DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 - Indefinite
Claims 4, 7, 15, 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4, recites:
4. The apparatus of claim 3, wherein
the at least one first fiber includes at least of: a single first fiber core, two first fiber cores, four first fiber cores, and any combinations thereof;
the at least one second fiber includes at least of: a single second fiber core, two second fiber cores, four second fiber cores, and any combinations thereof; and
the at least one third fiber includes at least of: a single third fiber core, two third fiber cores, four third fiber cores, and any combinations thereof.
There appears to be a typographical error in the recitations of “at least of”. It may be that this should be “at least one of”.
However, if this is the case, then the “at least” language suggests that the claim has a scope in which a single fiber (e.g., “at least one first fiber” has a scope that includes “one” fiber) can have more than one number of cores. In other words, the claim appears to have a scope in which a single fiber has a single fiber core (e.g., one and only one), and the same fiber has two fiber cores, and the same fiber has four fiber cores. This interpretation has contradictory limitations and it is not clear how to interpret such a claim. In particular, it seems that a fiber can have a single core, or a fiber can have two cores, or a fiber can have four cores, but a fiber cannot simultaneously have a single core and two cores and four cores. In the interests of compact prosecution, and for the purposes of this Action, the claim will be interpreted as:
4. The apparatus of claim 3, wherein
the at least one first fiber includes one of: a single first fiber core, two first fiber cores, and four first fiber cores;
the at least one second fiber includes one of: a single second fiber core, two second fiber cores, and four second fiber cores; and
the at least one third fiber includes one of: a single third fiber core, two third fiber cores, and four third fiber cores.
Amendment is required.
Claim 7 recites:
7. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein a number of the one or more first fiber cores being switched using the one or more first switching optical devices is at least one of:
different from a number of the one or more second fiber cores, and
same as a number of the one or more second fiber cores.
The claim recites “at least one of”, which has a scope that includes both. It is not clear how the number of cores can be both “different from” and the “same as”. These options seem to be mutually exclusive. For the purposes of this Action, “at least one of” will be interpreted as “one of”. Amendment is required.
Claim 15 is written in a manner similar to claim 4 and is rejected for the same reasons. Amendment is required.
Claim 18 is written in a manner similar to claim 7 and is rejected for the same reasons. Amendment is required.
Claim 20 recites:
20. The method of claim 12, wherein at least one fiber switching optical array communicatively coupled to the one or more first switching optical devices and the one or more second switching optical devices is configured to determine whether to switch or pass-through transmission of the one or more optical signals, and select, based on determination whether to switch or pass-through transmission of the one or more optical signals, at least one of: the at least one first switching optical device and the at least one second switching optical device.
The dearth of punctuation and the absence of paragraphs/indentations makes it unclear how to interpret this claim. Also, there also appears to be at least one typographical error. It may be that Applicant intends:
20. The method of claim 12, wherein at least one fiber switching optical array is communicatively coupled to:
the one or more first switching optical devices, and
the one or more second switching optical devices,
and wherein the at least one fiber switching optical array is configured to:
determine whether to switch or pass-through transmission of the one or more optical signals, and
select, based on determination whether to switch or pass-through transmission of the one or more optical signals, at least one of:
the at least one first switching optical device, and
the at least one second switching optical device.
It is also possible that Applicant intends:
20. The method of claim 12, wherein:
at least one fiber switching optical array is communicatively coupled to the one or more first switching optical devices, and
the one or more second switching optical devices is configured to:
determine whether to switch or pass-through transmission of the one or more optical signals, and
select, based on determination whether to switch or pass-through transmission of the one or more optical signals, at least one of:
the at least one first switching optical device, and
the at least one second switching optical device.
It is also possible that that Applicant intends something else. For the purposes of this Action, the first interpretation will be used because, although the second interpretation requires fewer corrections, the first interpretation is more consistent with the Examiner’s understanding of the teachings of the application. Amendment is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 - Failure to Further Limit
Claims 7 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 7 recites:
7. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein a number of the one or more first fiber cores being switched using the one or more first switching optical devices is at least one of:
different from a number of the one or more second fiber cores, and
same as a number of the one or more second fiber cores.
This recites that the number of first and second cores being switched can be different or the same. In other words, it recites all possibilities and, as a result, it fails to further limit the scope of the claim from which it depends.
Claim 18 is written in a manner similar to claim 7 and is rejected for the same reasons.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 - Obvious
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2021/0302678 (Garrett).
