect to claim 15, Kim discloses the blanket includes a pocket for storing the controller housing in operation (although a pocket is not disclose, such inclusion of a pocket and location of the device therein would have been an obvious rearrangement of part, , since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art, MPEP 2144.04).
With respect to claim 16, Kim discloses the sensor packet is housed in a sensor housing (being the housing of 300 that includes the temperature and pressure sensor therein).
17. A system for detecting a thermal event of a product, comprising: a smart fire blanket device including a blanket including a temperature resistant material, and a detection module coupled to the blanket, the detection module including a sensor packet including a sensor for detecting the thermal event, the sensor being configured to detect a member selected from a group consisting of heat, heat vented rise, humidity, pressure, tilt of the product, and combinations thereof, a controller in communication with the sensor packet, the controller configured to receive and process data from the sensor packet, a light source in communication with the controller, the light source configured to provide a visual alert upon receiving an alert from the controller that the sensor has detected the thermal event, an audio source in communication with the controller, the audio source configured to provide an audio alert upon receiving an alert from the controller that the sensor has detected the thermal event, and a power source for supplying power to the detection module; and a user device in communication with the smart fire blanket device and configured to receive a signal indicative of an alert from the smart fire blanket device.
18. The system of Claim 17, wherein the product is a vehicle having a battery.
19. A method for detecting a thermal event of a product, the method comprising steps of: providing a smart fire blanket device including a blanket including a temperature resistant material, and a detection module coupled to the blanket, the detection module including a sensor packet including a sensor for detecting the thermal event, the sensor being configured to detect a member selected from a group consisting of heat, heat vented rise, humidity, pressure, tilt of the product, and combinations thereof, a controller in communication with the sensor packet, the controller configured to receive and process data from the sensor packet, a light source in communication with the controller, the light source configured to provide a visual alert upon receiving an alert from the controller that the sensor has detected the thermal event, an audio source in communication with the controller, the audio source configured to provide an audio alert upon receiving an alert from the controller that the sensor has detected the thermal event, and a power source for supplying power to the detection module; providing the product; placing the smart fire blanket device over the product; monitoring the product with the smart fire blanket device; and providing an alert upon detecting the thermal event while monitoring the product.
20. The method of Claim 19, wherein the product is a vehicle having a battery.
Claim(s) 3 and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim and Kuchta as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Conboy (U.S. 2019/0168047).
With respect to claim 3, Kim discloses the transmittal of a signal from the detection module, but fails to disclose a signal by the transmitter indicative of the thermal event to the user device including at least one of a mobile phone and a networked computer. Claim 17 is a combination of claims 1-3 as is claim 19, being the method of claims 17.
Conboy, paragraphs 0242-0243, discloses the use of a mobile smartphone device with a network to providing services that support the management, operation and monitoring of the fire suppression systems.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the signal of Kuchta to a mobile phone as disclosed by Conboy, as this would provide a user with the means to manage the operation and monitor the fire suppression system remotely from their phone.
With respect to claims 18 and 20, Kim discloses a vehicle having a battery (disclosing the vehicle, which are known to either be a gas powered vehicle having a battery or an electric vehicle with a battery pack).
Conclusion
/JOSEPH A GREENLUND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752