DETAILED ACTION
Priority
1. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claims 1,4,6,8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ishihara PGPub 2017/0087795.
Ishihara discloses, regarding claim 1, A medium processing apparatus comprising:
a placing portion (24) on which multiple media including a medium are placed;
a crimp binder (28,51) to apply pressure and deform the multiple media to bind the multiple media on the placing portion as a crimp binding process; and
circuitry (fig.7) configured to, when binding N sheets of the multiple media:
cause the crimp binder to perform the crimp binding process when M sheets of the multiple media smaller than the N sheets (M<N) are placed on the placing portion; and
cause the crimp binder to perform the crimp binding process again when all the N sheets of the multiple media are placed on the placing portion (see at least ¶0015,0016,0022,0090,0091; fig.10).
Regarding claim 4, wherein the circuitry is further configured to:
cause the crimp binder to perform the crimp binding process, at a predetermined binding position (PB1), on the M sheets of the multiple media on the placing portion; and
cause the crimp binder to perform the crimp binding process again, at the predetermined binding position, on all the N sheets of the multiple media on the placing portion (at least ¶0015,0021,0099,0100 discloses the second binding position PB2 can be anywhere, including partially or completely overlapping first binding position PB1).
Regarding claim 6, wherein the circuitry is further configured to:
cause the crimp binder to perform the crimp binding process, at a first binding position (PB1), on the M sheets of the multiple media on the placing portion; and
cause the crimp binder to perform the crimp binding process again, at a second binding position (PB2) different from the first binding position, on all the N sheets of the multiple media on the placing portion (fig.10).
Regarding claim 8, wherein the circuitry is further configured to cause the crimp binder to perform the crimp binding process of a first time when the M sheets of the multiple media are placed on the placing portion,
where a number of the N sheets is equal to or larger than a threshold (the N number is the number of sheets bound at binding part PB2, greater than the number of sheets bound at binding part PB1; see at least ¶0015,0016,0022,0090,0091; fig.10).
Regarding claim 9, wherein the circuitry is further configured to cause the crimp binder to perform the crimp binding process of a first time when N sheets of the multiple media are placed on the placing portion,
where a number of the N sheets is smaller than a threshold (the threshold can be interpreted as the maximum number of sheets that can be safely bound by the stapleless binding unit without damaging the binding unit, therefore, the number of sheets N that are bound will always be less than this threshold).
Regarding claim 10, An image forming system (fig.1) comprising:
an image forming apparatus (B) to form an image on a medium; and
the medium processing apparatus (C) according to claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 5,7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishihara PGPub 2017/0087795 in view of Kawamura PGPub 2023/0348222.
Ishihara discloses substantially all the limitations of the claims (see ¶4 above), but does not expressly disclose the limitations of claims 5,7.
Kawamura teaches the apparatus further comprising a liquid applier (95s; see at least fig.1, ¶0024,0025,0126) to apply liquid to the medium to be placed on the placing portion, [further regarding claim 5] wherein the circuitry is further configured to: cause the liquid applier to apply the liquid, to at least one of first to M-th sheets of the multiple media on the placing portion, at the binding position; and cause the liquid applier to apply liquid again, to at least one of (M+1)-th to N-th sheets of the multiple media on the placing portion, at the binding position (the adhesive is applied to each sheet, as shown in at least ¶0037,0081,0111), and [further regarding claim 7] wherein the circuitry is further configured to: cause the liquid applier to apply liquid, to at least one of first to M-th sheets of the multiple media on the placing portion, at the first binding position; and cause the liquid applier to apply liquid, to at least one of first to N-th sheets of the multiple media on the placing portion, at the second binding position (the adhesive is applied to each sheet, as shown in at least ¶0037,0081,0111).
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to provide a liquid applier to apply liquid to the medium to be placed on the placing portion, wherein the circuitry is further configured to: cause the liquid applier to apply the liquid, to at least one of first to M-th sheets of the multiple media on the placing portion, at the binding position; and cause the liquid applier to apply liquid again, to at least one of (M+1)-th to N-th sheets of the multiple media on the placing portion, at the binding position, and wherein the circuitry is further configured to: cause the liquid applier to apply liquid, to at least one of first to M-th sheets of the multiple media on the placing portion, at the first binding position; and cause the liquid applier to apply liquid, to at least one of first to N-th sheets of the multiple media on the placing portion, at the second binding position, as taught by Kawamura, in the device of Ishihara, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of binding each sheet to one another and the second group of sheets to the first group of sheets, thus creating a product in which a very large number of sheets can be bound together (¶0110).
Allowable Subject Matter
7. Claims 2,3 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art of record does not fairly disclose or suggest,
wherein the circuitry is further configured to, when a number of the N sheets is an even number: cause the crimp binder to perform the crimp binding process for a first time when the M sheets of the multiple media are placed on the placing portion, where a number of the M sheets is (N×½−2) or more and less than N, or
wherein the circuitry is further configured to, when a number of the N sheets is an odd number: cause the crimp binder to perform the crimp binding process for a first time when the M sheets of the multiple media are placed on the placing portion, where a number of the M sheets is (N×½−2.5) or more and less than N (emphasis added by Examiner).
Conclusion
8. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Watanabe (USP 9,110,425) discloses applying adhesive (Pc) to each sheet in a bundle of sheets to be bound (see at least fig.5, C2/L3-10,20-24).
/LESLIE A NICHOLSON III/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3653 6/5/2026