Regarding claim 1, Garrett teaches an apparatus for transmission of one or more optical signals, comprising:
one or more first switching optical devices configured to switch transmission of the one or more optical signals from one or more first fiber cores to one or more second fiber cores (FIG. 2: one or more of switches 210 configured to switch signals to RORD 204); and
one or more second switching optical devices configured to pass-through transmission of
the one or more optical signals from the one or more first fiber cores to one or more third fiber
cores (FIG. 2: one or more of switches 210 configured to pass signals to switches 212).
FIG. 2 is reproduced for reference.
FIG. 2 illustrates nine switches 210 that can selectively connect optical signals from Trunk FPS West to either RORD 204 or to Trunk FPS East via switches 212. One or more of these switches 210 are the first switching optical devices, and one or more of the remaining switches 210 are the second switching optical devices.
Garrett teaches the switches 210 can connect the Trunk FPS West fibers 112 to either the RORD 204 or to the other switches 212 and then to the Trunk FPS East. See:
[0027] Each of the west side optical switches 210-1 . . . 210-9 is coupled to an associated trunk cable fiber pair (FP) of the portion of the trunk cable 112 to the west of the FPS-BU 130a. Each of the west side optical switches 210-1 . . . 210-9 is configured to selectively and controllably couple the trunk cable fiber pair coupled thereto to either an associated input port of the RORD 204 or to an associated one of the east side optical switches 212-1 . . . 212-9. Each of the east side optical switches 212-1 . . . 212-9 is coupled to an associated trunk cable fiber pair (FP) of the portion of the trunk cable 112 to the east of the FPS-BU 130a. Each of the east side optical switches 212-1 . . . 212-9 is configured selectively and controllably couple the trunk cable fiber pair coupled thereto to either an associated input port of the RORD 204 or to an associated one of the west side optical switches 210-1 . . . 210-9. With this configuration, the west side switches 210-1 . . . 210-9 and east side switches 212-1 . . . 212-9 can be selectively controlled to couple any one or more of the fiber pairs from the west side of the trunk cable 112 and/or the east side of the trunk cable 112 to the RORD 204 or to the corresponding trunk fiber pair coupled to the opposite side of the FPS-BU 130a.
Furthermore, Garrett teaches that the optical signals are carried on optical fibers. See:
[0026] The bypass switch portion 202 of the FPS-BU 130a includes a plurality of west side optical switches 210-1 . . . 210-9 and a plurality east side optical switches 212-1 . . . 212-9. The optical switches 210-1 . . . 210-9, 212-1 . . . 212-9 may be configured with any known optical switch technology. As will be understood by those of ordinary skill in the art, each optical switch may be configured to adjust a light beam and/or an optical fiber to perform a switching operation. For example, the optical switches may utilize microelectromechanical systems (MEMS) to adjust a micro-mirror to controllably couple a signal on an input path to an output path.
[0027] Each of the west side optical switches 210-1 . . . 210-9 is coupled to an associated trunk cable fiber pair (FP) of the portion of the trunk cable 112 to the west of the FPS-BU 130a. Each of the west side optical switches 210-1 . . . 210-9 is configured to selectively and controllably couple the trunk cable fiber pair coupled thereto to either an associated input port of the RORD 204 or to an associated one of the east side optical switches 212-1 . . . 212-9. Each of the east side optical switches 212-1 . . . 212-9 is coupled to an associated trunk cable fiber pair (FP) of the portion of the trunk cable 112 to the east of the FPS-BU 130a. Each of the east side optical switches 212-1 . . . 212-9 is configured selectively and controllably couple the trunk cable fiber pair coupled thereto to either an associated input port of the RORD 204 or to an associated one of the west side optical switches 210-1 . . . 210-9. With this configuration, the west side switches 210-1 . . . 210-9 and east side switches 212-1 . . . 212-9 can be selectively controlled to couple any one or more of the fiber pairs from the west side of the trunk cable 112 and/or the east side of the trunk cable 112 to the RORD 204 or to the corresponding trunk fiber pair coupled to the opposite side of the FPS-BU 130a.
[0028] The illustrated example embodiment shows nine fiber pairs in the trunk cable 112 and nine west side optical switches 210-1 . . . 210-9 and east side optical switches 212-1 . . . 212-9. It is to be understood, however, that a system consistent with the present disclosure may be configured to operate with a trunk cable 112 having any number of fiber pairs, and optical switches may be coupled to all, or only a portion of, the fiber pairs on the west or east side of the FPS-BU 130a.
