Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2017/0273407 to Goldberg (hereinafter “Goldberg”) further in view of US 2006/0264523 to Lee et al. (hereinafter “Lee”).
Goldberg discloses a footwear stiffener comprising a core layer and an adhesive layer provided on each surface of the core layer by co-extrusion (abstract, and paragraph 22). The footwear stiffener has a thickness of 0.7 mm (paragraph 27, and example 4). Given that the footwear stiffener comprises 12% by weight of the adhesive layer, and 88 % by weight of the core layer (paragraph 27, example 2), the core layer has a thickness of 0.62 mm.
0.7 x 88% = 0.62 mm
The core layer comprises a polyvinyl chloride polymer, a polyethylene terephthalate glycol (PETG), a PET or a copolyester (paragraph 15). In particular, the core layer includes 40 to 90 wt% of recycled copolyester (paragraphs 16 and 17).
Goldberg does not explicitly disclose that the core layer is a microcellular foam layer comprising a nitrogen gas.
Lee, however, discloses a microcellular foam for shoes made of polyvinyl chloride, layered silicate and a foaming agent (abstract; and paragraphs 8 and 23).
The layered silicate enables the formation of foam cells having superior mechanical properties even with low specific gravity by preventing escaping of the foaming agent during the foaming process. The layered silicate also promotes the formation of the foam cells through the nucleating effect on the surface thereof (paragraph 22). The layered silicate thus functions as a nucleating agent. The content of the layered silicate is 0.01 to 10 parts by weight based on the weight of the polymer (paragraph 28).
The foaming agent includes nitrogen gas in an amount of 0.01 to 10 parts by weight based on the weight of the foam layer (paragraphs 29-31). This overlaps the claimed range.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate nitrogen gas in an amount disclosed in Lee in the core layer disclosed Goldberg motivated by the desire to provide a lightweight footwear stiffener having superior mechanical strength and improved non-flammability while obtaining a high foaming efficiency with a small amount of a foaming agent,
As to claim 14, Goldberg discloses that a footwear stiffener comprises a core layer and an adhesive layer provided on each surface of the core layer by co-extrusion (abstract, and paragraph 22).
As to claim 15, Goldberg discloses that a footwear stiffener comprises 23% by weight of the adhesive layer, and 77% by weight of the core layer (paragraph 28).
As to claims 16 and 20, Goldberg discloses that the core layer includes 40 to 90 wt% of recycled copolyester, and 5 wt% of a thermoplastic elastomer (paragraphs 17-18).
As to claims 17-19, the combined disclosures of Goldberg and Lee result in a microcellular foam core comprises 40 to 90 wt% of recycled copolyester, 5 wt% of a thermoplastic elastomer, 0.01 to 10 wt% of a layered silicate (nucleating agent) and 0.01 to 10 wt% of nitrogen gas. The content of the nucleating agent overlaps the claimed ranges.
In the case, where the claimed ranges overlap or touch the range disclosed by the prior art a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257,191 USPQ90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990), In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 1469-71, 43 USPQ2d 1362, 1365-66 (Fed. Cir. 1997).
The claim is not rendered unobvious because discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. Differences in the contents of the nucleating agent and nitrogen gas will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating the contents of the nucleating agent and nitrogen gas are critical or provide unexpected results.
Therefore, in the absence of unexpected results, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate in the core layer of Goldberg a layered silicate in an amount in the range as disclosed in Lee motivated by the desire to enable the formation of foam cells having superior mechanical properties even with low specific gravity by preventing escaping of the foaming agent during foaming process, and to promote the formation of the foam cells through the nucleating effect on the surface thereof. This is in line with In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 which holds discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art.
Therefore, in the absence of unexpected results, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add in the core layer of Goldberg a nitrogen gas in an amount disclosed in Lee motivated by the desire to generate the foam cells while providing improved mechanical strength for the footwear stiffener. This is in line with In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 which holds discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art.
Double Patenting
Claims 13-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14 of U.S. Patent No. 12,138,900. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of US Patent No. 12,138,900 disclose each and every element of the claims of the current application.
Conclusion
/Hai Vo/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1788