Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, and 3-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over de Mersseman et al. (2023/0316782) in view of Lambert et al. (2019/0012552).
Regarding claim 1, de Mersseman (referred as Mersseman from hereon) discloses a hidden camera subsystem (Fig. 5 and par. 63) that monitors a driver of a vehicle, comprising: a dashboard (504) disposed in the vehicle, wherein the dashboard establishes a lower sight line of the driver (see Fig. 5); a camera sensor (note 132 in par. 63) with a field-of-view and being disposed below the lower sight line such that the camera sensor is hidden from the driver by the dashboard, wherein the camera sensor is operational to generate a sensed video signal of a scene within the field-of-view; a reflector disposed above the lower sight line and oriented to direct the field-of-view of the camera sensor to include a head of the driver in the scene (note par. 70 and 72); wherein the reflector reflects infrared light at a plurality of polarization axes (note par. 73); and a first electronic control unit operational to receive the sensed video signal and monitor the driver in response to the head of the driver within the sensed video signal (Fig. 3). Mersseman does not disclose the monitoring includes an open/closed status of two eyelids of the driver as claimed.
Lambert, from the similar field of endeavor, teaches a driver’s eyelid monitoring system (par. 2, 33, 34). By monitoring the eyes of the drivers, the alertness state of the driver can be ascertained (par. 33 and 34).
Therefore, in view of Lambert and in order to further ascertain the alert state of the driver in Mersseman, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include Lambert into Mersseman to perform the well known functions as claimed.
Regarding claim 3, Mersseman discloses a filter in front of the camera sensor has a particular polarization axis (note filter on 804 in par. 68); and the reflector reflects light to match the particular polarization axis (note par. 73).
Regarding claim 4, Mersseman discloses the reflector is a portion of a windscreen of the vehicle (note par. 75).
Regarding claim 5, Mersseman discloses the reflector is separate from a windscreen of the vehicle (note Fig. 11 in par. 72).
Regarding claim 6, Mersseman discloses the reflector has a curved shape (note the curved windshield 508 in Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 7, Mersseman does not disclose that the scene in the sensed video signal is warped by the curved shape of the reflector; and the first electronic control unit is further operational to dewarp the scene in the sensed video signal. The examiner takes Official Notice that using dewarp means to dewarp a curve surface distorted image, such as fisheye lens, is well known in the art. The dewarp means enables the distorted image to be restored to its normal image. Therefore, if fisheye lens or wide angle lens distortion exists in Mersseman, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the well known dewarp means into Mersseman so that the distorted image could be corrected.
Regarding claim 8, Mersseman discloses the reflector has a transmissivity that passes environmental light entering the vehicle through a windscreen to reach the driver at a perceptible amplitude (note Fig. 9 and par. 69 and 70).
Regarding claim 9, Mersseman does not disclose that an opaque material disposed between the reflector and a windscreen of the vehicle as claimed. The examiner takes Official Notice that using opaque material disposed between the reflector and the windshield is well known in the art. For instance, the adhesive for the bonding the reflector at the periphery onto the windshield can be made of any known bonding means, such as double sided tapes or white or black glues or caulk. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ different bonding means to bond the reflector onto the windshield. The bonding means selection would have been a matter of obvious design choice.
Regarding claim 10, Mersseman does not disclose that the reflector and the opaque material are laterally offset from the driver such that a road on which the vehicle sits is visible to the driver looking straight ahead. The placement of the reflector on the offset manner as claimed would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art in order to avoid view obstruction to the driver. Thus, placement of the reflector would have been an obvious design choice and would have been very obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 11, Mersseman discloses a ray of light which intersects an eye box of the driver and a windscreen of the vehicle is a mirror angle of an axis of the camera sensor (note Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 12, Mersseman discloses the dashboard has a cavity and the camera sensor is disposed in the cavity (note Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 13, Mersseman discloses the first electronic control unit is operational to generate output data in one or more control signals based on the sensed video signal (note Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 14, Mersseman discloses a display subsystem in communication with the first electronic control unit and operational to generate a plurality of visible images in response to the output data received in the one or more control signals (note par. 49).
Regarding claim 15, Mersseman discloses one or more illuminators in communication with the first electronic control unit and operational to generate an illumination light, wherein the illumination light is redirected by the reflector and shines on the scene (note 134 in par. 64).
Regarding claim 16, Mersseman does not disclose that an ambient light sensor in communication with the first electronic control unit and operational to measure an ambient light level of the scene. The examiner takes Official Notice that using ambient light sensor in a camera system is well known in the art. The ambient sensor provides ambient light level to the camera processing means so that a proper image capturing operations can be carried out. For instance, by using the light level detected by the ambient sensor, the correction exposure of the camera can be achieved. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the well known ambient sensor into Mersseman so that the functions, such as exposure, could be carried out properly.
Regarding claims 17-19, see similar rejections as set forth above.
Regarding claim 20, Mersseman discloses a second electronic control unit operational to determine one or more conditions of the driver based on the sensed video signal (note 320 and 324 in Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 21, Mersseman discloses the reflector reflects visible light at all polarization axes (note par. 66).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/2/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding applicant’s argument that the cited reference is silent regarding a reflector that reflects infrared light at a plurality of polarization axes, the examiner disagrees. In par. 73, Mersseman discloses that the IR film 1012 reflects all infrared lights in all polarization axes unless a coating is applied.
Regarding applicant’s argument that Mersseman does not disclose the open/closed status of two eyelids of the driver, the examiner agree; however, such deficiency is cured by Lambert.
In view of above arguments, it is clear that the combination of Mersseman and Lambert still meets the claimed invention. As a result, the prior art rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL LEE/ Primary Examiner,
Art Unit 2422