In other words, Garrett teaches the use of optical fiber between optical elements. Furthermore, in the discussion of the background of the invention, Garrett states:
[0003] Submarine optical cables are laid on the seabed or ocean floor between land-based terminals to carry optical signals across long stretches of ocean and sea. The optical cables include several optical fiber pairs and other components such as strengthening members, a power conductor, an electrical insulator, a protective shield etc. The optical fibers may be single core/mode fibers or multi-mode/core fibers. The first fiber of a fiber pair may be coupled in the system for communicating signals in a first direction on the cable and the second fiber of the fiber pair may be configured for communicating signals in a second direction, opposite the first direction, on the cable. The system thus supports bi-directional communication.
In other words, it was known that optical fibers may have one or more cores. Furthermore, and in the interests of compact prosecution, the Examiner notes that it was well-known that optical fibers can include one or more fiber cores, and the Examiner takes Official Notice thereof.
With this in mind, it would have been obvious that the apparatus can be implemented in a known manner, such as with optical fiber having one or more optical cores.
Regarding claim 2, Garrett teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein
the one or more first fiber cores are communicatively coupled to a first trunk station (FIG. 2: fibers/cores connected to the Trunk FPS West lines 112);
the one or more second fiber cores are communicatively coupled to a branch station (FIG. 2: fibers connected between switches 210 and RORD 204 and to Branch FP West and East fiber lines 222, 224, 226, 228. 162); and
the one or more third fiber cores are communicatively coupled to a second trunk station (FIG. 2: fibers from switches 210, to switches 212, to Trunk FPS East 112).
As discussed above and as seen in FIG. 2, Garrett teaches trunk fibers and branch fibers. It would have been obvious that the West and East trunk fibers and the branch fibers are connected to corresponding trunk and branch stations. See also:
[0050] According to another aspect of the disclosure there is provided a fiber pair switching branching unit including at least one optical routing device configured to be coupled to a trunk cable extending between first and second cable landing stations and to receive trunk signals from each of a plurality of fiber pairs of the trunk cable, the at least one optical routing device being further configured to be coupled to a branch cable coupled to a branch station and to receive a branch add signal from the branch cable, the at least one optical routing device being controllable to couple signals from any one of the plurality of fiber pairs to a drop fiber of the branch cable and being controllable to couple the branch add signal to any one of the plurality of fiber pairs.
Therefore, it would have been obvious that the fiber cores are communicatively coupled to the trunk and branch stations as recited in the claim.
Regarding claim 3, Garrett teaches the apparatus of claim 2, wherein
at least one first fiber in a plurality of first fibers includes the one or more first fiber cores;
at least one second fiber in a plurality of second fibers includes the one or more second
fiber cores; and
at least one third fiber in a plurality of third fibers includes the one or more third fiber cores.
As discussed in claim 1, it was known that optical fibers can include one or more fiber cores. It would have been obvious that the fibers (i.e., the at least one first fiber, the at least one second fiber, and the at least one third fiber) can be implemented in a known manner, such as with one or more fiber cores.
Regarding claim 4, Garrett teaches the apparatus of claim 3, wherein
the at least one first fiber includes at least of: a single first fiber core, two first fiber cores, four first fiber cores, and any combinations thereof;
the at least one second fiber includes at least of: a single second fiber core, two second fiber cores, four second fiber cores, and any combinations thereof; and
the at least one third fiber includes at least of: a single third fiber core, two third fiber cores, four third fiber cores, and any combinations thereof.
As discussed in claim 1, it was known that optical fibers can include fiber cores. It would have been obvious that the first, second, and third fibers can be implemented in a known manner, such as with one or more fiber cores.
Regarding claim 5, Garrett teaches the apparatus of claim 3, wherein the one or more first switching optical devices are configured to switch transmission of the one or more optical signals from the at least one first fiber to the at least one second fiber (FIG. 2: switches 210 can be configured to switch signals from trunk lines 112 to fiber to ports 214 in RORD 204).
As discussed in claim 1, the first switches can connect the Trunk FPS West fibers 112 to either the RORD 204 or to the other switches 212. In other words, the switches can be configured to switch transmission of the one or more optical signals from the at least one first fiber to the at least one second fiber.
Regarding claim 6, Garrett teaches the apparatus of claim 3, wherein the one or more second switching optical devices are configured to pass-through transmission of the one or more optical signals from the at least one first fiber to the at least one third fiber (FIG. 2: switches 210 can be configured to pass through signals to fiber to the switches 212, to fiber to the Trunk FPS East lines 112).
As discussed in claim 1, the first switches can connect the Trunk FPS West fibers 112 to either the RORD 204 or to the other switches 212 and then to the Trunk FPS East fibers. In other words, the switches can be configured to pass-through transmission of the one or more optical signals from the at least one first fiber to the at least one third fiber.
Regarding claim 7, Garrett teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein a number of the one or more first fiber cores being switched using the one or more first switching optical devices is at least one of:
different from a number of the one or more second fiber cores, and
same as a number of the one or more second fiber cores.
FIG. 2 illustrates an embodiment with the same number of “first fibers”, “second fibers”, and “third fibers”. Furthermore, the application teaches that different numbers of fibers can be used. See:
[0028] The illustrated example embodiment shows nine fiber pairs in the trunk cable 112 and nine west side optical switches 210-1 . . . 210-9 and east side optical switches 212-1 . . . 212-9. It is to be understood, however, that a system consistent with the present disclosure may be configured to operate with a trunk cable 112 having any number of fiber pairs, and optical switches may be coupled to all, or only a portion of, the fiber pairs on the west or east side of the FPS-BU 130a.
Therefore, it would have been obvious that the number of fibers (and the cores) can be the same or different.
Regarding claim 8, Garrett teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein a number of the one or more first fiber cores being passed-through using the one or more second switching optical devices is at least one of:
different from a number of the one or more third fiber cores, and
same as a number of the one or more third fiber cores.
See the discussion of claim 7.
Regarding claim 9, Garrett teaches the apparatus of claim 1, further comprising
at least one fiber switching optical array communicatively coupled to the one or more first switching optical devices and the one or more second switching optical devices (FIG. 2: RORD 204 and controller 206),
wherein the at least one fiber switching optical array is configured to determine whether to switch or pass-through transmission of the one or more optical signals (FIG. 2: RORD 204 and controller 206).
The RORD 204 is an optical switching array coupled to switches 210 and the controller 206 is connected to and controls the optical switches 210, 212 and the RORD 204 and determines whether to switch or pass-through the optical signals.
See also:
[0034] Selective control of the state of the optical switches 210-1 . . . 210-9, 212-1 . . . 212-9, the RORD 204 and the optional WMU 150 may be performed by the controller 206 in response to a remote command signal. The controller 206 may be configured to receive the remote command signal from a terminal, e.g., trunk terminals 110, 120 and/or branch terminals 160. For example, the remote command signal may be transmitted on a supervisory channel of a wavelength division multiplexed (WDM) signal transmitted on the trunk or branch cable. The supervisory channel may be directed to the controller 206 and the controller may extract the command signal from the supervisory channel. The controller 206 may then provide a signal representative of the remote command signal to each of the optical switches 210-1 . . . 210-9, 212-1 . . . 212-9, the RORD 204 and/or the optional WMU 150 to, e.g., configure the state of the switches 210-1 . . . 210-9, 212-1 . . . 212-9 and/or the output of the RORD 204 and, optionally, the filtering of the WMU 150.
See also FIG. 3 which illustrates an embodiment of the RODR 204 including switches.
In other words, the controller 206 controls the switches 210, 212, and the RORD 204 and the signals from the controller 206 determine the state of the switches, determining whether the signals are switched or passed-through.
Regarding claim 10, Garrett teaches the apparatus of claim 9, wherein the at least one fiber switching optical array selects at least one first switching optical device in the one or more first switching optical devices for switching transmission of the one or more optical signals (FIG. 2: Controller 206).
See the discussion of claim 9. In short, the controller 206 can configure the switches 210, 212 and the RORD 204 as desired (i.e., to switch or pass signals). To the extent it was not explicit, it would have been obvious for the controller 206 to select at least one first switching optical device in the one or more first switching optical devices for switching transmission of the one or more optical signals.
Regarding claim 11, Garrett teaches the apparatus of claim 9, wherein the at least one fiber switching optical array selects at least one second switching optical device in the one or more second switching optical devices for passing-through transmission of the one or more optical signals.
See the discussion of claim 9. To the extent it was not explicit, it would have been obvious for the controller 206 to select at least one second switching optical device in the one or more second switching optical devices for passing-through transmission of the one or more optical signals.
Regarding claim 12, Garrett teaches a method for transmission of one or more optical signals, comprising: receiving the one or more optical signals;
upon a determination to switch transmission of the one or more optical signals from one or more first fiber cores to one or more second fiber cores, selecting at least one first switching optical device in one or more first switching optical devices and switching, using the selected at least one first switching optical device, transmission of the one or more optical signals from the one or more first fiber cores to the one or more second fiber cores; and
upon determination to pass-through transmission of the one or more optical signals from the one or more first fiber cores to one or more third fiber cores, selecting at least one second switching optical device in one or more second switching optical devices and passing-through, using the at least one second switching optical device, transmission of the one or more optical signals from the one or more first fiber cores to the one or more third liber cores.
This is generally a method of operating the apparatus of claim 1 and 9. As discussed in claim 1, Garrett teaches switches 210 to switch signals from the Trunk FPS West fibers 112 to the RORD 204 or to pass-through the signals to other switches 212 and then to the Trunk FPS East fibers. In other words, the switches can be configured to switch or pass-through transmission of the one or more optical signals from the at least one first fiber to the at least one second or third fibers. See FIG. 2.
As discussed in claim 9, Garrett also teaches a controller 206 to control the optical switches 210, 212 and the RORD 204. See also:
[0034] Selective control of the state of the optical switches 210-1 . . . 210-9, 212-1 . . . 212-9, the RORD 204 and the optional WMU 150 may be performed by the controller 206 in response to a remote command signal. The controller 206 may be configured to receive the remote command signal from a terminal, e.g., trunk terminals 110, 120 and/or branch terminals 160. For example, the remote command signal may be transmitted on a supervisory channel of a wavelength division multiplexed (WDM) signal transmitted on the trunk or branch cable. The supervisory channel may be directed to the controller 206 and the controller may extract the command signal from the supervisory channel. The controller 206 may then provide a signal representative of the remote command signal to each of the optical switches 210-1 . . . 210-9, 212-1 . . . 212-9, the RORD 204 and/or the optional WMU 150 to, e.g., configure the state of the switches 210-1 . . . 210-9, 212-1 . . . 212-9 and/or the output of the RORD 204 and, optionally, the filtering of the WMU 150.
As a result, to the extent it is not explicit, it would have been obvious that the controller 206 determines how and when to switch the switches 210, 212 and control the RORD 204 to switch optical signals from one fiber/core to another, and to pass through signals when desired.
Regarding claim 13, Garrett teaches the method of claim 12, wherein the one or more first fiber cores are communicatively coupled to a first trunk station;
the one or more second fiber cores are communicatively coupled to a branch station; and
the one or more third fiber cores are communicatively coupled to a second trunk station.
See the discussion of claim 2.
Regarding claim 14, Garrett teaches the method of claim 13, wherein
at least one first fiber in a plurality of first fibers includes the one or more first fiber cores;
at least one second fiber in a plurality of second fibers includes the one or more second fiber cores; and
at least one third fiber in a plurality of third fibers includes the one or more third liber cores.
See the discussion of claim 3.
Regarding claim 15, Garrett teaches the method of claim 14, wherein the at least one first fiber includes at least of:
a single first fiber core, two first fiber cores, four first fiber cores, and any combinations thereof;
the at least one second fiber includes at least of: a single second fiber core, two second fiber cores, four second fiber cores, and any combinations thereof; and
the at least one third fiber includes at least of: a single third fiber core, two third fiber cores, four third fiber cores, and any combinations thereof.
See the discussion of claim 4.
Regarding claim 16, Garrett teaches the method of claim 14, further comprising switching transmission, using the selected at least one switching optical device, of the one or more optical signals from the at least one first fiber to the at least one second fiber.
See the discussion of claim 5.
Regarding claim 17, Garrett teaches the method of claim 14, further comprising passing-through, using the selected at least one second switching optical device, of the one or more optical signals from the at least one first fiber to the at least one third fiber.
See the discussion of claim 6.
Regarding claim 18, Garrett teaches the method of claim 12, wherein a number of the one or more first fiber cores being switched using the one or more first switching optical devices is at least one of:
different from a number of the one or more second fiber cores, and
same as a number of the one or more second fiber cores.
See the discussion of claim 7.
Regarding claim 19, Garrett teaches the method of claim 12, wherein a number of the one or more first fiber cores being passed-through using the one or more second switching optical devices is at least one of:
different from a number of the one or more third fiber cores, and
same as a number of the one or more third fiber cores.
See the discussion of claim 8
Regarding claim 20, Garrett teaches the method of claim 12, wherein at least one fiber switching optical array communicatively coupled to the one or more first switching optical devices and the one or more second switching optical devices is configured to determine whether to switch or pass-through transmission of the one or more optical signals, and select, based on determination whether to switch or pass-through transmission of the one or more optical signals, at least one of:
the at least one first switching optical device and
the at least one second switching optical device.
Garrett at FIG. 2 illustrates elements including a controller 206 coupled to and controlling (e.g., configured to determine whether to switch or pass through) the switches 210, 212 and the RORD 204. See, for example, the discussion of claims 9-11. See also:
[0034] Selective control of the state of the optical switches 210-1 . . . 210-9, 212-1 . . . 212-9, the RORD 204 and the optional WMU 150 may be performed by the controller 206 in response to a remote command signal. The controller 206 may be configured to receive the remote command signal from a terminal, e.g., trunk terminals 110, 120 and/or branch terminals 160. For example, the remote command signal may be transmitted on a supervisory channel of a wavelength division multiplexed (WDM) signal transmitted on the trunk or branch cable. The supervisory channel may be directed to the controller 206 and the controller may extract the command signal from the supervisory channel. The controller 206 may then provide a signal representative of the remote command signal to each of the optical switches 210-1 . . . 210-9, 212-1 . . . 212-9, the RORD 204 and/or the optional WMU 150 to, e.g., configure the state of the switches 210-1 . . . 210-9, 212-1 . . . 212-9 and/or the output of the RORD 204 and, optionally, the filtering of the WMU 150.
In other words, it would have been obvious that the RORD 204 and switches 210, 212 can be controlled/configured to determine whether to switch or pass-through transmission of the one or more optical signals.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2004/0028406 (Bortz) teaches an optical switch which can be used as an OADM. FIG. 6 illustrates an embodiment in which there is a drop point (RX) at the input of each port, and an add point (TX) at each output port.
See also the embodiment of FIG. 11.
This uses a split and filter architecture in which an input signal is split into several copies and provided to several signal paths, and filters (SVD devices) are used to filter the signal leaving only the desired channels. FIGS. 15-18, 22, and 23 illustrate embodiments of SVD devices including the filters.
US 8,625,994 (Archambault) at FIG. 5 illustrates an ROADM including WSSs 60 at the ports for adding and dropping signals.
The drop path including splitters 66, 68, amplifiers 70, and PXCs 72 to route signals to the desired receiver. 64. There is also a tunable filter 76 to select the particular wavelength of interest.
FIG. 7 illustrates an ROADM using a combination of splitters 60 and WSSs 56.
FIG. 8 illustrates another embodiment with switches 122, 124 selectively connecting outputs of the PXCs 72, 104 to a TF 76 and selectively connecting the Tx to PXCs 74, 104.
US 2013/0223794 (Boduch) at FIG. 1 illustrates a mesh network with add/drop capability at each node.
FIG. 3 illustrates the ROADM in more detail.
Examples of add/drop port implementation is discussed in [0088]: “add/drop ports can be implemented with thin film filters, thermal array waveguide gratings (AWGs), or athermal AWGs.”
US 2018/0054271 (Abe) teaches an optical submarine communication system. See, for example, FIG. 1.
FIG. 5 illustrates a more detailed view of the main branching unit 110 and the sub-brancing unit 120.
FIG. 6 is a flow chart illustrating the operation of the device. See also:
[0054] By repeating the procedure of the above-mentioned Steps S23-S28, the submarine cable system 10 is operated. Note that, Steps S23-S28 do not limit order of the processing of light signals. The processing of a WDM signal received from the terminal station A 101 in the extended branching device 100 indicated by Steps S23-S28 is performed in parallel.
[0055] An extended branching device on which the branching function between terminal stations is fixed may be called a fixed optical add drop multiplexer (Fixed OADM). An OADM whose branching function can be changed may be called a reconfigurable OADM (ROADM). Then, the branching function of such OADM can be implemented on the sub branching unit 120 of the extended branching device 100.
[0056] After the submarine cable system 10 has become operational, it is conceivable a case where the branching function of the extended branching device 100 having the function of Fixed OADM is changed and a case where Fixed OADM is replaced with ROADM. According to the present example embodiment, in such cases, change of the branching function of Fixed OADM and replacement to ROADM is possible just by bringing up only the sub branching unit 120 from the bottom of the sea and replacing it. Then, even during a period when engineering work of the sub branching unit 120 is being carried out, the terminal station A 101 and the terminal station B 102 can communicate by control of the switches 111 and 112. As a result, influence of the engineering work on communication is reduced.
FIG. 7 which illustrates a more detailed view with the main branching unit 110 and two sub-branching units 120, 130.
/DARREN E WOLF/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2634